Public school · Modesto City High

Grace M. Davis High

Modesto · 9–12 · 2,083 students (2024–25)

17thpercentileNeeds Support

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
44 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 95% of the class graduated in four years (426 of 448); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 448
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
14%
Met standard
26%
Below standard
60%

40% met or exceeded · 472 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaModesto City High
Exceeded14%27%20%
Met26%30%27%
Nearly met23%20%23%
Not met37%23%30%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
3%
Met standard
9%
Below standard
88%

12% met or exceeded · 482 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaModesto City High
Exceeded3%14%8%
Met9%16%13%
Nearly met17%21%19%
Not met71%49%60%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school40%
California57%

Tested: 472 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school40%
Modesto City High47%

Tested: 472 here · 3,777 in Modesto City High. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 9 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaModesto City High
Exceeded14%27%20%
Met26%30%27%
Nearly met23%20%23%
Not met37%23%30%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school12%
California30%

Tested: 482 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school12%
Modesto City High21%

Tested: 482 here · 3,782 in Modesto City High. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 9 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaModesto City High
Exceeded3%14%8%
Met9%16%13%
Nearly met17%21%19%
Not met71%49%60%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

95%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 426 of 448 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

37%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

36%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

59% enrolled in college within 12 months · 465 high-school completers

  • University of California21 · 5%
  • California State University43 · 9%
  • California community college194 · 42%
  • In-state private5 · 1%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year7 · 2%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year3 · 1%
  • Not enrolled192 · 41%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
75
Admitted
66
Enrolled
29

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 75 · Admitted 66 · Enrolled 29
  • Fall 2024Applied 64 · Admitted 54 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2023Applied 50 · Admitted 40 · Enrolled 21
  • Fall 2022Applied 43 · Admitted 32 · Enrolled 10
  • Fall 2021Applied 60 · Admitted 40 · Enrolled 15
  • Fall 2020Applied 41 · Admitted 38 · Enrolled 22
  • Fall 2019Applied 32 · Admitted 26 · Enrolled 14
  • Fall 2018Applied 32 · Admitted 24 · Enrolled 12
  • Fall 2017Applied 32 · Admitted 21 · Enrolled 10
  • Fall 2016Applied 32 · Admitted 22 · Enrolled 17
  • Fall 2015Applied 19 · Admitted 13 · Enrolled 8
  • Fall 2014Applied 19 · Admitted 17 · Enrolled 6
  • Fall 2013Applied 23 · Admitted 15 · Enrolled 8
  • Fall 2012Applied 51 · Admitted 39 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2011Applied 31 · Admitted 26 · Enrolled 14
  • Fall 2010Applied 38 · Admitted 36 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2009Applied 39 · Admitted 36 · Enrolled 22
  • Fall 2008Applied 43 · Admitted 39 · Enrolled 27
  • Fall 2007Applied 47 · Admitted 42 · Enrolled 26
  • Fall 2006Applied 48 · Admitted 44 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2005Applied 39 · Admitted 37 · Enrolled 30
  • Fall 2004Applied 57 · Admitted 40 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2003Applied 50 · Admitted 42 · Enrolled 27
  • Fall 2002Applied 44 · Admitted 38 · Enrolled 21
  • Fall 2001Applied 40 · Admitted 33 · Enrolled 18
  • Fall 2000Applied 38 · Admitted 31 · Enrolled 20
  • Fall 1999Applied 45 · Admitted 33 · Enrolled 19
  • Fall 1998Applied 26 · Admitted 23 · Enrolled 16
  • Fall 1997Applied 56 · Admitted 47 · Enrolled 30
  • Fall 1996Applied 41 · Admitted 36 · Enrolled 25
  • Fall 1995Applied 50 · Admitted 46 · Enrolled 29
  • Fall 1994Applied 42 · Admitted 38 · Enrolled 23

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 39 · Admitted 5 · Enrolled 3
  • DavisApplied 51 · Admitted 20 · Enrolled 10
  • IrvineApplied 23 · Admitted 11 · Enrolled Masked
  • Los AngelesApplied 36 · Admitted 3 · Enrolled Masked
  • MercedApplied 57 · Admitted 54 · Enrolled 8
  • RiversideApplied 14 · Admitted 12 · Enrolled Masked
  • San DiegoApplied 23 · Admitted 5 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 31 · Admitted 13 · Enrolled 3
  • Santa CruzApplied 24 · Admitted 16 · Enrolled Masked

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 2
  • Calculus AB
  • Statistics
Sciences 2
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 4
  • European History
  • Human Geography
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
World Languages & Cultures 1
  • Spanish Language and Culture

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
64 of 167 Prepared students · 38.3%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 448 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
42 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Dual enrollment (historical)
100 students · offered

2020-21

Source and what this counts

Federal Civil Rights Data Collection historical snapshot, not confirmation of current availability.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

27 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
24in 100 at the average Modesto City High school22in 100 at the average California high school

593 of 2,227 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school27 in 100
at the average Modesto City High school24 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
4.5%of students were suspended at least once (104 of 2,327), 2024–25
3.5%at the average Modesto City High school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

353 English · 362 math tested

English35% / 49%
Math11% / 21%

Hispanic or Latino

267 English · 275 math tested

English40% / 49%
Math11% / 19%

White

83 tested per subject

English42% / 68%
Math20% / 42%

Asian

51 tested per subject

English35% / 80%
Math12% / 67%

Two or more races

44 English · 46 math tested

English39% / 67%
Math7% / 42%

English learners

113 English · 117 math tested

English4% / 8%
Math4% / 6%

Students with disabilities

40 English · 42 math tested

English10% / 18%
Math0% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Modesto City Highvs California
Low-income · 353 tested in English, 362 in math
English35%−540%−1449%
Math11%−415%−1021%
Hispanic or Latino · 267 tested in English, 275 in math
English40%−242%−949%
Math11%−415%−819%
White · 83 tested
English42%−1456%−2668%
Math20%−1333%−2242%
Asian · 51 tested
English35%−2762%−4580%
Math12%−2133%−5567%
Two or more races · 44 tested in English, 46 in math
English39%−1150%−2867%
Math7%−2128%−3542%
English learners · 113 tested in English, 117 in math
English4%−37%−48%
Math4%04%−26%
Students with disabilities · 40 tested in English, 42 in math
English10%−111%−818%
Math0%−33%−66%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Modesto City High, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

Black or African American students: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income, Hispanic or Latino, White and Asian students and students of two or more races did worse than the same groups statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Grace M. Davis High in Modesto, 35.1% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 40.1% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Grace M. Davis High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 5.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (11.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (40.5% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 35.4 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 353 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment
1. Hispanic or Latino: 63%2. White: 15%3. Asian: 8%4. Not reported: 5%5. Two or more races: 4%6. Black or African American: 3%7. Pacific Islander: <1%8. Filipino: <1%9. American Indian or Alaska Native: <1%Student mix2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino63%
  2. White15%
  3. Asian8%
  4. Not reported5%
  5. Two or more races4%
  6. Black or African American3%
  7. Pacific Islander<1%
  8. Filipino<1%
  9. American Indian or Alaska Native<1%
Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino63%
White15%
Asian8%
Not reported5%
Two or more races4%
Black or African American3%
Pacific Islander<1%
Filipino<1%
American Indian or Alaska Native<1%

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

4 in 5 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (80%, 1,670 of 2,083). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers130
Average experience14 years
First-year teachers0%
83% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 83.19%: 75.9 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 91.3 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Getting in

Ask Modesto City High which school serves your address.

davis.mcs4kids.com

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
1200 West Rumble Road, Modesto 95350

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (209) 574-1668 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Reedley HighKings Canyon Joint Unified · 1,804 enrolled · 80.1% meal eligibility77thStrong
  • Chula Vista Senior HighSweetwater Union High · 1,864 enrolled · 80.1% meal eligibility27thDeveloping
  • Morse HighSan Diego Unified · 1,591 enrolled · 80.1% meal eligibility50thSolid
  • California HighWhittier Union High · 2,261 enrolled · 80.3% meal eligibility69thSolid
  • Shadow Hills HighDesert Sands Unified · 1,650 enrolled · 80.1% meal eligibility37thDeveloping
  • Mt. Diablo HighMt. Diablo Unified · 1,397 enrolled · 80% meal eligibility8thNeeds Support
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 72.2–88.2% meal eligibility and 1,042–4,166 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Grace M. Davis High a good high school?
Grace M. Davis High is in the 17th percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 44 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 95% of the class graduated in four years (426 of 448); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Grace M. Davis High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 40% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 12% the math standard; 14% and 3% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 472 students were tested in English and 482 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Grace M. Davis High rank in California?
Grace M. Davis High is in the 17th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Needs Support, 2025). Grace M. Davis High ranks #1,245 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Grace M. Davis High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 26.6% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 593 chronically absent of 2,227 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 4.5%; 104 unduplicated suspended students of 2,327 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 26.8%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 4.5%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Grace M. Davis High compare to other schools in Modesto?
Grace M. Davis High is in the 17th percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 2,083 students. Use the schools in Modesto page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Grace M. Davis High?
At Grace M. Davis High in Modesto, 35.1% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 40.1% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Grace M. Davis High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 5.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (11.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (40.5% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 35.4 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 353 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Grace M. Davis High?
Grace M. Davis High had own-school AP authorizations for 11 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: Biology, Calculus AB, Chemistry, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, European History, Human Geography, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Grace M. Davis High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 29 Grace M. Davis High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Grace M. Davis High is ranked #1,245 statewide · #7 of 8 in Modesto City High.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate95.1%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard8.4%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared37.3%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded26.0%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism26.8%22.7%5%
Suspension rate4.5%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)9.7%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 42 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↓ vs CA 51.7% · index 46 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 43 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 2.2pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.6pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 39 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1147214%26%24%37%40%−9

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 114823%10%17%71%12%−12

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA46141.4%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math46011.5%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA48735.7%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math4879.0%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA50834.8%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math5075.9%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA41737.6%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math41713.7%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide6212%16%63%19%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged35335.1%−5−14
Hispanic/Latino26740.5%−2−8
English Learners1134.4%−2−4
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Grace M. Davis High ←—4417th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20258.4%26.0%4.5%
Thomas Downey High2.7 mi4928th percentile · Developing · statewide · 202514.4%34.2%5.1%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%
Robert Elliott Alternative Education Centerscored within its class, not statewide1.8 mi2562nd percentile · Solid · within class · 20250.0%3.1%5.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders4.4%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 44/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 37.3% · numerator 167 students classified Prepared · denominator 448 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 38.3% · AP-pathway numerator 64 · denominator 167 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 167 of 448 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201945/10024#1139California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202242/10021#1256California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202345/10026#1207California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202446/10030#1148California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 28.9% → 2025 · 26.6% · −2.3pp
Suspension rate2024 · 6.1% → 2025 · 4.5% · −1.6pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA47214.2%39.8%
2025 · Math4822.7%12.2%
2024 · ELA46114.3%41.4%
2024 · Math4602.4%11.5%
2023 · ELA48710.7%35.7%
2023 · Math4872.3%9.0%
2022 · ELA5088.5%34.8%
2022 · Math5070.6%5.9%
2019 · ELA41712.7%37.6%
2019 · Math4173.1%13.7%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
95.1%
AP pathway among Prepared
38.3%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
35.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
58.7%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
20197.9%25.7%20.9%6.8%
20224.5%20.4%43.3%5.7%
20236.5%22.4%32.7%5.5%
20248.4%26.5%29.0%6.0%
20258.4%26.0%26.8%4.5%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
What we can't show
  • — Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 14 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female20.8%27.6%+6.8pp
Male20.5%25.7%+5.2pp
Asian16.7%17.8%+1.1pp
Black/African American22.7%29.2%+6.5pp
Filipino25.0%25.0%+0.0pp
Hispanic/Latino21.9%27.8%+5.9pp
Pacific Islander25.0%22.2%-2.8pp
Two or More Races24.7%28.7%+4.0pp
White17.0%28.4%+11.4pp
Students with Disabilities23.9%36.7%+12.8pp
English Learners20.1%26.7%+6.6pp
Homeless66.7%63.4%-3.3pp
Military-Connected22.6%18.8%-3.8pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged22.2%28.3%+6.1pp
All Students20.7%26.6%+5.9pp
American Indian/Alaska Native—18.2%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20257566293.693.763.95
20246454233.723.823.96
20235040213.823.974.05
20224332103.673.823.96
20216040153.623.874.04
20204138223.803.843.92
20193226143.813.843.89
20183224123.904.034.10
20173221103.613.824.06
20163222173.643.813.85
2015191383.753.933.98
2014191763.883.963.99

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20253953
Berkeley2024295masked
Berkeley20233353
Berkeley2022214masked
Berkeley2021264masked
Davis2025512010
Davis2024461910
Davis20232613masked
Davis2022269masked
Davis202145144
Irvine20252311masked
Irvine2024154masked
Irvine2023163masked
Irvine202212maskedmasked
Irvine2021164masked
Los Angeles2025363masked
Los Angeles2024364masked
Los Angeles202314maskedmasked
Los Angeles202223maskedmasked
Los Angeles2021233masked
Merced202557548
Merced202450456
Merced202334286
Merced202219183
Merced202136274
Riverside20251412masked
Riverside2021135masked
San Diego2025235masked
San Diego20242511masked
San Diego202320126
San Diego2022136masked
San Diego2021193masked
Santa Barbara202531133
Santa Barbara202421133
Santa Barbara202313113
Santa Barbara20221612masked
Santa Barbara202127114
Santa Cruz20252416masked
Santa Cruz20242821masked
Santa Cruz20232514masked
Santa Cruz2022198masked
Santa Cruz20213118masked
Universitywide2025756629
Universitywide2024645423
Universitywide2023504021
Universitywide2022433210
Universitywide2021604015

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Chemistrythis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
European Historythis school
Human Geographythis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count8
AP enrollment88
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 100 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections4
Chemistry sections19
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,921

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California214.5%
California State University439.3%
California community college19441.7%
In-state private51.1%
Out-of-state, 4-year71.5%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.7%
Not enrolled19241.3%

465 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 59% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$837 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,083

Central federal expenditures attributed here$1,344 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 2,083

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 95350
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 95350
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$75,621
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)20.99%
ZCTA population57,136
Median age35.7 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/grace-m-davis-high-1380"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Grace M. Davis High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction