Public school · Pleasanton Unified

The Pleasanton Virtual Academy

Pleasanton · K–12 · 138 students (2024–25)

98thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 2,177 scored public middle schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
85 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Well above California in English and math: 91% and 82% met or exceeded the standard in grade 8, against 48% and 34% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 8: 11
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 426,862 in English and 428,268 in math tested).

This rating covers grade 8. The Pleasanton Virtual Academy teaches K–12: grade 11 results ↓

How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four middle schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How strong are the foundations for high school?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
55%
Met standard
36%
Below standard
9%

91% met or exceeded · 11 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPleasanton Unified
Exceeded55%18%40%
Met36%30%37%
Nearly met9%24%15%
Not met0%28%8%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
73%
Met standard
9%
Below standard
18%

82% met or exceeded · 11 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPleasanton Unified
Exceeded73%20%58%
Met9%14%15%
Nearly met18%22%14%
Not met0%44%13%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
39%
Met standard
33%
Below standard
28%

72% met or exceeded · 18 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPleasanton Unified
Exceeded39%27%53%
Met33%30%30%
Nearly met11%20%10%
Not met17%23%7%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
33%
Met standard
11%
Below standard
56%

44% met or exceeded · 18 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPleasanton Unified
Exceeded33%14%45%
Met11%16%24%
Nearly met28%21%16%
Not met28%49%15%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Read English and math separately, then look at progress and the courses students can take.

Ask: How do students get support, choose courses, and prepare for the move to high school?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
11 of 152 students missed 10% or more of school days, close to the average Pleasanton Unified school.2024–25
7 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 152
Comparison
11 of 152. District and California figures are averages of school rates (4 Pleasanton Unified schools; 2,175 scored California middle schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school91%
California48%

Tested: 11 here · 426,862 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school91%
Pleasanton Unified77%

Tested: 11 here · 1,051 in Pleasanton Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 4 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPleasanton Unified
Exceeded55%18%40%
Met36%30%37%
Nearly met9%24%15%
Not met0%28%8%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school82%
California34%

Tested: 11 here · 428,268 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school82%
Pleasanton Unified73%

Tested: 11 here · 1,057 in Pleasanton Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 4 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPleasanton Unified
Exceeded73%20%58%
Met9%14%15%
Nearly met18%22%14%
Not met0%44%13%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school72%
California57%

Tested: 18 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school72%
Pleasanton Unified83%

Tested: 18 here · 1,173 in Pleasanton Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 4 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPleasanton Unified
Exceeded39%27%53%
Met33%30%30%
Nearly met11%20%10%
Not met17%23%7%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school44%
California30%

Tested: 18 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school44%
Pleasanton Unified69%

Tested: 18 here · 1,162 in Pleasanton Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 4 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaPleasanton Unified
Exceeded33%14%45%
Met11%16%24%
Nearly met28%21%16%
Not met28%49%15%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How are results changing through the middle years?

The state’s growth measure35 students in English, 34 in math · grade 8 · 2025
English+14ptsCDE category: Accelerated
Math+33ptsCDE category: Exceptional

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

School pattern, spring 2025High CeilingThe average Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 50%.
School pattern, spring 2025Solid BaseThe average Met + Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 65%.

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

7 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
6in 100 at the average Pleasanton Unified school18in 100 at the average California middle school

11 of 152 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school7 in 100
at the average Pleasanton Unified school6 in 100
at the average California middle school18 in 100
0of 156 students were suspended at least once, 2024–25
1.3%at the average Pleasanton Unified school3.5%at the average California middle school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
Grades 4–641 of 28
Grades 7–831 of 30
Grades 9–12108 of 83

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. White: 38%2. Asian: 25%3. Hispanic or Latino: 16%4. Two or more races: 11%Unallocated share: 9%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. White38%
  2. Asian25%
  3. Hispanic or Latino16%
  4. Two or more races11%
  5. Black or African American—
  6. Filipino—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share9%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
White38%
Asian25%
Hispanic or Latino16%
Two or more races11%
Black or African American—
Filipino—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 1 in 8 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (14%, 20 of 138). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers15
Average experience22 years
First-year teachers0%

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryThe Pleasanton Virtual AcademyThis campus · grades K-12
  2. MiddleThe Pleasanton Virtual AcademyThis campus · grades K-12
  3. High schoolThe Pleasanton Virtual AcademyThis campus · grades K-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Middle-school links

  • Pleasanton Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    81st percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

  • Harvest Park Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    98th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

  • Thomas S. Hart Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    97th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Pleasanton Unified which school serves your address.

pleasantonvirtualacademy.com

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
4750 First Street, Pleasanton 94566

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. How do you support kids who arrive ahead, and kids who arrive behind?
  2. Which math courses can students take, and how are placements decided?
  3. How do students get academic help and connect with a trusted adult?
  4. Which electives and high-school transition supports are available?

Call (925) 426-4260 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby middle schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar middle schools2025 statewide percentile
  • C. T. English MiddleLoma Prieta Joint Union Elementary · 164 enrolled · 11% meal eligibility91stStrong
  • Lipman MiddleBrisbane Elementary · 161 enrolled · 18.6% meal eligibility80thStrong
  • San Benancio MiddleWashington Union Elementary · 261 enrolled · 10.3% meal eligibility82ndStrong
  • Malibu MiddleSanta Monica-Malibu Unified · 256 enrolled · 20.7% meal eligibility81stStrong
  • Twin Hills Charter MiddleTwin Hills Union Elementary · 207 enrolled · 21.3% meal eligibility83rdStrong
  • Century AcademyConejo Valley Unified · 237 enrolled · 21.9% meal eligibility78thStrong
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 6.5–22.5% meal eligibility and 69–276 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is The Pleasanton Virtual Academy a good middle school?
The Pleasanton Virtual Academy is in the 98th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. Its Scope Score is 85 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), The Pleasanton Virtual Academy was well above California in English and math: 91% and 82% met or exceeded the standard in grade 8, against 48% and 34% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for middle schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 6-to-8 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are The Pleasanton Virtual Academy's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 91% of students tested in grade 8 met or exceeded the English standard and 82% the math standard; 55% and 73% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 48% and 34% met or exceeded, 18% and 20% exceeded. 11 students were tested in English and 11 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does The Pleasanton Virtual Academy rank in California?
The Pleasanton Virtual Academy is in the 98th percentile of 2,177 California comprehensive middle schools (Strong, 2025). The Pleasanton Virtual Academy ranks #28 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for The Pleasanton Virtual Academy?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 7.2% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 11 chronically absent of 152 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 0.0%; 0 unduplicated suspended students of 156 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 13.9%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 2.1%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does The Pleasanton Virtual Academy compare to other schools in Pleasanton?
The Pleasanton Virtual Academy is in the 98th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 138 students. Use the schools in Pleasanton page or the map view to compare nearby middle schools.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

The Pleasanton Virtual Academy is ranked #28 statewide · #2 of 4 in Pleasanton Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard63.6%17.2%42%
Met or exceeded86.4%40.0%23%
Chronic absenteeism13.9%18.1%5%
Suspension rate2.1%3.6%5%
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 17.2% · index 91 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 40.0% · index 81 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 18.1% · index 57 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▼ 4.9pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.6% · index 56 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▼ 0.9pp lower vs 2024

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 34——————
Grade 45——————
Grade 57——————
Grade 610——————
Grade 77——————
Grade 81155%36%9%0%91%+45
Grade 111839%33%11%17%72%+24

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 ELA equal-school mean: 43.1%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 ELA equal-school mean: 44.6%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 ELA equal-school mean: 47.7%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 6 ELA equal-school mean: 46.1%; n=4084 reporting schools

State grade 7 ELA equal-school mean: 47.6%; n=2631 reporting schools

State grade 8 ELA equal-school mean: 46.2%; n=2658 reporting schools

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 3———————
Grade 45——————
Grade 57——————
Grade 69——————
Grade 77——————
Grade 81173%9%18%0%82%+50
Grade 111833%11%28%28%44%+21

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 Math equal-school mean: 45.4%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 Math equal-school mean: 41.3%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 Math equal-school mean: 35.0%; n=5724 reporting schools

State grade 6 Math equal-school mean: 34.5%; n=4086 reporting schools

State grade 7 Math equal-school mean: 33.7%; n=2630 reporting schools

State grade 8 Math equal-school mean: 32.1%; n=2658 reporting schools

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 3 · ELA——
2024 · Grade 4 · ELA6—
2024 · Grade 5 · ELA8—
2024 · Grade 6 · ELA——
2024 · Grade 7 · ELA4—
2024 · Grade 8 · ELA1154.5%
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA9—
2024 · Grade 3 · Math——
2024 · Grade 4 · Math6—
2024 · Grade 5 · Math8—
2024 · Grade 6 · Math——
2024 · Grade 7 · Math5—
2024 · Grade 8 · Math9—
2024 · Grade 11 · Math10—
2023 · Grade 3 · ELA5—
2023 · Grade 4 · ELA5—
2023 · Grade 5 · ELA8—
2023 · Grade 6 · ELA6—
2023 · Grade 7 · ELA1560.0%
2023 · Grade 8 · ELA7—
2023 · Grade 3 · Math5—
2023 · Grade 4 · Math5—
2023 · Grade 5 · Math8—
2023 · Grade 6 · Math7—
2023 · Grade 7 · Math1464.3%
2023 · Grade 8 · Math7—

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide3918%44%36%3%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Nearest middle schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 6 vs grade 8, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
The Pleasanton Virtual Academy ←—8598th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202563.6%86.4%——2.1%
Pleasanton Middle0.3 mi5381st percentile · Strong · statewide · 202538.7%66.7%−7.2pp—2.7%
Harvest Park Middle1.4 mi8698th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202557.5%83.5%+0.3pp—1.2%
Thomas S. Hart Middle2.3 mi8197th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202555.2%79.6%−0.6pp—1.3%
California average—39School average · no percentile17.2%40.0%+1.5pp—3.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$76,813 – $136,658
Average elementary principal salary$162,920
Average middle school principal salary$172,218
Average high school principal salary$181,544
Superintendent salary$233,276

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
202372/10094#112California comprehensive middle schools · 2,125 schools
202449/10077#481California comprehensive middle schools · 2,152 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 16.3% → 2025 · 7.2% · −9.1pp
Suspension rate2024 · 0.0% → 2025 · 0.0% · +0.0pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA6248.4%85.5%
2025 · Math6056.7%71.7%
2024 · ELA4245.2%81.0%
2024 · Math4238.1%71.4%
2023 · ELA4650.0%78.3%
2023 · Math4647.8%67.4%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2023———51.9%62.1%19.3%2.3%—
2024———27.3%54.5%18.8%2.9%—
20258598#2863.6%86.4%13.9%2.1%—

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 6 vs grade 8 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
What we can't show
  • — The same-year grade contrast is unavailable in this record; it is separate from the two-year aggregate comparison used for scoring.
  • — No subgroup comparison could be shown for this school this year — either its group sizes fall under CDE's 15-student reporting floor, or district/state comparison data wasn't available for its groups.
  • — Scored here as a middle school — other grade spans appear in the data appendix.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female—6.3%—
Male—8.2%—
Asian—7.9%—
Hispanic/Latino—4.0%—
Two or More Races—11.8%—
White—6.9%—
Students with Disabilities—8.3%—
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged—8.7%—
All Students—7.2%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2025–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
202555masked3.653.65—

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Universitywide202555masked

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students+1435Accelerated+3334Exceptional
English Only+1420not categorised+3420not categorised
White+311Average+1411Accelerated

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures
California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

35 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: +14 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 87th percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.87th pctile · +14 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

34 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: +33 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 98th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.98th pctile · +33 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California middle school records, the median ELA estimate is −1 and the middle half fall between −8 and +6 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$12,555 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 14,469 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$46 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 138

Central federal expenditures attributed here$226 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 138

District current expense · FY 2024–25$17,441 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 66%Instruction support 12%Student services 8%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 8%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$12,555 per pupil
2020$12,375 per pupil
2019$12,065 per pupil
2018$11,307 per pupil
2017$10,755 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

11ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 94566
ShowHide table 11 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 94566
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$191,155
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)68.11%
ZCTA population44,222
Median age45.1 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/the-pleasanton-virtual-academy-1432"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="The Pleasanton Virtual Academy — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=2,177 middle schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction