ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Salisbury High (Continuation)

Red Bluff, CA · Grades 9-12 · 104 students · Red Bluff Joint Union High

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

14% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 2% in math. 62.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

DistrictRed Bluff Joint Union High
PrincipalWendy Drury
Grades9-12
Enrollment104 students

Math

2%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

14%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

104

Total enrollment

Graduation

62.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 0%2022: 2%2023: 0%2024: 0%2025: 2%2019: 12%2022: 29%2023: 11%2024: 10%2025: 14%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 0%2022: 2%2023: 0%2024: 0%2025: 2%2019: 12%2022: 29%2023: 11%2024: 10%2025: 14%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20190%12%
20222%29%
20230%11%
20240%10%
20252%14%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

8% of students here meet the standard. 2% clear it by a lot.

ELA14% met or exceeded
Exceeded 2%Met 12%Nearly Met 16%Not Met 71%
Math2% met or exceeded
Exceeded 2%Met 0%Nearly Met 10%Not Met 88%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school152%8%62.7%0.0%72.9%9.4%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope1554
% Exceeded2%20%
% Met+8%43%
Grad rate62.7%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence72.9%23.1%
Suspension9.4%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard behind the same group statewide.

At Salisbury High (Continuation) in Red Bluff, 15.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 46.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Salisbury High (Continuation) trails its district average for low-income students by 31.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (2.2% Math proficient); White students (12.5% ELA proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 46 students tested.

Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 23 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 8% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 8%, district —, state 43%8%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 9%, district 32%, state 32%9% · +1 vs school
MaleMale: this school 8%, district 31%, state 42%8% · +0 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 6%, district 41%, state 56%6% · −2 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 9%, district 28%, state 32%9% · +1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 7%, district 41%, state 44%7% · −1 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 0%, district 10%, state 15%0% · −8 vs school

5 of 12 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

18%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 15 of 84 completers · includes community colleges

84Completers
2%
Other colleges2 completers · Outside the California community college system
15%
California community colleges13 completers · Enrolled within a year
82%
Not recorded enrolled69 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
18%enrolled in college within a year
  • California community college13 (15%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year1 (1%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 (1%)
  • Not enrolled69 (82%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 13 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher13 · district 19
Teaching staff14 teachers
Avg. experience10.0 years
Fully credentialed52%
First-year teachers14%
PrincipalWendy Drury
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$52,904 – $119,006
Principal salaryUp to $174,106
Superintendent salary$215,068

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
CTE pathway completers1 students
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

72.9% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 72.9%, district 18.7%, state 23.1%72.9% · +49.8pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 9.4%, district —, state 3.3%9.4% · +6.2pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1285.0%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $25,948 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$1,091 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $25,948, CA average $14,491$25,948 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,091 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$20,949 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 55%Instruction support 11%Student services 14%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 12%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$13,175 per pupil
2019$13,093 per pupil
2018$14,141 per pupil
2017$13,317 per pupil
2016$12,569 per pupil
The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 104 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 5% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino40.4% · district 37.5% · CA 56.1%
White51.9% · district 52.8% · CA 19.9%
Black1.9% · district 1.2% · CA 4.8%
Other5.8% · district 7.0% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 34.6% · Male 64.4% · Non-binary 1.0%
Free or reduced lunch86.5% · CA 64%
Median income$66K · CA $85K
Median home value$344K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+20% · CA 35%
ZIP population31,554
Median age40 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Salisbury High (Continuation)continuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support2%8%School being viewed
Red Bluff HighPublicDeveloping15%40%1.6 mi
Tehama eLearning AcademyCharterNeeds Support5%12%1.6 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Red Bluff Joint Union High.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what typically leads to a suspension, and what happens before it gets there.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Salisbury High (Continuation) a good high school?
Salisbury High (Continuation) has a Scope Score of 15 out of 100, placing it in the 12th percentile of California continuation high schools and ranked #296 in that group. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. 2.0% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 17.9 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Salisbury High (Continuation)'s CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 7.8% of students at Salisbury High (Continuation) met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 2.0% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 5.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 2.0% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 102 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Salisbury High (Continuation) rank among California continuation high schools?
Salisbury High (Continuation) ranks #296 among California continuation high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 12th percentile. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Salisbury High (Continuation)?
72.9% of students at Salisbury High (Continuation) are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 9.4%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Salisbury High (Continuation) compare to other schools in Red Bluff?
Salisbury High (Continuation) scores 15/100 (12th percentile) among California continuation high schools. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 104 students. Use the schools in Red Bluff page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Salisbury High (Continuation) serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Salisbury High (Continuation) in Red Bluff, 15.2% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 46.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Salisbury High (Continuation) trails its district average for low-income students by 31.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (2.2% Math proficient); White students (12.5% ELA proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 46 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate62.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard2.0%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded7.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism72.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate9.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)9.1%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Salisbury High (Continuation): reading the evidence

Salisbury High (Continuation) posts low test scores — and test scores are one lens among several. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Salisbury High (Continuation) is ranked #296 of California continuation high schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate62.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard2.0%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded7.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism72.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate9.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)9.1%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 24 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 35 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 30 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 15 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.5pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 24 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.7pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 41 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11512%12%16%71%14%−35
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11512%0%10%88%2%−22

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide560%5%75%20%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged4615.2%−32−23
White2412.5%−42−49
Hispanic/Latino2313.0%−29−26
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Salisbury High (Continuation) ←—152.0%7.8%9.4%
Red Bluff High1.6 mi5214.6%39.5%1.4%
Tehama eLearning Academy1.6 mi244.7%11.6%1.0%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
62.7%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
0.0%
This school may not offer A-G courses
College-Going Rate
17.9%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20191517#2831.0%6.0%56.2%10.9%
20222031#2314.7%15.7%64.5%3.0%
20231615#2931.5%5.3%75.2%5.6%
20241311#2960.0%4.9%71.4%13.1%
20251512#2962.0%7.8%72.9%9.4%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 23 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female64.5%82.5%+18.0pp
Male66.0%87.2%+21.2pp
Hispanic/Latino66.7%86.7%+20.0pp
Two or More Races70.6%——
White65.3%81.3%+16.0pp
Students with Disabilities55.6%94.1%+38.5pp
Homeless68.4%90.5%+22.1pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged65.4%84.5%+19.1pp
All Students65.3%85.0%+19.7pp
English Learners—76.5%—
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)186

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college1315.5%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year11.2%
Out-of-state, 2-year11.2%
Not enrolled6982.1%

84 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 18% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/salisbury-high-continuation-7151"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Salisbury High (Continuation) — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Salisbury High (Continuation)

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.