ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Newport Harbor High

Newport Beach, CA · Grades 9-12 · 2,084 students · Newport-Mesa Unified

Most kids here clear the bar, year after year. The question is what happens after that.

69% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 43% in math. 96.8% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Strong All-Around

What this means for your family

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

Math

43%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

69%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

2,084

Total enrollment

Graduation

96.8%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 41%2022: 37%2023: 32%2024: 42%2025: 43%2019: 66%2022: 60%2023: 54%2024: 69%2025: 69%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 41%2022: 37%2023: 32%2024: 42%2025: 43%2019: 66%2022: 60%2023: 54%2024: 69%2025: 69%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201941%66%
202237%60%
202332%54%
202442%69%
202543%69%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has held the 85th-percentile line every tested year since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “56% proficient” and call it done. Newport Harbor deserves a closer read. Two in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Newport Harbor's low-income kids hit 56.3% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

502 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Newport Harbor High scores 68 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 85th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 56% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 78th percentile · Scope Score 66 of 1002022 · 81st percentile · Scope Score 65 of 1002023 · 73rd percentile · Scope Score 62 of 1002024 · 83rd percentile · Scope Score 67 of 1002025 · 85th percentile · Scope Score 68 of 100
ELAGreen(Increased)MathYellow(Maintained)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1166%60%54%69%69%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1141%37%32%42%43%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in four clear it by a lot.

ELA69% met or exceeded
Exceeded 36%Met 32%Nearly Met 19%Not Met 12%
Math43% met or exceeded
Exceeded 23%Met 20%Nearly Met 23%Not Met 34%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school6830%56%96.8%71.5%15.5%1.2%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope6854
% Exceeded30%20%
% Met+56%43%
Grad rate96.8%92.5%
College readiness71.5%43.0%
Absence15.5%23.1%
Suspension1.2%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard ahead of the same group statewide.

56.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. This comparison does not tell us what caused the difference.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 56% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 56%, district —, state 43%56%
WhiteWhite: this school 64%, district 70%, state 56%64% · +8 vs school
MaleMale: this school 57%, district 56%, state 42%57% · +1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 55%, district 56%, state 44%55% · −1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 42%, district 41%, state 32%42% · −14 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 35%, district 39%, state 32%35% · −21 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 20%, district 23%, state 15%20% · −36 vs school
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school 72%, district 72%, state 56%72% · +16 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 1%, district 12%, state 11%1% · −54 vs school
Military-ConnectedMilitary-Connected: this school 53%, district 45%, state 46%53% · −3 vs school
AsianAsian: this school 94%, district 77%, state 72%94% · +38 vs school
HomelessHomeless: this school 37%, district 29%, state 22%37% · −19 vs school
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: too few students to report‹11
FilipinoFilipino: too few students to report‹11
American Indian/Alaska NativeAmerican Indian/Alaska Native: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic22.8% AP · 33.0% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Asian5.2% AP · 3.5% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.1% AP · 0.2% enroll.
Black0.6% AP · 1.0% enroll.
White69.5% AP · 59.5% enroll.
Two or more races1.8% AP · 2.7% enroll.
English learners1.8% AP · 8.4% enroll.
Students with disabilities0.8% AP · 8.2% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

84%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 441 of 526 completers · includes community colleges

526Completers
46%
Other colleges242 completers · Outside the California community college system
38%
California community colleges199 completers · Enrolled within a year
16%
Not recorded enrolled85 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

84%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Newport Harbor's class of 2023, 84% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 526 completers, 84% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 36 (7%)California State University 45 (9%)California community college 199 (38%)In-state private 19 (4%)Out-of-state, 4-year 139 (26%)Out-of-state, 2-year 3 (1%)Not enrolled 85 (16%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 54 of Newport Harbor's 521 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Irvine the most common landing, with 12 enrollees.

Applied162fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted130
Enrolled54
ShowHide the UC campus list and the 2014–2025 trend
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Irvine 12Santa Barbara 12Los Angeles 9Santa Cruz 9Riverside 4San Diego 4Berkeley 3Davis ‹3Merced ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 84% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (199) than at UC (36).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 23 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Newport Harbor's teachers are authorized to teach 23 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher23 · district 20
Teaching staff110 teachers
Avg. experience14.6 years
Fully credentialed92%
First-year teachers5%
Intern / emergency permit0.4%
PrincipalSean Boulton
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$66,494 – $159,400
Principal salary$183,874 – $216,170
Superintendent salary$418,747

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers241 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers93 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught23
ShowHide the 23 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science A · Computer Science Principles · Statistics
Sciences (5)Biology · Chemistry · Environmental Science · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (6)European History · Human Geography · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History · World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures (2)French Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (3)Art History · Drawing · Music Theory
IBDiploma Programme (DP)

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 15.5%, district 14.1%, state 23.1%15.5% · −7.6pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.2%, district —, state 3.3%1.2% · −2.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1215.0%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $26,021 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $26,021, CA average $14,491$26,021 · spent at this school
District current expense · FY 2024–25$28,980 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 56%Instruction support 15%Student services 7%Administration 8%Buildings & maintenance 12%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$17,937 per pupil
2019$15,765 per pupil
2018$15,125 per pupil
2017$14,459 per pupil
2016$13,433 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 45% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino36.9% · district 46.5% · CA 56.1%
White51.8% · district 38.6% · CA 19.9%
Asian2.5% · district 5.4% · CA 10.2%
Black0.4% · district 0.7% · CA 4.8%
Other8.4% · district 8.8% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch42.7% · CA 64%
Median income$142K · CA $85K
Median home value$2.00M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+65% · CA 35%
ZIP population21,368
Median age43 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Newport Harbor HighPublicStrong30%56%School being viewed
Corona del Mar HighPublicStrong33%64%2.3 mi
Estancia HighPublicSolid17%43%2.8 mi
Back Bay Highcontinuation comparison groupPublicStrong0%8%2.4 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Newport Beach →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

6 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Newport Harbor High a good high school?
Newport Harbor High has a Scope Score of 68 out of 100, placing it in the 85th percentile of California high schools and ranked #255 statewide. 29.6% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 9.8 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Newport Harbor High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 55.8% of students at Newport Harbor High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 29.6% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 26.1% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 29.6% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 1,002 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Newport Harbor High rank in California?
Newport Harbor High ranks #255 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 85th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Newport Harbor High?
15.5% of students at Newport Harbor High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.2%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Newport Harbor High compare to other schools in Newport Beach?
Newport Harbor High scores 68/100 (85th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,084 students. Use the schools in Newport Beach page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Newport Harbor High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Newport Harbor High in Newport Beach, 56.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 47.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Newport Harbor High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 8.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (27.8% Math proficient); White students (77.9% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 65.9 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 208 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Newport Harbor High?
Newport Harbor High's teachers are authorized to teach 23 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, French Language and Culture, Human Geography, Music Theory, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Newport Harbor High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 54 Newport Harbor High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate96.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard29.6%19.8%22%
College readiness71.5%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded55.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism15.5%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)15.5%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Newport Harbor High: reading the evidence

Newport Harbor posts 56% meeting the standard, and 29.6% going well past it. Most kids here keep up. Fewer get pushed further. Ask the school what it does for a child who already finds the work easy.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask about what we don't score — class size, electives, the feel of a classroom — strong numbers everywhere on paper don't mean every classroom feels the same.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Newport Harbor High is ranked #255 statewide · #3 of 6 in Newport-Mesa Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate96.8%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard29.6%19.8%22%
College readiness71.5%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded55.8%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism15.5%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.2%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)15.5%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.5% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 71 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 62 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.7pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.9pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1150236%32%19%12%69%+20
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1150023%20%23%34%43%+19

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide52714%31%48%6%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged20856.3%+8+18
White27877.9%+3+16
Hispanic/Latino17147.3%+1+8
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Newport Harbor High ←—6829.6%55.8%1.2%
Corona del Mar High2.3 mi7532.9%64.4%2.2%
Estancia High2.8 mi5616.9%42.6%3.7%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Back Bay Highscored within its class, not statewide2.4 mi440.0%8.4%4.7%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
96.8%
AP Exam Prepared
71.5%
A-G Completion
60.5%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
83.8%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196678#33023.1%53.5%11.5%3.7%
20226581#30822.8%48.1%20.8%2.5%
20236273#43617.8%42.8%19.0%4.0%
20246783#27125.0%55.5%14.8%3.0%
20256885#25529.6%55.8%15.5%1.2%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female12.5%17.4%+4.9pp
Male9.7%12.7%+3.0pp
Asian11.3%7.5%-3.8pp
Black/African American13.3%36.4%+23.1pp
Filipino0.0%——
Hispanic/Latino12.9%16.6%+3.7pp
Two or More Races10.2%11.3%+1.1pp
White10.0%14.5%+4.5pp
Students with Disabilities20.3%24.2%+3.9pp
English Learners14.9%27.9%+13.0pp
Foster Youth38.5%——
Homeless35.3%32.9%-2.4pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged14.7%19.0%+4.3pp
All Students11.1%15.0%+3.9pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2025162130543.933.994.05
202415196373.833.944.05
202317199383.823.914.05
2022190110453.913.964.12
2021198123533.913.994.09
202014978313.883.973.99
201914883423.854.024.09
201813967323.763.983.92
201717991513.804.024.06
201614683303.733.903.95
201516983453.743.973.99
201414176373.723.933.98

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20256683
Berkeley202452115
Berkeley20237086
Berkeley20229197
Berkeley20218464
Davis20254319‹3
Davis2024348‹3
Davis2023509‹3
Davis202246123
Davis202148193
Irvine2025752712
Irvine202465123
Irvine202378144
Irvine202293135
Irvine2021913717
Los Angeles2025102129
Los Angeles202490105
Los Angeles2023101109
Los Angeles202211998
Los Angeles2021116107
Merced20252929‹3
Merced20242824‹3
Merced20232222‹3
Merced20224342‹3
Merced202139373
Riverside202546454
Riverside20244027‹3
Riverside202336193
Riverside202246328
Riverside202163456
San Diego2025100274
San Diego202482145
San Diego20238412‹3
San Diego20221139‹3
San Diego202194194
Santa Barbara20251074112
Santa Barbara2024992110
Santa Barbara2023118248
Santa Barbara20221261810
Santa Barbara2021129246
Santa Cruz202568539
Santa Cruz202468424
Santa Cruz202387446
Santa Cruz202274233
Santa Cruz202175343
Universitywide202516213054
Universitywide20241519637
Universitywide20231719938
Universitywide202219011045
Universitywide202119812353

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Human Geographythis school
Music Theorythis school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count22
AP enrollment870
IB participationoffered · 590 enrolled
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections6
Physics sections11
Chemistry sections20
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,271

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California366.8%
California State University458.6%
California community college19937.8%
In-state private193.6%
Out-of-state, 4-year13926.4%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.6%
Not enrolled8516.2%

526 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 84% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/newport-harbor-high-5045"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Newport Harbor High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · IB World Schools directory (name-matched, 0.90 gate) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Newport Harbor High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.