Public high school
McClymonds High
8thStatewide percentile · Needs Support
among 1,500 California high schools · 2025 test results
At McClymonds High, the average Standard Met or Exceeded rate is 12.9% across reported grade–subject rows (2025 CAASPP).
Scope Score 38 of 100 — built from graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. It places the school; it is not a grade. · How this is calculated
Math
8%California 37%English
18%California 49%Sources, grades and tested counts for Math and English
Math: Grade 11 · 2025 · Met or Exceeded · 36 school test records. California 37% · 2,946,081 test records · all tested grades 3–8 and 11; a different grade population from this school figure.
English: Grade 11 · 2025 · Met or Exceeded · 40 school test records. California 49% · 2,931,356 test records · all tested grades 3–8 and 11; a different grade population from this school figure.
Graduation: 93.8% · 2024–25
Graduation cohort and source
61 regular high-school diploma graduates · 65 students in the adjusted four-year graduation cohort.
CDE adjusted four-year graduation cohort data, reporting year 2025. This cohort is separate from the students taking grade-11 tests and from UC admission or enrollment records.
Source and calculation for this school’s result
Source: SchoolScope calculation from CDE CAASPP, 2024–25 academic year (test year 2025); available ELA and math rates for grade 11, averaged equally across grade–subject rows.
Get an email when McClymonds High’s 2025–26 results land
One email when new scores post for this school. Nothing else.
Almost done — check your email and confirm to start getting alerts. Sent to .
You’re set. We’ll email your account address when the results land.
McClymonds High · 2024-25 grade 11 ELA and math: 2 equally weighted Met or Exceeded rates for All Students tested with scores average 12.9%.
CDE / ETS CAASPP · 2024-25 · McClymonds High, grade 11 ELA and math, All Students tested with scores: 2 Met or Exceeded grade–subject rate cells, equally weighted; not a distinct-student share.
Across the reported grades and subjects, the average Met + Exceeded rate is 12.9% and the average Exceeded rate is 2.8%.
Ask on a visit
What instruction helps students move beyond meeting the standard here, given the reported 12.9% Met + Exceeded and 2.8% Exceeded averages?
2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025. Earlier Scope Scores used a different college-readiness definition; no cross-model score trend or California score average is shown here.
| Scope | % Exceeded | % Met+ | Grad rate | CCI overall Prepared | Absence | Suspension | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This school | 38 | 3% | 13% | 93.8% | 52.3% | 45.2% | 13.7% |
| California reference · High School | — | 20% | 44% | 92.9% | 51.7% | 22.7% | 3.3% |
2025 CDE College/Career Indicator overall Prepared · this school: 34 of 65 CCI students classified Prepared · California students in the 2025 CCI cohort: 257,567 of 497,814 classified Prepared. The California CCI percentage describes students statewide; it is not a mean of school percentages and is not used to normalize the SchoolScope score. CDE CCI source files.
CDE 2024–25: the reported share of regular high-school diploma graduates meeting UC/CSU requirements. This is distinct from CCI overall Prepared.
California reference: 56.4% · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean of 1,500 scored comprehensive California high-school rates · 2024–25. This is a mean of school percentages, not a statewide pooled graduate percentage. CDE adjusted-cohort graduation source files.
2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.
Share at Standard Met or Exceeded
Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.
Exact annual results
| Year | Math | English |
|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 2% | 27% |
| 2022 | 4% | 39% |
| 2023 | 2% | 31% |
| 2024 | 4% | 17% |
| 2025 | 8% | 18% |
Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.
How achievement is distributed
Achievement-level percentages are not percentiles. A test achievement level does not set the SchoolScope performance band.
Grade comparisons and the full academic source record
McClymonds's reported results deserve a closer read. 96.0% of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch.
Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.
40 tested · 1 of 1 grade published
McClymonds High scores 38 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 8th percentile of 1,500 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).
Available assessment record
The average Standard Met or Exceeded rate across reported grade–subject rows is 13% in 2025, near 15% in 2019. These years test different student groups.
A source-qualified multi-year SchoolScope percentile arc is unavailable for this school. These All Grades rows describe each test year's students; they are not a matched-student trend or evidence of school-caused change.
| Test year | Subject | Tested | Met or exceeded |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | ELA | 40 | 17.5% |
| 2025 | Math | 36 | 8.3% |
| 2024 | ELA | 59 | 16.9% |
| 2024 | Math | 56 | 3.6% |
| 2023 | ELA | 61 | 31.1% |
| 2023 | Math | 55 | 1.8% |
| 2022 | ELA | 41 | 39.0% |
| 2022 | Math | 48 | 4.2% |
| 2019 | ELA | 86 | 26.7% |
| 2019 | Math | 84 | 2.4% |
CDE's 2025 College/Career Indicator reports 52.3% Prepared here (34 of 65 students), versus 51.7% in its statewide cohort (257,567 of 497,814). CDE's overall Prepared cohort covers the Class of 2025 four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the Class of 2024 cohort. The statewide student rate is separate from SchoolScope's school-level peer rank and earlier AP/A–G scoring input. CDE CCI source files.
College destinations and the full graduate record
Enrolled in college within a year
Class of 2023 · 43 of 63 completers · includes community colleges
Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.
Where graduates go
Context — never part of the Scope Score
Graduation: 93.8% · 2024–25
61 regular high-school diploma graduates · 65 students in the adjusted four-year graduation cohort.
CDE adjusted four-year graduation cohort data, reporting year 2025. This cohort is separate from the students taking grade-11 tests and from UC admission or enrollment records.
Where they went after graduation
Of McClymonds's class of 2023, 68% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.
Class of 2023: 63 completers, 68% enrolled somewhere within a year
Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.
ShowHide the UC campus list
7 of 7 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.
Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.
UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 68% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (19) than at UC (8).
Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.
8th percentile · Needs Support · California comprehensive high schools · 2025
Statewide rank: #1,380 of 1,500 · California comprehensive high schools · 2025
#20 of 22 in Oakland Unified · Statewide percentile: 8th · Ranked comprehensive high schools · 2025
What helps students meet or exceed the standard in ELA and math across grade 11?
McClymonds High vs. California · 2024-25 grade 11 ELA Met or Exceeded rates for socioeconomically disadvantaged students tested with scores: 17.1% vs. 48.7%.
CDE / ETS CAASPP · 2024-25 · McClymonds High and California, socioeconomically disadvantaged students tested with scores in grade 11 ELA: same-group, grade and subject Met or Exceeded rates; no causal inference.
Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here meet the ELA standard behind the same group statewide in grade 11.
At McClymonds High in Oakland, 17.1% of socioeconomically disadvantaged students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 31.1% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. McClymonds High's rate for socioeconomically disadvantaged students trails its district average by 14.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: socioeconomically disadvantaged students (9.7% met or exceeded the Math standard); Black students (23.3% met or exceeded the ELA standard). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 36 ELA grade test records.
Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 32 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
Ask on a visit
What support reaches students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged in ELA, given their reported results in grade 11 are behind the same group statewide?
How the all-students rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; school: 76 eligible test records, ELA and math, all school tested grades. state: equal school mean of 1,500 comprehensive high composites. The district all-students reference is unavailable here.
How socioeconomically disadvantaged rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 67 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
36 known ELA test records
- school: 67 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 25,934 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 3,798,521 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How black/african american rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 59 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
31 known ELA test records
- school: 59 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 5,708 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 282,988 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How male rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 46 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
25 known ELA test records
- school: 46 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 16,519 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 3,005,929 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How female rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 31 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
16 known ELA test records
- school: 31 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
- district: 15,472 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 2,872,108 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
7 of 12 student groups have no published rate here. That can reflect privacy suppression or missing source data; it is not evidence of a gap.
See 7 groups without a published school rate
How asian rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
ELA tested count not published
1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 3,038 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 613,603 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How hispanic/latino rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
6 known ELA test records
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 15,841 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 3,304,057 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How american indian/alaska native rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
0 known ELA test records
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; district: 9 unavailable tested counts; district ELA grade 3: rate not published; district MATH grade 3: rate not published; district ELA grade 4: rate not published; district MATH grade 4: rate not published; district ELA grade 5: rate not published; district MATH grade 5: rate not published; district ELA grade 6: rate not published; district MATH grade 6: rate not published; district ELA grade 7: rate not published; district MATH grade 7: rate not published; district ELA grade 8: rate not published; district MATH grade 8: rate not published; district ELA grade 11: rate not published; district MATH grade 11: rate not published
- state: 24,255 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How two or more races rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
ELA tested count not published
1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 3,206 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 337,620 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How students with disabilities rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
9 known ELA test records
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 4,941 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 773,488 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How english learners rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
ELA tested count not published
1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 10,392 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 945,854 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
How homeless rates were calculated
CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.
ELA tested count not published
1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts
- school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
- district: 1,890 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
- state: 235,862 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
ShowHide Student-group results by subject
| Student group · subject | Tested | School | District | California | Vs district |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged · English | 36 | 17.1% | 31.1% | 48.7% | -14.0pp vs district |
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged · Math | 31 | 9.7% | 14.7% | 21.0% | -5.0pp vs district |
| Black/African American · English | 31 | 23.3% | 23.6% | 40.9% | -0.3pp vs district |
| Black/African American · Math | 28 | 7.1% | 7.0% | 16.2% | +0.1pp vs district |
ShowHide California's growth model by student group
No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.
● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score
Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial historical snapshot)
What support reaches socioeconomically disadvantaged students in grade 11 ELA?
What it’s like
CDE reported 50.5% chronic absenteeism (above SchoolScope's equal-school mean for scored comprehensive California public/charter high schools with reported CDE rates) and 17.7% suspension (above its corresponding mean) in 2024–25.
Ask on a visit
How does the school follow up when students begin missing days, given its reported 50.5% chronic-absence rate in 2024–25?
ShowHide How SchoolScope uses climate in its score
These scoring inputs may differ from CDE's reported all-students rates. Their comparisons also average model inputs, not raw CDE rates.
ShowHide Chronic absenteeism trend since 2019
ShowHide Attendance by grade
Teachers and the staffing source record
About 11 students for every teacher here.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
McClymonds had 5 own-school AP subject authorizations out of 40 AP subjects in the 2025–26 College Board Course Audit — including African American Studies, English Language and Composition, and English Literature and Composition. Authorization does not confirm a section ran or students enrolled.
2024–25: about 11 enrolled students per teacher FTE. CDE school-total enrollment divided by the school's reported teacher full-time equivalents in the NCES CCD 2024–25 final school staff file. SchoolScope rounds the result to a whole student per teacher; the CDE staffing year above dates separate teacher facts. The SchoolScope reporting-district average covers verified schools in our directory under this school's 2024–25 CDE reporting parent; school ratios are weighted by enrollment. The California figure, where shown, also averages available school ratios weighted by enrollment. This schoolwide staffing ratio is not class size.
ShowHide teacher experience, credentials and courses
Proper credential and placement: CDE SARC report 2024–25, measured 2021–22. The publisher rate is 66.11%; 16.7 teaching-position FTE had proper credential and placement out of 25.2 total teaching-position FTE. This denominator is positions, not the teacher count above.
Historical course sections
Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC), 2020-21 federal historical snapshot. Course-section counts describe structural course availability in that collection, not current enrollment or confirmation those sections run now.
ShowHide the 5 AP courses by discipline
Data source: College Board AP Course Audit (opens in new tab), 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not confirmation a section ran or students enrolled) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC) federal snapshot, table 09
School-stated approach · questions for your visit
Look beyond the brochure
A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.
Read the school’s own website ↗Family and educator voices
Survey results: unavailable on this profile · Response counts: unknown
Explore school spending and the district budget
CDE ESSA reports $34,035 per student in spending attributed to this school.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
Per-pupil spending
CDE ESSA · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 273. Reports may use Census Day enrollment, cumulative enrollment, or annual average daily attendance (ADA); the type is unavailable here. SchoolScope sums four reported school and allocated central expenditure components. These averages do not show an individual child's budget or teaching quality.
Can we visit during a typical school day to see how students receive support?
Getting in
Contact
96.0% of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
CDE Census Day counted 273 students here in 2024–25. This was below the 2024–25 median of 1,314 across 1,202 distinct schools in SchoolScope's administrative high directory category. The selected pool uses active comprehensive public and charter records with last-seen year 2025, verified CDE school totals and grades, and traditional or alternative-choice operations. It is not a statewide sample; category membership does not imply substantial enrollment in every grade or comparable grade distributions or programs.
On the state's science test (CAST), 8% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.
ShowHide school demographics
CDE Census Day · 2024–25 · school 273 students · district 44,647 students · CA 5,806,221 students. CDE Census Day enrollment files. Other includes Filipino, American Indian, Pacific Islander, two or more races, and not reported.
Address rules and the K–12 path
Check your address with the district
School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Oakland Unified.
District information →School website →Schools across the K–12 journey
Elementary · K–5
Middle · 6–8
High school · 9–12
Schools are grouped by grade stage. Each link's evidence appears on its card. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.
Feeder path, destinations and source limits
NCES SABS 2015–16 recorded a boundary-overlap link from West Oakland Middle toward this school. Current assignment is unconfirmed.
The path below shows the available feeder and nearby-school evidence — scores shown for each step. Nearby matches are not address assignments.
Ask on a visit
Does the historical West Oakland Middle link still apply to your home address, and how can the district confirm today's high-school assignment?
ShowHide full feeder path and alternatives
K-12 feeder path
Each school card names its own evidence. Historical boundary links and nearby distance estimates do not confirm a current address assignment; verify the path with the district.
Historical incoming elementary boundary evidence: NCES School Attendance Boundary Survey (SABS), 2015–16 collection. Boundaries are approximate and may have changed; confirm current assignments with the district.
Compare schools serving the same grade stage.
Open the comparison tool →Nearby results, school options and enrollment checks
Compare nearby schools and their reported results
2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Comprehensive schools are compared statewide; alternative and continuation schools are compared within their own class.
No nearby schools in this category are listed. The school being viewed stays visible for reference.
| School | Type | Performance band | Standard Exceeded | Standard Met or Exceeded | Distance | Select |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| McClymonds High | Public | Needs Support8th percentile · statewide | 3% | 13% | School being viewed | |
| Ralph J. Bunche Continuation Highcontinuation comparison group | Public | Needs Support16th percentile · within class | 0% | 0% | 0.6 mi | |
| Street Academy Alternative Highalternative comparison group | Public | Needs Support1st percentile · within class | 0% | 0% | 0.7 mi | |
| Emery Secondary | Public | Needs Support18th percentile · statewide | 6% | 27% | 1.2 mi |
Your other options
Nearby public schools serving this grade stage, plus private options within 10 miles.
Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.
What should I check before applying?
- District public
- Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
- Charter
- Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
- Private
- Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.
Does this school serve our address, and what do we need to enroll?
Frequently asked questions
Is McClymonds High a good high school?
What are McClymonds High's CAASPP test scores?
How does McClymonds High rank in California?
What do attendance and suspension records show for McClymonds High?
How does McClymonds High compare to other schools in Oakland?
What do reported student-group results show at McClymonds High?
What AP courses are offered at McClymonds High?
How many students from McClymonds High go to UC?
Read more context for this score. Read: Your School Scored Low — Here's What That Actually Means
Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.
Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.
Methods, source tables and limitations
How the Scope Score is calculated
The 7 things our score weighs
| What we weigh | Here | State | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 93.8% | 92.9% | 25% |
| Exceeded standard | 2.8% | 20.3% | 22% |
| CCI overall Prepared | 52.3% | 51.7% | 20% |
| Met or exceeded | 12.9% | 43.8% | 18% |
| Chronic absenteeism | 45.2% | 22.7% | 5% |
| Suspension rate | 13.7% | 3.3% | 5% |
| EL proficiency (ELPAC) | 5.6% | 17.8% | 5% |
Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built
Interpretation and source limits
McClymonds posts low test scores — and test scores are one lens among several. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.
Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.
Explore the underlying data →Explore the data
Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.
McClymonds High is ranked #1,380 statewide · #20 of 22 in Oakland Unified.
ShowHide table 01 — Score factors
| Factor | School | State | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 93.8% | 92.9% | 25% |
| Exceeded standard | 2.8% | 20.3% | 22% |
| CCI overall Prepared | 52.3% | 51.7% | 20% |
| Met or exceeded | 12.9% | 43.8% | 18% |
| Chronic absenteeism | 45.2% | 22.7% | 5% |
| Suspension rate | 13.7% | 3.3% | 5% |
| EL proficiency (ELPAC) | 5.6% | 17.8% | 5% |
- Graduation rate
- ↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
- Exceeded standard
- ↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 36 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
- CCI overall Prepared
- ↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 55 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
- Met or exceeded
- ↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 34 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
- Chronic absenteeism
- ↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 38 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 8.8pp lower vs 2024
- Suspension rate
- ↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 4 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.3pp lower vs 2024
- EL proficiency (ELPAC)
- ↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 37 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.
ELA · 2024–25 results by grade
| ELA | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 40 | 0% | 18% | 35% | 48% | 18% | −31 |
California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.
State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools
Math · 2024–25 results by grade
| Math | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ | +/CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 36 | 6% | 3% | 14% | 78% | 8% | −15 |
California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.
State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools
We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.
Earlier years · grade and subject
| Year · grade · subject | Students with scores | Met+ |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Grade 11 · ELA | 59 | 16.9% |
| 2024 · Grade 11 · Math | 56 | 3.6% |
| 2023 · Grade 11 · ELA | 61 | 31.1% |
| 2023 · Grade 11 · Math | 55 | 1.8% |
| 2022 · Grade 11 · ELA | 41 | 39.0% |
| 2022 · Grade 11 · Math | 48 | 4.2% |
| 2019 · Grade 11 · ELA | 86 | 26.7% |
| 2019 · Grade 11 · Math | 84 | 2.4% |
Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.
| Science (CAST) | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schoolwide | 50 | 0% | 8% | 78% | 14% |
CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.
| Subgroup · ELA | Tested | MET+ | vs district | vs CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged | 36 | 17.1% | −14 | −32 |
| Black/African American | 31 | 23.3% | −0 | −18 |
ShowHide table 03 — Nearest high schools
| School | Dist | Scope · percentile · band | EXC | MET+ | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| McClymonds High ← | — | 388th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 2025 | 2.8% | 12.9% | 13.7% |
| Emery Secondary | 1.2 mi | 4518th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 2025 | 5.7% | 27.1% | 6.3% |
| California average | — | 57School average · no percentile | 20.3% | 43.8% | 3.3% |
| Ralph J. Bunche Continuation Highscored within its class, not statewide | 0.6 mi | 1616th percentile · Needs Support · within class · 2025 | 0.0% | 0.0% | 7.9% |
| Street Academy Alternative Highscored within its class, not statewide | 0.7 mi | 71st percentile · Needs Support · within class · 2025 | 0.0% | 0.0% | 5.9% |
Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Additional workforce records
CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.
CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.
2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 38/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.
| Measure | Source record |
|---|---|
| This school · CCI overall Prepared | CDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 52.3% · numerator 34 students classified Prepared · denominator 65 CCI students. |
| California · CCI overall Prepared | CDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students. |
CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 34 of 65 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.
Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
| Assessment year | Scope Score | Percentile | Rank | Comparison group |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 31/100 | 4 | #1451 | California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools |
| 2022 | 34/100 | 7 | #1484 | California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools |
| 2023 | 33/100 | 5 | #1550 | California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools |
| 2024 | 30/100 | 3 | #1585 | California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools |
These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.
The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.
Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.
CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.
| Year-over-year school rates |
|---|
| Chronic absenteeism2024 · 59.7% → 2025 · 50.5% · −9.2pp |
| Suspension rate2024 · 16.6% → 2025 · 17.7% · +1.1pp |
ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades
| Year · subject | Students with scores | Exc | Met+ |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 · ELA | 40 | 0.0% | 17.5% |
| 2025 · Math | 36 | 5.6% | 8.3% |
| 2024 · ELA | 59 | 6.8% | 16.9% |
| 2024 · Math | 56 | 1.8% | 3.6% |
| 2023 · ELA | 61 | 3.3% | 31.1% |
| 2023 · Math | 55 | 0.0% | 1.8% |
| 2022 · ELA | 41 | 14.6% | 39.0% |
| 2022 · Math | 48 | 0.0% | 4.2% |
| 2019 · ELA | 86 | 7.0% | 26.7% |
| 2019 · Math | 84 | 0.0% | 2.4% |
Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.
These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.
| Year | Exc | Met+ | Absent | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 3.5% | 14.6% | 52.7% | 12.5% |
| 2022 | 7.3% | 21.6% | 53.6% | 13.6% |
| 2023 | 1.6% | 16.5% | 57.3% | 8.4% |
| 2024 | 4.3% | 10.3% | 53.9% | 14.0% |
| 2025 | 2.8% | 12.9% | 45.2% | 13.7% |
The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.
- — Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 32 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
| Group | 2018–19 | 2024–25 | Δ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 54.9% | 61.3% | +6.4pp |
| Male | 59.2% | 43.3% | -15.9pp |
| Asian | 66.7% | — | — |
| Black/African American | 56.0% | 46.4% | -9.6pp |
| Hispanic/Latino | 66.7% | 62.5% | -4.2pp |
| White | 50.0% | — | — |
| Students with Disabilities | 71.3% | 48.6% | -22.7pp |
| English Learners | 66.7% | 63.3% | -3.4pp |
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged | 59.0% | 52.2% | -6.8pp |
| All Students | 57.3% | 50.5% | -6.8pp |
Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
| Year | Applied | Admitted | Enrolled | Mean GPA (applied) | Mean GPA (admitted) | Mean GPA (enrolled) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 17 | 9 | masked | 3.55 | 3.79 | — |
| 2024 | 25 | 18 | 5 | 3.53 | 3.66 | 4.02 |
| 2023 | 26 | 17 | 8 | 3.57 | 3.82 | 3.94 |
| 2022 | 17 | 10 | 4 | 3.57 | 3.83 | — |
| 2021 | 19 | 13 | 4 | 3.56 | 3.73 | — |
| 2020 | 21 | 12 | 4 | 3.44 | 3.59 | — |
| 2019 | 29 | 6 | 5 | 3.39 | 3.99 | 4.10 |
| 2018 | 26 | 9 | 4 | 3.45 | 3.95 | — |
| 2017 | 17 | 8 | 3 | 3.55 | 4.03 | — |
| 2016 | 12 | 8 | 5 | 3.58 | 3.83 | 3.75 |
| 2015 | 9 | masked | masked | 3.43 | — | — |
Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
| Campus | Year | Applied | Admitted | Enrolled |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Berkeley | 2025 | 11 | masked | masked |
| Berkeley | 2024 | 19 | 5 | 4 |
| Berkeley | 2023 | 17 | 4 | 3 |
| Berkeley | 2022 | 17 | masked | masked |
| Berkeley | 2021 | 15 | 3 | masked |
| Davis | 2025 | 12 | 4 | masked |
| Davis | 2024 | 17 | 5 | masked |
| Davis | 2023 | 18 | 9 | 3 |
| Davis | 2022 | 14 | 4 | masked |
| Davis | 2021 | 10 | 5 | masked |
| Irvine | 2025 | 11 | masked | masked |
| Irvine | 2024 | 6 | masked | masked |
| Irvine | 2023 | 11 | masked | masked |
| Los Angeles | 2025 | 8 | masked | masked |
| Los Angeles | 2024 | 19 | masked | masked |
| Los Angeles | 2023 | 18 | 3 | masked |
| Los Angeles | 2022 | 15 | 3 | 3 |
| Los Angeles | 2021 | 14 | 4 | 3 |
| Merced | 2024 | 7 | 7 | masked |
| Merced | 2023 | 9 | 8 | masked |
| Riverside | 2024 | 5 | 3 | masked |
| Riverside | 2021 | 6 | masked | masked |
| San Diego | 2025 | 9 | masked | masked |
| San Diego | 2024 | 10 | 4 | masked |
| San Diego | 2023 | 18 | 8 | masked |
| San Diego | 2022 | 10 | 5 | masked |
| San Diego | 2021 | 11 | 7 | masked |
| Santa Barbara | 2025 | 7 | masked | masked |
| Santa Barbara | 2024 | 6 | masked | masked |
| Santa Barbara | 2023 | 7 | masked | masked |
| Santa Cruz | 2025 | 6 | masked | masked |
| Santa Cruz | 2024 | 15 | 6 | masked |
| Santa Cruz | 2023 | 10 | 5 | masked |
| Santa Cruz | 2022 | 5 | masked | masked |
| Santa Cruz | 2021 | 8 | 4 | masked |
| Universitywide | 2025 | 17 | 9 | masked |
| Universitywide | 2024 | 25 | 18 | 5 |
| Universitywide | 2023 | 26 | 17 | 8 |
| Universitywide | 2022 | 17 | 10 | 4 |
| Universitywide | 2021 | 19 | 13 | 4 |
Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
| Subject | Authorization recorded for |
|---|---|
| African American Studies | this school |
| English Language and Composition | this school |
| English Literature and Composition | this school |
| U.S. Government and Politics | this school |
| World History: Modern | this school |
Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
| Measure | This school |
|---|---|
| AP offered | offered |
| AP course count | 6 |
| AP enrollment | 53 |
| IB participation | not offered |
| Dual enrollment | not offered |
| Algebra I in grade 8 | not reported |
| Calculus sections | 0 |
| Physics sections | 2 |
| Chemistry sections | 4 |
| Total enrollment (CRDC) | 356 |
Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
| Destination | Completers | % (derived) |
|---|---|---|
| University of California | 8 | 12.7% |
| California State University | 10 | 15.9% |
| California community college | 19 | 30.2% |
| In-state private | 1 | 1.6% |
| Out-of-state, 4-year | 5 | 7.9% |
| Out-of-state, 2-year | 0 | 0.0% |
| Not enrolled | 20 | 31.7% |
63 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 68% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.
ShowHide table 11 — Funding source detail
Per-pupil spending
NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 35,489 pupils
NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records
CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 273
CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 273
CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator
These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.
ShowHide how the California mean was selected
SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.
SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.
ShowHide the district's spending year by year
Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
| Measure | Estimate |
|---|---|
| Median household income | $94,863 |
| Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+) | 48.71% |
| ZCTA population | 28,804 |
| Median age | 35.6 years |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.
<iframe
src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/mcclymonds-high-0189"
width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
title="McClymonds High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.
EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27
Help us make SchoolScope more useful
Optional. Up to 280 characters.
Anonymous. Your answer stays with us — we don’t publish it.
Thanks — that helps.
SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction