Public school · Vista Unified

Madison Middle

Oceanside · 6–8 · 1,158 students (2024–25)

9thpercentileNeeds Support

The dots are California’s 2,177 scored public middle schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
19 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Well below California in English and math: 37% and 23% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 6–8: 1,115 in English, 1,111 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 6, 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,266,619 in English and 1,272,526 in math tested).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four middle schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How strong are the foundations for high school?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
11%
Met standard
26%
Below standard
63%

37% met or exceeded · 1,115 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaVista Unified
Exceeded11%19%13%
Met26%30%27%
Nearly met24%23%27%
Not met39%28%33%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
8%
Met standard
15%
Below standard
77%

23% met or exceeded · 1,111 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaVista Unified
Exceeded8%20%13%
Met15%16%15%
Nearly met27%23%26%
Not met50%41%46%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Read English and math separately, then look at progress and the courses students can take.

Ask: How do students get support, choose courses, and prepare for the move to high school?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
About 3 in 10 students (338 of 1,222) missed 10% or more of school days, about one and a half times the rate at the average Vista Unified school.2024–25
28 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25

Ask: When a child starts missing school, who calls the family, and how soon?

Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 1,222
Comparison
338 of 1,222. District and California figures are averages of school rates (6 Vista Unified schools; 2,175 scored California middle schools), our calculation.
11.6% of students (146 of 1,255) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, about three times the rate at the average California middle school.2024–25
11.6%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25

Ask: When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?

Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 1,255
Comparison
146 of 1,255. District and California figures are averages of school rates (6 Vista Unified schools; 2,177 scored California middle schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school37%
California49%

Tested: 1,115 here · 1,266,619 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school37%
Vista Unified40%

Tested: 1,115 here · 4,119 in Vista Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 6 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaVista Unified
Exceeded11%19%13%
Met26%30%27%
Nearly met24%23%27%
Not met39%28%33%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school23%
California36%

Tested: 1,111 here · 1,272,526 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school23%
Vista Unified28%

Tested: 1,111 here · 4,130 in Vista Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 6 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaVista Unified
Exceeded8%20%13%
Met15%16%15%
Nearly met27%23%26%
Not met50%41%46%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How are results changing through the middle years?

The state’s growth measure1,017 students in English, 1,016 in math · grades 6–8 · 2025
English−7ptsCDE category: Moderate
Math−13ptsCDE category: Moderate

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

Ask: English is lower than in 2019 here (49% to 37%) and across California (50% to 49%). How does the school check what’s working in English?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

28 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
17in 100 at the average Vista Unified school18in 100 at the average California middle school

338 of 1,222 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school28 in 100
at the average Vista Unified school17 in 100
at the average California middle school18 in 100
11.6%of students were suspended at least once (146 of 1,255), 2024–25
6.3%at the average Vista Unified school3.5%at the average California middle school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
Grades 4–62394 of 404
Grades 7–830244 of 818

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 6–8 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

772 English · 769 math tested

English28% / 38%
Math16% / 24%

Hispanic or Latino

723 tested per subject

English28% / 38%
Math16% / 24%

White

259 English · 257 math tested

English56% / 61%
Math39% / 49%

Two or more races

73 English · 72 math tested

English44% / 62%
Math31% / 49%

English learners

157 English · 155 math tested

English1% / 7%
Math1% / 6%

Students with disabilities

161 English · 160 math tested

English11% / 14%
Math6% / 10%

Homeless

85 English · 83 math tested

English14% / 27%
Math4% / 16%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 6–8 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Vista Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 772 tested in English, 769 in math
English28%−230%−1038%
Math16%−420%−824%
Hispanic or Latino · 723 tested
English28%−230%−1038%
Math16%−521%−824%
White · 259 tested in English, 257 in math
English56%−460%−561%
Math39%−1049%−1049%
Two or more races · 73 tested in English, 72 in math
English44%−852%−1862%
Math31%−1344%−1849%
English learners · 157 tested in English, 155 in math
English1%−12%−67%
Math1%01%−56%
Students with disabilities · 161 tested in English, 160 in math
English11%011%−314%
Math6%−28%−410%
Homeless · 85 tested in English, 83 in math
English14%−418%−1327%
Math4%−610%−1216%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Vista Unified, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

Asian students: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Black or African American, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander and military-family students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income, Hispanic or Latino and homeless students, students of two or more races and English learners did worse than the same groups statewide. White students did worse than the same group statewide in math.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Madison Middle in Oceanside, 27.9% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 6, 7 and 8, compared to 30.5% district-wide for those same grades and 37.7% statewide for those same grades. Madison Middle’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 2.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (15.7% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (28.2% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 35.6 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 773 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 65%2. White: 23%3. Two or more races: 6%4. Black or African American: 2%5. Asian: 2%Unallocated share: 2%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino65%
  2. White23%
  3. Two or more races6%
  4. Black or African American2%
  5. Asian2%
  6. Filipino—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share2%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino65%
White23%
Two or more races6%
Black or African American2%
Asian2%
Filipino—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 7 in 10 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (69%, 795 of 1,158). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers64
Average experience13 years
First-year teachers0%
87% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 86.62%: 40.3 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 46.6 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryBreeze Hill ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleMadison MiddleThis campus · grades 6-8
  3. High schoolRancho Buena Vista HighHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Breeze Hill Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    50th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Grapevine Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    21st percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Lake Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    68th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Casita Center for Science/Math/Technology

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    80th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    31% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Vista Academy of Visual and Performing Arts

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    18th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    31% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • T.H.E Leadership Academy

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    59th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    15% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

High-school links

  • Rancho Buena Vista High

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    57th percentile · Solid · high · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

High-school endpoint evidence · Rancho Buena Vista High
Rancho Buena Vista HighScope 58historical direct overlap

The road from this school ends at Rancho Buena Vista High. UC records 32 enrollees from Rancho Buena Vista High for fall 2025. Its AP Course Audit lists 23 authorized AP subjects for 2025 - 2026. Those figures come from dated records — a child starting here today would reach Rancho Buena Vista High around 2031, and 6 years is a long time for a school to hold still, and by the state's 2023 count 69% of Rancho Buena Vista High's graduates enrolled in college somewhere, UC or not.

32 UC enrollees (fall 2025) · 23 authorized AP subjects (AP Course Audit 2025 - 2026) → full record on Rancho Buena Vista High's page
Source: UC & College Board AP Course Ledger

Getting in

Ask Vista Unified which school serves your address.

mms.vistausd.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
4930 Lake Boulevard, Oceanside 92056

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. When a child starts missing school, who calls the family, and how soon?
  2. When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?
  3. English is lower than in 2019 here (49% to 37%) and across California (50% to 49%). How does the school check what’s working in English?
  4. Which math courses can students take, and how are placements decided?

Call (760) 940-0176 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby middle schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar middle schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 60.7–76.7% meal eligibility and 579–2,316 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Madison Middle a good middle school?
Madison Middle is in the 9th percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. Its Scope Score is 19 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), Madison Middle was well below California in English and math: 37% and 23% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for middle schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 6-to-8 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Madison Middle's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 37% of students tested in grades 6–8 met or exceeded the English standard and 23% the math standard; 11% and 8% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 49% and 36% met or exceeded, 19% and 20% exceeded. 1,115 students were tested in English and 1,111 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Madison Middle rank in California?
Madison Middle is in the 9th percentile of 2,177 California comprehensive middle schools (Needs Support, 2025). Madison Middle ranks #1,962 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), aggregate cohort comparison (2023 G6 → 2025 G8), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
Is Madison Middle getting better or worse?
SchoolScope compares Madison Middle's grade 6 results in 2023 with its grade 8 results in 2025, using school-level test aggregates. Students are not matched across years, and enrollment changes can affect the comparison. SchoolScope middle standardized cohort gain: approximately 22nd percentile on a calibrated reference scale, not an empirical school rank. This score compares school-level grade groups across ELA and Math, not matched students in California's separate growth model. It describes an aggregate change; it cannot establish how individual students progressed or what caused it. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Madison Middle?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 27.7% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 338 chronically absent of 1,222 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 11.6%; 146 unduplicated suspended students of 1,255 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 27.6%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 11.5%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Madison Middle compare to other schools in Oceanside?
Madison Middle is in the 9th percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 1,158 students. Use the schools in Oceanside page or the map view to compare nearby middle schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Madison Middle?
At Madison Middle in Oceanside, 27.9% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 6, 7 and 8, compared to 30.5% district-wide for those same grades and 37.7% statewide for those same grades. Madison Middle’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 2.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (15.7% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (28.2% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 35.6 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 773 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What high school does Madison Middle feed into?
By attendance boundary, Madison Middle is zoned to Rancho Buena Vista High. Rancho Buena Vista High has a Scope Score of 58 out of 100. Boundaries come from the U.S. Department of Education's School Attendance Boundary Survey, a 2015-16 collection and the most recent national one — they are approximate and may since have changed. A boundary is also not a placement guarantee: magnet, charter, open-enrollment and inter-district transfer options mean students from one school often continue to several different ones. Confirm your address with the district before making an enrollment or housing decision. Data source: NCES School Attendance Boundary Survey, analyzed by SchoolScope.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Madison Middle is ranked #1,962 statewide · #6 of 6 in Vista Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard9.9%17.2%42%
Met or exceeded29.8%40.0%23%
Growth (2023 G6 → 2025 G8)Weakaverage20%
Chronic absenteeism27.6%18.1%5%
Suspension rate11.5%3.6%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)12.7%17.8%5%
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 17.2% · index 42 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 40.0% · index 42 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Growth (2023 G6 → 2025 G8)
↓ vs CA average · ≈22nd calibrated reference pctile
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 18.1% · index 37 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▲ 10.6pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.6% · index 18 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▲ 2.7pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 38 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 637815%28%22%34%43%−3
Grade 735712%25%25%38%38%−10
Grade 83807%23%26%44%30%−16

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 ELA equal-school mean: 46.1%; n=4084 reporting schools

State grade 7 ELA equal-school mean: 47.6%; n=2631 reporting schools

State grade 8 ELA equal-school mean: 46.2%; n=2658 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 63769%14%28%49%23%−12
Grade 73567%16%28%49%23%−11
Grade 83799%13%25%52%22%−10

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 Math equal-school mean: 34.5%; n=4086 reporting schools

State grade 7 Math equal-school mean: 33.7%; n=2630 reporting schools

State grade 8 Math equal-school mean: 32.1%; n=2658 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 6 · ELA33136.6%
2024 · Grade 7 · ELA33529.9%
2024 · Grade 8 · ELA29929.8%
2024 · Grade 6 · Math32920.4%
2024 · Grade 7 · Math33527.2%
2024 · Grade 8 · Math29919.7%
2023 · Grade 6 · ELA31238.8%
2023 · Grade 7 · ELA29435.4%
2023 · Grade 8 · ELA31231.7%
2023 · Grade 6 · Math30819.5%
2023 · Grade 7 · Math29026.9%
2023 · Grade 8 · Math30826.9%
2022 · Grade 6 · ELA92539.6%
2022 · Grade 7 · ELA92546.0%
2022 · Grade 8 · ELA92547.4%
2022 · Grade 6 · Math92320.8%
2022 · Grade 7 · Math92329.1%
2022 · Grade 8 · Math92328.6%
2019 · Grade 6 · ELA1,00948.6%
2019 · Grade 7 · ELA1,00946.3%
2019 · Grade 8 · ELA1,00952.3%
2019 · Grade 6 · Math1,02133.6%
2019 · Grade 7 · Math1,02127.7%
2019 · Grade 8 · Math1,02135.9%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide3865%17%60%17%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged77327.9%−3−10
Hispanic/Latino72428.2%−2−10
White25956.4%−3−5
Nearest middle schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 6 vs grade 8, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Madison Middle ←—199th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20259.9%29.8%−6.8pp+24 pts11.5%
Calavera Hills Middle1.9 mi5077th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202522.5%53.4%+6.8pp—4.2%
Vista Magnet Middle School of Technology, Science,2.4 mi4058th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202521.4%47.3%+2.5pp—7.4%
California average—39School average · no percentile17.2%40.0%+1.5pp—3.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.3%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$57,722 – $120,983
Average elementary principal salary$161,808
Average middle school principal salary$163,858
Average high school principal salary$178,935
Superintendent salary$320,000

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201933/10045#1069California comprehensive middle schools · 1,953 schools
202225/10033#1397California comprehensive middle schools · 2,113 schools
202324/10032#1436California comprehensive middle schools · 2,125 schools
202422/10015#1820California comprehensive middle schools · 2,152 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 16.9% → 2025 · 27.7% · +10.8pp
Suspension rate2024 · 8.9% → 2025 · 11.6% · +2.7pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA1,11511.5%36.9%
2025 · Math1,1118.4%22.8%
2024 · ELA9657.0%32.1%
2024 · Math9639.8%22.5%
2023 · ELA9186.3%35.3%
2023 · Math9069.4%24.4%
2022 · ELA92510.8%44.4%
2022 · Math9238.6%26.2%
2019 · ELA1,00914.1%49.1%
2019 · Math1,02114.3%32.4%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———14.1%40.7%9.1%12.4%+3.0pp
2022———9.6%35.2%34.7%16.4%+7.8pp
2023———7.9%29.9%24.2%12.4%+0.2pp
2024———8.4%27.2%16.9%8.8%-3.7pp
2025199#19629.9%29.8%27.6%11.5%-6.8pp

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 6 vs grade 8 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female8.6%29.5%+20.9pp
Male9.4%25.8%+16.4pp
Asian7.4%14.3%+6.9pp
Black/African American32.0%45.5%+13.5pp
Filipino7.7%——
Hispanic/Latino8.5%31.0%+22.5pp
Two or More Races3.5%23.4%+19.9pp
White9.7%19.0%+9.3pp
Students with Disabilities14.4%38.2%+23.8pp
English Learners9.8%31.3%+21.5pp
Homeless22.4%49.0%+26.6pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged9.1%32.5%+23.4pp
All Students9.1%27.7%+18.6pp
Military-Connected—18.2%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−71,017Moderate−131,016Moderate
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged−11704Moderate−15703Moderate
English Only−7656not categorised−12658not categorised
Hispanic or Latino−10653Moderate−19654Moderate
White0245Average−2244Average
English Learner−14243Moderate−19241Moderate
Students with Disabilities−9163Moderate−5162Average
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only−11144not categorised−23143not categorised
English Learners Only−2299not categorised−1598not categorised
Long-Term English Learner (grades 6-8 only)−873Moderate−972Moderate
Two or More Races−867Moderate−567Average
Homeless Youth−1860Moderate−1960Moderate
Asian−517Average−217Average
Black or African American−3115Minimal−3315Minimal

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. Long-Term English Learner counts cover grades 6-8 only (CDE), so that row is not comparable to the All Students row. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures

School-grade cohort proxy · ELA endpoints

ELA · 2023 · Grade 6
7%
exceeded standard · 39% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2023 · 312 ELA test records with scores
ELA · 2025 · Grade 8
7%
exceeded standard · 30% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2025 · 380 ELA test records with scores

Minimum rounded subject-mean records with scores at the endpoints: 310 (school-grade cohort proxy).

These paired percentages describe ELA results for grade groups at this school in two years. The groups are not matched students. SchoolScope's scored growth measure uses a different school-level scale-score proxy across ELA and Math; California's matched-student model is a separate measure.

California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

1,017 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: −7 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 23rd percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.23rd pctile · −7 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

1,016 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: −13 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 14th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.14th pctile · −13 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California middle school records, the median ELA estimate is −1 and the middle half fall between −8 and +6 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$13,817 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 19,722 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$733 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,158

Central federal expenditures attributed here$460 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,158

District current expense · FY 2024–25$20,783 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 64%Instruction support 12%Student services 9%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$13,817 per pupil
2020$13,241 per pupil
2019$14,041 per pupil
2018$11,234 per pupil
2017$10,657 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 92056
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 92056
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$106,272
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)41.28%
ZCTA population53,616
Median age40.4 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/madison-middle-2221"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Madison Middle — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=2,177 middle schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction