Public school · Fullerton Joint Union High

La Sierra High (Alternative)

Fullerton · 9–12 · 236 students (2024–25)

In 2024–25, 88% of the class graduated in four years (14 of 16); across California, 35%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 16
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 124 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 8,818 of 25,083).
How to enroll
Save

Is it good?

How students scored

56%ready for college or career (state measure), 2024–2552% across California43%of graduates finished the UC/CSU course list, 2024–2556% at the average California high school
Where the class of 2023 went
48%enrolled in college within a year

25 completers, class of 2023

  • University of California2 (8%)
  • California State University1 (4%)
  • California community college7 (28%)
  • In-state private1 (4%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year1 (4%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year0 (0%)
  • Not enrolled13 (52%)

Source: CDE’s college-going rate for the class of 2023 (enrolled in college within 12 months). Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash means we have no figure for that row; it isn’t zero.

Not metNearly met
MetExceeded
La Sierra High (Alternative)California, same gradesthe standard
English18 tested · grade 11 · spring 2025
56% met or exceeded · California 57%
22
22
39
17
23203027
Math18 tested · grade 11 · spring 2025
33% met or exceeded · California 30%
44
23
11
22
49211614

Share of students tested.

Show these bars as a table
ExceededMetNearly metNot met
English, grade 11 · La Sierra High (Alternative)17%39%22%22%
English, grade 11 · California27%30%20%23%
Math, grade 11 · La Sierra High (Alternative)22%11%23%44%
Math, grade 11 · California14%16%21%49%

Ask: Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standard in math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

50 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25

170 of 337 students missed 10% or more of school days.

4.2%of students were suspended at least once (15 of 360), 2024–25

Who goes here

Students and staff

Students, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino81%
White9%
Asian5%

7 in 10 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (70%, 166 of 236). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers29
Average experience17 years
First-year teachers0%

Getting in

Ask La Sierra High (Alternative) how students enroll.

951 North State College Boulevard, Fullerton 92831 · lvlshs.org

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Questions

Questions to ask

The questions from this page, in one place.

Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standard in math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

Call (714) 447-7821 to ask about a visit.

Common questions

Why does SchoolScope show no score for La Sierra High (Alternative)?

La Sierra High (Alternative) has no 2025 Scope Score or rank under SchoolScope's current high-school source rule. CDE's reported 2025 overall College/Career Indicator cohort for this school has 16 students; SchoolScope requires at least 30 for this score.

See the dated CDE results in the source record; a reported result does not by itself create a SchoolScope score.

Data and sources · For the data nerds

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

CDE CAASPP test year 2025 · all-students reporting group · publisher grade–subject records.
Grade · subjectStudents tested with scoresMet or exceededExceededMetNearly metNot metMean scale score
Grade 11 · ELA · 202518 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 55.56%Exceeded 16.67%Met 38.89%Nearly met 22.22%Not met 22.22%Mean scale score 2589.7
All Grades · ELA · 202518 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 55.56%Exceeded 16.67%Met 38.89%Nearly met 22.22%Not met 22.22%Mean scale score unavailable
Grade 11 · Math · 202518 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 33.33%Exceeded 22.22%Met 11.11%Nearly met 22.22%Not met 44.44%Mean scale score 2586.4
All Grades · Math · 202518 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 33.33%Exceeded 22.22%Met 11.11%Nearly met 22.22%Not met 44.44%Mean scale score unavailable
01By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 01 — By grade & subgroup

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111817%39%22%22%56%+7

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111822%11%22%44%33%+10

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA2250.0%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math2236.4%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA2466.7%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math2528.0%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA4139.0%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math4025.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA4615.2%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math681.5%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide1712%24%53%12%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

02Nearest high schoolsnearest by distance
ShowHide table 02 — Nearest high schools
SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
La Sierra High (Alternative) ←——19.4%44.5%4.0%
Troy High0.1 mi8697th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202564.8%82.6%1.1%
Valencia High1.2 mi6675th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202532.8%57.1%2.1%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%
La Vista High (Continuation)scored within its class, not statewide0 mi2032nd percentile · Developing · within class · 20250.3%8.6%4.2%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

03More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 03 — More measures

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$64,405 – $138,566
Average high school principal salary$192,785
Superintendent salary$357,179

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: not published. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 56.3% · numerator 9 students classified Prepared · denominator 16 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 33.3% · AP-pathway numerator 3 · denominator 9 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

SchoolScope withholds the high-school score and rank because the CDE CCI cohort has fewer than 30 students. A CDE-reported rate, including a true 0%, remains source evidence; it is not a zero score. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

English proficiency (ELPAC)
MeasureSchoolCalifornia reference
Level 415.0%20 English learners tested17.8%7,349 reporting public schools

2024–25 · English learners · All grades. California reference: equal-school average across reporting public schools in SchoolScope at all grade levels; not student weighted. The tested count is reported separately from the percentage. Source: CDE Summative ELPAC research files.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201935/10090#10California alternative high schools · 110 schools
202245/10094#6California alternative high schools · 106 schools
202350/10096#4California alternative high schools · 108 schools
202448/10097#3California alternative high schools · 111 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 50.1% → 2025 · 50.4% · +0.3pp
Suspension rate2024 · 4.2% → 2025 · 4.2% · +0.0pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA1816.7%55.6%
2025 · Math1822.2%33.3%
2024 · ELA2222.7%50.0%
2024 · Math2213.6%36.4%
2023 · ELA2433.3%66.7%
2023 · Math258.0%28.0%
2022 · ELA4121.9%39.0%
2022 · Math4012.5%25.0%
2019 · ELA464.3%15.2%
2019 · Math680.0%1.5%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
87.5%
AP pathway among Prepared
33.3%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
42.9%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
48.0%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
20192.2%8.3%46.2%5.4%
202217.2%32.0%50.5%5.0%
202320.7%47.3%48.4%6.1%
202418.2%43.2%42.7%4.2%
202519.4%44.5%41.9%4.0%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
What we can't show
  • — No 2025 SchoolScope score, band or rank is published under this high-school source rule.
04Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
ShowHide table 04 — Climate by student group
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female66.3%51.4%-14.9pp
Male40.9%49.7%+8.8pp
Asian42.5%41.2%-1.3pp
Black/African American87.5%——
Hispanic/Latino49.5%48.5%-1.0pp
White62.7%62.5%-0.2pp
Students with Disabilities48.6%45.0%-3.6pp
English Learners28.6%55.4%+26.8pp
Foster Youth92.1%——
Homeless82.9%71.4%-11.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged50.2%51.5%+1.3pp
All Students51.4%50.4%-1.0pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

05AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 05 — AP course catalog
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
Calculus ABthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotdated historical snapshot
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)280

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California28.0%
California State University14.0%
California community college728.0%
In-state private14.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year14.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1352.0%

25 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 48% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

08Funding source detailCDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure
ShowHide table 08 — Funding source detail

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$13,487 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 13,473 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$3,011 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 236

Central federal expenditures attributed here$603 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 236

District current expense · FY 2024–25$18,258 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 57%Instruction support 12%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$13,487 per pupil
2020$12,294 per pupil
2019$12,063 per pupil
2018$11,514 per pupil
2017$11,827 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 92831
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 92831
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$89,278
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)44.69%
ZCTA population35,618
Median age32.4 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/la-sierra-high-alternative-0335"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="La Sierra High (Alternative) — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction