ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Kingsburg Independent Study High

Kingsburg, CA · Grades 9-12 · 67 students · Kingsburg Joint Union High

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

22% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 0% in math. 79.3% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

DistrictKingsburg Joint Union High
PrincipalRyan Walterman
Grades9-12
Enrollment67 students

Math

0%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

22%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

67

Total enrollment

Graduation

79.3%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 6%2022: 6%2023: 6%2024: 4%2025: 0%2019: 71%2022: 55%2023: 47%2024: 41%2025: 22%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 6%2022: 6%2023: 6%2024: 4%2025: 0%2019: 71%2022: 55%2023: 47%2024: 41%2025: 22%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20196%71%
20226%55%
20236%47%
20244%41%
20250%22%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 2nd percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “11% proficient” and call it done. Kingsburg Independent Study deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

27 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Kingsburg Independent Study High scores 28 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 2nd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 11% meet the standard today, versus 38% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 7th percentile · Scope Score 35 of 1002022 · 6th percentile · Scope Score 33 of 1002023 · 8th percentile · Scope Score 35 of 1002024 · 4th percentile · Scope Score 31 of 1002025 · 2nd percentile · Scope Score 28 of 100
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1171%55%47%41%22%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 116%6%6%4%0%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in ten of students here meet the standard. 4% clear it by a lot.

ELA22% met or exceeded
Exceeded 7%Met 15%Nearly Met 33%Not Met 44%
Math0% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 0%Nearly Met 11%Not Met 89%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school284%11%79.3%0.0%37.3%1.3%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope2854
% Exceeded4%20%
% Met+11%43%
Grad rate79.3%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence37.3%23.1%
Suspension1.3%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

At Kingsburg Independent Study High in Kingsburg, 10.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 59.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Kingsburg Independent Study High trails its district average for low-income students by 49.8 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (21.1% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 12.2 percentage points for low-income students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 20 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 11% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 11%, district —, state 43%11%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 5%, district 42%, state 32%5% · −6 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 11%, district 44%, state 32%11% · −1 vs school
MaleMale: this school 4%, district 46%, state 42%4% · −8 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 17%, district 55%, state 44%17% · +6 vs school
WhiteWhite: too few students to report‹11
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: too few students to report‹11
English LearnersEnglish Learners: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

35%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 13 of 37 completers · includes community colleges

37Completers
3%
Other colleges1 completers · Outside the California community college system
32%
California community colleges12 completers · Enrolled within a year
65%
Not recorded enrolled24 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
35%enrolled in college within a year
  • California community college12 (32%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 (3%)
  • Not enrolled24 (65%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 34 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher34 · district 20
Teaching staff2 teachers
Avg. experience15.5 years
Fully credentialed0%
PrincipalRyan Walterman
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$64,285 – $130,756
Principal salaryUp to $158,779
Superintendent salary$207,717

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

37.3% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 37.3%, district 25.1%, state 23.1%37.3% · +14.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.3%, district —, state 3.3%1.3% · −1.9pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1240.4%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $7,180 per student, less than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$1,183 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $7,180, CA average $14,491$7,180 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,183 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$19,405 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 63%Instruction support 8%Student services 9%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$13,952 per pupil
2019$12,272 per pupil
2018$12,350 per pupil
2017$11,874 per pupil
2016$12,149 per pupil
The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 67 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 7% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino82.1% · district 66.2% · CA 56.1%
White16.4% · district 27.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian1.5% · district 2.4% · CA 10.2%
GenderFemale 55.2% · Male 43.3% · Non-binary 1.5%
Free or reduced lunch88.1% · CA 64%
Median income$79K · CA $85K
Median home value$397K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+20% · CA 35%
ZIP population17,583
Median age37 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Kingsburg Independent Study HighPublicNeeds Support4%11%School being viewed
Kingsburg HighPublicStrong26%57%0.4 mi
Oasis Continuation Highcontinuation comparison groupPublicStrong0%13%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Kingsburg Joint Union High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Kingsburg Independent Study High a good high school?
Kingsburg Independent Study High has a Scope Score of 28 out of 100, placing it in the 2nd percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,612 statewide. 3.7% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 16.1 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Kingsburg Independent Study High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 11.1% of students at Kingsburg Independent Study High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 3.7% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 7.4% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 3.7% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 54 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Kingsburg Independent Study High rank in California?
Kingsburg Independent Study High ranks #1,612 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 2nd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Kingsburg Independent Study High?
37.3% of students at Kingsburg Independent Study High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.3%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Kingsburg Independent Study High compare to other schools in Kingsburg?
Kingsburg Independent Study High scores 28/100 (2nd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 67 students. Use the schools in Kingsburg page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Kingsburg Independent Study High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Kingsburg Independent Study High in Kingsburg, 10.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 59.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Kingsburg Independent Study High trails its district average for low-income students by 49.8 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (21.1% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 12.2 percentage points for low-income students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 20 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate79.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard3.7%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded11.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism37.3%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.3%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Kingsburg Independent Study High: reading the evidence

Kingsburg Independent Study posts low test scores — and suspensions run below the state rate (1.3% vs 3.3%). If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Kingsburg Independent Study High is ranked #1,612 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate79.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard3.7%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded11.1%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism37.3%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.3%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 42 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 38 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 33 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 44 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 6.8pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.2pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11277%15%33%44%22%−26
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11270%0%11%89%0%−24

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide270%7%67%26%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged2010.0%−50−28
Hispanic/Latino1921.1%−40−18
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Kingsburg Independent Study High ←—283.7%11.1%1.3%
Kingsburg High0.4 mi6425.8%56.9%3.2%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Oasis Continuation Highscored within its class, not statewide0 mi290.0%12.5%7.2%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
79.3%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
0.0%
This school may not offer A-G courses
College-Going Rate
35.1%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
2019357#14078.8%38.2%34.7%2.5%
2022336#15057.1%30.6%49.7%1.5%
2023358#149814.7%26.5%44.3%2.2%
2024314#15795.6%22.2%44.1%1.5%
2025282#16123.7%11.1%37.3%1.3%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 28 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female36.8%33.3%-3.5pp
Male47.4%47.5%+0.1pp
Hispanic/Latino37.2%39.4%+2.2pp
White46.9%43.8%-3.1pp
Students with Disabilities11.1%——
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged43.1%39.2%-3.9pp
All Students42.1%40.4%-1.7pp
English Learners—63.6%—
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)72

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college1232.4%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year12.7%
Not enrolled2464.9%

37 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 35% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/kingsburg-independent-study-high-4727"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Kingsburg Independent Study High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Kingsburg Independent Study High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.