ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Kern County Juvenile CourtPublicBakersfield, CAGrades K-12191 students

Kern County Juvenile Court: A juvenile court school. No Scope Score publishes here.

A Scope Score ranks schools a family can choose between. At Kern County Juvenile Court, students are enrolled by court order, most for weeks or months — so a comparative rank would measure something a family's choice never entered. We show what California reports and hold the rank.

juvenile court school

no score · no band · no rank — enrollment assigned, not chosen

191 students · enrolled by court order

Every figure below is California's own, reported for this school and shown without a rank. Why we withhold a score →

Kern County Juvenile Court is a juvenile court school in Bakersfield, California. SchoolScope publishes no Scope Score, performance band, archetype or ranking for schools where enrollment is assigned rather than chosen, so its CDE CAASPP 2025 results appear here unranked.

74 students were tested here on last year's CAASPP. 0.0% met or exceeded the standard; 0.0% exceeded it.

Chronic absenteeism ran 33.9%; the suspension rate was 10.7%. California reports both the same way it does for every school — this page just doesn't rank them here.

If you're trying to understand this school

Families don't choose a court or community school off this page — a student arrives through the court, a probation department, or a district referral. For a specific student, the county office of education or the district's alternative-education office is the right first call.

  • Ask how credits earned here transfer back to a student's home school.
  • Ask what continuity of services looks like when a student moves between this program and a comprehensive campus.
  • Ask what happens to a student's education plan after they leave.
CAASPP 2024–25

This school against the California average

2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school0%0%34.7%0.0%33.9%10.7%
CA average · High School (for reference)20%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
% Exceeded0%20%
% Met+0%43%
Grad rate34.7%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence33.9%23.1%
Suspension10.7%3.3%
Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard behind the same group statewide.

Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 38 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 0% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 0%, district —, state 43%0%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 0%, district 12%, state 32%0%
MaleMale: this school 0%, district 20%, state 42%0%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 0%, district 16%, state 32%0%
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 0%, district 4%, state 15%0%
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school 0%, district 0%, state 26%0%

6 of 12 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Grades 9–12 students miss school at roughly three times the rate of Grades 7–8 students (35.9% vs 10.0%). Chronic absence here concentrates in the upper grades.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 33.9%, district 16.7%, state 23.1%33.9%
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 10.7%, district —, state 3.3%10.7%
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 7–810.0%
Grades 9–1235.9%
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
5%enrolled in college within a year
  • California community college3 (5%)
  • Not enrolled60 (95%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →
The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 9 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher9 · district 19
Teaching staff24 teachers
Avg. experience16.6 years
Fully credentialed49%
PrincipalMolly Mier
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$58,281 – $108,577
Principal salary$147,065 – $147,065
Superintendent salary$355,946

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
CTE pathway completers1 students
What gets spent · FY 2019–20

It spends $42,420 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$5,176 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $42,420, CA average $14,491$42,420 · spent at this school
Federal share$5,176 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 21%Instruction support 21%Student services 17%Administration 32%Buildings & maintenance 7%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$80,421 per pupil
2019$76,691 per pupil
2018$71,849 per pupil
2017$36,995 per pupil
2016$36,964 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

Who is enrolled

Nearly all of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 191 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 0% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino60.7% · district 77.5% · CA 56.1%
White13.6% · district 14.9% · CA 19.9%
Black23.6% · district 2.5% · CA 4.8%
Other2.1% · district 4.3% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 18.9% · Male 81.2%
Free or reduced lunch98.4% · CA 64%
Nearby schools
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Everything California reports about this school, shown without a rank — grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, climate, and the nearest schools.

01Score factors (not combined)the dimensions a Scope Score would weigh, shown against California · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate34.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard0.0%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded0.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism33.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate10.7%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)3.5%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
vs CA 92.5%
Exceeded standard
vs CA 19.8%
College readiness
vs CA 43.0%
Met or exceeded
vs CA 43.2%
Chronic absenteeism
vs CA 23.1%
Suspension rate
vs CA 3.3%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
vs CA 18.0%
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET+
Grade 5——————
Grade 6——————
Grade 7——————
Grade 88—————
Grade 11610%0%13%87%0%
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET+
Grade 5——————
Grade 6——————
Grade 7——————
Grade 88—————
Grade 11580%0%0%100%0%

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide340%0%44%56%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged600.0%——
Hispanic/Latino400.0%——
Students with Disabilities190.0%——
03Nearest high schoolsnearest by distance
SchoolDistEXCMET+Susp
Kern County Juvenile Court ←—0.0%0.0%10.7%
Bakersfield High0.5 mi8.8%29.7%9.7%
California average—19.8%43.2%3.3%
Vista Continuation Highscored within its class, not statewide1.2 mi0.0%7.0%7.5%
Tierra Del Sol Continuation Highscored within its class, not statewide2.5 mi0.4%2.8%8.0%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
34.7%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
0.0%
This school may not offer A-G courses
College-Going Rate
4.8%
YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
20190.0%3.7%14.8%5.6%
20220.0%1.2%34.8%5.9%
20230.0%0.0%41.1%9.3%
20240.0%1.8%37.8%12.0%
20250.0%0.0%33.9%10.7%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID)
What we can't show
  • — No Scope Score, performance band, archetype, or state rank publishes for this school — enrollment here is assigned, not chosen, so a comparative rank would mean something different than it does for a neighborhood school. See the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025
Female12.8%43.4%
Male12.0%32.4%
Black/African American14.7%36.4%
Hispanic/Latino13.4%37.2%
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0%—
Two or More Races0.0%—
White6.9%19.7%
Students with Disabilities10.5%31.6%
English Learners10.6%45.7%
Foster Youth5.5%20.8%
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged12.2%34.5%
All Students12.2%34.5%
Homeless—72.7%
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot reported
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot reported
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)193

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college34.8%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled6095.2%

63 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 5% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction