Public school · Lancaster Elementary

Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering

Lancaster · 6–8 · 414 students (2024–25)

63rdpercentileSolid

The dots are California’s 2,177 scored public middle schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
42 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Above California in English, near it in math: 57% and 38% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 6–8: 405
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 6, 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,266,619 in English and 1,272,526 in math tested).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four middle schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How strong are the foundations for high school?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
22%
Met standard
35%
Below standard
43%

57% met or exceeded · 405 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaLancaster Elementary
Exceeded22%19%6%
Met35%30%19%
Nearly met27%23%26%
Not met16%28%49%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
17%
Met standard
21%
Below standard
62%

38% met or exceeded · 405 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaLancaster Elementary
Exceeded17%20%4%
Met21%16%7%
Nearly met28%23%20%
Not met34%41%69%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Read English and math separately, then look at progress and the courses students can take.

Ask: How do students get support, choose courses, and prepare for the move to high school?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
29 of 431 students missed 10% or more of school days: about a quarter of the rate at the average Lancaster Elementary school.2024–25
7 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 431
Comparison
29 of 431. District and California figures are averages of school rates (8 Lancaster Elementary schools; 2,175 scored California middle schools), our calculation.
Black students here (63 tested, grades 6–8, spring 2025) met or exceeded the standard far more often than Black students across California in the same grades (32% and 18%).grades 6–8 · spring 2025
46%English · met or exceeded30%Math · met or exceeded
Source
CDE CAASPP research file, spring 2025
Students
Black students in grades 6–8: 63
Comparison
California: the same group in the same grades, CDE’s statewide rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation). Both gaps are more than twice the margin of error for 63 students.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school57%
California49%

Tested: 405 here · 1,266,619 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school57%
Lancaster Elementary25%

Tested: 405 here · 4,542 in Lancaster Elementary. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 13 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaLancaster Elementary
Exceeded22%19%6%
Met35%30%19%
Nearly met27%23%26%
Not met16%28%49%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school38%
California36%

Tested: 405 here · 1,272,526 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school38%
Lancaster Elementary11%

Tested: 405 here · 4,558 in Lancaster Elementary. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 13 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaLancaster Elementary
Exceeded17%20%4%
Met21%16%7%
Nearly met28%23%20%
Not met34%41%69%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How are results changing through the middle years?

The state’s growth measure388 students · grades 6–8 · 2025
English+7ptsCDE category: Accelerated
Math0ptsCDE category: Average

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

Ask: English is lower than in 2019 here (86% to 57%) and across California (50% to 49%). How does the school check what’s working in English?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

7 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
27in 100 at the average Lancaster Elementary school18in 100 at the average California middle school

29 of 431 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school7 in 100
at the average Lancaster Elementary school27 in 100
at the average California middle school18 in 100
1.4%of students were suspended at least once (6 of 435), 2024–25
6.4%at the average Lancaster Elementary school3.5%at the average California middle school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
Grades 4–6812 of 148
Grades 7–8617 of 283

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 6–8 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

313 tested per subject

English52% / 38%
Math34% / 24%

Hispanic or Latino

274 tested per subject

English55% / 38%
Math32% / 24%

Black or African American

63 tested per subject

English46% / 32%
Math30% / 18%

White

36 tested per subject · grades 7 and 8

English69% / 62%
Math67% / 49%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 6–8 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Lancaster Elementaryvs California
Low-income · 313 tested
English52%+2923%+1438%
Math34%+2410%+1024%
Hispanic or Latino · 274 tested
English55%+2728%+1738%
Math32%+2012%+824%
Black or African American · 63 tested
English46%+3115%+1432%
Math30%+246%+1218%
White · 36 tested · grades 7 and 8 only
English69%+3534%+762%
Math67%+4819%+1849%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Lancaster Elementary, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

Military-family students and English learners: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Asian, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander and homeless students, students of two or more races, students with disabilities and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Black or African American students here did far better than the same group statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering in Lancaster, 52.1% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 6, 7 and 8, compared to 22.9% district-wide for those same grades and 37.7% statewide for those same grades. Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 29.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (34.2% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (55.5% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 20.1 percentage points: Military-Connected students in Math. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 313 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 67%2. Black or African American: 16%3. White: 10%4. Two or more races: 4%Unallocated share: 3%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino67%
  2. Black or African American16%
  3. White10%
  4. Two or more races4%
  5. Asian—
  6. Filipino—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share3%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino67%
Black or African American16%
White10%
Two or more races4%
Asian—
Filipino—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 3 in 4 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (77%, 317 of 414). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers15
Average experience20 years
First-year teachers7%
90% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 89.89%: 12.8 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 14.2 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryJack Northrop ElementaryNearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder
  2. MiddleFulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and EngineeringThis campus · grades 6-8
  3. High schoolLink not recordedAsk the district about this stage.
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Jack Northrop Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    4th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

  • Lincoln Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    21st percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

  • Joshua Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    1st percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Lancaster Elementary which school serves your address.

fultonandalsbury.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
831 East Avenue K-2, Lancaster 93535

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. English is lower than in 2019 here (86% to 57%) and across California (50% to 49%). How does the school check what’s working in English?
  2. Which math courses can students take, and how are placements decided?
  3. How do students get academic help and connect with a trusted adult?
  4. Which electives and high-school transition supports are available?

Call (661) 899-7836 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby middle schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar middle schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 68.6–84.6% meal eligibility and 207–828 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering a good middle school?
Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering is in the 63rd percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. Its Scope Score is 42 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering was above California in English, near it in math: 57% and 38% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for middle schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 6-to-8 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 57% of students tested in grades 6–8 met or exceeded the English standard and 38% the math standard; 22% and 17% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 49% and 36% met or exceeded, 19% and 20% exceeded. 405 students were tested in English and 405 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering rank in California?
Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering is in the 63rd percentile of 2,177 California comprehensive middle schools (Solid, 2025). Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering ranks #790 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), aggregate cohort comparison (2023 G6 → 2025 G8), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
Is Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering getting better or worse?
SchoolScope compares Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering's grade 6 results in 2023 with its grade 8 results in 2025, using school-level test aggregates. Students are not matched across years, and enrollment changes can affect the comparison. SchoolScope middle standardized cohort gain: approximately 44th percentile on a calibrated reference scale, not an empirical school rank. This score compares school-level grade groups across ELA and Math, not matched students in California's separate growth model. It describes an aggregate change; it cannot establish how individual students progressed or what caused it. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 6.7% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 29 chronically absent of 431 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 1.4%; 6 unduplicated suspended students of 435 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 7.1%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.5%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering compare to other schools in Lancaster?
Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering is in the 63rd percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 414 students. Use the schools in Lancaster page or the map view to compare nearby middle schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering?
At Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering in Lancaster, 52.1% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 6, 7 and 8, compared to 22.9% district-wide for those same grades and 37.7% statewide for those same grades. Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 29.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (34.2% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (55.5% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 20.1 percentage points: Military-Connected students in Math. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 313 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering is ranked #790 statewide · #2 of 8 in Lancaster Elementary.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard19.6%17.2%42%
Met or exceeded47.6%40.0%23%
Growth (2023 G6 → 2025 G8)Below avgaverage20%
Chronic absenteeism7.1%18.1%5%
Suspension rate1.5%3.6%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)18.8%17.8%5%
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 17.2% · index 53 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 40.0% · index 57 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Growth (2023 G6 → 2025 G8)
↓ vs CA average · ≈44th calibrated reference pctile
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 18.1% · index 66 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▼ 2.7pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.6% · index 59 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▼ 1.8pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 47 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 614019%32%25%24%51%+5
Grade 713326%35%26%13%61%+13
Grade 813221%39%28%12%60%+14

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 ELA equal-school mean: 46.1%; n=4084 reporting schools

State grade 7 ELA equal-school mean: 47.6%; n=2631 reporting schools

State grade 8 ELA equal-school mean: 46.2%; n=2658 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 614010%15%29%46%25%−9
Grade 713321%24%32%23%45%+11
Grade 813220%23%25%32%43%+11

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 Math equal-school mean: 34.5%; n=4086 reporting schools

State grade 7 Math equal-school mean: 33.7%; n=2630 reporting schools

State grade 8 Math equal-school mean: 32.1%; n=2658 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 6 · ELA13557.8%
2024 · Grade 7 · ELA13369.2%
2024 · Grade 8 · ELA13860.9%
2024 · Grade 6 · Math13330.1%
2024 · Grade 7 · Math13351.1%
2024 · Grade 8 · Math13745.3%
2023 · Grade 6 · ELA13562.2%
2023 · Grade 7 · ELA13767.2%
2023 · Grade 8 · ELA13358.6%
2023 · Grade 6 · Math13437.3%
2023 · Grade 7 · Math13652.2%
2023 · Grade 8 · Math13132.8%
2022 · Grade 6 · ELA38764.6%
2022 · Grade 7 · ELA38761.7%
2022 · Grade 8 · ELA38762.9%
2022 · Grade 6 · Math38734.6%
2022 · Grade 7 · Math38739.1%
2022 · Grade 8 · Math38728.0%
2019 · Grade 6 · ELA41590.7%
2019 · Grade 7 · ELA41585.4%
2019 · Grade 8 · ELA41580.6%
2019 · Grade 6 · Math41557.5%
2019 · Grade 7 · Math41559.9%
2019 · Grade 8 · Math41550.4%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide1328%30%58%3%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged31352.1%+29+14
Hispanic/Latino27455.5%+27+17
Black/African American6346.0%+31+14
Nearest middle schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 6 vs grade 8, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering ←—4263rd percentile · Solid · statewide · 202519.6%47.6%+13.3pp+41 pts1.5%
New Vista Middle0 mi9bottom percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20251.8%10.1%+0.8pp—11.6%
Piute Middle2.5 mi142nd percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20251.1%9.6%+1.6pp—11.9%
California average—39School average · no percentile17.2%40.0%+1.5pp—3.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders7.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$58,890 – $129,672
Average elementary principal salary$149,973
Average middle school principal salary$154,472
Superintendent salary$278,750

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201959/10085#283California comprehensive middle schools · 1,953 schools
202241/10068#666California comprehensive middle schools · 2,113 schools
202343/10072#581California comprehensive middle schools · 2,125 schools
202449/10077#488California comprehensive middle schools · 2,152 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 9.5% → 2025 · 6.7% · −2.8pp
Suspension rate2024 · 3.3% → 2025 · 1.4% · −1.9pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA40522.2%57.3%
2025 · Math40516.8%37.5%
2024 · ELA40621.2%62.6%
2024 · Math40320.4%42.2%
2023 · ELA40519.3%62.7%
2023 · Math40117.7%40.9%
2022 · ELA38718.6%63.0%
2022 · Math38713.2%33.9%
2019 · ELA41531.8%85.5%
2019 · Math41524.1%55.9%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———28.0%70.7%4.8%2.5%-8.6pp
2022———15.9%48.5%26.0%3.4%-4.2pp
2023———18.5%51.7%15.9%7.4%-4.0pp
2024———20.8%52.4%9.9%3.3%+9.1pp
20254263#79019.6%47.6%7.1%1.5%+13.3pp

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 6 vs grade 8 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female4.5%7.6%+3.1pp
Male4.5%5.5%+1.0pp
Black/African American6.5%1.4%-5.1pp
Filipino0.0%——
Hispanic/Latino4.1%7.3%+3.2pp
Two or More Races7.7%11.8%+4.1pp
White5.7%11.4%+5.7pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged4.6%6.9%+2.3pp
All Students4.5%6.7%+2.2pp
Students with Disabilities—15.8%—
English Learners—5.1%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students+7388Accelerated0388Average
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged+5303Accelerated−3303Average
English Only+6271not categorised0271not categorised
Hispanic or Latino+5260Accelerated−4260Average
Black or African American+1662Accelerated+462Average
English Learner+653Accelerated+453Average
White+1039Accelerated+2239Exceptional
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only+2029not categorised+1929not categorised
Long-Term English Learner (grades 6-8 only)−627Moderate−327Average
English Learners Only−1124not categorised−1524not categorised
Two or More Races+2416Exceptional+716Accelerated
Students with Disabilities+815Accelerated−815Moderate

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. Long-Term English Learner counts cover grades 6-8 only (CDE), so that row is not comparable to the All Students row. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures

School-grade cohort proxy · ELA endpoints

ELA · 2023 · Grade 6
22%
exceeded standard · 62% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2023 · 135 ELA test records with scores
ELA · 2025 · Grade 8
21%
exceeded standard · 60% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2025 · 132 ELA test records with scores

Minimum rounded subject-mean records with scores at the endpoints: 132 (school-grade cohort proxy).

These paired percentages describe ELA results for grade groups at this school in two years. The groups are not matched students. SchoolScope's scored growth measure uses a different school-level scale-score proxy across ELA and Math; California's matched-student model is a separate measure.

California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

388 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: +7 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 70th percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.70th pctile · +7 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

388 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: 0 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 48th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.48th pctile · 0 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California middle school records, the median ELA estimate is −1 and the middle half fall between −8 and +6 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$14,005 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 13,594 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$277 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 414

Central federal expenditures attributed here$2,069 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 414

District current expense · FY 2024–25$23,225 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 65%Instruction support 9%Student services 11%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 10%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$14,005 per pupil
2020$12,628 per pupil
2019$12,465 per pupil
2018$11,123 per pupil
2017$11,001 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 93535
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 93535
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$70,360
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)15.17%
ZCTA population79,409
Median age31.9 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/fulton-and-alsbury-academy-of-arts-and-engineering-3462"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Fulton and Alsbury Academy of Arts and Engineering — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=2,177 middle schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction