Public school · Saugus Union

Emblem Academy

Saugus · TK–6 · 810 students (2024–25)

94thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 5,721 scored public elementary schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
71 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Well above California in English and math: 79% and 74% met or exceeded the standard in grades 3–5, against 46% and 41% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 3–5: 322
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 3, 4 and 5 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,232,086 in English and 1,241,652 in math tested).

This rating covers grades 3–5. Emblem Academy teaches TK–6: grade 6 results ↓

How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four elementary schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Sign in to save this school

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

Are children building strong foundations?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
56%
Met standard
23%
Below standard
21%

79% met or exceeded · 322 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSaugus Union
Exceeded56%24%41%
Met23%22%26%
Nearly met11%21%17%
Not met10%33%16%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
46%
Met standard
28%
Below standard
26%

74% met or exceeded · 322 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSaugus Union
Exceeded46%21%37%
Met28%20%27%
Nearly met19%25%22%
Not met7%34%14%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

English

grade 6Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
34%
Met standard
40%
Below standard
26%

74% met or exceeded · 144 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSaugus Union
Exceeded34%20%36%
Met40%28%39%
Nearly met18%24%15%
Not met8%28%10%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 6Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
30%
Met standard
24%
Below standard
46%

54% met or exceeded · 145 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSaugus Union
Exceeded30%20%42%
Met24%17%22%
Nearly met33%24%22%
Not met13%39%14%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Reading and math results for the tested grades. These do not measure the experience in kindergarten or the early grades.

Ask: How do you help children who need more support in reading or math, and those ready for more challenge?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
56% in English and 46% in math reached the top of the state’s four levels, against 24% and 21% across California in the same grades.grades 3–5 · spring 2025
56%English · exceeded the standard46%Math · exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 3–5: 322
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 3, 4 and 5 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,232,086 in English and 1,241,652 in math tested).
In grade 6, 74% met or exceeded the standard in English and 54% in math, against 48% and 37% statewide.grade 6 · spring 2025
74%English · met or exceeded the standard54%Math · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 6: 144 in English, 145 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 6 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 418,255 in English and 420,720 in math tested).
Low-income students here (156 tested, grades 3–6, spring 2025) met or exceeded the standard far more often than low-income students across California in the same grades (36% and 29%).grades 3–6 · spring 2025
68%English · met or exceeded60%Math · met or exceeded
Source
CDE CAASPP research file, spring 2025
Students
low-income students (CDE: “socioeconomically disadvantaged”) in grades 3–6: 156
Comparison
California: the same group in the same grades, CDE’s statewide rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation). Both gaps are more than twice the margin of error for 156 students.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school79%
California46%

Tested: 322 here · 1,232,086 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school79%
Saugus Union67%

Tested: 322 here · 3,799 in Saugus Union. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 14 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSaugus Union
Exceeded56%24%41%
Met23%22%26%
Nearly met11%21%17%
Not met10%33%16%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school74%
California41%

Tested: 322 here · 1,241,652 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school74%
Saugus Union64%

Tested: 322 here · 3,797 in Saugus Union. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 14 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSaugus Union
Exceeded46%21%37%
Met28%20%27%
Nearly met19%25%22%
Not met7%34%14%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

English

grade 6Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school74%
California48%

Tested: 144 here · 418,255 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school74%
Saugus Union75%

Tested: 144 here · 1,332 in Saugus Union. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 14 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSaugus Union
Exceeded34%20%36%
Met40%28%39%
Nearly met18%24%15%
Not met8%28%10%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 6Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school54%
California37%

Tested: 145 here · 420,720 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school54%
Saugus Union64%

Tested: 145 here · 1,333 in Saugus Union. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 14 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaSaugus Union
Exceeded30%20%42%
Met24%17%22%
Nearly met33%24%22%
Not met13%39%14%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

Are students making progress?

The state’s growth measure338 students · grades 4–6 · 2025
English+11ptsCDE level: Accelerated (4 of 5)
Math+4ptsCDE level: Average (3 of 5)

What the number means. California predicts each student’s score from that student’s own English and math scores the year before, based on how students with similar scores did across the state. Zero would mean students here scored as predicted. In English they scored 11 points above that prediction, and in math 4 points above it.

The levels. CDE sorts every school’s result into five levels, from Minimal to Exceptional. The bar under each number shows where this school landed.

Two years at once. For most schools, this one included, CDE’s figure blends the two most recent years of growth, so it moves more slowly than a single year’s scores.

Why our growth can differ. The growth in our Scope Score asks a different question. It doesn’t follow individual students: it compares the latest grade 5 scores here with the school’s grade 3 scores two years earlier, and places that change among California schools at the same level. Children who joined or left the school in between count in ours; the state’s counts only students who took California’s test the year before. So the two can point different ways.

School pattern, spring 2025High CeilingThe average Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 50%.
School pattern, spring 2025Solid BaseThe average Met + Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 65%.

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

4 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
5in 100 at the average Saugus Union school18in 100 at the average California elementary school

34 of 821 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school4 in 100
at the average Saugus Union school5 in 100
at the average California elementary school18 in 100
0.7%of students were suspended at least once (6 of 827), 2024–25
0.7%at the average Saugus Union school1.6%at the average California elementary school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
TK and kindergarten69 of 138
Grades 1–339 of 316
Grades 4–6416 of 367

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 3–6 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

156 tested per subject

English68% / 36%
Math60% / 29%

Hispanic or Latino

156 tested per subject

English71% / 36%
Math53% / 29%

White

123 tested per subject

English75% / 60%
Math66% / 54%

Filipino

72 tested per subject

English83% / 70%
Math79% / 62%

Asian

50 tested per subject · grades 3 and 4 and 6

English90% / 71%
Math92% / 72%

Students with disabilities

51 English · 52 math tested · grades 3 and 4 and 6

English45% / 18%
Math42% / 18%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 3–6 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Saugus Unionvs California
Low-income · 156 tested
English68%+1058%+3236%
Math60%+753%+3129%
Hispanic or Latino · 156 tested
English71%+1259%+3536%
Math53%+251%+2429%
White · 123 tested
English75%+372%+1560%
Math66%−369%+1254%
Filipino · 72 tested
English83%+479%+1370%
Math79%−180%+1762%
Asian · 50 tested · grades 3 and 4 and 6 only
English90%090%+1971%
Math92%+191%+2072%
Students with disabilities · 51 tested in English, 52 in math · grades 3 and 4 and 6 only
English45%+936%+2718%
Math42%+537%+2418%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Saugus Union, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

Students of two or more races: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Black or African American, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students, English learners and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income and Hispanic or Latino students and students with disabilities here did far better than the same groups statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Emblem Academy in Saugus, 67.9% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 3, 4, 5 and 6, compared to 57.7% district-wide for those same grades and 35.7% statewide for those same grades. Emblem Academy’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 10.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (60.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (70.5% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 32.6 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 156 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 33%2. White: 24%3. Filipino: 15%4. Asian: 14%5. Two or more races: 9%6. Black or African American: 5%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino33%
  2. White24%
  3. Filipino15%
  4. Asian14%
  5. Two or more races9%
  6. Black or African American5%
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino33%
White24%
Filipino15%
Asian14%
Two or more races9%
Black or African American5%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 1 in 3 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (33%, 265 of 810). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers33
Average experience18 years
First-year teachers0%
95% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 95.40%: 29.6 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 31 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Getting in

Ask Saugus Union which school serves your address.

emblem.saugususd.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
22635 Espuella Drive, Saugus 91350

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. How do you support kids who arrive ahead, and kids who arrive behind?
  2. How do you teach early reading and check each child’s progress?
  3. What does extra support or enrichment look like during the school day?
  4. What are the school-day hours and after-school care options?

Call (661) 294-5315 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby elementary schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar elementary schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 24.7–40.7% meal eligibility and 405–1,620 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Emblem Academy a good elementary school?
Emblem Academy is in the 94th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter elementary schools. Its Scope Score is 71 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), Emblem Academy was well above California in English and math: 79% and 74% met or exceeded the standard in grades 3–5, against 46% and 41% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for elementary schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 3-to-5 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Emblem Academy's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 79% of students tested in grades 3–5 met or exceeded the English standard and 74% the math standard; 56% and 46% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 46% and 41% met or exceeded, 24% and 21% exceeded. 322 students were tested in English and 322 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Emblem Academy rank in California?
Emblem Academy is in the 94th percentile of 5,721 California comprehensive elementary schools (Strong, 2025). Emblem Academy ranks #321 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), aggregate cohort comparison (2023 G3 → 2025 G5), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
Is Emblem Academy getting better or worse?
SchoolScope compares Emblem Academy's grade 3 results in 2023 with its grade 5 results in 2025, using school-level test aggregates. Students are not matched across years, and enrollment changes can affect the comparison. SchoolScope elementary standardized cohort gain: approximately 68th percentile on a calibrated reference scale, not an empirical school rank. This score compares school-level grade groups across ELA and Math, not matched students in California's separate growth model. It describes an aggregate change; it cannot establish how individual students progressed or what caused it. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Emblem Academy?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 4.1% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 34 chronically absent of 821 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 0.7%; 6 unduplicated suspended students of 827 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 4.7%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 0.7%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Emblem Academy compare to other schools in Saugus?
Emblem Academy is in the 94th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter elementary schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 810 students. Use the schools in Saugus page or the map view to compare nearby elementary schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Emblem Academy?
At Emblem Academy in Saugus, 67.9% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 3, 4, 5 and 6, compared to 57.7% district-wide for those same grades and 35.7% statewide for those same grades. Emblem Academy’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 10.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (60.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (70.5% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 32.6 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 156 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Emblem Academy is ranked #321 statewide · #2 of 14 in Saugus Union.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard50.9%21.4%42%
Met or exceeded76.9%42.7%23%
Growth (2023 G3 → 2025 G5)Above avgaverage20%
Chronic absenteeism4.7%17.9%5%
Suspension rate0.7%1.6%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)45.6%17.8%5%
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 21.4% · index 79 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 42.7% · index 76 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint
Growth (2023 G3 → 2025 G5)
↑ vs CA average · ≈68th calibrated reference pctile
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 17.9% · index 71 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint · ▼ 2.2pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 1.6% · index 57 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint · ▲ 0.6pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 90 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 311958%20%10%12%78%+35
Grade 411549%27%14%10%76%+31
Grade 58861%24%9%6%85%+38
Grade 614434%40%17%8%74%+28

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 ELA equal-school mean: 43.1%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 ELA equal-school mean: 44.6%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 ELA equal-school mean: 47.7%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 6 ELA equal-school mean: 46.1%; n=4084 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 311954%23%16%8%76%+31
Grade 411536%37%20%7%73%+32
Grade 58848%25%23%5%73%+38
Grade 614530%24%32%13%54%+20

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 Math equal-school mean: 45.4%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 Math equal-school mean: 41.3%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 Math equal-school mean: 35.0%; n=5724 reporting schools

State grade 6 Math equal-school mean: 34.5%; n=4086 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 3 · ELA10172.3%
2024 · Grade 4 · ELA8583.5%
2024 · Grade 5 · ELA13475.4%
2024 · Grade 6 · ELA11567.8%
2024 · Grade 3 · Math10185.2%
2024 · Grade 4 · Math8681.4%
2024 · Grade 5 · Math13453.7%
2024 · Grade 6 · Math11560.9%
2023 · Grade 3 · ELA8582.3%
2023 · Grade 4 · ELA13371.4%
2023 · Grade 5 · ELA11870.3%
2023 · Grade 6 · ELA9277.2%
2023 · Grade 3 · Math8588.2%
2023 · Grade 4 · Math13366.2%
2023 · Grade 5 · Math11852.5%
2023 · Grade 6 · Math9259.8%
2022 · Grade 3 · ELA12770.1%
2022 · Grade 4 · ELA11079.1%
2022 · Grade 5 · ELA8374.7%
2022 · Grade 6 · ELA9880.6%
2022 · Grade 3 · Math12779.5%
2022 · Grade 4 · Math11071.8%
2022 · Grade 5 · Math8350.6%
2022 · Grade 6 · Math9865.3%
2019 · Grade 3 · ELA10979.8%
2019 · Grade 4 · ELA13573.3%
2019 · Grade 5 · ELA12375.6%
2019 · Grade 6 · ELA10878.7%
2019 · Grade 3 · Math10981.7%
2019 · Grade 4 · Math13563.7%
2019 · Grade 5 · Math12352.0%
2019 · Grade 6 · Math10871.3%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide8834%31%33%2%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged15667.9%+10+32
Hispanic/Latino15670.5%+12+34
White12374.8%+3+14
Nearest elementary schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 3 vs grade 5, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Emblem Academy ←—7194th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202550.9%76.9%+1.7pp+79 pts0.7%
Highlands Elementary0.9 mi5075th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202527.6%57.5%−0.6pp—0.2%
Bridgeport Elementary1.1 mi6187th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202543.3%68.9%−4.5pp—0.9%
Charles Helmers Elementary1.2 mi6791st percentile · Strong · statewide · 202551.7%75.4%−3.8pp—0.8%
California average—39School average · no percentile21.4%42.7%−2.9pp—1.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders3.2%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$53,873 – $113,895
Average elementary principal salary$160,482
Superintendent salary$278,687

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201965/10087#684California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,484 schools
202267/10089#582California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,704 schools
202367/10089#596California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,696 schools
202464/10089#592California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,711 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 6.3% → 2025 · 4.1% · −2.2pp
Suspension rate2024 · 0.1% → 2025 · 0.7% · +0.6pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA46648.9%77.7%
2025 · Math46740.9%68.1%
2024 · ELA43545.3%74.3%
2024 · Math43638.5%68.3%
2023 · ELA42841.8%74.5%
2023 · Math42839.3%65.4%
2022 · ELA41842.8%75.8%
2022 · Math41842.6%68.4%
2019 · ELA47546.7%76.6%
2019 · Math47537.9%66.5%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———43.4%71.0%5.5%0.5%-16.9pp
2022———42.6%71.0%12.7%0.1%-12.2pp
2023———43.0%71.8%10.5%0.2%-23.9pp
2024———46.2%75.2%6.9%0.2%-14.2pp
20257194#32150.9%76.9%4.7%0.7%+1.7pp

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 3 vs grade 5 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female3.1%4.1%+1.0pp
Male7.1%4.2%-2.9pp
Asian3.4%1.8%-1.6pp
Black/African American12.5%10.8%-1.7pp
Filipino1.9%0.8%-1.1pp
Hispanic/Latino7.7%7.4%-0.3pp
Two or More Races8.8%4.1%-4.7pp
White3.6%2.0%-1.6pp
Students with Disabilities14.4%7.1%-7.3pp
English Learners5.4%6.3%+0.9pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged8.2%8.0%-0.2pp
All Students5.3%4.1%-1.2pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students+11338Accelerated+4338Average
English Only+10263not categorised+3263not categorised
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged+7114Accelerated−3114Average
Hispanic or Latino+12105Accelerated−3105Average
White+1092Accelerated+392Average
Filipino+655Accelerated+555Accelerated
Students with Disabilities−246Average−346Average
Asian+1443Accelerated+2043Exceptional
English Learner+1143Accelerated+1143Accelerated
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only+1131not categorised+431not categorised
Two or More Races+1727Accelerated+627Accelerated
Black or African American+1316Accelerated+416Average
English Learners Only+812not categorised+2512not categorised

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures

School-grade cohort proxy · ELA endpoints

ELA · 2023 · Grade 3
54%
exceeded standard · 82% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2023 · 85 ELA test records with scores
ELA · 2025 · Grade 5
61%
exceeded standard · 85% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2025 · 88 ELA test records with scores

Minimum rounded subject-mean records with scores at the endpoints: 85 (school-grade cohort proxy).

These paired percentages describe ELA results for grade groups at this school in two years. The groups are not matched students. SchoolScope's scored growth measure uses a different school-level scale-score proxy across ELA and Math; California's matched-student model is a separate measure.

California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

338 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: +11 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 81st percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.81st pctile · +11 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

338 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: +4 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 59th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.59th pctile · +4 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California elementary school records, the median ELA estimate is +2 and the middle half fall between −5 and +9 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$11,840 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 9,071 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

Central federal expenditures attributed here$572 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 810

District current expense · FY 2024–25$15,563 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 65%Instruction support 7%Student services 9%Administration 10%Buildings & maintenance 9%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$11,840 per pupil
2020$11,465 per pupil
2019$11,447 per pupil
2018$10,635 per pupil
2017$10,345 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 91350
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 91350
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$140,110
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)41.77%
ZCTA population43,973
Median age38.2 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/emblem-academy-2669"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Emblem Academy — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=5,721 elementary schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction