ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Elevated Digital Learning Academy

South Lake Tahoe, CA · Grades K-12 · 116 students · Lake Tahoe Unified

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

29% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 14% in math. 79.2% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

PrincipalKelly Buttery
GradesK-12
Enrollment116 students

Math

14%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

29%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

116

Total enrollment

Graduation

79.2%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2024: 13%2025: 14%2024: 31%2025: 29%202420250%25%50%75%100%2024: 13%2025: 14%2024: 31%2025: 29%20242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
202413%31%
202514%29%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2024 to 2025

Has stayed near the 4th percentile since 2024.

Most rating sites would stop at “21% proficient” and call it done. Elevated Digital Learning Academy deserves a closer read. Two in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

46 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Elevated Digital Learning Academy scores 31 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 4th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2024 · 4th percentile · Scope Score 31 of 1002025 · 4th percentile · Scope Score 31 of 100
ELAOrange(Increased Significantly)MathRed(Declined)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade2022202320242025
Grade 762%25%24%—
Grade 853%31%——
Grade 11——31%29%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade2022202320242025
Grade 738%31%21%—
Grade 824%18%——
Grade 11——13%14%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in five of students here meet the standard. 4% clear it by a lot.

ELA24% met or exceeded
Exceeded 2%Met 22%Nearly Met 28%Not Met 48%
Math14% met or exceeded
Exceeded 2%Met 12%Nearly Met 24%Not Met 62%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2024–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school314%21%79.2%0.0%46.0%2.4%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope3154
% Exceeded4%20%
% Met+21%43%
Grad rate79.2%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence46.0%23.1%
Suspension2.4%3.3%
California’s growth results and student groups
State growth model · CDE growth model 2024–25

California's own growth model places it near the 1st percentile of high schools.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

California runs its own growth model — it follows individual children in grades 4 through 8 and compares each one against a prediction from their own prior scores. On that measure this school sits well below the middle of California high schools in reading and math together. We show it; we don't score it.

— pts vs expected is scale-score points above or below what California's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores. It is not a percentage and not a percent of anything. A typical California high school lands at −3 in reading, and the middle half of them fall between −13 and +5 — the spread is wide, so read the rank, not the sign. CDE blends two consecutive years into each published figure, so adjacent years share input data and no year-over-year trend can honestly be drawn from them. It covers grades 4-8 only, and it is not part of the Scope Score — we assessed it and left it out: it tracks school demographics roughly three times as strongly as our own growth measure does, and one published year is not enough to test how stable it is.

California's growth model, ranked against the schools it scores
State model · readingmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, reading: −26 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 2nd percentile of 7,519 reported schools.2nd pctile · −26 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, math: −29 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 1st percentile of 7,518 reported schools.1st pctile · −29 pts
this school| the tick is the middle of the California field

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

See the published graduate records below. Missing destination counts are not treated as zero.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 23 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher23 · district 21
Teaching staff6 teachers
Avg. experience21.3 years
Fully credentialed85%
PrincipalKelly Buttery
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,469 – $128,797
Principal salary$147,633 – $151,809
Superintendent salary$250,521

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP courses offered2 (CCI)
CTE pathway completers1 students
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Grades 7–8 students miss school at roughly twice the rate of Grades 4–6 students (91.2% vs 47.6%). Chronic absence here concentrates in the upper grades.

46.0% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 46.0%, district 27.5%, state 23.1%46.0% · +22.9pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 2.4%, district —, state 3.3%2.4% · −0.9pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 4–647.6%
Grades 7–891.2%
Grades 9–1257.9%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $14,849 per student, about the same as the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$27 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $14,849, CA average $14,491$14,849 · spent at this school
Federal share$27 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$19,056 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 62%Instruction support 9%Student services 9%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 12%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$13,413 per pupil
2019$12,480 per pupil
2018$13,165 per pupil
2017$12,236 per pupil
2016$11,567 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 116 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 47% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino25.0% · district 49.7% · CA 56.1%
White65.5% · district 41.4% · CA 19.9%
Black2.6% · district 0.4% · CA 4.8%
Other6.9% · district 7.3% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 37.9% · Male 61.2% · Non-binary 0.9%
Free or reduced lunch42.2% · CA 64%
Median income$93K · CA $85K
Median home value$708K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+40% · CA 35%
ZIP population29,646
Median age42 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Find contact and visit details →

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Elevated Digital Learning AcademyPublicNeeds Support4%21%School being viewed
South Tahoe HighPublicNeeds Support13%35%3.0 mi
Mt. Tallac Highcontinuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support0%2%0.1 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Lake Tahoe Unified.

District information →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Elevated Digital Learning Academy a good high school?
Elevated Digital Learning Academy has a Scope Score of 31 out of 100, placing it in the 4th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,588 statewide. 3.6% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 16.3 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Elevated Digital Learning Academy's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 21.4% of students at Elevated Digital Learning Academy met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 3.6% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 17.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 3.6% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 28 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Elevated Digital Learning Academy rank in California?
Elevated Digital Learning Academy ranks #1,588 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 4th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Elevated Digital Learning Academy?
46.0% of students at Elevated Digital Learning Academy are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 2.4%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Elevated Digital Learning Academy compare to other schools in South Lake Tahoe?
Elevated Digital Learning Academy scores 31/100 (4th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 116 students. Use the schools in South Lake Tahoe page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate79.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard3.6%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded21.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism46.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)18.2%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Elevated Digital Learning Academy: reading the evidence

Elevated Digital Learning Academy posts low test scores — and test scores are one lens among several. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Elevated Digital Learning Academy is ranked #1,588 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate79.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard3.6%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded21.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism46.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate2.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)18.2%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 42 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 38 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 41 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 37 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 8.6pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 56 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.2pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 3———————
Grade 45——————
Grade 5———————
Grade 65——————
Grade 78——————
Grade 810——————
Grade 11140%29%29%43%29%−20
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 3———————
Grade 45——————
Grade 5———————
Grade 65——————
Grade 76——————
Grade 88——————
Grade 11147%7%7%79%14%−9

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide329%38%41%13%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Elevated Digital Learning Academy ←—313.6%21.4%2.4%
South Tahoe High3 mi4412.7%34.6%4.3%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Mt. Tallac Highscored within its class, not statewide0.1 mi180.0%2.4%5.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
79.2%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
31.6%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
2024314#15783.9%22.1%37.4%2.2%
2025314#15883.6%21.4%46.0%2.4%
What we can't show
  • — No subgroup comparison could be shown for this school this year — either its group sizes fall under CDE's 15-student reporting floor, or district/state comparison data wasn't available for its groups.
  • — Scored here as a high school — other grade spans appear in the data appendix.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female—64.7%—
Male—59.4%—
Hispanic/Latino—67.9%—
White—61.0%—
Students with Disabilities—68.2%—
English Learners—70.0%—
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged—68.4%—
All Students—61.4%—
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot reported
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot reported
Dual enrollmentnot reported
Algebra I in grade 8offered · 11 enrolled
Calculus sectionsnot reported
Physics sectionsnot reported
Chemistry sectionsnot reported
Total enrollment (CRDC)256

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07California growth model, by student group2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
ShowHide table 07 — California growth model, by student group
GroupReadingnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−2615Minimal−2914Minimal
English Only−3413not categorised−3812not categorised

Whole scale-score points above or below what CDE's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores — not a percentage, not a percentile. Statewide a typical school lands near +1 with a spread of about 13 points either side, so read a figure against its group's own typical value, not against zero. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a growth score — published by CDE, held back from the narrative sections above because at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own. “Not categorised” is CDE assigning no band — English Only, Recently Reclassified, and English Learners Only receive a value and no band, for every school in the state. It is not a missing number. Most figures blend two consecutive years, so adjacent published years share input data and no trend line can honestly be drawn across them. A group absent from this table had fewer than 11 students with a growth score and was never published. Grades 4-8 only. None of this enters the Scope Score — it is more strongly correlated with school demographics than our own growth measure, and one published year is not enough to test its reliability.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/elevated-digital-learning-academy-0459"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Elevated Digital Learning Academy — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Elevated Digital Learning Academy

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.