Public school · Antioch Unified

Deer Valley High

Antioch · 9–12 · 1,812 students (2024–25)

13thpercentileNeeds Support

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
43 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 86% of the class graduated in four years (322 of 375); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 375
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
20%
Met standard
31%
Below standard
49%

51% met or exceeded · 393 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaAntioch Unified
Exceeded20%27%14%
Met31%30%25%
Nearly met20%20%25%
Not met29%23%36%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
8%
Met standard
15%
Below standard
77%

23% met or exceeded · 398 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaAntioch Unified
Exceeded8%14%4%
Met15%16%9%
Nearly met14%21%15%
Not met63%49%72%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
About 1 in 3 students (704 of 1,926) missed 10% or more of school days.2024–25
37 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25

Ask: When a child starts missing school, who calls the family, and how soon?

Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 1,926
Comparison
704 of 1,926. District and California figures are averages of school rates (4 Antioch Unified schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.
5.7% of students (119 of 2,087) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, about twice the rate at the average California high school.2024–25
5.7%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25

Ask: When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?

Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 2,087
Comparison
119 of 2,087. District and California figures are averages of school rates (4 Antioch Unified schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school51%
California57%

Tested: 393 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school51%
Antioch Unified39%

Tested: 393 here · 1,139 in Antioch Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 6 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaAntioch Unified
Exceeded20%27%14%
Met31%30%25%
Nearly met20%20%25%
Not met29%23%36%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school23%
California30%

Tested: 398 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school23%
Antioch Unified13%

Tested: 398 here · 1,145 in Antioch Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 6 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaAntioch Unified
Exceeded8%14%4%
Met15%16%9%
Nearly met14%21%15%
Not met63%49%72%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standard in math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

86%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 322 of 375 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

28%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

24%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

64% enrolled in college within 12 months · 359 high-school completers

  • University of California29 · 8%
  • California State University27 · 8%
  • California community college157 · 44%
  • In-state private4 · 1%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year10 · 3%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 · 0%
  • Not enrolled131 · 36%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
43
Admitted
32
Enrolled
14

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 43 · Admitted 32 · Enrolled 14
  • Fall 2024Applied 64 · Admitted 43 · Enrolled 20
  • Fall 2023Applied 71 · Admitted 50 · Enrolled 30
  • Fall 2022Applied 50 · Admitted 36 · Enrolled 14
  • Fall 2021Applied 62 · Admitted 41 · Enrolled 26
  • Fall 2020Applied 44 · Admitted 34 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2019Applied 58 · Admitted 41 · Enrolled 27
  • Fall 2018Applied 98 · Admitted 58 · Enrolled 37
  • Fall 2017Applied 72 · Admitted 44 · Enrolled 30
  • Fall 2016Applied 72 · Admitted 51 · Enrolled 29
  • Fall 2015Applied 80 · Admitted 46 · Enrolled 33
  • Fall 2014Applied 89 · Admitted 49 · Enrolled 34
  • Fall 2013Applied 72 · Admitted 45 · Enrolled 31
  • Fall 2012Applied 75 · Admitted 40 · Enrolled 29
  • Fall 2011Applied 75 · Admitted 43 · Enrolled 24
  • Fall 2010Applied 78 · Admitted 63 · Enrolled 36
  • Fall 2009Applied 77 · Admitted 61 · Enrolled 36
  • Fall 2008Applied 118 · Admitted 83 · Enrolled 38
  • Fall 2007Applied 64 · Admitted 54 · Enrolled 35
  • Fall 2006Applied 92 · Admitted 72 · Enrolled 40
  • Fall 2005Applied 82 · Admitted 59 · Enrolled 38
  • Fall 2004Applied 81 · Admitted 60 · Enrolled 40
  • Fall 2003Applied 104 · Admitted 86 · Enrolled 44
  • Fall 2002Applied 98 · Admitted 84 · Enrolled 48
  • Fall 2001Applied 73 · Admitted 59 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 2000Applied 79 · Admitted 60 · Enrolled 34
  • Fall 1999Applied 30 · Admitted 21 · Enrolled 13

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 24 · Admitted 3 · Enrolled 3
  • DavisApplied 32 · Admitted 8 · Enrolled 3
  • IrvineApplied 24 · Admitted Masked · Enrolled Masked
  • Los AngelesApplied 21 · Admitted Masked · Enrolled Masked
  • MercedApplied 29 · Admitted 27 · Enrolled 3
  • RiversideApplied 20 · Admitted 17 · Enrolled Masked
  • San DiegoApplied 19 · Admitted 5 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 17 · Admitted 6 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa CruzApplied 16 · Admitted 7 · Enrolled Masked

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 5
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Computer Science A
  • Precalculus
  • Statistics
Sciences 2
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 6
  • Macroeconomics
  • Microeconomics
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
  • World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures 1
  • Spanish Language and Culture

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
61 of 107 Prepared students · 57.0%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 375 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
29 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

37 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
37in 100 at the average Antioch Unified school22in 100 at the average California high school

704 of 1,926 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school37 in 100
at the average Antioch Unified school37 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
5.7%of students were suspended at least once (119 of 2,087), 2024–25
5.0%at the average Antioch Unified school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

327 English · 331 math tested

English46% / 49%
Math19% / 21%

Hispanic or Latino

164 English · 166 math tested

English51% / 49%
Math20% / 19%

Black or African American

103 English · 104 math tested

English29% / 41%
Math9% / 16%

Filipino

47 English · 48 math tested

English68% / 78%
Math35% / 49%

White

34 tested per subject

English68% / 68%
Math35% / 42%

English learners

46 English · 49 math tested

English11% / 8%
Math4% / 6%

Students with disabilities

54 tested per subject

English7% / 18%
Math4% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Antioch Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 327 tested in English, 331 in math
English46%+937%−349%
Math19%+910%−221%
Hispanic or Latino · 164 tested in English, 166 in math
English51%+1437%+249%
Math20%+119%+119%
Black or African American · 103 tested in English, 104 in math
English29%+326%−1241%
Math9%+45%−716%
Filipino · 47 tested in English, 48 in math
English68%068%−1078%
Math35%−136%−1449%
White · 34 tested
English68%+1454%068%
Math35%+1322%−742%
English learners · 46 tested in English, 49 in math
English11%+47%+38%
Math4%+13%−26%
Students with disabilities · 54 tested
English7%−18%−1118%
Math4%+22%−26%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Antioch Unified, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

Asian students and students of two or more races: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Black or African American students and students with disabilities did worse than the same groups statewide in English.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Deer Valley High in Antioch, 46.2% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 36.8% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Deer Valley High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 9.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (19.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (51.2% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 43.2 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 327 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 42%2. Black or African American: 28%3. White: 9%4. Filipino: 8%5. Asian: 6%6. Two or more races: 5%7. Pacific Islander: 1%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino42%
  2. Black or African American28%
  3. White9%
  4. Filipino8%
  5. Asian6%
  6. Two or more races5%
  7. Pacific Islander1%
  8. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino42%
Black or African American28%
White9%
Filipino8%
Asian6%
Two or more races5%
Pacific Islander1%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 4 in 5 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (83%, 1,496 of 1,812). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers80
Average experience16 years
First-year teachers4%
70% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 69.53%: 56.1 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 80.6 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryJack London ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleDallas Ranch MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolDeer Valley HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Jack London Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    6th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Grant Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    11th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Carmen Dragon Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    9th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Diablo Vista Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    34th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Muir (John) Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    26th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Lone Tree Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    11th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Thomas Gaines Virtual Academy

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    38th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

  • Orchard Park

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    50th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

Middle-school links

  • Black Diamond Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Dallas Ranch Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    13th percentile · Needs Support · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Thomas Gaines Virtual Academy

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

  • Orchard Park

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Antioch Unified which school serves your address.

antiochschools.net

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
4700 Lone Tree Way, Antioch 94531

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. When a child starts missing school, who calls the family, and how soon?
  2. When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?
  3. Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standard in math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
  4. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?

Call (925) 779-7570 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Hemet HighHemet Unified · 2,414 enrolled · 82.5% meal eligibility46thDeveloping
  • Corning HighCorning Union High · 974 enrolled · 82.4% meal eligibility23rdNeeds Support
  • Escondido HighEscondido Union High · 1,656 enrolled · 82.7% meal eligibility30thDeveloping
  • Nogales HighRowland Unified · 1,535 enrolled · 82.8% meal eligibility24thNeeds Support
  • Castle Park Senior HighSweetwater Union High · 1,363 enrolled · 82.3% meal eligibility31stDeveloping
  • Garden Grove HighGarden Grove Unified · 2,148 enrolled · 82.3% meal eligibility78thStrong
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 74.6–90.6% meal eligibility and 906–3,624 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Deer Valley High a good high school?
Deer Valley High is in the 13th percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 43 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 86% of the class graduated in four years (322 of 375); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Deer Valley High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 51% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 23% the math standard; 20% and 8% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 393 students were tested in English and 398 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Deer Valley High rank in California?
Deer Valley High is in the 13th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Needs Support, 2025). Deer Valley High ranks #1,304 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Deer Valley High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 36.6% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 704 chronically absent of 1,926 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 5.7%; 119 unduplicated suspended students of 2,087 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 36.4%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 5.6%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Deer Valley High compare to other schools in Antioch?
Deer Valley High is in the 13th percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 1,812 students. Use the schools in Antioch page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Deer Valley High?
At Deer Valley High in Antioch, 46.2% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 36.8% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Deer Valley High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 9.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (19.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (51.2% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 43.2 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 327 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Deer Valley High?
Deer Valley High had own-school AP authorizations for 16 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science A, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Deer Valley High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 14 Deer Valley High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Deer Valley High is ranked #1,304 statewide · #2 of 4 in Antioch Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate85.9%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard13.8%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared28.5%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded36.6%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism36.4%22.7%5%
Suspension rate5.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)13.1%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.9% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↓ vs CA 51.7% · index 40 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.8pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 41 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.7pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 45 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1139320%31%20%29%51%+2

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 113988%15%14%63%23%−1

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA37047.6%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math37112.7%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA42156.1%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math42318.2%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA33451.2%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math35221.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA39252.8%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math39527.1%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide4103%18%67%12%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged32746.2%+9−2
Hispanic/Latino16451.2%+14+2
Black/African American10329.1%+3−12
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Deer Valley High ←—4313th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 202513.8%36.6%5.6%
Dozier-Libbey Medical High1.4 mi6574th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202527.2%48.9%4.2%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%
Bidwell Continuation Highscored within its class, not statewide2.5 mi2773rd percentile · Solid · within class · 20250.6%7.1%0.9%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders4.2%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$63,441 – $131,859
Average elementary principal salary$171,057
Average middle school principal salary$188,134
Average high school principal salary$201,065
Superintendent salary$358,340

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 43/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 28.5% · numerator 107 students classified Prepared · denominator 375 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 57.0% · AP-pathway numerator 61 · denominator 107 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 107 of 375 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201950/10036#965California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202248/10038#989California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202350/10040#972California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202445/10028#1175California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 34.7% → 2025 · 36.6% · +1.9pp
Suspension rate2024 · 7.4% → 2025 · 5.7% · −1.7pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA39320.1%50.6%
2025 · Math3987.5%22.6%
2024 · ELA37012.4%47.6%
2024 · Math3714.6%12.7%
2023 · ELA42121.1%56.1%
2023 · Math4236.6%18.2%
2022 · ELA33418.3%51.2%
2022 · Math3526.0%21.0%
2019 · ELA39223.0%52.8%
2019 · Math3959.1%27.1%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
85.9%
AP pathway among Prepared
57.0%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
23.9%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
63.5%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201916.0%40.0%23.0%11.9%
202212.1%36.1%33.7%8.0%
202313.9%37.1%33.6%7.0%
20248.5%30.1%34.6%7.3%
202513.8%36.6%36.4%5.6%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female23.5%39.9%+16.4pp
Male22.2%33.4%+11.2pp
Asian14.4%21.7%+7.3pp
Black/African American33.2%45.4%+12.2pp
Filipino5.0%16.1%+11.1pp
Hispanic/Latino19.0%36.5%+17.5pp
American Indian/Alaska Native30.8%——
Pacific Islander19.2%72.7%+53.5pp
Two or More Races30.8%34.6%+3.8pp
White18.2%32.8%+14.6pp
Students with Disabilities33.7%49.2%+15.5pp
English Learners24.6%38.6%+14.0pp
Foster Youth55.2%52.8%-2.4pp
Homeless42.9%57.7%+14.8pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged26.9%38.7%+11.8pp
All Students22.9%36.6%+13.7pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20254332143.473.603.83
20246443203.633.813.94
20237150303.773.944.03
20225036143.884.014.16
20216241263.723.934.05
20204434233.823.953.99
20195841273.773.943.98
20189858373.723.963.97
20177244303.713.923.91
20167251293.693.833.89
20158046333.693.933.98
20148949343.633.853.89

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20252433
Berkeley20244453
Berkeley20234664
Berkeley2022363masked
Berkeley20214164
Davis20253283
Davis202443114
Davis20234713masked
Davis202237134
Davis202144138
Irvine202524maskedmasked
Irvine2024345masked
Irvine202339155
Irvine2022205masked
Irvine202131116
Los Angeles202521maskedmasked
Los Angeles2024303masked
Los Angeles202337maskedmasked
Los Angeles2022314masked
Los Angeles202143maskedmasked
Merced202529273
Merced202427254
Merced202326259
Merced202215143
Merced2021119masked
Riverside20252017masked
Riverside20241910masked
Riverside2023159masked
Riverside202274masked
Riverside2021145masked
San Diego2025195masked
San Diego2024297masked
San Diego202335113
San Diego2022277masked
San Diego20213511masked
Santa Barbara2025176masked
Santa Barbara202423104
Santa Barbara202325124
Santa Barbara20221611masked
Santa Barbara20212013masked
Santa Cruz2025167masked
Santa Cruz20242916masked
Santa Cruz20233116masked
Santa Cruz20222311masked
Santa Cruz202124124
Universitywide2025433214
Universitywide2024644320
Universitywide2023715030
Universitywide2022503614
Universitywide2021624126

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Athis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Microeconomicsthis school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count12
AP enrollment379
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections4
Chemistry sections22
Total enrollment (CRDC)1,896

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California298.1%
California State University277.5%
California community college15743.7%
In-state private41.1%
Out-of-state, 4-year102.8%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.3%
Not enrolled13136.5%

359 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 64% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$13,277 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 15,652 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$258 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,812

Central federal expenditures attributed here$1,606 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,812

District current expense · FY 2024–25$23,302 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 61%Instruction support 12%Student services 12%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 10%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$13,277 per pupil
2020$12,721 per pupil
2019$13,551 per pupil
2018$12,318 per pupil
2017$11,670 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 94531
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 94531
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$120,927
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)32.26%
ZCTA population46,387
Median age38.8 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/deer-valley-high-0465"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Deer Valley High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction