ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Coleville High

Coleville, CA · Grades 9-12 · 45 students · Eastern Sierra Unified

An academic strength in the reported results. Look at who shares in it.

73% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 9% in math. 91.7% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Contact

Math

9%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

73%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

45

Total enrollment

Graduation

91.7%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 53%2022: 30%2023: 33%2024: 27%2025: 9%2019: 94%2022: 85%2023: 52%2024: 73%2025: 73%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 53%2022: 30%2023: 33%2024: 27%2025: 9%2019: 94%2022: 85%2023: 52%2024: 73%2025: 73%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201953%94%
202230%85%
202333%52%
202427%73%
20259%73%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 84th to the 59th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “41% proficient” and call it done. Coleville deserves a closer read. Two in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

The headline number: 72.7% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

11 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Coleville High scores 56 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 59th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 41% meet the standard today, versus 74% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 84th percentile · Scope Score 69 of 1002022 · 74th percentile · Scope Score 61 of 1002023 · 68th percentile · Scope Score 59 of 1002024 · 59th percentile · Scope Score 55 of 1002025 · 59th percentile · Scope Score 56 of 100
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1194%85%52%73%73%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1153%30%33%27%9%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA73% met or exceeded
Exceeded 27%Met 45%Nearly Met 9%Not Met 18%
Math9% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 9%Nearly Met 27%Not Met 64%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5614%41%91.7%72.7%30.6%3.9%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5654
% Exceeded14%20%
% Met+41%43%
Grad rate91.7%92.5%
College readiness72.7%43.0%
Absence30.6%23.1%
Suspension3.9%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

61%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 11 of 18 completers · includes community colleges

18Completers
44%
Other colleges8 completers · Outside the California community college system
17%
California community colleges3 completers · Enrolled within a year
39%
Not recorded enrolled7 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

61%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Coleville's class of 2023, 61% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 18 completers, 61% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 0 (0%)California State University 1 (6%)California community college 3 (17%)In-state private 3 (17%)Out-of-state, 4-year 4 (22%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 7 (39%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history
Applied5fall 2024, universitywide
Admitted‹3
Enrolled‹3

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 61% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (3) than at UC (0).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2024 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 8 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Coleville's teachers are authorized to teach 1 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Precalculus.

Students per teacher8 · district 16
Teaching staff9 teachers
Avg. experience15.9 years
Fully credentialed74%
First-year teachers11%
PrincipalJohanna Tackitt
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$51,540 – $103,410
Principal salary$141,934 – $141,934
Superintendent salary$217,136

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers8 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught1
ShowHide the 1 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (1)Precalculus

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

30.6% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 30.6%, district 24.5%, state 23.1%30.6% · +7.5pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 3.9%, district —, state 3.3%3.9% · +0.7pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1229.2%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $48,425 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$1,686 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $48,425, CA average $14,491$48,425 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,686 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$40,254 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 49%Instruction support 12%Student services 9%Administration 13%Buildings & maintenance 15%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$27,668 per pupil
2019$24,552 per pupil
2018$26,846 per pupil
2017$24,540 per pupil
2016$25,030 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Two in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 45 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 36% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino35.6% · district 38.8% · CA 56.1%
White51.1% · district 50.9% · CA 19.9%
Black2.2% · district 0.9% · CA 4.8%
Other11.1% · district 9.2% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch40.0% · CA 64%
Median income$62K · CA $85K
Median home value$384K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+22% · CA 35%
ZIP population793
Median age62 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Coleville HighPublicSolid14%41%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Eastern Sierra Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Coleville High a good high school?
Coleville High has a Scope Score of 56 out of 100, placing it in the 59th percentile of California high schools and ranked #676 statewide. 13.6% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 6.2 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Coleville High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 40.9% of students at Coleville High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 13.6% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 27.3% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 13.6% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 22 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Coleville High rank in California?
Coleville High ranks #676 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 59th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Coleville High?
30.6% of students at Coleville High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 3.9%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Coleville High compare to other schools in Coleville?
Coleville High scores 56/100 (59th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 45 students. Use the schools in Coleville page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
What AP courses are offered at Coleville High?
Coleville High's teachers are authorized to teach 1 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Precalculus. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Coleville High go to UC?
UC masks this number for Coleville High — fewer than three enrollees in fall 2024 — a privacy protection for small cohorts, not a signal about the school. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center).

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels sit close to the state's.

72.7% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate91.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard13.6%19.8%22%
College readiness72.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded40.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.9%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Coleville High: reading the evidence

Coleville posts 40.9% meeting the standard — versus 43.2% statewide in the available reporting. Look across subjects and student groups, then ask about the classroom experience.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Coleville High is ranked #676 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate91.7%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard13.6%19.8%22%
College readiness72.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded40.9%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism30.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate3.9%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 72 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 3.5pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111127%45%9%18%73%+24
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11110%9%27%64%9%−15

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide1118%18%64%0%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Coleville High ←—5613.6%40.9%3.9%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
91.7%
AP Exam Prepared
72.7%
A-G Completion
72.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
61.1%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196984#24035.3%73.5%20.0%6.3%
20226174#42217.5%57.5%28.9%4.1%
20235968#51816.7%42.9%26.7%2.8%
20245559#6814.5%50.0%27.1%4.0%
20255659#67613.6%40.9%30.6%3.9%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — No subgroup comparison could be shown for this school this year — either its group sizes fall under CDE's 15-student reporting floor, or district/state comparison data wasn't available for its groups.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female14.7%41.7%+27.0pp
Male14.3%16.7%+2.4pp
Hispanic/Latino15.2%31.3%+16.1pp
White10.3%26.9%+16.6pp
Students with Disabilities27.3%——
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged21.2%33.3%+12.1pp
All Students14.5%29.2%+14.7pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2024–2024 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20245‹3‹34.13——

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2013; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Universitywide20245‹3‹3

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Precalculusthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count4
AP enrollment13
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 15 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections1
Total enrollment (CRDC)66

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University15.6%
California community college316.7%
In-state private316.7%
Out-of-state, 4-year422.2%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled738.9%

18 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 61% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2024 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/coleville-high-3006"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Coleville High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Coleville High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.