ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Broadway High

San Jose, CA · Grades 9-12 · 176 students (NCES Common Core of Data school directory; reporting year unverified) · San Jose Unified

20thWithin-class percentile · Needs Support

among 277 California continuation high schools · 2025 test results

At Broadway High, the average Standard Met or Exceeded rate is 1.8% across reported grade–subject rows (2025 CAASPP).

Scope Score 17 of 100 — built from graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. It places the school; it is not a grade. · How this is calculated

Math

0%California 37%

English

4%California 49%
Sources, grades and tested counts for Math and English

Math: Grade 11 · 2025 · Met or Exceeded · 53 school test records. California 37% · 2,946,081 test records · all tested grades 3–8 and 11; a different grade population from this school figure.

English: Grade 11 · 2025 · Met or Exceeded · 56 school test records. California 49% · 2,931,356 test records · all tested grades 3–8 and 11; a different grade population from this school figure.

Graduation: 75.9% · 2024–25

Graduation cohort and source

104 regular high-school diploma graduates · 137 students in the adjusted four-year graduation cohort.

CDE adjusted four-year graduation cohort data, reporting year 2025. This cohort is separate from the students taking grade-11 tests and from UC admission or enrollment records.

Source and calculation for this school’s result

Source: SchoolScope calculation from CDE CAASPP, 2024–25 academic year (test year 2025); available ELA and math rates for grade 11, averaged equally across grade–subject rows.

Broadway High · 2024-25 grade 11 ELA and math: 2 equally weighted Met or Exceeded rates for All Students tested with scores average 1.8%.

CDE / ETS CAASPP · 2024-25 · Broadway High, grade 11 ELA and math, All Students tested with scores: 2 Met or Exceeded grade–subject rate cells, equally weighted; not a distinct-student share.

Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Across the reported grades and subjects, the average Met + Exceeded rate is 1.8% and the average Exceeded rate is 0.0%.

Ask on a visit

What instruction helps students move beyond meeting the standard here, given the reported 1.8% Met + Exceeded and 0.0% Exceeded averages?

ELA4% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 4%Nearly Met 13%Not Met 84%
California ◇ 48.81% met or exceeded · all tested grades 3–8 and 11 · CDE CAASPP 2025 · 2,931,356 tested with scores
This school · CDE CAASPP 2025 · all tested grades 11 · 56 tested with scores
Math0% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 0%Nearly Met 4%Not Met 96%
California ◇ 37.30% met or exceeded · all tested grades 3–8 and 11 · CDE CAASPP 2025 · 2,946,081 tested with scores
This school · CDE CAASPP 2025 · all tested grades 11 · 53 tested with scores
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 44% met or exceededSchoolScope calculation from CDE CAASPP 2025 · equal school mean of scored comprehensive high school averages across configured grade–subject records · 1,500 schools (Exceeded) · 1,500 schools (Met or Exceeded)
This school and California references
2025 · CDE (CAASPP ELA/math; Dashboard CCI)

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025. Earlier Scope Scores used a different college-readiness definition; no cross-model score trend or California score average is shown here.

Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCCI overall PreparedAbsenceSuspension
This school170%2%75.9%4.3%71.4%14.8%
California reference · High School—20%44%92.9%51.7%22.7%3.3%
This schoolCA reference
Scope17—
% Exceeded0%20%
% Met+2%44%
Grad rate75.9%92.9%
CCI overall Prepared4.3%51.7%
Absence71.4%22.7%
Suspension14.8%3.3%

2025 CDE College/Career Indicator overall Prepared · this school: 6 of 138 CCI students classified Prepared · California students in the 2025 CCI cohort: 257,567 of 497,814 classified Prepared. The California CCI percentage describes students statewide; it is not a mean of school percentages and is not used to normalize the SchoolScope score. CDE CCI source files.

A-G completion0.0%

CDE 2024–25: the reported share of regular high-school diploma graduates meeting UC/CSU requirements. This is distinct from CCI overall Prepared.

California reference: 56.4% · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean of 1,500 scored comprehensive California high-school rates · 2024–25. This is a mean of school percentages, not a statewide pooled graduate percentage. CDE adjusted-cohort graduation source files.

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Share at Standard Met or Exceeded

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 1%2022: 0%2023: 0%2024: 0%2025: 0%2019: 2%2022: 5%2023: 10%2024: 10%2025: 4%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 1%2022: 0%2023: 0%2024: 0%2025: 0%2019: 2%2022: 5%2023: 10%2024: 10%2025: 4%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20191%2%
20220%5%
20230%10%
20240%10%
20250%4%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Grade comparisons and the full academic source record

Broadway's reported results deserve a closer read. 71.0% of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch.

One honest note: Broadway's rank and percentile are measured against California continuation high schools — not against the state's comprehensive campuses. The underlying numbers below are measured the same way at every school; only the comparison group changes.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

56 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Broadway High scores 17 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 20th percentile of California continuation high schools, not of the comprehensive field (CDE CAASPP 2025).

CDE CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Available assessment record

The average Standard Met or Exceeded rate across reported grade–subject rows is 2% in 2025, near 2% in 2019. These years test different student groups.

A source-qualified multi-year SchoolScope percentile arc is unavailable for this school. These All Grades rows describe each test year's students; they are not a matched-student trend or evidence of school-caused change.

Test yearSubjectTestedMet or exceeded
2025ELA563.6%
2025Math530.0%
2024ELA5910.2%
2024Math610.0%
2023ELA519.8%
2023Math530.0%
2022ELA735.5%
2022Math720.0%
2019ELA852.4%
2019Math841.2%

CDE's 2025 College/Career Indicator reports 4.3% Prepared here (6 of 138 students), versus 51.7% in its statewide cohort (257,567 of 497,814). CDE's overall Prepared cohort covers the Class of 2025 four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the Class of 2024 cohort. The statewide student rate is separate from SchoolScope's school-level peer rank and earlier AP/A–G scoring input. CDE CCI source files.

College destinations and the full graduate record
22%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 23 of 106 completers · includes community colleges

106Completers
1%
Other colleges1 completers · Outside the California community college system
21%
California community colleges22 completers · Enrolled within a year
78%
Not recorded enrolled83 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

Where graduates go · 2024–25

Graduation records

Graduation: 75.9% · 2024–25

104 regular high-school diploma graduates · 137 students in the adjusted four-year graduation cohort.

CDE adjusted four-year graduation cohort data, reporting year 2025. This cohort is separate from the students taking grade-11 tests and from UC admission or enrollment records.

SchoolScope has no verified UC admissions record for this school. Source: UC admissions by source school.

Where the class of 2023 went
22%enrolled in college within a year

106 completers, class of 2023

  • University of California0 (0%)
  • California State University0 (0%)
  • California community college22 (21%)
  • In-state private1 (1%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year0 (0%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year0 (0%)
  • Not enrolled83 (78%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic · — = unavailable or suppressed, distinct from 0

See the full roll →

20th percentile · Needs Support · California continuation high schools · 2025

Within-class rank: #220 of 277 · California continuation high schools · 2025

What helps students meet or exceed the standard in ELA and math across grade 11?

Broadway High vs. California · 2024-25 grade 11 ELA Met or Exceeded rates for socioeconomically disadvantaged students tested with scores: 4.9% vs. 48.7%.

CDE / ETS CAASPP · 2024-25 · Broadway High and California, socioeconomically disadvantaged students tested with scores in grade 11 ELA: same-group, grade and subject Met or Exceeded rates; no causal inference.

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here meet the ELA standard behind the same group statewide in grade 11.

At Broadway High in San Jose, 4.9% of socioeconomically disadvantaged students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 37.1% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Broadway High's rate for socioeconomically disadvantaged students trails its district average by 32.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: socioeconomically disadvantaged students (0.0% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (4.1% met or exceeded the ELA standard). Among the reported ELA and Math proficiency gaps supplied for this school, the largest is 3.6 percentage points: English learners trail the school-wide rate in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 41 ELA grade test records.

Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 44 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.

Ask on a visit

What support reaches students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged in ELA, given their reported results in grade 11 are behind the same group statewide?

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 2% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 2%, district —, state 44%2%
How the all-students rates were calculated

CDE CAASPP 2025; school: 109 eligible test records, ELA and math, all school tested grades. state: equal school mean of 1,500 comprehensive high composites. The district all-students reference is unavailable here.

Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 2%, district 25%, state 32%2% · +0 vs school
How hispanic/latino rates were calculated

CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 95 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.

49 known ELA test records

  • school: 95 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
  • district: 12,972 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
  • state: 3,304,057 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 3%, district 22%, state 32%3% · +1 vs school
How socioeconomically disadvantaged rates were calculated

CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 79 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.

41 known ELA test records

  • school: 79 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
  • district: 10,741 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
  • state: 3,798,521 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
MaleMale: this school 0%, district 45%, state 42%0% · −2 vs school
How male rates were calculated

CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 62 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.

31 known ELA test records

  • school: 62 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
  • district: 12,532 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
  • state: 3,005,929 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
FemaleFemale: this school 4%, district 46%, state 44%4% · +2 vs school
How female rates were calculated

CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 47 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.

25 known ELA test records

  • school: 47 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
  • district: 11,917 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
  • state: 2,872,108 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 0%, district 7%, state 11%0% · −2 vs school
How english learners rates were calculated

CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 47 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.

24 known ELA test records

  • school: 47 eligible test records across 2 published grade–subject rate records
  • district: 5,107 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
  • state: 945,854 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records

6 of 12 student groups have no published rate here. That can reflect privacy suppression or missing source data; it is not evidence of a gap.

See 6 groups without a published school rate
Black/African AmericanBlack/African American: this school rate not published, district 29%, state 26%Not published
How black/african american rates were calculated

CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.

ELA tested count not published

1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts

  • school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
  • district: 470 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
  • state: 282,988 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
WhiteWhite: this school rate not published, district 67%, state 56%Not published
How white rates were calculated

CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.

ELA tested count not published

1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts

  • school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
  • district: 5,015 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
  • state: 1,163,964 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
American Indian/Alaska NativeAmerican Indian/Alaska Native: this school rate not published, district —, state 29%Not published
How american indian/alaska native rates were calculated

CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.

ELA tested count not published

1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts

  • school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
  • district: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; district: 10 unavailable tested counts; district ELA grade 3: rate not published; district MATH grade 3: rate not published; district ELA grade 4: rate not published; district MATH grade 4: rate not published; district ELA grade 5: rate not published; district MATH grade 5: rate not published; district ELA grade 6: rate not published; district MATH grade 6: rate not published; district ELA grade 7: rate not published; district MATH grade 7: rate not published; district ELA grade 8: rate not published; district MATH grade 8: rate not published; district ELA grade 11: rate not published; district MATH grade 11: rate not published
  • state: 24,255 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
Two or More RacesTwo or More Races: this school rate not published, district 68%, state 56%Not published
How two or more races rates were calculated

CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.

ELA tested count not published

1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts

  • school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
  • district: 1,775 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
  • state: 337,620 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school rate not published, district 16%, state 15%Not published
How students with disabilities rates were calculated

CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.

8 known ELA test records

  • school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
  • district: 3,087 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
  • state: 773,488 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
HomelessHomeless: this school rate not published, district 11%, state 22%Not published
How homeless rates were calculated

CDE CAASPP 2025; ELA and math; tested-record weighted; 0 test records. A child tested in both subjects can contribute two records.

ELA tested count not published

1 ELA grade records with unavailable tested counts

  • school: 0 eligible test records across 0 published grade–subject rate records; school: 2 unavailable tested counts; school ELA grade 11: rate not published; school MATH grade 11: rate not published
  • district: 266 eligible test records across 13 published grade–subject rate records; district ELA grade 7: rate not published
  • state: 235,862 eligible test records across 14 published grade–subject rate records
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide Student-group results by subject
Met or Exceeded by student group and subject · CDE CAASPP 2025
Student group · subjectTestedSchoolDistrictCaliforniaVs district
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged · English414.9%37.1%48.7%-32.2pp vs district
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged · Math380.0%14.2%21.0%-14.2pp vs district
Hispanic/Latino · English494.1%38.4%48.9%-34.3pp vs district
Hispanic/Latino · Math460.0%13.6%19.3%-13.6pp vs district
English Learners · English240.0%3.1%8.4%-3.1pp vs district
English Learners · Math230.0%1.1%5.8%-1.1pp vs district
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

What support reaches socioeconomically disadvantaged students in grade 11 ELA?

What it’s like

Attendance & discipline · CDE climate 2024–25

CDE reported 82.4% chronic absenteeism (above SchoolScope's equal-school mean for scored comprehensive California public/charter high schools with reported CDE rates) and 17.8% suspension (above its corresponding mean) in 2024–25.

Ask on a visit

How does the school follow up when students begin missing days, given its reported 82.4% chronic-absence rate in 2024–25?

CDE reported rates
Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 82.4%, district 32.4%, state 22.8%. CDE reported 2024–25.82.4% · +59.6pp vs state
CDE reported · 2024–25 · all students · 206 chronically absent · 250 eligible students · District · high · equal-school mean across 7 comprehensive scored schools: 32.4% · California · high · equal-school mean across 1,234 comprehensive scored schools: 22.8%
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 17.8%, district 3.5%, state 3.5%. CDE reported 2024–25.17.8% · +14.3pp vs state
CDE reported · 2024–25 · all students · 48 students suspended · 269 cumulative enrollment · District · high · equal-school mean across 7 comprehensive scored schools: 3.5% · California · high · equal-school mean across 1,234 comprehensive scored schools: 3.5%
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide How SchoolScope uses climate in its score
SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs

These scoring inputs may differ from CDE's reported all-students rates. Their comparisons also average model inputs, not raw CDE rates.

Adjusted chronic absence inputSchoolScope adjusted chronic absence input: this school 71.4%, district 23.1%, state 22.7%71.4%
Adjusted suspension inputSchoolScope adjusted suspension input: this school 14.8%, district —, state 3.3%14.8%
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide Chronic absenteeism trend since 2019
Chronic absenteeism, all students · since 2019
ShowHide Attendance by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1282.4%206 of 250 eligible students chronically absent
Teachers and the staffing source record
The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 11 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

School staffing2024–25: about 11 enrolled students per teacher FTE · SchoolScope reporting-district average 21

2024–25: about 11 enrolled students per teacher FTE. CDE school-total enrollment divided by the school's reported teacher full-time equivalents in the NCES CCD 2024–25 final school staff file. SchoolScope rounds the result to a whole student per teacher; the CDE staffing year above dates separate teacher facts. The SchoolScope reporting-district average covers verified schools in our directory under this school's 2024–25 CDE reporting parent; school ratios are weighted by enrollment. The California figure, where shown, also averages available school ratios weighted by enrollment. This schoolwide staffing ratio is not class size.

ShowHide teacher experience, credentials and courses
Teaching staff28 teachers
Avg. experience10.9 years
Proper credential and placement71%

Proper credential and placement: CDE SARC report 2024–25, measured 2021–22. The publisher rate is 71.30%; 11.9 teaching-position FTE had proper credential and placement out of 16.6 total teaching-position FTE. This denominator is positions, not the teacher count above.

First-year teachers11%
PrincipalJesus Radillo
CCI preparation measures
AP course or exam pathway qualifiers0 of 6 Prepared students · AP pathway rate: 0.0% · CCI reporting year: 2025 · CDE College/Career Indicator · student group: all students · CCI cohort: 138 eligible students. The cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Zero students met this CCI AP measure; that does not establish whether the school offers AP courses. AP pathway qualifiers can meet the rule with at least two qualifying AP exams scored 3 or higher, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students; Prepared via AP courses, exams, or both; not an exam-taker or course-authorization count. Participation is not course authorization.
CTE+ pathway qualifiers0 students2025 CDE CCI · Completion of a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion; not a count of all CTE completers. Zero students met this CCI CTE+ measure; that does not establish whether the school offers CTE courses.

Historical course sections

Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0

Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC), 2020-21 federal historical snapshot. Course-section counts describe structural course availability in that collection, not current enrollment or confirmation those sections run now.

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family and educator voices

Survey results: unavailable on this profile · Response counts: unknown

Bring these questions on a visit →
Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent

CDE ESSA reports $36,150 per student in spending attributed to this school.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Per-pupil spending

This school · attributed spending$36,150 per pupil

CDE ESSA · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 176. Reports may use Census Day enrollment, cumulative enrollment, or annual average daily attendance (ADA); the type is unavailable here. SchoolScope sums four reported school and allocated central expenditure components. These averages do not show an individual child's budget or teaching quality.

Can we visit during a typical school day to see how students receive support?

Getting in

Contact

The neighborhood

71.0% of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 3% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

ShowHide school demographics
Hispanic or Latino88.6% · district 55.1% · CA 56.1%
White4.5% · district 19.7% · CA 20.0%
Asian1.7% · district 13.8% · CA 10.1%
Black3.4% · district 2.1% · CA 4.9%
Other1.7% · district 9.3% · CA 9.0%

CDE Census Day · 2024–25 · school 176 students · district 25,409 students · CA 5,806,221 students. CDE Census Day enrollment files. Other includes Filipino, American Indian, Pacific Islander, two or more races, and not reported.

GenderFemale 47.2% (83) · Male 52.8% (93) · Non-binary 0.0% (0)CDE Census Day · 2024–25 · 176 students
Students eligible for free or reduced-price meals71.0% at this school · 62.8% CaliforniaSchool: 125 eligible of 176 enrolled · California: 3,647,037 eligible of 5,806,221 enrolledRates = eligible ÷ enrolled · CDE Census Day · TK/K–12 enrollment · 2024–25 · California total includes district-office records · CDE free/reduced-price meals file
Placement rules and the K–12 path

Confirm continuation-program placement

Ask the district to confirm the student’s eligibility for this continuation program, how placement works, and how credits count toward graduation. The school’s location does not establish eligibility.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Middle · 6–8

High school · 9–12

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Each link's evidence appears on its card. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Feeder path, destinations and source limits
Where kids go next

The feeder and nearby-school links shown here do not confirm a current address assignment.

The path below shows the available feeder and nearby-school evidence — scores shown for each step. Nearby matches are not address assignments.

Ask on a visit

How does this school confirm enrollment eligibility for your home address, and which links here are only historical or nearby?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage.

Open the comparison tool →
Nearby results, school options and enrollment checks

Compare nearby schools and their reported results

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Comprehensive schools are compared statewide; alternative and continuation schools are compared within their own class.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandStandard ExceededStandard Met or ExceededDistanceSelect
Broadway Highcontinuation comparison groupPublic
Needs Support20th percentile · within class
0%2%School being viewed
Pioneer HighPublic
Strong83rd percentile · statewide
35%61%1.0 mi
Branham HighPublic
Strong90th percentile · statewide
43%69%1.2 mi
Gunderson HighPublic
Needs Support19th percentile · statewide
9%27%1.5 mi
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools serving this grade stage, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in San Jose →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

14 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored

What should I check before applying?

District public
Confirm continuation-program eligibility, placement and credit-transfer requirements with the district.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

What are the current enrollment or placement steps for this school?

Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Broadway High a good high school?
Broadway High has a Scope Score of 17 out of 100, placing it in the 20th percentile of California continuation high schools and ranked #220 in that group. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. Across the available ELA and Math grade-subject results for grades 11 on the 2025 CAASPP, Broadway High's average Standard Exceeded rate is 0.0%. Available ELA and Math grade-subject rates are averaged equally. That is 20.3 percentage points below the 20.3% equal-school average across scored California comprehensive high schools at this level. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Broadway High's CAASPP test scores?
Across available ELA and Math grade-subject rates combined in CDE CAASPP 2025 (2024–25), Broadway High's average Standard Met or Exceeded rate is 1.8%; its average Standard Exceeded rate is 0.0%. Available grade-subject rates are averaged equally. The 1.8 percentage-point difference is the average Standard Met-only share across those same rows. These are averages of result rows, not the share of distinct students at the school. 109 student-subject test results underpin the school's assessment record.
How does Broadway High rank among California continuation high schools?
Broadway High is in the 20th percentile of 277 California continuation high schools (Needs Support, 2025; within-class comparison). Broadway High ranks #220 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This is a within-class rank, not a statewide rank. How peer classes work. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Broadway High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 82.4% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 206 chronically absent of 250 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 17.8%; 48 unduplicated suspended students of 269 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 71.4%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 14.8%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Broadway High compare to other schools in San Jose?
Broadway High scores 17/100 (20th percentile) among California continuation high schools. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 176 students. Use the schools in San Jose page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Broadway High?
At Broadway High in San Jose, 4.9% of socioeconomically disadvantaged students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 37.1% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Broadway High's rate for socioeconomically disadvantaged students trails its district average by 32.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: socioeconomically disadvantaged students (0.0% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (4.1% met or exceeded the ELA standard). Among the reported ELA and Math proficiency gaps supplied for this school, the largest is 3.6 percentage points: English learners trail the school-wide rate in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 41 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

Methods, source tables and limitations

How the Scope Score is calculated

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 7 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate75.9%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard0.0%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared4.3%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded1.8%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism71.4%22.7%5%
Suspension rate14.8%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)4.1%17.8%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

Interpretation and source limits

Broadway posts low test scores — and test scores are one lens among several. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Data and sources · For the data nerds

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Broadway High is ranked #220 of California continuation high schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
ShowHide table 01 — Score factors
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate75.9%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard0.0%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared4.3%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded1.8%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism71.4%22.7%5%
Suspension rate14.8%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)4.1%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.9% · index 39 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 33 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↓ vs CA 51.7% · index 25 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 25 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 16 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.0pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 0 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 8.1pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 34 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11560%4%13%84%4%−45

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11530%0%4%96%0%−24

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA5910.2%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math610.0%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA519.8%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math530.0%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA735.5%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math720.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA852.4%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math841.2%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide770%3%69%29%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged414.9%−32−44
Hispanic/Latino494.1%−34−45
English Learners240.0%−3−8
03Nearest high schoolsnearest by distance
ShowHide table 03 — Nearest high schools
SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Broadway High ←—1720th percentile · Needs Support · within class · 20250.0%1.8%14.8%
Pioneer High1 mi7183rd percentile · Strong · statewide · 202535.3%60.9%4.1%
Branham High1.2 mi7590th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202542.7%69.4%1.3%
Gunderson High1.5 mi4519th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20258.9%26.6%5.0%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders1.5%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$70,000 – $134,400
Average elementary principal salary$146,301
Average middle school principal salary$159,330
Average high school principal salary$163,630
Superintendent salary$354,153

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 17/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 4.3% · numerator 6 students classified Prepared · denominator 138 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 0.0% · AP-pathway numerator 0 · denominator 6 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 6 of 138 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201920/10034#223California continuation high schools · 343 schools
202219/10026#246California continuation high schools · 335 schools
202320/10030#242California continuation high schools · 346 schools
202420/10032#223California continuation high schools · 332 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 80.1% → 2025 · 82.4% · +2.3pp
Suspension rate2024 · 7.3% → 2025 · 17.8% · +10.5pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA560.0%3.6%
2025 · Math530.0%0.0%
2024 · ELA590.0%10.2%
2024 · Math610.0%0.0%
2023 · ELA510.0%9.8%
2023 · Math530.0%0.0%
2022 · ELA730.0%5.5%
2022 · Math720.0%0.0%
2019 · ELA850.0%2.4%
2019 · Math840.0%1.2%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
75.9%
AP pathway among Prepared
0.0%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
0.0%
This school may not offer A-G courses
College-Going Rate
21.7%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
20190.0%1.8%69.2%5.0%
20220.0%2.7%82.4%7.0%
20230.0%4.9%74.8%8.0%
20240.0%5.1%70.4%6.7%
20250.0%1.8%71.4%14.8%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
What we can't show
  • — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 44 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female80.2%83.5%+3.3pp
Male74.7%81.5%+6.8pp
Hispanic/Latino75.1%82.6%+7.5pp
White83.3%69.2%-14.1pp
Students with Disabilities86.0%89.5%+3.5pp
English Learners77.6%78.1%+0.5pp
Homeless90.5%83.3%-7.2pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged77.9%83.5%+5.6pp
All Students76.8%82.4%+5.6pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotdated historical snapshot
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)162

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college2220.8%
In-state private10.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled8378.3%

106 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 22% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

08Funding source detailCDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure
ShowHide table 08 — Funding source detail

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$13,878 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 27,430 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$1,493 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 176

Central federal expenditures attributed here$293 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 176

District current expense · FY 2024–25$22,059 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 59%Instruction support 12%Student services 10%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 3%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$13,878 per pupil
2020$12,931 per pupil
2019$12,414 per pupil
2018$11,570 per pupil
2017$11,975 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 95118
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 95118
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$152,682
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)53.70%
ZCTA population32,015
Median age39.5 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/broadway-high-2110"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Broadway High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction