ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

ATLAS Learning Academy

Lincoln, CA · Grades K-12 · 80 students · Western Placer Unified

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

78% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 33% in math. 65.2% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalChuck Whitecotton
GradesK-12
Enrollment80 students

Math

33%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

78%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

80

Total enrollment

Graduation

65.2%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2022: 7%2023: 11%2024: 37%2025: 33%2022: 57%2023: 68%2024: 74%2025: 78%20222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2022: 7%2023: 11%2024: 37%2025: 33%2022: 57%2023: 68%2024: 74%2025: 78%2022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20227%57%
202311%68%
202437%74%
202533%78%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2022 to 2025

Has stayed near the 14th percentile since 2022.

Most rating sites would stop at “56% proficient” and call it done. ATLAS Learning Academy deserves a closer read. One in four of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Test scores are one lens, and at this school they're a rough one right now. The sections below show the fuller picture — including the parts that are working.

28 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

ATLAS Learning Academy scores 40 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 14th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2022 · 7th percentile · Scope Score 34 of 1002023 · 5th percentile · Scope Score 33 of 1002024 · 20th percentile · Scope Score 42 of 1002025 · 14th percentile · Scope Score 40 of 100
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade2022202320242025
Grade 1157%68%74%78%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade2022202320242025
Grade 117%11%37%33%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA75% met or exceeded
Exceeded 29%Met 46%Nearly Met 14%Not Met 11%
Math36% met or exceeded
Exceeded 7%Met 29%Nearly Met 36%Not Met 29%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2022–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4019%56%65.2%14.3%14.4%1.7%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope4054
% Exceeded19%20%
% Met+56%43%
Grad rate65.2%92.5%
College readiness14.3%43.0%
Absence14.4%23.1%
Suspension1.7%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 56% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 56%, district —, state 43%56%
WhiteWhite: this school 62%, district 58%, state 56%62% · +6 vs school

7 of 9 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

68%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 17 of 25 completers · includes community colleges

25Completers
4%
Other colleges1 completers · Outside the California community college system
64%
California community colleges16 completers · Enrolled within a year
32%
Not recorded enrolled8 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
68%enrolled in college within a year
  • California community college16 (64%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year1 (4%)
  • Not enrolled8 (32%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 40 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher40 · district 24
Teaching staff9 teachers
Avg. experience18.9 years
Fully credentialed73%
PrincipalChuck Whitecotton
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$46,308 – $114,443
Principal salary$130,008 – $163,083
Superintendent salary$273,204

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers1 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 14.4%, district 14.0%, state 23.1%14.4% · −8.7pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.7%, district —, state 3.3%1.7% · −1.6pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 7–80.0%
Grades 9–120.0%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $12,582 per student, less than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $12,582, CA average $14,491$12,582 · spent at this school
District current expense · FY 2024–25$15,873 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 62%Instruction support 11%Student services 8%Administration 8%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,000 per pupil
2019$10,699 per pupil
2018$11,111 per pupil
2017$10,671 per pupil
2016$10,494 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in four of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 80 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 41% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino16.3% · district 30.3% · CA 56.1%
White70.0% · district 51.2% · CA 19.9%
Asian1.3% · district 3.8% · CA 10.2%
Black5.0% · district 2.3% · CA 4.8%
Other7.5% · district 12.4% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch27.5% · CA 64%
Median income$112K · CA $85K
Median home value$658K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+40% · CA 35%
ZIP population57,459
Median age43 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
ATLAS Learning AcademyPublicNeeds Support19%56%School being viewed
Lincoln HighPublicSolid18%41%0.1 mi
Phoenix High (Continuation)continuation comparison groupPublicNeeds Support0%15%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Lincoln →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

7 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Western Placer Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is ATLAS Learning Academy a good high school?
ATLAS Learning Academy has a Scope Score of 40 out of 100, placing it in the 14th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,418 statewide. 19.4% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is near the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are ATLAS Learning Academy's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 55.6% of students at ATLAS Learning Academy met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 19.4% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 36.1% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 19.4% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 36 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does ATLAS Learning Academy rank in California?
ATLAS Learning Academy ranks #1,418 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 14th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at ATLAS Learning Academy?
14.4% of students at ATLAS Learning Academy are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.7%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does ATLAS Learning Academy compare to other schools in Lincoln?
ATLAS Learning Academy scores 40/100 (14th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 80 students. Use the schools in Lincoln page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate65.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard19.4%19.8%22%
College readiness14.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded55.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism14.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.7%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

ATLAS Learning Academy: reading the evidence

ATLAS Learning Academy posts low test scores — and suspensions run below the state rate (1.7% vs 3.3%). If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

ATLAS Learning Academy is ranked #1,418 statewide · #5 of 5 in Western Placer Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate65.2%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard19.4%19.8%22%
College readiness14.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded55.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism14.4%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.7%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 27 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 39 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 0.3pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.2pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 7———————
Grade 87——————
Grade 111833%44%11%11%78%+29
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 7———————
Grade 87——————
Grade 11186%28%33%33%33%+10

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide229%32%55%5%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
ATLAS Learning Academy ←—4019.4%55.6%1.7%
Lincoln High0.1 mi5618.1%41.2%5.2%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
Phoenix High (Continuation)scored within its class, not statewide0 mi100.0%14.6%3.4%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
65.2%
AP Exam Prepared
14.3%
A-G Completion
33.3%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
68.0%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
2022347#148812.5%32.1%13.0%1.5%
2023335#15495.3%39.5%15.0%2.1%
20244220#131123.7%55.3%14.0%1.9%
20254014#141819.4%55.6%14.4%1.7%
What we can't show
  • — No subgroup comparison could be shown for this school this year — either its group sizes fall under CDE's 15-student reporting floor, or district/state comparison data wasn't available for its groups.
  • — Scored here as a high school — other grade spans appear in the data appendix.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female—0.0%—
Male—0.0%—
Hispanic/Latino—0.0%—
White—0.0%—
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged—0.0%—
All Students—0.0%—
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)31

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college1664.0%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year14.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled832.0%

25 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 68% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/atlas-learning-academy-9246"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="ATLAS Learning Academy — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

ATLAS Learning Academy

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.