School district · Plumas County

Plumas Unified schools

Plumas Unified’s 5 public elementary schools run from the 2nd to the 50th percentile among the 5,728 California elementary schools we score (spring 2026 tests).

Elementary · 5 schools

from 2nd to 50th · among 5,728 California elementary schools we score · spring 2026 tests

  • Plumas Charter: 50th percentile, Solid
  • Greenville Elementary: 47th percentile, Developing
  • Chester Elementary: 39th percentile, Developing
  • Quincy Elementary: 38th percentile, Developing
  • C. Roy Carmichael Elementary: 2nd percentile, Needs Support
1Needs Support
3Developing
1Solid
0Strong

Middle · 1 school

at 50th · among 2,532 California middle schools we score · spring 2026 tests

  • Plumas Charter: 50th percentile, Solid
0Needs Support
0Developing
1Solid
0Strong

High · 3 schools

from 15th to 28th · among 1,500 California high schools we score · spring 2025 tests

  • Plumas Charter: 28th percentile, Developing
  • Portola Junior/Senior High: 24th percentile, Needs Support
  • Quincy Junior/Senior High: 15th percentile, Needs Support
2Needs Support
1Developing
0Solid
0Strong

One dot per school. Each stage is placed only among California schools at its own level. A school ranked at two stages appears in both.

Elementary schools

Plumas Unified’s 5 public elementary schools run from the 2nd to the 50th percentile among the 5,728 California elementary schools we score (spring 2026 tests).

Elementary schools in Plumas Unified

Statewide percentile

Chester and Quincy are 1 percentile apart; treat that as a tie.

Context

The average Plumas Unified elementary school had 21 in 100 students chronically absent (missed 10% or more of school days) in 2025–26; the average California elementary school had 17 in 100.

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Middle schools

Plumas Unified has one public middle school we score, Plumas Charter, at the 50th percentile among the 2,532 California middle schools we score (spring 2026 tests).

Middle schools in Plumas Unified

Statewide percentile
  • Plumas CharterQuincy · Charter school. Check how it admits students.
    50thSolidScope Score 38/100

High schools

Plumas Unified’s 3 public high schools run from the 15th to the 28th percentile among the 1,500 California high schools we score (spring 2025 tests).

High schools in Plumas Unified

Statewide percentile
Context

The average Plumas Unified high school had 28 in 100 students chronically absent in 2025–26; the average California high school had 23 in 100.

Schools around Plumas Unified

7 listed public schools with mapped locations

Open full map →

Loading school locations…

The school lists on this page are also available without the map.

School locations, not attendance boundaries. Confirm eligibility with the district.

How the district works

The district as a whole, from its state records.

Spending, FY 2024–25

District finance · FY 2024–25

Where the district's dollars go.

Plumas Unified spent $24,172 per student in FY 2024–25 — $3,681 more than the median California district ($20,491), about 18% higher. About 53 cents of every dollar goes to classroom instruction.

Current expense per student

Current expense of education per unit of average daily attendance, from the district's annual SACS filing to the California Department of Education. District-wide: it includes central administration and costs never assigned to one campus. Spending is context, not a measure of school quality.

Share by function

  • Instruction53%
  • Instruction support11%
  • Student services12%
  • Administration9%
  • Buildings & maintenance13%
  • Other1%

Shares of the same current-expense total, by SACS function. Names are simplified from the filing's own categories.

The system behind the schools

The people behind the classrooms — district-grain context that never enters a school's score.

Who attends

Student mix

2024–25 · Census Day enrollment, 2,020 students
1. White: 66%2. Hispanic or Latino: 19%3. Two or more races: 9%4. Not reported: 3%5. American Indian or Alaska Native: 3%6. Asian: <1%7. Black or African American: <1%8. Pacific Islander: <1%9. Filipino: <1%Student mix2024–25
  1. White66%
  2. Hispanic or Latino19%
  3. Two or more races9%
  4. Not reported3%
  5. American Indian or Alaska Native3%
  6. Asian<1%
  7. Black or African American<1%
  8. Pacific Islander<1%
  9. Filipino<1%
Shares use the district's own Census Day enrollment counts from the CDE, including its charter schools. Rounded labels may not total 100%; segments use the original shares.

Free or reduced-price meals

2024–25 · 2,017 students

54%

About 5 in 10 of the district's students qualify; across California it's about 6 in 10.

Each dot is 1% of students. 1,087 of 2,017 qualify, summed from the CDE's counts for 9 schools, charters included.

CDE Census Day enrollment 2024–25 (district totals) · free/reduced-price meals: CDE 2024–25, our sum of its 9 school counts

What the district plans (2026–27 plan)

$10.4 million

planned for 26 funded actions in 8 goals. That’s 29% of its $36.0 million general fund budget. These are plans, not what the district later spent.

The 2026–27 plan in short

Source: the district’s LCAP (122 pages), as posted to the California School Dashboard.

Where the money goes

The money is spread out. No action gets more than 13%, and the three largest, Maintenance; Hire/​support technology support staff to maintain facilities as evidenced by the FIT and to support Facilities, Safety and technology integration; and Provide Expanded Learning Opportunities Program-Summer, take 37% between them. By the plan’s own split, 62% of it pays for staff.

Reading, math and catch-up help

$488,113, or 5% of the plan, is in actions whose titles name reading, math, catch-up help or English learners. The other 95% is in actions whose titles name none of these.

  • Reading $70,000
  • Math $244,063
  • English learners $244,051

Largest of these

  • Provide English Learner support$244,051
  • Math Curriculum Adoption Support$159,063
  • Conduct a Reading and Math diagnostic Assessment$70,000

An action that names two of these counts under both, and once in the total.

For high-needs students

It plans $6.3 million in extra services for English learners, low-income students and foster youth.

What changed

The total is $49,944 lower than in the 2025–26 plan. The biggest change in dollars is Expand Access to Arts Education, which went from $385,400 to $735,303.

Largest cuts

  • Support Alternative Education & Expelled Pupils−⁠$244,768
  • Provide professional development for staff−⁠$115,615
  • Teacher Retention Supports−⁠$84,938

Largest increases

  • Expand Access to Arts Education+⁠$349,903
  • Expand Community School Services+⁠$200,941
  • Provide Library Support Services+⁠$138,452

New this year

  • Provide Expanded Learning Opportunities Program-Summer$1.2 million
  • Career and Technical Education will be at all high schools, based on enrollment and student needs$982,354
  • Measure B$963,575

Ask: What did Support Alternative Education & Expelled Pupils pay for, and what changes now that the 2026–27 plan gives it $244,768 less?

What its goals measure

These are the state’s figures for the district’s own schools on the measures its goals track. They describe the district; they can’t tell you what the plan caused.

Measure2024–252025–26
Met or exceeded the standard in EnglishGoal 1 · Student Success and Well-being36%39%
Met or exceeded the standard in mathGoals 1 and 822%26%
Chronically absentGoal 631 in 10029 in 100
Suspended at least onceGoal 67.3%7.7%

Goal 7 tracks named schools and Goals 2, 3, 4 and 5 track other measures, so they aren’t shown here.

Figures from CDE’s state test, chronic absence and suspension files. We combined the district’s schools ourselves, weighted by students and leaving out charter schools. Chronically absent means a student missed 10% or more of school days.

The plan itself8 goals, 32 measures, the money map

Where does the money go?

43% to Goal 1, Student Success and Well-being. Each box is one action, sized by its planned dollars and coloured by its change since last year’s plan. Tap a box to open its goal.

Change since the 2025–26 plan, same title

  • fell 25% or more
  • fell 10–25%
  • fell 2–10%
  • within 2%
  • grew 2–10%
  • grew 10–25%
  • grew 25% or more
  • new or renamed title
  • not compared: unconfirmed, or repeated across goals

Every goal, in the plan’s order

Goal 1Student Success and Well-being$4.4 million43% of action budgets

“To achieve consistent annual growth, ensuring that all students reach or exceed grade-level proficiency in all subjects, develop social-emotional skills for lifelong success, and complete high school prepared for their future endeavors” p. 20 ↗

11 funded actions · 2025–26 plan: $5.6 million (−⁠$1.1 million)

Largest funded actions

  1. Provide Expanded Learning Opportunities Program-Summer$1.2 millionaction 1.7 · p. 78 ↗
  2. Career and Technical Education will be at all high schools, based on enrollment and student needs$982,354action 1.9 · p. 79 ↗ · marked as contributing to high-need services · of which $777,600 is LCFF funding counted toward the requirement
  3. Expand Access to Arts Education$735,303action 1.12 · p. 80 ↗ · marked as contributing to high-need services · of which $530,357 is LCFF funding counted toward the requirement
  4. Support Alternative Education & Expelled Pupils$409,229action 1.2 · p. 78 ↗ · marked as contributing to high-need services
  5. Provide additional social/​emotional support to students$405,918action 1.4 · p. 78 ↗

6 more funded actions in this goal

  • Provide English Learner support · action 1.1 · p. 78 ↗$244,051
  • Provide Library Support Services · action 1.13 · p. 80 ↗$214,452
  • Support Foster and Homeless Youth · action 1.8 · p. 79 ↗$109,093
  • Conduct a Reading and Math diagnostic Assessment · action 1.10 · p. 79 ↗$70,000
  • Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS) · action 1.5 · p. 78 ↗$21,000
  • Provide a Learning Management System · action 1.11 · p. 79 ↗$12,829

Changes from last year’s plan, same title

  1. Expand Access to Arts Education+⁠$349,903$385,400 → $735,303 · p. 80 ↗
  2. Support Alternative Education & Expelled Pupils−⁠$244,768$653,997 → $409,229 · p. 78 ↗
  3. Provide Library Support Services+⁠$138,452$76,000 → $214,452 · p. 80 ↗

4 more titles also in last year’s plan, 1 at the same amount; 4 new titles this year. A reworded title counts as new.

How the plan measures it · 15 measures

None of these has an all-students line we can quote; the plan’s table lists them from p. 20 ↗.

Goal 2 · Maintenance of Progress GoalFinancial Sustainability$00% of action budgets

“To obtain a balanced budget, optimize resource allocation, ensure financial transparency, and commit to long-term sustainability” p. 32 ↗

No funded actions in this plan · reworded since the 2025–26 plan

How the plan measures it · 1 measure

None of these has an all-students line we can quote; the plan’s table lists them from p. 32 ↗.

Goal 3 · Maintenance of Progress GoalRecruit and retain a highly-skilled, engaged, student-focused workforce while investing in ongoing…$181,7402% of action budgets

“Recruit and retain a highly-skilled, engaged, student-focused workforce while investing in ongoing professional development and career growth opportunities” p. 36 ↗

3 funded actions · 2025–26 plan: $284,840 (−⁠$103,100)

Largest funded actions

  1. Provide professional development for staff$136,225action 3.1 · p. 80 ↗
  2. Teacher and Administrator Induction Program$40,514action 3.3 · p. 80 ↗
  3. Provide feedback through observation/​evaluation$5,000action 3.2 · p. 80 ↗ · marked as contributing to high-need services

Changes from last year’s plan, same title

  1. Provide professional development for staff−⁠$115,615$251,840 → $136,225 · p. 80 ↗
  2. Teacher and Administrator Induction Program+⁠$10,514$30,000 → $40,514 · p. 80 ↗
  3. Provide feedback through observation/​evaluation+⁠$2,000$3,000 → $5,000 · p. 80 ↗

How the plan measures it · 1 measure

None of these has an all-students line we can quote; the plan’s table lists them from p. 36 ↗.

Goal 4Family and Community - Enhance family engagement and community partnerships while establishing our schools as…$872,9848% of action budgets

“Family and Community - Enhance family engagement and community partnerships while establishing our schools as inclusive community centers” p. 40 ↗

2 funded actions · 2025–26 plan: $457,000 (+⁠$415,984)

Largest funded actions

  1. Provide free meals to all students$468,042action 4.3 · p. 81 ↗ · marked as contributing to high-need services
  2. Expand Community School Services$404,941action 4.2 · p. 80 ↗

Changes from last year’s plan, same title

  1. Expand Community School Services+⁠$200,941$204,000 → $404,941 · p. 80 ↗

1 new title this year. A reworded title counts as new.

How the plan measures it · 1 measure

None of these has an all-students line we can quote; the plan’s table lists them from p. 40 ↗.

Goal 5 · Maintenance of Progress GoalAll facilities will be maintained and improved as safe, clean, innovative educational environments that…$4.3 million42% of action budgets

“All facilities will be maintained and improved as safe, clean, innovative educational environments that cultivate a sense of pride” p. 43 ↗

6 funded actions · 2025–26 plan: $3.4 million (+⁠$963,575)

Largest funded actions

  1. Maintenance$1.4 millionaction 5.6 · p. 81 ↗ · marked as contributing to high-need services
  2. Hire/​support technology support staff to maintain facilities as evidenced by the FIT and to support Facilities, Safety and technology integration$1.3 millionaction 5.4 · p. 81 ↗ · marked as contributing to high-need services
  3. Measure B$963,575action 5.7 · p. 81 ↗
  4. Provide student devices to support technology integration$497,000action 5.2 · p. 81 ↗ · marked as contributing to high-need services
  5. Implement a staff computer replacement plan$149,785action 5.3 · p. 81 ↗ · marked as contributing to high-need services

1 more funded action in this goal

  • Implement Technology Study Recommendations · action 5.1 · p. 81 ↗$95,000

Changes from last year’s plan, same title

5 titles also in last year’s plan, all at the same amount; 1 new title this year. A reworded title counts as new.

How the plan measures it · 1 measure

None of these has an all-students line we can quote; the plan’s table lists them from p. 43 ↗.

Goal 6Cultivate a culture of transformative and inclusive leadership at all levels to inspire and empower one…$314,5903% of action budgets

“Cultivate a culture of transformative and inclusive leadership at all levels to inspire and empower one another to drive innovation, continuous improvement, staff, and student success” p. 48 ↗

1 funded action · 2025–26 plan: $245,820 (+⁠$68,770)

Largest funded actions

  1. Administrative Support$314,590action 6.1 · p. 81 ↗ · marked as contributing to high-need services

Changes from last year’s plan, same title

  1. Administrative Support+⁠$68,770$245,820 → $314,590 · p. 81 ↗

How the plan measures it · 5 measures

None of these has an all-students line we can quote; the plan’s table lists them from p. 48 ↗.

Goal 7 · Equity Multiplier Focus GoalBeckwourth (Jim) High (Continuation) was identified for Equity Multiplier funding in 2024. Although…$102,2321% of action budgets

“Beckwourth (Jim) High (Continuation) was identified for Equity Multiplier funding in 2024. Although enrollment did not generate Dashboard colors due to small N-size, the school must be identified as receiving Equity Multiplier funds. A persistent challenge at Buckwourth is the recruitment and retention of fully credentialed teachers, which directly impacts the stability and quality of instruction provided to unduplicated pupils. This goal is to improve teacher retention at Beckwourth (Jim) High by using Equity Multiplier funds to support salary costs for credentialed teachers, ensuring consistent access to high-quality instruction. By 2026–27, the school will demonstrate improved teacher retention rates and measurable gains in student attendance and achievement outcomes” p. 55 ↗

1 funded action · 2025–26 plan: $187,170 (−⁠$84,938)

Largest funded actions

  1. Teacher Retention Supports$102,232action 7.1 · p. 81 ↗

Changes from last year’s plan, same title

  1. Teacher Retention Supports−⁠$84,938$187,170 → $102,232 · p. 81 ↗

How the plan measures it · 4 measures

None of these has an all-students line we can quote; the plan’s table lists them from p. 55 ↗.

Goal 8Adopt and implement a standards-aligned mathematics curriculum across the district to improve student…$174,0632% of action budgets

“Adopt and implement a standards-aligned mathematics curriculum across the district to improve student proficiency and close learning gaps. The Learning Recovery Block Grant will fund a short- term (for two years) K-8 Math Instructional Coach and 1 math implementation lead at every school site” p. 59 ↗

2 funded actions · reworded since the 2025–26 plan

Largest funded actions

  1. Math Curriculum Adoption Support$159,063action 8.1 · p. 82 ↗
  2. Math Professional Development$15,000action 8.2 · p. 82 ↗

Changes from last year’s plan, same title

  1. Math Professional Development−⁠$35,000$50,000 → $15,000 · p. 82 ↗

1 new title this year. A reworded title counts as new.

How the plan measures it · 4 measures

None of these has an all-students line we can quote; the plan’s table lists them from p. 59 ↗.

All amounts are planned. We read them from the PDF and added up each goal’s actions ourselves. Page links open the plan at that page.

Extra help from the state

The state is giving Plumas Unified extra help in 2026, the second year after it qualified on the 2025 Dashboard.

English learner progress

From spring 2025 to spring 2026, 37% of the district’s English learners moved up at least one level on the state’s English test (ELPAC), or stayed at the top (20 of 54 students). California: 47%. This measures progress, not fluency.

Sources: Plans (California School Dashboard) ↗ · District help (CDE) ↗ · English learner progress (CDE) ↗. State results from the 2026 California School Dashboard.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

More places to look

Cities in the district

A district outline or ZIP code doesn’t decide which school a child attends. Confirm the school for your address, grade and program with the district. See these schools on the map ›

Common questions

Are the public schools in Plumas Unified good?
Plumas Unified’s 5 public elementary schools run from the 2nd to the 50th percentile among the 5,728 California elementary schools we score (spring 2026 tests). By band: 1 Solid, 3 Developing and 1 Needs Support. Plumas Unified has one public middle school we score, Plumas Charter, at the 50th percentile among the 2,532 California middle schools we score (spring 2026 tests). By band: 1 Solid. Plumas Unified’s 3 public high schools run from the 15th to the 28th percentile among the 1,500 California high schools we score (spring 2025 tests). By band: 1 Developing and 2 Needs Support. A percentile compares a school with California public schools at the same level that we score; it isn’t a grade. How we score schools.
Which public schools in Plumas Unified rank highest?
Elementary: Plumas Charter, 50th percentile statewide (Solid). Middle: Plumas Charter, 50th percentile statewide (Solid). High: Plumas Charter, 28th percentile statewide (Developing). Each level is ranked separately, and a few percentiles apart is a tie. A rank doesn’t decide fit or whether a child can enroll.
How does chronic absence in Plumas Unified compare with California?
The average Plumas Unified elementary school had 21 in 100 students chronically absent (missed 10% or more of school days) in 2025–26; the average California elementary school had 17 in 100. The average Plumas Unified high school had 28 in 100 students chronically absent in 2025–26; the average California high school had 23 in 100. These are averages of school rates: each school counts once, whatever its size.
How much does Plumas Unified spend per student?
Plumas Unified spent $24,172 per student in FY 2024–25 — $3,681 more than the median California district ($20,491), about 18% higher. About 53 cents of every dollar goes to classroom instruction. Current expense of education per unit of average daily attendance from the district’s annual SACS filing to the California Department of Education. Where the district’s dollars go.
What is in Plumas Unified’s 2026–27 LCAP plan?
The plan ties $10.4 million of the district’s $36.0 million general fund budget to its 26 funded actions, filed under 8 goals. It projects $3.0 million in extra state money for English learners, low-income students and foster youth, and plans $6.3 million in extra services for them. Largest goals by planned budget: Goal 1 (Student Success and Well-being): $4.4 million (43% of action budgets) — largest actions: Provide Expanded Learning Opportunities Program-Summer ($1.2 million) · Career and Technical Education will be at all high schools, based on enrollment and student needs ($982,354); Goal 5 (All facilities will be maintained and improved as safe, clean, innovative educational environments that…): $4.3 million (42% of action budgets) — largest actions: Maintenance ($1.4 million) · Hire/​support technology support staff to maintain facilities as evidenced by the FIT and to support Facilities, Safety and technology integration ($1.3 million). Every figure is read from the district’s adopted LCAP PDF with page citations. What the district plans (2026–27 plan).
Does living in Plumas Unified decide which school my child attends?
Not by itself. Attendance boundaries, programs, transfers and space all matter. Confirm the school for your address, grade and program with the district.
Where do these results come from?
California’s state tests (CAASPP) from spring 2026 and chronic-absence rates for 2025–26, both published by the California Department of Education. Percentiles, bands and Scope Scores are SchoolScope’s calculations, not official state ratings. Private schools don’t take the state tests, so we don’t score them. Methodology and limitations.

Sources & methodology

Data source: California Department of Education · CAASPP 2025-26

Scope Scores are SchoolScope’s calculations, not official state ratings. Use them alongside school visits and questions about your child’s needs.

Download these schools (CSV) · free to use under CC BY 4.0 with attribution