ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Portola Junior/Senior High

Portola, CA · Grades 7-12 · 256 students · Plumas Unified

Four in five leave college-ready. But suspensions run the state rate.

56% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 9% in math. 88.4% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalSara Sheridan
Grades7-12
Enrollment256 students

Math

9%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

56%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

256

Total enrollment

Graduation

88.4%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 29%2022: 16%2023: 13%2024: 22%2025: 9%2019: 61%2022: 63%2023: 31%2024: 46%2025: 56%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 29%2022: 16%2023: 13%2024: 22%2025: 9%2019: 61%2022: 63%2023: 31%2024: 46%2025: 56%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201929%61%
202216%63%
202313%31%
202422%46%
20259%56%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 69th to the 53rd percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “32% proficient” and call it done. Portola Junior/Senior deserves a closer read. More than half of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

The headline number: 91.7% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

116 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Portola Junior/Senior High scores 54 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 53rd percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 32% meet the standard today, versus 45% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 69th percentile · Scope Score 61 of 1002022 · 54th percentile · Scope Score 53 of 1002023 · 39th percentile · Scope Score 49 of 1002024 · 56th percentile · Scope Score 54 of 1002025 · 53rd percentile · Scope Score 54 of 100
ELAYellow(Increased Significantly)MathOrange(Declined)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 748%33%41%34%37%
Grade 860%28%33%40%33%
Grade 1161%63%31%46%56%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 734%33%32%28%23%
Grade 822%11%15%19%8%
Grade 1129%16%13%22%9%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in four of students here meet the standard. 9% clear it by a lot.

ELA41% met or exceeded
Exceeded 10%Met 31%Nearly Met 28%Not Met 30%
Math15% met or exceeded
Exceeded 3%Met 11%Nearly Met 31%Not Met 55%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school549%32%88.4%91.7%35.6%7.6%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5454
% Exceeded9%20%
% Met+32%43%
Grad rate88.4%92.5%
College readiness91.7%43.0%
Absence35.6%23.1%
Suspension7.6%3.3%
California’s growth results and student groups
State growth model · CDE growth model 2024–25

California's own growth model splits here — the 79th percentile in reading against the 30th in math, among high schools.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

California runs its own growth model — it follows individual children in grades 4 through 8 and compares each one against a prediction from their own prior scores. On that measure this school sits about at the middle of California high schools in reading, and the 30th in math. We show it; we don't score it.

pts vs expected is scale-score points above or below what California's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores. It is not a percentage and not a percent of anything. A typical California high school lands at −3 in reading, and the middle half of them fall between −13 and +5 — the spread is wide, so read the rank, not the sign. CDE blends two consecutive years into each published figure, so adjacent years share input data and no year-over-year trend can honestly be drawn from them. It covers grades 4-8 only, and it is not part of the Scope Score — we assessed it and left it out: it tracks school demographics roughly three times as strongly as our own growth measure does, and one published year is not enough to test how stable it is.

California's growth model, ranked against the schools it scores
State model · readingmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, reading: +10 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 79th percentile of 7,519 reported schools.79th pctile · +10 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, math: −6 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 30th percentile of 7,518 reported schools.30th pctile · −6 pts
this school| the tick is the middle of the California field

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

Low-income students here meet the ELA standard about even with the same group statewide.

At Portola Junior/Senior High in Portola, 40.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 30.6% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Portola Junior/Senior High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 9.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (15.2% Math proficient); White students (42.2% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 7.1 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 65 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 28% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 28%, district —, state 43%28%
MaleMale: this school 26%, district 28%, state 42%26% · −2 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 27%, district 23%, state 32%27% · −0 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 29%, district 30%, state 56%29% · +1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 31%, district 29%, state 44%31% · +3 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 26%, district 21%, state 32%26% · −2 vs school

7 of 13 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group
The state's growth model, by student group

California follows these children individually and predicts each one's score from their own prior year. Each row is read against the same group at a typical California high school — not against zero, and not against this school's all-students figure, because the state's expectation already differs by group.

Reading
English Only57 studentsEnglish Only, reading: +6 scale-score points versus expectation, against −3 for the same group at a typical California high school, 57 students.+6 pts · +9 vs typical
White43 studentsWhite, reading: −1 scale-score points versus expectation, against −4 for the same group at a typical California high school, 43 students.−1 pts · +3 vs typical
Low-income students41 studentsLow-income students, reading: +9 scale-score points versus expectation, against −5 for the same group at a typical California high school, 41 students.+9 pts · +14 vs typical
Math
English Only57 studentsEnglish Only, math: −8 scale-score points versus expectation, against −12 for the same group at a typical California high school, 57 students.−8 pts · +4 vs typical
White43 studentsWhite, math: −15 scale-score points versus expectation, against −8 for the same group at a typical California high school, 43 students.−15 pts · −7 vs typical
Low-income students41 studentsLow-income students, math: +2 scale-score points versus expectation, against −15 for the same group at a typical California high school, 41 students.+2 pts · +17 vs typical
this school typical California high school, same group| the centre tick is 0 = as predicted

— 1 more group is reported here with between 11 and 29 students. We hold those back on purpose: at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own, and a quarter of such groups land past the state's top or bottom cut point by chance alone. They are listed with their student counts in the data appendix. — A group not listed at all had fewer than 11 students with a growth score, so California published nothing for it here. That is a privacy protection, not a judgment about those students. — Context only. None of this enters the Scope Score.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored
Hispanic25.6% AP · 31.7% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.7% enroll.
Asian0.0% AP · 0.7% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 1.0% enroll.
White64.1% AP · 59.9% enroll.
Two or more races10.3% AP · 5.9% enroll.
English learners0.0% AP · 8.7% enroll.
Students with disabilities10.3% AP · 16.4% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

65%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 20 of 31 completers · includes community colleges

31Completers
26%
Other colleges8 completers · Outside the California community college system
39%
California community colleges12 completers · Enrolled within a year
35%
Not recorded enrolled11 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

65%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Portola Junior/Senior's class of 2023, 65% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 31 completers, 65% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 0 (0%)California State University 3 (10%)California community college 12 (39%)In-state private 0 (0%)Out-of-state, 4-year 4 (13%)Out-of-state, 2-year 1 (3%)Not enrolled 11 (35%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history
Applied14fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted10
Enrolled‹3
ShowHide the UC campus list
Where they landed (fall 2025)

7 of 7 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 65% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (12) than at UC (0).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 14 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Portola Junior/Senior's teachers are authorized to teach 6 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Computer Science Principles, Environmental Science, and 2-D Art and Design.

Students per teacher14 · district 19
Teaching staff21 teachers
Avg. experience7.0 years
Fully credentialed62%
First-year teachers33%
PrincipalSara Sheridan
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$47,167 – $105,455
Principal salary$127,102 – $132,663
Superintendent salary$183,915

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers22 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers5 students
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught6
ShowHide the 6 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (1)Computer Science Principles
Sciences (1)Environmental Science
English (1)English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (1)U.S. Government and Politics
Arts (2)2-D Art and Design · Drawing

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

35.6% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 35.6%, district 26.5%, state 23.1%35.6% · +12.6pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 7.6%, district —, state 3.3%7.6% · +4.3pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 7–835.6%
Grades 9–1238.3%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $17,439 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

These measure different things: this figure is spending attributed to this campus, while district-wide figures also include central administration, districtwide programs, and the state's pension contributions made on the district's behalf — costs that never get assigned to a single school. The district number runs higher at nearly every school, not just this one.

$998 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $17,439, CA average $14,491$17,439 · spent at this school
Federal share$998 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$24,172 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 53%Instruction support 11%Student services 12%Administration 9%Buildings & maintenance 13%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$16,243 per pupil
2019$15,136 per pupil
2018$15,511 per pupil
2017$13,197 per pupil
2016$11,508 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

More than half of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 256 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 11% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino34.4% · district 18.6% · CA 56.1%
White57.8% · district 65.6% · CA 19.9%
Other7.8% · district 14.7% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch53.9% · CA 64%
Median income$54K · CA $85K
Median home value$274K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+16% · CA 35%
ZIP population4,447
Median age46 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Portola Junior/Senior HighPublicSolid9%32%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Plumas Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Elementary · K–5

Middle · 6–8

No school established for this stage.

High school · 9–12

Source: sabs_2016. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what typically leads to a suspension, and what happens before it gets there.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Portola Junior/Senior High a good high school?
Portola Junior/Senior High has a Scope Score of 54 out of 100, placing it in the 53rd percentile of California high schools and ranked #778 statewide. 8.8% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 11.0 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Portola Junior/Senior High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 32.4% of students at Portola Junior/Senior High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 8.8% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 23.5% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 8.8% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 68 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Portola Junior/Senior High rank in California?
Portola Junior/Senior High ranks #778 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 53rd percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Portola Junior/Senior High?
35.6% of students at Portola Junior/Senior High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 7.6%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Portola Junior/Senior High compare to other schools in Portola?
Portola Junior/Senior High scores 54/100 (53rd percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 256 students. Use the schools in Portola page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Portola Junior/Senior High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Portola Junior/Senior High in Portola, 40.0% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 30.6% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Portola Junior/Senior High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 9.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (15.2% Math proficient); White students (42.2% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 7.1 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 65 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Portola Junior/Senior High?
Portola Junior/Senior High's teachers are authorized to teach 6 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: 2-D Art and Design, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, U.S. Government and Politics. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Portola Junior/Senior High go to UC?
UC masks this number for Portola Junior/Senior High — fewer than three enrollees in fall 2025 — a privacy protection for small cohorts, not a signal about the school. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center).

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels sit just under the state's.

91.7% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate88.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard8.8%19.8%22%
College readiness91.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded32.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism35.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate7.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)31.6%18.0%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Portola Junior/Senior High: reading the evidence

Portola Junior/Senior has real strengths and one number that complicates them. Most rating sites show you one or the other. Both belong on the same page.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Portola Junior/Senior High is ranked #778 statewide · #2 of 4 in Plumas Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate88.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard8.8%19.8%22%
College readiness91.7%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded32.4%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism35.6%23.1%5%
Suspension rate7.6%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)31.6%18.0%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 52 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 43 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 83 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 4.5pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 32 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.3pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 18.0% · index 68 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 74611%26%30%33%37%−11
Grade 8363%31%31%36%33%−13
Grade 113418%38%24%21%56%+7
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 7479%15%32%45%23%−10
Grade 8360%8%36%56%8%−24
Grade 11340%9%24%68%9%−15

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide721%10%81%8%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged6540.0%+9+2
White6442.2%+5−20
Hispanic/Latino4136.6%+9−2
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Portola Junior/Senior High ←548.8%32.4%7.6%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
88.4%
AP Exam Prepared
91.7%
A-G Completion
44.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
64.5%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196169#46418.4%44.7%28.3%3.0%
20225354#7347.8%39.3%70.1%5.4%
20234939#9917.2%21.6%67.4%6.5%
20245456#72312.8%34.0%40.1%8.9%
20255453#7788.8%32.4%35.6%7.6%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female30.1%43.8%+13.7pp
Male28.2%31.9%+3.7pp
Hispanic/Latino25.3%34.4%+9.1pp
Two or More Races29.4%58.3%+28.9pp
White30.6%36.4%+5.8pp
Students with Disabilities36.8%44.4%+7.6pp
English Learners30.0%37.9%+7.9pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged34.4%44.7%+10.3pp
All Students29.1%37.4%+8.3pp
Homeless61.5%
06UC admissions, universitywide2015–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20251410‹33.713.88
202487‹33.713.79
20236‹3‹33.51
202213964.034.094.13
202154‹33.90
20155‹3‹33.74

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20256‹3‹3
Berkeley20245‹3‹3
Berkeley202210‹3‹3
Davis2025105‹3
Davis202283‹3
Irvine20256‹3‹3
Irvine20227‹3‹3
Los Angeles202210‹3‹3
Riverside202553‹3
San Diego20256‹3‹3
San Diego20247‹3‹3
San Diego202283‹3
Santa Barbara20259‹3‹3
Santa Barbara20245‹3‹3
Santa Barbara2022103‹3
Santa Cruz202575‹3
Santa Cruz202485‹3
Santa Cruz202253‹3
Universitywide20251410‹3
Universitywide202487‹3
Universitywide20236‹3‹3
Universitywide20221396
Universitywide202154‹3

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
2-D Art and Designthis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count12
AP enrollment39
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections3
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections1
Total enrollment (CRDC)287

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University39.7%
California community college1238.7%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year412.9%
Out-of-state, 2-year13.2%
Not enrolled1135.5%

31 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 65% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

11California growth model, by student group2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
ShowHide table 11 — California growth model, by student group
GroupReadingnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students+1069Accelerated−669Moderate
English Only+657not categorised−857not categorised
White−143Average−1543Moderate
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged+941Accelerated+241Average
Hispanic or Latino+2123Exceptional+223Average

Whole scale-score points above or below what CDE's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores — not a percentage, not a percentile. Statewide a typical school lands near +1 with a spread of about 13 points either side, so read a figure against its group's own typical value, not against zero. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a growth score — published by CDE, held back from the narrative sections above because at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own. “Not categorised” is CDE assigning no band — English Only, Recently Reclassified, and English Learners Only receive a value and no band, for every school in the state. It is not a missing number. Most figures blend two consecutive years, so adjacent published years share input data and no trend line can honestly be drawn across them. A group absent from this table had fewer than 11 students with a growth score and was never published. Grades 4-8 only. None of this enters the Scope Score — it is more strongly correlated with school demographics than our own growth measure, and one published year is not enough to test its reliability.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/portola-junior-senior-high-5603"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Portola Junior/Senior High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-08

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Portola Junior/Senior High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.