Public school · Tustin Unified

Tustin Connect

Tustin · Pre-K–12 · 268 students (2024–25)

96thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 2,177 scored public middle schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
79 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Well above California in English and math: 84% and 65% met or exceeded the standard in grades 7 and 8, against 49% and 35% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 7 and 8: 31
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 848,364 in English and 851,806 in math tested).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four middle schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How strong are the foundations for high school?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 7 and 8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
52%
Met standard
32%
Below standard
16%

84% met or exceeded · 31 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTustin Unified
Exceeded52%18%30%
Met32%31%32%
Nearly met13%23%19%
Not met3%28%19%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 7 and 8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
52%
Met standard
13%
Below standard
35%

65% met or exceeded · 31 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTustin Unified
Exceeded52%20%33%
Met13%15%19%
Nearly met22%23%21%
Not met13%42%27%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Read English and math separately, then look at progress and the courses students can take.

Ask: How do students get support, choose courses, and prepare for the move to high school?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In 2025, students in grades 7–8 scored above what the state expected from their own earlier scores. The state calls both results Exceptional.grades 7–8 · 2025
+21 ptsEnglish · above expected+20 ptsMath · above expected
Source
CDE growth model, 2025
Students
students with scores in both years in grades 7–8: 46
Comparison
46 students in grades 7–8 with scores in both years. Points are scale-score points against the state’s expected score for each student; the category is CDE’s, quoted as published. It describes results, not causes.
About half reached the top of the state’s four levels, against 18% and 20% across California in the same grades.grades 7 and 8 · spring 2025
52%English · exceeded the standard52%Math · exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 7 and 8: 31
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 848,364 in English and 851,806 in math tested).
21 of 321 students missed 10% or more of school days: about two thirds of the rate at the average Tustin Unified school.2024–25
6 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 321
Comparison
21 of 321. District and California figures are averages of school rates (8 Tustin Unified schools; 2,175 scored California middle schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 7 and 8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school84%
California49%

Tested: 31 here · 848,364 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school84%
Tustin Unified62%

Tested: 31 here · 3,210 in Tustin Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 8 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTustin Unified
Exceeded52%18%30%
Met32%31%32%
Nearly met13%23%19%
Not met3%28%19%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 7 and 8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school65%
California35%

Tested: 31 here · 851,806 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school65%
Tustin Unified52%

Tested: 31 here · 3,235 in Tustin Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 8 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTustin Unified
Exceeded52%20%33%
Met13%15%19%
Nearly met22%23%21%
Not met13%42%27%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How are results changing through the middle years?

The state’s growth measure46 students · grades 7–8 · 2025
English+21ptsCDE category: Exceptional
Math+20ptsCDE category: Exceptional

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

School pattern, spring 2025High CeilingThe average Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 50%.
School pattern, spring 2025Solid BaseThe average Met + Exceeded rate across the reported grades and subjects is at least 65%.

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

6 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
10in 100 at the average Tustin Unified school18in 100 at the average California middle school

21 of 321 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school6 in 100
at the average Tustin Unified school10 in 100
at the average California middle school18 in 100
0of 331 students were suspended at least once, 2024–25
2.8%at the average Tustin Unified school3.5%at the average California middle school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
Grades 1–3122 of 16
Grades 4–6124 of 32
Grades 7–8114 of 35
Grades 9–12511 of 233

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 41%2. White: 35%3. Asian: 15%4. Two or more races: 6%Unallocated share: 3%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino41%
  2. White35%
  3. Asian15%
  4. Two or more races6%
  5. Black or African American—
  6. Filipino—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share3%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino41%
White35%
Asian15%
Two or more races6%
Black or African American—
Filipino—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About half students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (47%, 127 of 268). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers12
Average experience11 years
First-year teachers0%
62% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 61.51%: 8.4 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 13.7 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Tustin Connect in Tustin, 73.2% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 8 and 11, compared to 54.7% district-wide for those same grades and 42.9% statewide for those same grades. Tustin Connect’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 18.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (41.5% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (69.6% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 42.8 percentage points: White students in Math. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 41 ELA grade test records.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryTustin ConnectThis campus · grades P-12
  2. MiddleTustin ConnectThis campus · grades P-12
  3. High schoolTustin ConnectThis campus · grades P-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Middle-school links

  • Columbus Tustin Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    57th percentile · Solid · middle · 2025

  • C. E. Utt Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    52nd percentile · Solid · middle · 2025

  • Hewes Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    72nd percentile · Solid · middle · 2025

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Tustin Unified which school serves your address.

tustin.k12.ca.us

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
1151 San Juan Street, Tustin 92780

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. How do you support kids who arrive ahead, and kids who arrive behind?
  2. Which math courses can students take, and how are placements decided?
  3. How do students get academic help and connect with a trusted adult?
  4. Which electives and high-school transition supports are available?

Call (714) 430-2052 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby middle schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar middle schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 39.4–55.4% meal eligibility and 134–536 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Tustin Connect a good middle school?
Tustin Connect is in the 96th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. Its Scope Score is 79 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), Tustin Connect was well above California in English and math: 84% and 65% met or exceeded the standard in grades 7 and 8, against 49% and 35% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for middle schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 6-to-8 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Tustin Connect's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 84% of students tested in grades 7 and 8 met or exceeded the English standard and 65% the math standard; 52% and 52% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 49% and 35% met or exceeded, 18% and 20% exceeded. 31 students were tested in English and 31 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Tustin Connect rank in California?
Tustin Connect is in the 96th percentile of 2,177 California comprehensive middle schools (Strong, 2025). Tustin Connect ranks #68 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Tustin Connect?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 6.5% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 21 chronically absent of 321 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 0.0%; 0 unduplicated suspended students of 331 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 10.5%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.2%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Tustin Connect compare to other schools in Tustin?
Tustin Connect is in the 96th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 268 students. Use the schools in Tustin page or the map view to compare nearby middle schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Tustin Connect?
At Tustin Connect in Tustin, 73.2% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 8 and 11, compared to 54.7% district-wide for those same grades and 42.9% statewide for those same grades. Tustin Connect’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 18.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (41.5% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (69.6% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 42.8 percentage points: White students in Math. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 41 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Tustin Connect is ranked #68 statewide · #2 of 8 in Tustin Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard51.2%17.2%42%
Met or exceeded73.6%40.0%23%
Chronic absenteeism10.5%18.1%5%
Suspension rate1.2%3.6%5%
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 17.2% · index 85 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 40.0% · index 76 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 18.1% · index 61 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▼ 3.9pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.6% · index 60 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▲ 0.2pp higher vs 2024

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 3———————
Grade 48——————
Grade 510——————
Grade 610——————
Grade 71450%29%21%0%79%+31
Grade 81753%35%6%6%88%+42
Grade 115831%38%17%14%69%+20

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 ELA equal-school mean: 43.1%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 ELA equal-school mean: 44.6%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 ELA equal-school mean: 47.7%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 6 ELA equal-school mean: 46.1%; n=4084 reporting schools

State grade 7 ELA equal-school mean: 47.6%; n=2631 reporting schools

State grade 8 ELA equal-school mean: 46.2%; n=2658 reporting schools

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 3———————
Grade 48——————
Grade 510——————
Grade 610——————
Grade 71443%14%36%7%57%+23
Grade 81759%12%12%18%71%+39
Grade 11585%26%17%52%31%+7

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 Math equal-school mean: 45.4%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 Math equal-school mean: 41.3%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 Math equal-school mean: 35.0%; n=5724 reporting schools

State grade 6 Math equal-school mean: 34.5%; n=4086 reporting schools

State grade 7 Math equal-school mean: 33.7%; n=2630 reporting schools

State grade 8 Math equal-school mean: 32.1%; n=2658 reporting schools

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 3 · ELA——
2024 · Grade 4 · ELA——
2024 · Grade 5 · ELA1181.8%
2024 · Grade 6 · ELA1369.2%
2024 · Grade 7 · ELA1776.5%
2024 · Grade 8 · ELA1973.7%
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA6369.8%
2024 · Grade 3 · Math——
2024 · Grade 4 · Math——
2024 · Grade 5 · Math1154.5%
2024 · Grade 6 · Math1353.9%
2024 · Grade 7 · Math1776.5%
2024 · Grade 8 · Math1963.2%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math6031.7%
2023 · Grade 3 · ELA10—
2023 · Grade 4 · ELA10—
2023 · Grade 5 · ELA5—
2023 · Grade 6 · ELA1492.9%
2023 · Grade 7 · ELA1586.7%
2023 · Grade 8 · ELA2454.2%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA6160.7%
2023 · Grade 3 · Math10—
2023 · Grade 4 · Math10—
2023 · Grade 5 · Math5—
2023 · Grade 6 · Math1464.3%
2023 · Grade 7 · Math1573.3%
2023 · Grade 8 · Math2433.3%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math6121.3%
2022 · Grade 3 · ELA21372.7%
2022 · Grade 4 · ELA21376.7%
2022 · Grade 5 · ELA21387.0%
2022 · Grade 6 · ELA21372.7%
2022 · Grade 7 · ELA21378.6%
2022 · Grade 8 · ELA21350.0%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA21368.8%
2022 · Grade 3 · Math21359.1%
2022 · Grade 4 · Math21360.0%
2022 · Grade 5 · Math21360.9%
2022 · Grade 6 · Math21372.7%
2022 · Grade 7 · Math21337.0%
2022 · Grade 8 · Math21329.2%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math21336.9%
2019 · Grade 3 · ELA75—
2019 · Grade 4 · ELA75—
2019 · Grade 5 · ELA75—
2019 · Grade 6 · ELA75—
2019 · Grade 7 · ELA7586.7%
2019 · Grade 8 · ELA7573.3%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA7565.6%
2019 · Grade 3 · Math76—
2019 · Grade 4 · Math76—
2019 · Grade 5 · Math76—
2019 · Grade 6 · Math76—
2019 · Grade 7 · Math7673.3%
2019 · Grade 8 · Math7646.7%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math7621.9%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide8718%26%51%5%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged4173.2%+19+30
Hispanic/Latino2369.6%+13+21
White2254.5%−24−13
Nearest middle schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 6 vs grade 8, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Tustin Connect ←—7996th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202551.2%73.6%——1.2%
Columbus Tustin Middle0.8 mi4057th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202516.4%35.2%+9.5pp—11.2%
C. E. Utt Middle0.8 mi3752nd percentile · Solid · statewide · 202512.1%35.0%+6.6pp—3.7%
Raymond A. Villa Fundamental Intermediate1.9 mi2011th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20254.7%22.0%−3.6pp—7.1%
California average—39School average · no percentile17.2%40.0%+1.5pp—3.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$63,595 – $136,551
Average elementary principal salary$169,736
Average middle school principal salary$177,892
Average high school principal salary$200,209
Superintendent salary$406,467

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201964/10089#213California comprehensive middle schools · 1,953 schools
202260/10087#266California comprehensive middle schools · 2,113 schools
202368/10092#159California comprehensive middle schools · 2,125 schools
202472/10094#115California comprehensive middle schools · 2,152 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 12.8% → 2025 · 6.5% · −6.3pp
Suspension rate2024 · 0.0% → 2025 · 0.0% · +0.0pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA11937.0%74.0%
2025 · Math11925.2%48.7%
2024 · ELA12940.3%71.3%
2024 · Math12627.0%48.4%
2023 · ELA13928.1%68.3%
2023 · Math13925.2%43.2%
2022 · ELA21337.1%71.8%
2022 · Math21329.1%47.9%
2019 · ELA7549.3%76.0%
2019 · Math7627.6%47.4%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———43.3%70.0%37.8%1.4%—
2022———32.0%56.7%21.1%0.6%-33.1pp
2023———39.3%67.4%21.0%1.0%-34.8pp
2024———41.6%68.8%14.4%0.9%+6.9pp
20257996#6851.2%73.6%10.5%1.2%—

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 6 vs grade 8 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — The same-year grade contrast is unavailable in this record; it is separate from the two-year aggregate comparison used for scoring.
  • — Scored here as a middle school — other grade spans appear in the data appendix.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female54.5%7.1%-47.4pp
Male44.4%5.6%-38.8pp
Asian40.9%2.1%-38.8pp
Hispanic/Latino50.0%9.9%-40.1pp
Two or More Races80.0%5.0%-75.0pp
White48.8%5.3%-43.5pp
Students with Disabilities37.5%11.6%-25.9pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged70.2%8.2%-62.0pp
All Students50.9%6.5%-44.4pp
English Learners—0.0%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2021–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
2025181463.953.984.07
20247333.69——
20238633.883.90—
202211853.853.883.99
2021135masked3.653.83—

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20257maskedmasked
Berkeley20226maskedmasked
Berkeley20219maskedmasked
Davis202575masked
Davis20218maskedmasked
Irvine2025164masked
Irvine20245maskedmasked
Irvine20236maskedmasked
Irvine202283masked
Irvine202112maskedmasked
Los Angeles202512maskedmasked
Los Angeles20228maskedmasked
Los Angeles20219maskedmasked
Merced202555masked
Riverside20251010masked
San Diego202510maskedmasked
San Diego202110maskedmasked
Santa Barbara20256maskedmasked
Santa Barbara20225maskedmasked
Santa Barbara20217maskedmasked
Santa Cruz202566masked
Santa Cruz20217maskedmasked
Universitywide202518146
Universitywide2024733
Universitywide2023863
Universitywide20221185
Universitywide2021135masked

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8offered · 8 enrolled
Calculus sections0
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections2
Total enrollment (CRDC)348

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students+2146Exceptional+2046Exceptional
English Only+2542not categorised+1942not categorised
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged+3321Exceptional+3021Exceptional
Hispanic or Latino+2016Exceptional+2216Exceptional
White+2514Exceptional+2114Exceptional

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures
California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

46 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: +21 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 96th percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.96th pctile · +21 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

46 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: +20 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 92nd percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.92nd pctile · +20 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California middle school records, the median ELA estimate is −1 and the middle half fall between −8 and +6 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$12,042 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 22,761 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$202 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 268

Central federal expenditures attributed here$908 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 268

District current expense · FY 2024–25$16,539 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 61%Instruction support 10%Student services 11%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$12,042 per pupil
2020$11,529 per pupil
2019$11,031 per pupil
2018$10,848 per pupil
2017$10,328 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 92780
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 92780
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$101,017
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)37.70%
ZCTA population54,374
Median age36.2 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/tustin-connect-0590"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Tustin Connect — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=2,177 middle schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction