Public school · Novato Unified

Sinaloa Middle

Novato · 6–8 · 693 students (2024–25)

75thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 2,177 scored public middle schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
48 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Well above California in English and math: 60% and 47% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 6–8: 687 in English, 692 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 6, 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,266,619 in English and 1,272,526 in math tested).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four middle schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How strong are the foundations for high school?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
25%
Met standard
35%
Below standard
40%

60% met or exceeded · 687 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaNovato Unified
Exceeded25%19%21%
Met35%30%32%
Nearly met19%23%20%
Not met21%28%27%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
26%
Met standard
21%
Below standard
53%

47% met or exceeded · 692 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaNovato Unified
Exceeded26%20%23%
Met21%16%19%
Nearly met21%23%21%
Not met32%41%37%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Read English and math separately, then look at progress and the courses students can take.

Ask: How do students get support, choose courses, and prepare for the move to high school?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
1.7% of students (12 of 715) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, about half the rate at the average California middle school.2024–25
1.7%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25
Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 715
Comparison
12 of 715. District and California figures are averages of school rates (4 Novato Unified schools; 2,177 scored California middle schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school60%
California49%

Tested: 687 here · 1,266,619 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school60%
Novato Unified53%

Tested: 687 here · 1,472 in Novato Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 4 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaNovato Unified
Exceeded25%19%21%
Met35%30%32%
Nearly met19%23%20%
Not met21%28%27%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school47%
California36%

Tested: 692 here · 1,272,526 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school47%
Novato Unified42%

Tested: 692 here · 1,482 in Novato Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 4 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaNovato Unified
Exceeded26%20%23%
Met21%16%19%
Nearly met21%23%21%
Not met32%41%37%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How are results changing through the middle years?

The state’s growth measure647 students in English, 648 in math · grades 6–8 · 2025
English0ptsCDE category: Average
Math−2ptsCDE category: Average

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

Ask: Math is lower than in 2019 here (58% to 47%) and across California (38% to 36%). How does the school check what’s working in math?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

12 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
12in 100 at the average Novato Unified school18in 100 at the average California middle school

85 of 712 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school12 in 100
at the average Novato Unified school12 in 100
at the average California middle school18 in 100
1.7%of students were suspended at least once (12 of 715), 2024–25
2.0%at the average Novato Unified school3.5%at the average California middle school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
Grades 4–649 of 212
Grades 7–81576 of 500

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 6–8 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

293 English · 295 math tested

English40% / 38%
Math26% / 24%

White

340 tested per subject

English70% / 61%
Math57% / 49%

Hispanic or Latino

237 English · 242 math tested

English39% / 38%
Math26% / 24%

Two or more races

58 tested per subject

English81% / 62%
Math62% / 49%

English learners

56 English · 60 math tested

English4% / 7%
Math3% / 6%

Students with disabilities

74 tested per subject

English18% / 14%
Math12% / 10%

Homeless

47 English · 48 math tested

English19% / 27%
Math8% / 16%

Military families

44 tested per subject · grades 7 and 8

English41% / 51%
Math27% / 37%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 6–8 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Novato Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 293 tested in English, 295 in math
English40%+733%+238%
Math26%+422%+224%
White · 340 tested
English70%−171%+961%
Math57%−158%+849%
Hispanic or Latino · 237 tested in English, 242 in math
English39%+732%+138%
Math26%+323%+224%
Two or more races · 58 tested
English81%+774%+1962%
Math62%+359%+1349%
English learners · 56 tested in English, 60 in math
English4%04%−37%
Math3%−14%−36%
Students with disabilities · 74 tested
English18%+414%+414%
Math12%+39%+210%
Homeless · 47 tested in English, 48 in math
English19%+514%−827%
Math8%08%−816%
Military families · 44 tested · grades 7 and 8 only
English41%−243%−1051%
Math27%−431%−1037%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Novato Unified, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

Asian students: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Black or African American, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native and Pacific Islander students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

How each student group did

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Sinaloa Middle in Novato, 39.9% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 6, 7 and 8, compared to 33.1% district-wide for those same grades and 37.7% statewide for those same grades. Sinaloa Middle’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 6.8 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (26.1% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (70.3% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 57.8 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 293 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. White: 49%2. Hispanic or Latino: 36%3. Two or more races: 8%4. Asian: 5%5. Black or African American: 2%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. White49%
  2. Hispanic or Latino36%
  3. Two or more races8%
  4. Asian5%
  5. Black or African American2%
  6. Filipino—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
White49%
Hispanic or Latino36%
Two or more races8%
Asian5%
Black or African American2%
Filipino—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 2 in 5 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (42%, 292 of 693). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers35
Average experience16 years
First-year teachers9%
83% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 83.13%: 29.9 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 35.9 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryOlive ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleSinaloa MiddleThis campus · grades 6-8
  3. High schoolSan Marin HighHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Olive Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    70th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Pleasant Valley Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    87th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • San Ramon Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    81st percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Lu Sutton Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    36th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

    95% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

High-school links

  • San Marin High

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    79th percentile · Strong · high · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

High-school endpoint evidence · San Marin High
San Marin HighScope 67historical direct overlap

The road from this school ends at San Marin High. UC records 31 enrollees from San Marin High for fall 2025. Its AP Course Audit lists 20 authorized AP subjects for 2025 - 2026. Those figures come from dated records — a child starting here today would reach San Marin High around 2031, and 6 years is a long time for a school to hold still, and by the state's 2023 count 86% of San Marin High's graduates enrolled in college somewhere, UC or not.

31 UC enrollees (fall 2025) · 20 authorized AP subjects (AP Course Audit 2025 - 2026) → full record on San Marin High's page
Source: UC & College Board AP Course Ledger

Getting in

Ask Novato Unified which school serves your address.

sinaloa.nusd.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
2045 Vineyard Road, Novato 94947

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Math is lower than in 2019 here (58% to 47%) and across California (38% to 36%). How does the school check what’s working in math?
  2. Which math courses can students take, and how are placements decided?
  3. How do students get academic help and connect with a trusted adult?
  4. Which electives and high-school transition supports are available?

Call (415) 897-2111 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby middle schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar middle schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Woodland Park MiddleSan Marcos Unified · 1,184 enrolled · 42.3% meal eligibility50thSolid
  • James L. Day MiddleTemecula Valley Unified · 932 enrolled · 42% meal eligibility82ndStrong
  • Stanford MiddleLong Beach Unified · 1,165 enrolled · 41.9% meal eligibility80thStrong
  • Chaparral MiddleMoorpark Unified · 542 enrolled · 41.9% meal eligibility65thSolid
  • O'Hara Park MiddleOakley Union Elementary · 856 enrolled · 41.8% meal eligibility14thNeeds Support
  • Bernardo Yorba MiddlePlacentia-Yorba Linda Unified · 753 enrolled · 42.5% meal eligibility79thStrong
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 34.1–50.1% meal eligibility and 347–1,386 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Sinaloa Middle a good middle school?
Sinaloa Middle is in the 75th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. Its Scope Score is 48 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), Sinaloa Middle was well above California in English and math: 60% and 47% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for middle schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 6-to-8 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Sinaloa Middle's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 60% of students tested in grades 6–8 met or exceeded the English standard and 47% the math standard; 25% and 26% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 49% and 36% met or exceeded, 19% and 20% exceeded. 687 students were tested in English and 692 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Sinaloa Middle rank in California?
Sinaloa Middle is in the 75th percentile of 2,177 California comprehensive middle schools (Strong, 2025). Sinaloa Middle ranks #539 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), aggregate cohort comparison (2023 G6 → 2025 G8), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
Is Sinaloa Middle getting better or worse?
SchoolScope compares Sinaloa Middle's grade 6 results in 2023 with its grade 8 results in 2025, using school-level test aggregates. Students are not matched across years, and enrollment changes can affect the comparison. SchoolScope middle standardized cohort gain: approximately 46th percentile on a calibrated reference scale, not an empirical school rank. This score compares school-level grade groups across ELA and Math, not matched students in California's separate growth model. It describes an aggregate change; it cannot establish how individual students progressed or what caused it. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Sinaloa Middle?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 11.9% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 85 chronically absent of 712 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 1.7%; 12 unduplicated suspended students of 715 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 12.0%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.7%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Sinaloa Middle compare to other schools in Novato?
Sinaloa Middle is in the 75th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 693 students. Use the schools in Novato page or the map view to compare nearby middle schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Sinaloa Middle?
At Sinaloa Middle in Novato, 39.9% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 6, 7 and 8, compared to 33.1% district-wide for those same grades and 37.7% statewide for those same grades. Sinaloa Middle’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 6.8 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (26.1% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (70.3% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 57.8 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 293 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What high school does Sinaloa Middle feed into?
By attendance boundary, Sinaloa Middle is zoned to San Marin High. San Marin High has a Scope Score of 67 out of 100. Boundaries come from the U.S. Department of Education's School Attendance Boundary Survey, a 2015-16 collection and the most recent national one — they are approximate and may since have changed. A boundary is also not a placement guarantee: magnet, charter, open-enrollment and inter-district transfer options mean students from one school often continue to several different ones. Confirm your address with the district before making an enrollment or housing decision. Data source: NCES School Attendance Boundary Survey, analyzed by SchoolScope.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Sinaloa Middle is ranked #539 statewide · #2 of 4 in Novato Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard25.6%17.2%42%
Met or exceeded53.7%40.0%23%
Growth (2023 G6 → 2025 G8)Below avgaverage20%
Chronic absenteeism12.0%18.1%5%
Suspension rate1.7%3.6%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)23.3%17.8%5%
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 17.2% · index 60 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 40.0% · index 62 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Growth (2023 G6 → 2025 G8)
↓ vs CA average · ≈46th calibrated reference pctile
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 18.1% · index 59 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▼ 1.5pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.6% · index 58 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▼ 1.3pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 53 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 620630%37%13%20%67%+21
Grade 724323%33%22%23%56%+8
Grade 823822%37%19%21%60%+13

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 ELA equal-school mean: 46.1%; n=4084 reporting schools

State grade 7 ELA equal-school mean: 47.6%; n=2631 reporting schools

State grade 8 ELA equal-school mean: 46.2%; n=2658 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 620926%23%22%29%49%+14
Grade 724423%17%25%35%40%+6
Grade 823929%22%17%32%51%+19

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 Math equal-school mean: 34.5%; n=4086 reporting schools

State grade 7 Math equal-school mean: 33.7%; n=2630 reporting schools

State grade 8 Math equal-school mean: 32.1%; n=2658 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 6 · ELA24255.8%
2024 · Grade 7 · ELA24055.4%
2024 · Grade 8 · ELA24963.0%
2024 · Grade 6 · Math24343.2%
2024 · Grade 7 · Math24045.0%
2024 · Grade 8 · Math25453.1%
2023 · Grade 6 · ELA22654.4%
2023 · Grade 7 · ELA24560.8%
2023 · Grade 8 · ELA25161.8%
2023 · Grade 6 · Math22647.4%
2023 · Grade 7 · Math24552.6%
2023 · Grade 8 · Math25140.6%
2022 · Grade 6 · ELA72664.2%
2022 · Grade 7 · ELA72657.1%
2022 · Grade 8 · ELA72661.0%
2022 · Grade 6 · Math71748.9%
2022 · Grade 7 · Math71738.5%
2022 · Grade 8 · Math71739.2%
2019 · Grade 6 · ELA80855.3%
2019 · Grade 7 · ELA80867.4%
2019 · Grade 8 · ELA80862.9%
2019 · Grade 6 · Math81648.0%
2019 · Grade 7 · Math81661.0%
2019 · Grade 8 · Math81664.6%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide23921%23%42%15%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged29339.9%+7+2
White34070.3%−0+9
Hispanic/Latino23739.2%+7+1
Nearest middle schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 6 vs grade 8, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Sinaloa Middle ←—4875th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202525.6%53.7%−2.5pp+43 pts1.7%
San Jose Intermediate2.5 mi3445th percentile · Developing · statewide · 202520.5%42.3%−9.9pp—2.7%
California average—39School average · no percentile17.2%40.0%+1.5pp—3.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$60,953 – $133,072
Average elementary principal salary$158,792
Average middle school principal salary$175,496
Average high school principal salary$183,904
Superintendent salary$289,800

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201952/10078#427California comprehensive middle schools · 1,953 schools
202249/10077#470California comprehensive middle schools · 2,113 schools
202351/10081#401California comprehensive middle schools · 2,125 schools
202453/10082#387California comprehensive middle schools · 2,152 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 13.4% → 2025 · 11.9% · −1.5pp
Suspension rate2024 · 3.0% → 2025 · 1.7% · −1.3pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA68724.8%60.4%
2025 · Math69226.2%46.5%
2024 · ELA73123.9%58.1%
2024 · Math73729.0%47.2%
2023 · ELA72223.0%59.1%
2023 · Math72224.6%46.8%
2022 · ELA72620.9%60.7%
2022 · Math71722.3%42.1%
2019 · ELA80818.9%62.0%
2019 · Math81629.7%57.8%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———24.3%59.9%5.2%2.7%+12.2pp
2022———21.8%51.5%16.0%3.5%-6.4pp
2023———23.8%52.9%15.0%1.9%+0.3pp
2024———26.4%52.6%13.5%3.0%+8.6pp
20254875#53925.6%53.7%12.0%1.7%-2.5pp

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 6 vs grade 8 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female5.4%13.8%+8.4pp
Male4.7%10.2%+5.5pp
Asian0.0%8.3%+8.3pp
Hispanic/Latino6.8%15.0%+8.2pp
Two or More Races3.4%3.5%+0.1pp
White4.8%11.0%+6.2pp
Students with Disabilities12.5%18.8%+6.3pp
English Learners7.0%17.6%+10.6pp
Homeless18.8%19.2%+0.4pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged9.2%17.7%+8.5pp
All Students5.1%11.9%+6.8pp
Black/African American—15.4%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students0647Average−2648Average
English Only+3460not categorised−1460not categorised
White+4330Average+1330Average
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged−7269Moderate−10269Moderate
Hispanic or Latino−7211Moderate−11212Moderate
English Learner−9120Moderate−11120Moderate
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only+280not categorised080not categorised
Students with Disabilities−1274Moderate−1674Moderate
Two or More Races+1053Accelerated+1253Accelerated
English Learners Only−2640not categorised−3240not categorised
Asian+134Average+2034Exceptional
Homeless Youth−1731Moderate−1631Moderate
Long-Term English Learner (grades 6-8 only)−1320Moderate−3620Minimal
Black or African American+2113Exceptional013Average

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. Long-Term English Learner counts cover grades 6-8 only (CDE), so that row is not comparable to the All Students row. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures

School-grade cohort proxy · ELA endpoints

ELA · 2023 · Grade 6
22%
exceeded standard · 54% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2023 · 226 ELA test records with scores
ELA · 2025 · Grade 8
22%
exceeded standard · 60% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2025 · 238 ELA test records with scores

Minimum rounded subject-mean records with scores at the endpoints: 226 (school-grade cohort proxy).

These paired percentages describe ELA results for grade groups at this school in two years. The groups are not matched students. SchoolScope's scored growth measure uses a different school-level scale-score proxy across ELA and Math; California's matched-student model is a separate measure.

California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

647 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: 0 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 45th percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.45th pctile · 0 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

648 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: −2 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 42nd percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.42nd pctile · −2 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California middle school records, the median ELA estimate is −1 and the middle half fall between −8 and +6 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$12,709 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 7,206 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$329 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 693

Central federal expenditures attributed here$725 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 693

District current expense · FY 2024–25$18,474 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 63%Instruction support 11%Student services 9%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$12,709 per pupil
2020$12,337 per pupil
2019$13,101 per pupil
2018$11,526 per pupil
2017$11,161 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 94947
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 94947
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$128,766
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)47.08%
ZCTA population24,100
Median age47.6 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/sinaloa-middle-8614"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Sinaloa Middle — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=2,177 middle schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction