ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in
Sierra Vista High (Continuation) · DinubaPublic

Sierra Vista High (Continuation): No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

Sierra Vista High (Continuation) posts 4% meeting the standard and 0.0% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

8470 Avenue 406, 93618 (opens in new tab)·Dinuba Unified·Dinuba·Grades 9-12·77 students·83% low-income·2024–25 CAASPP·(559) 595-7240·Website
Continuation high school — students are referred here, usually mid-year, when the standard timeline stops working. Scored, but ranked against California continuation schools rather than comprehensive ones.
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
This schoolCA avg
Scope2754
% Exceeded0%20%
% Met+4%43%
Grad rate90.7%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence75.7%23.1%
Suspension0.8%3.3%
Scope Score
27
Not Compared · Needs Support
ranked #119 of California continuation high schools

Sierra Vista High (Continuation) scores 27 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 65th percentile of California continuation high schools, not of the comprehensive field (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Measures test performance, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How we score →

Not Compared — Read the underlying numbers directly, and ask the school how it serves the specific population it's built for — that's a different conversation than the archetype labels are meant for.

Most rating sites would stop at “4% proficient” and call it done. Sierra Vista High (Continuation) deserves a closer read. The school sits in Dinuba, where four in five students qualify for free or reduced lunch — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

One honest note: Sierra Vista High (Continuation)'s rank and percentile are measured against California continuation high schools — not against the state's comprehensive campuses. The underlying numbers below are measured the same way at every school; only the comparison group changes.

The story this school is actually telling

Proficient by 11th grade
4%
State 43%
Graduate
91%
State 92%
Pass an AP exam
0%
State 43%

Of 100 students here: 4 are proficient by 11th grade → 91 graduate → 0 pass an AP exam. The gaps between those bars are the questions to ask.

The 7 things our score weighs

Graduation rate
90.7%
State 92.5%
1.8pp below state avg
Exceeded standard
0.0%
State 19.8%
19.8pp below state avg
College readiness
0.0%
State 43.0%
AP course or exam readiness below state avg
Met or exceeded
3.9%
State 43.2%
39.4pp below state avg
Chronic absenteeism
75.7%
State 23.1%
52.6pp above state avg
Suspension rate
0.8%
State 3.3%
2.4pp below state avg
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
0.0%
State 18.0%
18.0pp below state avg
Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask how English learners are supported, and what changes for them after they reclassify.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.

How every group of students does here

At Sierra Vista High (Continuation) in Dinuba, 8.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 48.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Sierra Vista High (Continuation) trails its district average for low-income students by 40.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (8.0% ELA proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 48 students tested.

All students at this school: 4% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 4%, district —, state 43%4%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 4%, district 40%, state 32%4% · +0 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 4%, district 40%, state 32%4% · +0 vs school
MaleMale: this school 3%, district 40%, state 42%3% · −1 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 3%, district 16%, state 11%3% · −1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 5%, district 42%, state 44%5% · +1 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: too few students to report‹11
WhiteWhite: too few students to report‹11
Foster YouthFoster Youth: too few students to report‹11
HomelessHomeless: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group

Showing up, and staying in class

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 75.7%, district 23.3%, state 23.1%75.7% · +52.6pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 0.8%, district —, state 3.3%0.8% · −2.4pp vs state
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1288.5%

Where the path goes

The path below follows attendance boundaries — scores shown for each next step.

K-12 Feeder Path
High School
Sierra Vista High (Continuatio…
27/100
This school

Estimated path based on proximity within the same district. Contact your school district for official feeder information.

The people teaching here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Student : teacherStudent to teacher ratio: this school 11:1, district 23:111:1
PrincipalKevin Thomas
Teaching staff8 teachers
Avg. experience19.6 years
Fully credentialed46%
Salary Schedule
Teacher salary schedule$64,875 – $126,214
Principal salary$151,586 – $184,254
Superintendent salary$253,055

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course Breadth

What gets spent here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $31,956, CA average $14,491$31,956 · spent at this school
Federal share$161 per student

$161 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

District current expense · FY 2024–25$19,027 per student

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction58%
Instruction support14%
Student services13%
Administration5%
Buildings & maintenance9%
Other2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,616 per pupil
2019$12,176 per pupil
2018$12,543 per pupil
2017$12,212 per pupil
2016$11,207 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood it serves

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Hispanic90.9%
District 92.8% · CA 56.1%
White5.2%
District 4.5% · CA 19.9%
Other3.9%
District 1.5% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 36.4%Male 63.6%
Low IncomeFree/reduced lunch eligible 83.1% (19pp above CA avg)
Neighborhood — American Community Survey
Median income$62K · CA $85K
Median home value$278K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+14% · CA 35%
ZIP population32,267
Median age30 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Worth Knowing

At 77 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 2% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Frequently asked questions

Is Sierra Vista High (Continuation) a good high school?

Sierra Vista High (Continuation) has a Scope Score of 27 out of 100, placing it in the 65th percentile of California continuation high schools and ranked #119 in that group. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. 0.0% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 19.8 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.

What are Sierra Vista High (Continuation)'s CAASPP test scores?

On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 3.9% of students at Sierra Vista High (Continuation) met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 0.0% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 3.9% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 0.0% pushed past it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it reveals whether a school's curriculum challenges students beyond minimum proficiency or paces toward it. 103 student-subject combinations were assessed.

How does Sierra Vista High (Continuation) rank among California continuation high schools?

Sierra Vista High (Continuation) ranks #119 among California continuation high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 65th percentile. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.

What is the attendance and school culture like at Sierra Vista High (Continuation)?

75.7% of students at Sierra Vista High (Continuation) are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 0.8%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.

How does Sierra Vista High (Continuation) compare to other schools in Dinuba?

Sierra Vista High (Continuation) scores 27/100 (65th percentile) among California continuation high schools. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 77 students. Use the schools in Dinuba page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.

How does Sierra Vista High (Continuation) serve low-income and underrepresented students?

At Sierra Vista High (Continuation) in Dinuba, 8.3% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 48.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Sierra Vista High (Continuation) trails its district average for low-income students by 40.5 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (8.0% ELA proficient). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 48 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Your other options


For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Graduation rate · 25%
90.7%
↓ vs CA 92.5% · 54th pctile
Exceeded standard · 22%
0.0%
↓ vs CA 19.8% · 33th pctile
College readiness · 20%
0.0%
↓ vs CA 43.0% · 31th pctile
Met or exceeded · 18%
3.9%
↓ vs CA 43.2% · 27th pctile
Chronic absenteeism · 5%
75.7%
↓ vs CA 23.1% · 13th pctile
▲ 0.4pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate · 5%
0.8%
↑ vs CA 3.3% · 63th pctile
▼ 2.0pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC) · 5%
0.0%
↓ vs CA 18.0% · 29th pctile
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11520%8%29%63%8%−41
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11510%0%4%96%0%−24

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, no valid result was published, or the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide580%2%60%38%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged488.3%−40−30
Hispanic/Latino508.0%−42−31
English Learners205.0%−14−5
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score · Grade gap = grade 3 vs grade 5, this year, different students; Cohort growth = one school's returning cohort tracked across grades (mostly, not exactly, the same kids), in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Sierra Vista High (Continuation) ←270.0%3.9%0.8%
Dinuba High1 mi5016.3%43.7%3.2%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
Graduation Rate
90.7%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
10.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
29.7%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
20192822#15870.0%10.0%49.9%11.3%
20223123#16202.5%7.5%67.6%1.9%
20232921#16901.3%9.0%73.6%3.8%
20242820#17241.1%3.3%75.3%2.8%
20252765#1190.0%3.9%75.7%0.8%
Grade gap = this year's grade 3 vs grade 5 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 30 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
Group20192025Δ
Female60.7%91.7%+31.0pp
Male58.0%86.5%+28.5pp
Hispanic/Latino56.5%87.7%+31.2pp
English Learners40.6%81.1%+40.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged59.3%88.9%+29.6pp
All Students58.8%88.5%+29.7pp
09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)43

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college1027.0%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year12.7%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled2670.3%

37 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 30% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/sierra-vista-high-continuation-1119"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Sierra Vista High (Continuation) — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-07-03methodology · data updates · CSV · report issue

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction