ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in
Dinuba High · DinubaPublic

Dinuba High: This school runs ahead of the state average. The bar itself is the harder conversation.

Dinuba posts 44% meeting the standard against 43% statewide — ahead of most, with real headroom above the bar.

490 West Kamm Avenue, 93618 (opens in new tab)·Dinuba Unified·Dinuba·Grades 9-12·2,115 students·77% low-income·2024–25 CAASPP·(559) 595-7220·Website
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
This schoolCA avg
Scope5054
% Exceeded16%20%
% Met+44%43%
Grad rate98.3%92.5%
College readiness16.5%43.0%
Absence15.9%23.1%
Suspension3.2%3.3%
Scope Score
50
🌱 Building Momentum · Developing
ranked #984 statewide

Dinuba High scores 50 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 54th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Measures test performance, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How we score →

🌱 Building Momentum — This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Most rating sites would stop at “44% proficient” and call it done. Dinuba deserves a closer read. The school sits in Dinuba, where three in four students qualify for free or reduced lunch — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Dinuba's low-income kids hit 63.8% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

The seven-year arc

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide

Has stayed near the 54th percentile since 2019.

ELAGreen(Increased)MathOrange(Declined)

Proficiency here is back to its pre-pandemic level — 44% meet the standard, about where the school stood in 2019.

ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1163%66%59%62%66%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1129%23%24%25%22%

The story this school is actually telling

Proficient by 11th grade
44%
State 43%
Graduate
98%
State 92%
Pass an AP exam
17%
State 43%

Of 100 students here: 44 are proficient by 11th grade → 98 graduate → 17 pass an AP exam. The gaps between those bars are the questions to ask.

63.8%
Low-income · ELA · met standard

Dinuba's most underrated number

63.8% of low-income students met the ELA standard — versus 38.2% for the same group statewide. That's the strongest kind of signal a school can post: it holds across income lines.

Dinuba low-income: 63.8%State low-income: 38.2%Dinuba EL: 17.2%State EL: 10.4%

The 7 things our score weighs

Graduation rate
98.3%
State 92.5%
5.8pp above state avg
Exceeded standard
16.3%
State 19.8%
3.5pp below state avg
College readiness
16.5%
State 43.0%
AP course or exam readiness below state avg
Met or exceeded
43.7%
State 43.2%
0.5pp above state avg
Chronic absenteeism
15.9%
State 23.1%
7.1pp below state avg
Suspension rate
3.2%
State 3.3%
0.0pp below state avg
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
8.3%
State 18.0%
9.7pp below state avg
Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether extra support — tutoring, counseling, small groups — reaches kids across income lines, not just the students already ahead.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.

How every group of students does here

At Dinuba High in Dinuba, 63.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 48.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Dinuba High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 15.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (19.3% Math proficient); Hispanic students (64.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 48.3 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 388 students tested.

All students at this school: 44% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 44%, district —, state 43%44%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 43%, district 40%, state 32%43% · −1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 42%, district 40%, state 32%42% · −2 vs school
MaleMale: this school 44%, district 40%, state 42%44% · +1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 43%, district 42%, state 44%43% · −1 vs school
English LearnersEnglish Learners: this school 12%, district 16%, state 11%12% · −32 vs school
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 9%, district 9%, state 15%9% · −34 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 74%, district 51%, state 56%74% · +30 vs school

5 of 13 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — English learners students were 24% of Dinuba's enrollment but 7% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic94.3% AP · 93.5% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Asian3.0% AP · 1.8% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.1% enroll.
Black0.3% AP · 0.4% enroll.
White2.3% AP · 4.1% enroll.
Two or more races0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
English learners7.0% AP · 23.7% enroll.
Students with disabilities1.0% AP · 7.7% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Showing up, and staying in class

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 15.9%, district 23.3%, state 23.1%15.9% · −7.1pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 3.2%, district —, state 3.3%3.2% · −0.0pp vs state
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1215.4%

Where the path goes

The path below follows attendance boundaries — scores shown for each next step.

K-12 Feeder Path

Feeder patterns derived from NCES attendance boundary data. Boundaries are approximate and may have changed — verify with your school district for current assignments.

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score
70%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Dinuba's class of 2023, 70% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 451 completers, 70% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 11 (2%)California State University 39 (9%)California community college 260 (58%)In-state private 3 (1%)Out-of-state, 4-year 1 (0%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 137 (30%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate.

Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2025, 11 of Dinuba's 415 graduates enrolled in the University of California system — Davis the most common landing, with 3 enrollees.

Applied55fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted47
Enrolled11
Where they landed (fall 2025)

7 of 9 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several

UC enrollees, universitywide, 2014–2025

Peak: 16 enrolled, 2015

UC publishes this trend back to 1994 — no other destination has a comparable multi-year record

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 70% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (260) than at UC (11).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The people teaching here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Student : teacherStudent to teacher ratio: this school 24:1, district 23:124:1
PrincipalAndrew Popp
Teaching staff91 teachers
Avg. experience15.1 years
Fully credentialed73%
First-year teachers4%
Intern / emergency permit1.8%
Salary Schedule
Teacher salary schedule$64,875 – $126,214
Principal salary$151,586 – $184,254
Superintendent salary$253,055

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course Breadth
AP exam qualifiers56 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
CTE pathway completers200 students
Advanced Coursework

Dinuba's teachers are authorized to teach 7 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including Physics 1, Environmental Science, and Spanish Language and Culture.

AP subjects taught7
Sciences (2)Environmental Science · Physics 1
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (2)U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (1)Spanish Language and Culture

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

What gets spent here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $17,074, CA average $14,491$17,074 · spent at this school
Federal share$378 per student

$378 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

District current expense · FY 2024–25$19,027 per student

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction58%
Instruction support14%
Student services13%
Administration5%
Buildings & maintenance9%
Other2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$12,616 per pupil
2019$12,176 per pupil
2018$12,543 per pupil
2017$12,212 per pupil
2016$11,207 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood it serves

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Hispanic92.3%
District 92.8% · CA 56.1%
White4.7%
District 4.5% · CA 19.9%
Other1.8%
District 1.5% · CA 9.0%
Asian0.8%
District 0.9% · CA 10.2%
Black0.4%
District 0.3% · CA 4.8%
Low IncomeFree/reduced lunch eligible 76.5% (13pp above CA avg)
Neighborhood — American Community Survey
Median income$62K · CA $85K
Median home value$278K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+14% · CA 35%
ZIP population32,267
Median age30 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Worth Knowing

On the state's science test (CAST), 14% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Frequently asked questions

Is Dinuba High a good high school?

Dinuba High has a Scope Score of 50 out of 100, placing it in the 54th percentile of California high schools and ranked #984 statewide. 16.3% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 3.5 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.

What are Dinuba High's CAASPP test scores?

On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 43.7% of students at Dinuba High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 16.3% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 27.4% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 16.3% pushed past it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it reveals whether a school's curriculum challenges students beyond minimum proficiency or paces toward it. 928 student-subject combinations were assessed.

How does Dinuba High rank in California?

Dinuba High ranks #984 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 54th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.

What is the attendance and school culture like at Dinuba High?

15.9% of students at Dinuba High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 3.2%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.

How does Dinuba High compare to other schools in Dinuba?

Dinuba High scores 50/100 (54th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 2,115 students. Use the schools in Dinuba page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.

How does Dinuba High serve low-income and underrepresented students?

At Dinuba High in Dinuba, 63.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 48.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Dinuba High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 15.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (19.3% Math proficient); Hispanic students (64.6% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 48.3 percentage points for english learner students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 388 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

What AP courses are offered at Dinuba High?

Dinuba High's teachers are authorized to teach 7 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Physics 1, Spanish Language and Culture, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

How many students from Dinuba High go to UC?

In fall 2025, 11 Dinuba High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.

Your other options


For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Graduation rate · 25%
98.3%
↑ vs CA 92.5% · 63th pctile
Exceeded standard · 22%
16.3%
↓ vs CA 19.8% · 50th pctile
College readiness · 20%
16.5%
↓ vs CA 43.0% · 40th pctile
Met or exceeded · 18%
43.7%
↑ vs CA 43.2% · 56th pctile
Chronic absenteeism · 5%
15.9%
↑ vs CA 23.1% · 62th pctile
▼ 1.6pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate · 5%
3.2%
↑ vs CA 3.3% · 52th pctile
▼ 1.4pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC) · 5%
8.3%
↓ vs CA 18.0% · 37th pctile
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1146727%39%22%12%66%+17
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 114616%16%25%53%22%−2

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, no valid result was published, or the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide8552%12%69%17%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged38863.8%+15+26
Hispanic/Latino44264.6%+15+26
English Learners9417.2%−2+7
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score · Grade gap = grade 3 vs grade 5, this year, different students; Cohort growth = one school's returning cohort tracked across grades (mostly, not exactly, the same kids), in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Dinuba High ←5016.3%43.7%3.2%
Sierra Vista High (Continuation)1 mi270.0%3.9%0.8%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
Graduation Rate
98.3%
AP Exam Prepared
16.5%
A-G Completion
35.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
69.6%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
20195054#94217.7%46.2%11.5%11.2%
20225161#81616.4%44.7%26.6%4.3%
20235159#88716.0%41.3%21.4%4.0%
20245160#86116.9%43.5%17.5%4.6%
20255054#98416.3%43.7%15.9%3.2%
Grade gap = this year's grade 3 vs grade 5 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
Group20192025Δ
Female10.2%17.7%+7.5pp
Male11.8%13.2%+1.4pp
Asian19.0%17.6%-1.4pp
White5.0%
Hispanic/Latino10.7%15.3%+4.6pp
Students with Disabilities19.4%18.7%-0.7pp
English Learners10.5%17.0%+6.5pp
Foster Youth52.9%25.0%-27.9pp
Homeless30.0%43.2%+13.2pp
Military-Connected7.6%21.1%+13.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged11.7%16.2%+4.5pp
All Students11.0%15.4%+4.4pp
American Indian/Alaska Native22.7%
06UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20255547113.843.903.97
20245746143.843.904.02
20234837113.924.004.01
20224130133.884.074.17
20215844123.833.944.08
20204337153.833.874.00
20195134113.693.884.02
20186133153.633.934.03
20174334123.633.753.83
20164931143.543.693.74
20154224163.503.763.89
20144934153.693.803.90

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley202524‹3‹3
Berkeley202430‹3‹3
Berkeley20233084
Berkeley2022175‹3
Berkeley2021287‹3
Davis202533193
Davis202423114
Davis20232613‹3
Davis202220104
Davis20213215‹3
Irvine2025277‹3
Irvine202423‹3‹3
Irvine2023263‹3
Irvine2022165‹3
Irvine202123‹3‹3
Los Angeles2025303‹3
Los Angeles2024353‹3
Los Angeles202334‹3‹3
Los Angeles2022263‹3
Los Angeles2021335‹3
Merced202532303
Merced20242626‹3
Merced202320203
Merced20221512‹3
Merced20212724‹3
Riverside20251210‹3
Riverside202465‹3
Riverside202365‹3
Riverside2021127‹3
San Diego2025177‹3
San Diego2024238‹3
San Diego20231811‹3
San Diego2022198‹3
San Diego20212211‹3
Santa Barbara20252013‹3
Santa Barbara202415104
Santa Barbara20232714‹3
Santa Barbara202219135
Santa Barbara202127128
Santa Cruz2025168‹3
Santa Cruz20242715‹3
Santa Cruz2023179‹3
Santa Cruz2022116‹3
Santa Cruz20212013‹3
Universitywide2025554711
Universitywide2024574614
Universitywide2023483711
Universitywide2022413013
Universitywide2021584412

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
SubjectTaught by
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Physics 1this school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count9
AP enrollment300
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 605 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections14
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,200

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California112.4%
California State University398.7%
California community college26057.6%
In-state private30.7%
Out-of-state, 4-year10.2%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled13730.4%

451 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 70% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/dinuba-high-1184"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Dinuba High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-07-03methodology · data updates · CSV · report issue

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction