Public school · Scotts Valley Unified

Scotts Valley High

Scotts Valley · 9–12 · 611 students (2024–25)

76thpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
66 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 95% of the class graduated in four years (143 of 151); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 151
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
35%
Met standard
34%
Below standard
31%

69% met or exceeded · 155 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaScotts Valley Unified
Exceeded35%27%30%
Met34%30%33%
Nearly met20%20%23%
Not met11%23%14%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
22%
Met standard
28%
Below standard
50%

50% met or exceeded · 155 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaScotts Valley Unified
Exceeded22%14%22%
Met28%16%26%
Nearly met22%21%19%
Not met28%49%33%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In grade 11, 69% met or exceeded the standard in English and 50% in math, against 57% and 30% statewide.grade 11 · spring 2025
69%English · met or exceeded the standard50%Math · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11: 155
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 11 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 432,651 in English and 431,903 in math tested).
69 of 613 students missed 10% or more of school days: about two thirds of the rate at the average Scotts Valley Unified school.2024–25
11 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 613
Comparison
69 of 613. District and California figures are averages of school rates (2 Scotts Valley Unified schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school69%
California57%

Tested: 155 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school69%
Scotts Valley Unified63%

Tested: 155 here · 229 in Scotts Valley Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 2 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaScotts Valley Unified
Exceeded35%27%30%
Met34%30%33%
Nearly met20%20%23%
Not met11%23%14%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school50%
California30%

Tested: 155 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school50%
Scotts Valley Unified48%

Tested: 155 here · 229 in Scotts Valley Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 2 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaScotts Valley Unified
Exceeded22%14%22%
Met28%16%26%
Nearly met22%21%19%
Not met28%49%33%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: English is lower than in 2019 here (75% to 69%), while across California it was 57% in both years. How does the school check what’s working in English?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

95%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 143 of 151 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

61%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

81%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

88% enrolled in college within 12 months · 163 high-school completers

  • University of California30 · 18%
  • California State University26 · 16%
  • California community college47 · 29%
  • In-state private6 · 4%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year33 · 20%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 · 1%
  • Not enrolled20 · 12%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
60
Admitted
47
Enrolled
20

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 60 · Admitted 47 · Enrolled 20
  • Fall 2024Applied 73 · Admitted 46 · Enrolled 25
  • Fall 2023Applied 78 · Admitted 54 · Enrolled 30
  • Fall 2022Applied 78 · Admitted 39 · Enrolled 18
  • Fall 2021Applied 68 · Admitted 47 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 2020Applied 62 · Admitted 42 · Enrolled 24
  • Fall 2019Applied 76 · Admitted 45 · Enrolled 19
  • Fall 2018Applied 51 · Admitted 21 · Enrolled 9
  • Fall 2017Applied 74 · Admitted 45 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2016Applied 66 · Admitted 38 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2015Applied 44 · Admitted 30 · Enrolled 11
  • Fall 2014Applied 47 · Admitted 32 · Enrolled 15
  • Fall 2013Applied 71 · Admitted 44 · Enrolled 22
  • Fall 2012Applied 49 · Admitted 30 · Enrolled 12
  • Fall 2011Applied 53 · Admitted 41 · Enrolled 20
  • Fall 2010Applied 54 · Admitted 49 · Enrolled 20
  • Fall 2009Applied 71 · Admitted 63 · Enrolled 27
  • Fall 2008Applied 52 · Admitted 46 · Enrolled 19
  • Fall 2007Applied 50 · Admitted 44 · Enrolled 24
  • Fall 2006Applied 66 · Admitted 60 · Enrolled 37
  • Fall 2005Applied 59 · Admitted 58 · Enrolled 29
  • Fall 2004Applied 66 · Admitted 55 · Enrolled 33
  • Fall 2003Applied 37 · Admitted 30 · Enrolled 20
  • Fall 2002Applied 6 · Admitted 6 · Enrolled 6

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 30 · Admitted 8 · Enrolled 4
  • DavisApplied 43 · Admitted 20 · Enrolled 3
  • IrvineApplied 30 · Admitted 15 · Enrolled Masked
  • Los AngelesApplied 35 · Admitted 4 · Enrolled 3
  • MercedApplied 12 · Admitted 12 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 10 · Admitted 9 · Enrolled Masked
  • San DiegoApplied 49 · Admitted 6 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 44 · Admitted 15 · Enrolled Masked
  • Santa CruzApplied 25 · Admitted 19 · Enrolled 5

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

International Baccalaureate

  • Diploma Programme

Matched IB World Schools directory record · retrieved 2026-08-13. Confirm current programme availability with the school.

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
1 of 92 Prepared students · 1.1%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 151 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
7 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Dual enrollment (historical)
13 students · offered

2020-21

Source and what this counts

Federal Civil Rights Data Collection historical snapshot, not confirmation of current availability.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

11 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
16in 100 at the average Scotts Valley Unified school22in 100 at the average California high school

69 of 613 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school11 in 100
at the average Scotts Valley Unified school16 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
1.0%of students were suspended at least once (6 of 617), 2024–25
0.5%at the average Scotts Valley Unified school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

White

116 tested per subject

English73% / 68%
Math53% / 42%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Scotts Valley Unifiedvs California
White · 116 tested
English73%073%+568%
Math53%053%+1142%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Scotts Valley Unified, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

Low-income and Hispanic or Latino students and students with disabilities: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Asian, Black or African American, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students, students of two or more races, English learners and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

How each student group did

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Scotts Valley High in Scotts Valley, 52.6% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 52.6% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Scotts Valley High’s rate for low-income students matches its district average in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (42.1% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (73.3% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 57.9 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 19 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. White: 67%2. Hispanic or Latino: 19%3. Two or more races: 8%4. Asian: 4%Unallocated share: 1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. White67%
  2. Hispanic or Latino19%
  3. Two or more races8%
  4. Asian4%
  5. Black or African American—
  6. Filipino—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
White67%
Hispanic or Latino19%
Two or more races8%
Asian4%
Black or African American—
Filipino—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 1 in 10 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (11%, 67 of 611). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers36
Average experience13 years
First-year teachers0%
94% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 94.19%: 33 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 35.1 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryBrook Knoll ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleScotts Valley MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolScotts Valley HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Brook Knoll Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    80th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Vine Hill Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    88th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Middle-school links

  • Scotts Valley Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    87th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Scotts Valley Unified which school serves your address.

svhs.scottsvalleyusd.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
555 Glenwood Drive, Scotts Valley 95066

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. English is lower than in 2019 here (75% to 69%), while across California it was 57% in both years. How does the school check what’s working in English?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (831) 439-9555 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 3–19% meal eligibility and 306–1,222 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Scotts Valley High a good high school?
Scotts Valley High is in the 76th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 66 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 95% of the class graduated in four years (143 of 151); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Scotts Valley High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 69% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 50% the math standard; 35% and 22% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 155 students were tested in English and 155 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Scotts Valley High rank in California?
Scotts Valley High is in the 76th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Strong, 2025). Scotts Valley High ranks #353 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Scotts Valley High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 11.3% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 69 chronically absent of 613 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 1.0%; 6 unduplicated suspended students of 617 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 13.1%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.2%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Scotts Valley High compare to other schools in Scotts Valley?
Scotts Valley High is in the 76th percentile (Strong) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 611 students. Use the schools in Scotts Valley page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Scotts Valley High?
At Scotts Valley High in Scotts Valley, 52.6% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 52.6% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Scotts Valley High’s rate for low-income students matches its district average in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (42.1% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (73.3% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 57.9 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 19 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
How many students from Scotts Valley High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 20 Scotts Valley High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Scotts Valley High is ranked #353 statewide.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate94.7%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard28.4%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared60.9%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded59.7%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism13.1%22.7%5%
Suspension rate1.2%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 20.3% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 60 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.8% · index 67 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 2.8pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1115535%34%20%11%69%+20

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1115522%28%22%28%50%+27

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA14475.0%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math14450.7%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA19062.6%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math19042.6%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA16472.0%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math15753.5%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA20075.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math20047.0%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide15614%40%42%4%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged1952.6%+0+4
White11673.3%+0+6
Hispanic/Latino2955.2%+0+6
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Scotts Valley High ←—6676th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202528.4%59.7%1.2%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders2.9%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$52,653 – $105,234
Average elementary principal salary$127,486
Average middle school principal salary$129,153
Average high school principal salary$130,566
Superintendent salary$291,088

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 66/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 60.9% · numerator 92 students classified Prepared · denominator 151 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 1.1% · AP-pathway numerator 1 · denominator 92 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 92 of 151 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201956/10055#673California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202259/10069#494California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202354/10056#718California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202461/10073#430California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 14.2% → 2025 · 11.3% · −2.9pp
Suspension rate2024 · 1.0% → 2025 · 1.0% · +0.0pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA15534.8%69.0%
2025 · Math15521.9%50.3%
2024 · ELA14443.8%75.0%
2024 · Math14435.4%50.7%
2023 · ELA19030.5%62.6%
2023 · Math19022.1%42.6%
2022 · ELA16443.3%72.0%
2022 · Math15726.1%53.5%
2019 · ELA20040.0%75.0%
2019 · Math20022.5%47.0%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
94.7%
AP pathway among Prepared
1.1%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
81.1%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
87.7%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201931.3%61.0%8.7%4.7%
202234.7%62.7%21.1%3.4%
202326.3%52.6%19.1%1.7%
202439.6%62.9%15.9%1.3%
202528.4%59.7%13.1%1.2%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female7.3%13.7%+6.4pp
Male7.4%9.3%+1.9pp
Asian2.0%3.7%+1.7pp
Hispanic/Latino9.7%10.1%+0.4pp
Two or More Races6.5%10.2%+3.7pp
White7.8%12.0%+4.2pp
Students with Disabilities20.5%27.8%+7.3pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged13.3%29.4%+16.1pp
All Students7.4%11.3%+3.9pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20256047204.104.154.25
20247346254.014.144.26
20237854304.104.194.26
20227839183.914.084.16
20216847324.054.194.22
20206242243.984.104.10
20197645193.954.044.10
2018512193.844.064.23
20177445233.984.094.08
20166638233.904.104.11
20154430113.864.004.03
20144732153.914.024.11

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20253084
Berkeley20243474
Berkeley20235254
Berkeley2022495masked
Berkeley2021365masked
Davis202543203
Davis202445224
Davis202337188
Davis20224311masked
Davis202143256
Irvine20253015masked
Irvine202432maskedmasked
Irvine2023378masked
Irvine2022353masked
Irvine2021384masked
Los Angeles20253543
Los Angeles20244255
Los Angeles20234765
Los Angeles20223743
Los Angeles2021451410
Merced20251212masked
Merced202476masked
Merced202388masked
Merced202298masked
Riverside2025109masked
Riverside202486masked
Riverside2023109masked
Riverside202274masked
Riverside202153masked
San Diego2025496masked
San Diego20245313masked
San Diego202363156
San Diego20225186
San Diego202151248
Santa Barbara20254415masked
Santa Barbara202458184
Santa Barbara202366115
Santa Barbara2022477masked
Santa Barbara20215816masked
Santa Cruz202525195
Santa Cruz202432216
Santa Cruz20232518masked
Santa Cruz20223312masked
Santa Cruz202132224
Universitywide2025604720
Universitywide2024734625
Universitywide2023785430
Universitywide2022783918
Universitywide2021684732

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationoffered · 33 enrolled
Dual enrollmentoffered · 13 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections4
Physics sections4
Chemistry sections6
Total enrollment (CRDC)774

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California3018.4%
California State University2615.9%
California community college4728.8%
In-state private63.7%
Out-of-state, 4-year3320.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year10.6%
Not enrolled2012.3%

163 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 88% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$10,643 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 2,237 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$764 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 611

Central federal expenditures attributed here$64 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 611

District current expense · FY 2024–25$16,584 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 62%Instruction support 11%Student services 9%Administration 8%Buildings & maintenance 8%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$10,643 per pupil
2020$9,894 per pupil
2019$10,448 per pupil
2018$10,590 per pupil
2017$10,521 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

11ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 95066
ShowHide table 11 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 95066
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$151,250
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)56.69%
ZCTA population15,135
Median age47.1 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/scotts-valley-high-0211"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Scotts Valley High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · IB World Schools directory (name-matched, 0.90 gate) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction