ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Leadership Military AcademyCharterMoreno Valley, CAGrades 9-12119 students

Leadership Military Academy: A county community school. No Scope Score publishes here.

A Scope Score ranks schools a family can choose between. At Leadership Military Academy, students are placed here by a district, a probation department, or a county office — so a comparative rank would measure something a family's choice never entered. We show what California reports and hold the rank.

Charter school — publicly funded, independently operated. Enrollment terms vary by charter — ask this school how it enrolls. Learn more

county community school

no score · no band · no rank — enrollment assigned, not chosen

119 students · placed by district, probation, or county

Every figure below is California's own, reported for this school and shown without a rank. Why we withhold a score →

Leadership Military Academy is a county community school in Moreno Valley, California. SchoolScope publishes no Scope Score, performance band, archetype or ranking for schools where enrollment is assigned rather than chosen, so its CDE CAASPP 2025 results appear here unranked.

34 students were tested here on last year's CAASPP. 20.6% met or exceeded the standard; 4.4% exceeded it.

Chronic absenteeism ran 43.2%; the suspension rate was 19.8%. California reports both the same way it does for every school — this page just doesn't rank them here.

If you're trying to understand this school

Families don't choose a court or community school off this page — a student arrives through the court, a probation department, or a district referral. For a specific student, the county office of education or the district's alternative-education office is the right first call.

  • Ask how credits earned here transfer back to a student's home school.
  • Ask what continuity of services looks like when a student moves between this program and a comprehensive campus.
  • Ask what happens to a student's education plan after they leave.
CAASPP 2024–25

This school against the California average

2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school4%21%73.3%0.0%43.2%19.8%
CA average · High School (for reference)20%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
% Exceeded4%20%
% Met+21%43%
Grad rate73.3%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence43.2%23.1%
Suspension19.8%3.3%
Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 21% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 21%, district —, state 43%21%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 22%, district 9%, state 32%22%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 25%, district 8%, state 32%25%
MaleMale: this school 16%, district 7%, state 42%16%
FemaleFemale: this school 27%, district 13%, state 44%27%

6 of 11 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 43.2%, district 18.4%, state 23.1%43.2%
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 19.8%, district —, state 3.3%19.8%
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

57%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Leadership Military Academy's class of 2023, 57% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 30 completers, 57% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 2 (7%)California State University 1 (3%)California community college 10 (33%)In-state private 3 (10%)Out-of-state, 4-year 1 (3%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 13 (43%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history
Applied7fall 2023, universitywide
Admitted4
Enrolled‹3
ShowHide the UC campus list
Where they landed (fall 2023)
Riverside ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 57% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (10) than at UC (2).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2023 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 13 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher13 · district 25
Teaching staff9 teachers
Avg. experience7.1 years
Fully credentialed46%
First-year teachers22%
Intern / emergency permit24.7%
PrincipalSantos Campos
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$47,764 – $163,148
Principal salary$184,435 – $184,435
Superintendent salary$362,520

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

What gets spent · FY 2016–17

Its district spends $26,905 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $26,905, CA average $14,491$26,905 · district average
District averageCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 26%Instruction support 29%Student services 14%Administration 25%Buildings & maintenance 5%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2017 — the newest published
2017$26,905 per pupil
2016$25,759 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

Who is enrolled

Four in five of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 119 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 11% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino66.4% · district 60.1% · CA 56.1%
White2.5% · district 24.2% · CA 19.9%
Black23.5% · district 7.0% · CA 4.8%
Other7.6% · district 7.6% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch87.4% · CA 64%
Nearby schools
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Everything California reports about this school, shown without a rank — grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, climate, and the nearest schools.

01Score factors (not combined)the dimensions a Scope Score would weigh, shown against California · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate73.3%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard4.4%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded20.6%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism43.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate19.8%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
vs CA 92.5%
Exceeded standard
vs CA 19.8%
College readiness
vs CA 43.0%
Met or exceeded
vs CA 43.2%
Chronic absenteeism
vs CA 23.1%
Suspension rate
vs CA 3.3%
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET+
Grade 11349%29%26%35%38%
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET+
Grade 11340%3%12%85%3%

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide380%11%84%5%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged2941.4%——
Hispanic/Latino2445.8%——
03Nearest high schoolsnearest by distance
SchoolDistEXCMET+Susp
Leadership Military Academy ←—4.4%20.6%19.8%
Valley View High2.1 mi14.5%38.5%0.1%
Canyon Springs High3.4 mi11.4%32.4%2.5%
Vista del Lago High1.7 mi11.8%33.9%1.3%
California average—19.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
73.3%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
9.1%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
56.7%
YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
20194.2%10.4%32.7%25.7%
20221.1%13.1%49.4%13.1%
20233.6%16.7%40.7%9.2%
20244.8%19.0%40.0%18.2%
20254.4%20.6%43.2%19.8%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID)
What we can't show
  • — No Scope Score, performance band, archetype, or state rank publishes for this school — enrollment here is assigned, not chosen, so a comparative rank would mean something different than it does for a neighborhood school. See the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
05UC admissions, universitywide2016–2023 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 05 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202374‹33.57——
201853‹33.69——
201610‹3‹33.25——

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2012; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

06UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Merced20167‹3‹3
Riverside20235‹3‹3
Riverside20169‹3‹3
San Diego20165‹3‹3
Universitywide202374‹3
Universitywide201853‹3
Universitywide201610‹3‹3

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

07Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 07 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections12
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)262

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

08College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 08 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California26.7%
California State University13.3%
California community college1033.3%
In-state private310.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year13.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1343.3%

30 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 57% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2023 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction