ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Julian High

Julian, CA · Grades 9-12 · 112 students · Julian Union High

Four in five leave college-ready. But suspensions run 3× the state rate.

47% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 22% in math. 90.9% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

DistrictJulian Union High
PrincipalChristopher Greene
Grades9-12
Enrollment112 students

Math

22%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

47%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

112

Total enrollment

Graduation

90.9%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 25%2022: 21%2023: 25%2024: 26%2025: 22%2019: 65%2022: 53%2023: 58%2024: 65%2025: 47%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 25%2022: 21%2023: 25%2024: 26%2025: 22%2019: 65%2022: 53%2023: 58%2024: 65%2025: 47%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201925%65%
202221%53%
202325%58%
202426%65%
202522%47%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Slipped from the 66th to the 44th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “35% proficient” and call it done. Julian deserves a closer read. More than half of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

The headline number: 81.8% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

36 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Julian High scores 51 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 44th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

This school hasn't fully recovered from the pandemic: 35% meet the standard today, versus 45% in 2019 — a gap worth asking about on a visit.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 66th percentile · Scope Score 60 of 1002022 · 68th percentile · Scope Score 58 of 1002023 · 57th percentile · Scope Score 55 of 1002024 · 73rd percentile · Scope Score 61 of 1002025 · 44th percentile · Scope Score 51 of 100
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1165%53%58%65%47%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1125%21%25%26%22%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in three of students here meet the standard. 6% clear it by a lot.

ELA47% met or exceeded
Exceeded 8%Met 39%Nearly Met 22%Not Met 31%
Math22% met or exceeded
Exceeded 3%Met 19%Nearly Met 39%Not Met 39%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school516%35%90.9%81.8%32.2%8.8%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5154
% Exceeded6%20%
% Met+35%43%
Grad rate90.9%92.5%
College readiness81.8%43.0%
Absence32.2%23.1%
Suspension8.8%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

At Julian High in Julian, 34.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 34.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Julian High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 0.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (21.7% Math proficient); White students (55.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 12.4 percentage points for low-income students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 23 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 35% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 35%, district —, state 43%35%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 28%, district 28%, state 32%28% · −6 vs school
MaleMale: this school 36%, district 36%, state 42%36% · +2 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 40%, district 40%, state 56%40% · +5 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 32%, district 32%, state 44%32% · −3 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 33%, district 33%, state 32%33% · −1 vs school

7 of 13 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

AP access · 2020-21 federal civil rights snapshot (structural, dated — newest published; biennial)
Shown, never scored

In the 2020-21 federal collection — the newest there is — Students with disabilities students were 23% of Julian's enrollment but 5% of its AP seats; ask the school what's changed since.

Hispanic36.4% AP · 35.8% enroll.
American Indian/Alaska Native9.1% AP · 5.7% enroll.
Asian4.5% AP · 0.9% enroll.
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
Black0.0% AP · 0.0% enroll.
White50.0% AP · 51.9% enroll.
Two or more races0.0% AP · 5.7% enroll.
English learners0.0% AP · 2.8% enroll.
Students with disabilities4.5% AP · 22.6% enroll.

● share of AP enrollment vs share of total enrollment, this school only · not part of the Scope Score

Data source: U.S. Dept. of Education Office for Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection, 2020-21 (biennial; newest published)

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

44%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 7 of 16 completers · includes community colleges

16Completers
31%
Other colleges5 completers · Outside the California community college system
13%
California community colleges2 completers · Enrolled within a year
56%
Not recorded enrolled9 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
44%enrolled in college within a year
  • University of California3 (19%)
  • California community college2 (13%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year2 (13%)
  • Not enrolled9 (56%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 19 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Julian's teachers are authorized to teach 4 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — including English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, and United States History.

Students per teacher19 · district 19
Teaching staff7 teachers
Avg. experience6.7 years
Fully credentialed64%
Intern / emergency permit13.0%
PrincipalChristopher Greene
Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers9 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught4
ShowHide the 4 AP courses by discipline
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (2)United States History · World History: Modern

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

32.2% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 32.2%, district 32.2%, state 23.1%32.2% · +9.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 8.8%, district —, state 3.3%8.8% · +5.5pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1232.5%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $46,322 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$1,554 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $46,322, CA average $14,491$46,322 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,554 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$37,211 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 49%Instruction support 10%Student services 7%Administration 15%Buildings & maintenance 17%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$30,613 per pupil
2019$26,935 per pupil
2018$27,981 per pupil
2017$21,748 per pupil
2016$17,473 per pupil
The neighborhood · ACS 2024

More than half of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 112 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 21% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino44.6% · district 44.6% · CA 56.1%
White41.1% · district 41.1% · CA 19.9%
Asian0.9% · district 0.9% · CA 10.2%
Black3.6% · district 3.6% · CA 4.8%
Other9.8% · district 9.8% · CA 9.0%
Free or reduced lunch54.5% · CA 64%
Median income$74K · CA $85K
Median home value$591K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+34% · CA 35%
ZIP population3,218
Median age54 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Julian HighPublicDeveloping6%35%School being viewed
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Julian Union High.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what typically leads to a suspension, and what happens before it gets there.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Julian High a good high school?
Julian High has a Scope Score of 51 out of 100, placing it in the 44th percentile of California high schools and ranked #920 statewide. 5.6% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 14.3 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Julian High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 34.7% of students at Julian High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 5.6% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 29.2% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 5.6% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 72 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Julian High rank in California?
Julian High ranks #920 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 44th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Julian High?
32.2% of students at Julian High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 8.8%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Julian High compare to other schools in Julian?
Julian High scores 51/100 (44th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 112 students. Use the schools in Julian page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Julian High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Julian High in Julian, 34.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 34.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Julian High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 0.0 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (21.7% Math proficient); White students (55.0% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 12.4 percentage points for low-income students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 23 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Julian High?
Julian High's teachers are authorized to teach 4 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, United States History, World History: Modern. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

College readiness carries this score. The test levels sit just under the state's.

81.8% of students leave measurably college-ready, versus 43.0% statewide.

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate90.9%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard5.6%19.8%22%
College readiness81.8%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded34.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism32.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate8.8%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Julian High: reading the evidence

Julian has real strengths and one number that complicates them. Most rating sites show you one or the other. Both belong on the same page.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Julian High is ranked #920 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate90.9%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard5.6%19.8%22%
College readiness81.8%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded34.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism32.2%23.1%5%
Suspension rate8.8%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 39 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 77 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.9pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 27 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 4.3pp higher vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11368%39%22%31%47%−1
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11363%19%39%39%22%−2

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide380%21%74%5%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged2334.8%+0−3
White2055.0%+0−7
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Julian High ←—515.6%34.7%8.8%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
90.9%
AP Exam Prepared
81.8%
A-G Completion
45.0%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
43.8%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20196066#51920.0%45.0%20.7%9.0%
20225868#51021.1%36.8%34.8%7.8%
20235557#70010.4%41.7%29.5%12.1%
20246173#44521.7%45.7%34.2%4.5%
20255144#9205.6%34.7%32.2%8.8%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female17.6%30.9%+13.3pp
Male15.5%33.8%+18.3pp
Hispanic/Latino14.3%29.8%+15.5pp
White13.1%41.7%+28.6pp
Students with Disabilities20.8%29.2%+8.4pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged24.6%34.2%+9.6pp
All Students16.5%32.5%+16.0pp
English Learners—25.0%—
06AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 06 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

07Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 07 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count3
AP enrollment22
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 7 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections2
Total enrollment (CRDC)106

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

08College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 08 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California318.8%
California State University00.0%
California community college212.5%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year212.5%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled956.3%

16 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 44% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/julian-high-3219"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Julian High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Julian High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.