ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Public high school

Alternative Education-San Joaquin High

Irvine, CA · Grades K-12 · 88 students · Irvine Unified

Most kids here clear the bar, year after year. The question is what happens after that.

64% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 36% in math. 86.4% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Culture First

What this means for your family

Ask whether the low absenteeism and suspension numbers come from what the school does or from the community it serves — both can produce the same numbers, and only a visit tells you which.

How archetypes are assigned →

Contact

PrincipalRebecca Roberts
GradesK-12
Enrollment88 students

Math

36%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

64%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

88

Total enrollment

Graduation

86.4%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2022: 64%2023: 50%2024: 36%2025: 36%2022: 65%2023: 79%2024: 84%2025: 64%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2022: 64%2023: 50%2024: 36%2025: 36%2022: 65%2023: 79%2024: 84%2025: 64%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
2019——
202264%65%
202350%79%
202436%84%
202536%64%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2022 to 2025

Slipped from the 83rd to the 65th percentile since 2022.

Most rating sites would stop at “50% proficient” and call it done. Alternative Education-San Joaquin deserves a closer read. One in three of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

The headline number: 11.9% chronic absenteeism — versus 23.1% statewide. Attendance is the quietest strong signal a school can post.

49 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Alternative Education-San Joaquin High scores 58 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 65th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2022 · 83rd percentile · Scope Score 66 of 1002023 · 86th percentile · Scope Score 69 of 1002024 · 72nd percentile · Scope Score 60 of 1002025 · 65th percentile · Scope Score 58 of 100
ELAYellow(Declined Significantly)MathYellow(Declined Significantly)
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 7—75%88%—65%
Grade 873%77%77%82%—
Grade 11—65%79%84%64%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 7—64%64%—53%
Grade 882%63%55%45%—
Grade 11—64%50%36%36%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

More than half of students here meet the standard. One in five clear it by a lot.

ELA63% met or exceeded
Exceeded 33%Met 31%Nearly Met 22%Not Met 14%
Math43% met or exceeded
Exceeded 16%Met 27%Nearly Met 20%Not Met 37%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2022–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school5824%50%86.4%56.3%11.9%1.4%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope5854
% Exceeded24%20%
% Met+50%43%
Grad rate86.4%92.5%
College readiness56.3%43.0%
Absence11.9%23.1%
Suspension1.4%3.3%
California’s growth results and student groups
State growth model · CDE growth model 2024–25

California's own growth model splits here — the 26th percentile in reading against the 2nd in math, among high schools.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

California runs its own growth model — it follows individual children in grades 4 through 8 and compares each one against a prediction from their own prior scores. On that measure this school sits well below the middle of California high schools in reading, and the 2nd in math. We show it; we don't score it.

— pts vs expected is scale-score points above or below what California's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores. It is not a percentage and not a percent of anything. A typical California high school lands at −3 in reading, and the middle half of them fall between −13 and +5 — the spread is wide, so read the rank, not the sign. CDE blends two consecutive years into each published figure, so adjacent years share input data and no year-over-year trend can honestly be drawn from them. It covers grades 4-8 only, and it is not part of the Scope Score — we assessed it and left it out: it tracks school demographics roughly three times as strongly as our own growth measure does, and one published year is not enough to test how stable it is.

California's growth model, ranked against the schools it scores
State model · readingmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, reading: −6 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 26th percentile of 7,519 reported schools.26th pctile · −6 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, math: −27 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 2nd percentile of 7,518 reported schools.2nd pctile · −27 pts
this school| the tick is the middle of the California field

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 54% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 54%, district —, state 43%54%
FemaleFemale: this school 62%, district 73%, state 44%62% · +8 vs school
MaleMale: this school 38%, district 72%, state 42%38% · −16 vs school
WhiteWhite: this school 58%, district 66%, state 56%58% · +4 vs school

9 of 13 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

85%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 39 of 46 completers · includes community colleges

46Completers
33%
Other colleges15 completers · Outside the California community college system
52%
California community colleges24 completers · Enrolled within a year
15%
Not recorded enrolled7 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

85%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Alternative Education-San Joaquin's class of 2023, 85% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 46 completers, 85% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 8 (17%)California State University 2 (4%)California community college 24 (52%)In-state private 0 (0%)Out-of-state, 4-year 5 (11%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 7 (15%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history

In fall 2024, 7 Alternative Education-San Joaquin graduates enrolled in the University of California system — San Diego the most common landing, with 3 enrollees.

Applied14fall 2024, universitywide
Admitted12
Enrolled7
ShowHide the UC campus list
Where they landed (fall 2024)

6 of 7 campuses are masked below UC's privacy floor — a protection, not a verdict.

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 85% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (24) than at UC (8).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2024 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 9 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Alternative Education-San Joaquin's teachers are authorized to teach 19 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers — above the 14-subject median among California schools that offer AP at all — including Calculus BC, Calculus AB, and Physics C: Mechanics.

Students per teacher9 · district 28
Teaching staff21 teachers
Avg. experience14.3 years
Fully credentialed82%
First-year teachers5%
PrincipalRebecca Roberts
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$59,726 – $137,884
Principal salary$174,996 – $204,036
Superintendent salary$421,400

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
AP exam qualifiers9 studentsCCI, participation not authorization
Advanced coursework
AP subjects taught19
ShowHide the 19 AP courses by discipline
Math & Computer Science (5)Calculus AB · Calculus BC · Computer Science Principles · Precalculus · Statistics
Sciences (4)Biology · Physics 1 · Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism · Physics C: Mechanics
English (2)English Language and Composition · English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science (4)Macroeconomics · Psychology · U.S. Government and Politics · United States History
World Languages & Cultures (3)Chinese Language and Culture · French Language and Culture · Spanish Language and Culture
Arts (1)Art History

Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, 2025 - 2026 audit year (authorization, not enrollment) · IB World Schools directory, name-matched · structural depth: 2020-21 federal snapshot, table 09

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 11.9%, district 9.8%, state 23.1%11.9% · −11.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.4%, district —, state 3.3%1.4% · −1.9pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 7–80.0%
Grades 9–120.0%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $31,963 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $31,963, CA average $14,491$31,963 · spent at this school
District current expense · FY 2024–25$16,178 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 60%Instruction support 13%Student services 12%Administration 3%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$13,060 per pupil
2019$14,414 per pupil
2018$11,451 per pupil
2017$10,962 per pupil
2016$10,874 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

One in three of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 88 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 40% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino15.9% · district 12.0% · CA 56.1%
White37.5% · district 22.7% · CA 19.9%
Asian30.7% · district 51.2% · CA 10.2%
Black5.7% · district 1.8% · CA 4.8%
Other10.2% · district 12.3% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 48.9% · Male 50.0% · Non-binary 1.1%
Free or reduced lunch36.4% · CA 64%
Median income$136K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.14M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+66% · CA 35%
ZIP population23,990
Median age34 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Alternative Education-San Joaquin HighPublicSolid24%50%School being viewed
Arnold O. Beckman HighPublicStrong49%72%3.0 mi
Woodbridge HighPublicStrong42%69%0.9 mi
Portola HighPublicStrong41%69%1.3 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Irvine →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

20 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check your address with the district

School location and nearby schools do not establish attendance eligibility. Confirm boundaries and permit requirements with Irvine Unified.

District information →School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask how the school challenges kids who clear the standard early. The gap between meeting and exceeding is where pacing shows.

  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Alternative Education-San Joaquin High a good high school?
Alternative Education-San Joaquin High has a Scope Score of 58 out of 100, placing it in the 65th percentile of California high schools and ranked #575 statewide. 24.0% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 4.2 percentage points above the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Alternative Education-San Joaquin High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 50.0% of students at Alternative Education-San Joaquin High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 24.0% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 26.0% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 24.0% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 50 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Alternative Education-San Joaquin High rank in California?
Alternative Education-San Joaquin High ranks #575 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 65th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Alternative Education-San Joaquin High?
11.9% of students at Alternative Education-San Joaquin High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), which is better than the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.4%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Alternative Education-San Joaquin High compare to other schools in Irvine?
Alternative Education-San Joaquin High scores 58/100 (65th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 88 students. Use the schools in Irvine page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
What AP courses are offered at Alternative Education-San Joaquin High?
Alternative Education-San Joaquin High's teachers are authorized to teach 19 of the 40 AP subjects the College Board offers, per the 2025 - 2026 AP Course Audit: Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chinese Language and Culture, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, French Language and Culture, Macroeconomics, Physics 1, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Physics C: Mechanics, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History. Authorization means the school may teach a course, not that a section is running this year, and it's separate from AP exam pass rates. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Alternative Education-San Joaquin High go to UC?
In fall 2024, 7 Alternative Education-San Joaquin High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2024 admissions cycle.

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate86.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard24.0%19.8%22%
College readiness56.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded50.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism11.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.4%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Alternative Education-San Joaquin High: reading the evidence

Alternative Education-San Joaquin posts 50% meeting the standard, and 24.0% going well past it. Most kids here keep up. Fewer get pushed further. Ask the school what it does for a child who already finds the work easy.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Ask whether the low absenteeism and suspension numbers come from what the school does or from the community it serves — both can produce the same numbers, and only a visit tells you which.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Alternative Education-San Joaquin High is ranked #575 statewide · #6 of 6 in Irvine Unified.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate86.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard24.0%19.8%22%
College readiness56.3%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded50.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism11.9%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.4%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 19.8% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↑ vs CA 43.0% · index 63 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.2% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 23.1% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.5pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.2pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 71741%24%12%24%65%+17
Grade 87——————
Grade 112532%32%32%4%64%+15
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 71718%35%24%24%53%+19
Grade 87——————
Grade 112516%20%16%48%36%+12

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide4214%26%57%2%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Alternative Education-San Joaquin High ←—5824.0%50.0%1.4%
Arnold O. Beckman High3 mi8149.1%72.0%1.8%
Woodbridge High0.9 mi7841.9%69.1%0.4%
Portola High1.3 mi7841.1%69.0%1.0%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
86.4%
AP Exam Prepared
56.3%
A-G Completion
73.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
84.8%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20226683#26733.5%64.3%8.2%0.5%
20236986#22942.6%64.7%11.4%1.4%
20246072#46124.0%60.0%12.4%1.6%
20255865#57524.0%50.0%11.9%1.4%
What we can't show
  • — No subgroup comparison could be shown for this school this year — either its group sizes fall under CDE's 15-student reporting floor, or district/state comparison data wasn't available for its groups.
  • — Scored here as a high school — other grade spans appear in the data appendix.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female12.5%0.0%-12.5pp
Male0.0%0.0%+0.0pp
Asian8.3%0.0%-8.3pp
White11.8%0.0%-11.8pp
All Students8.6%0.0%-8.6pp
Hispanic/Latino—0.0%—
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged—0.0%—
06UC admissions, universitywide2021–2024 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
2024141274.114.104.08
2023211693.884.064.11
2022181393.783.833.90
2021161033.913.97—

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2013; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20249‹3‹3
Berkeley2023143‹3
Berkeley20221543
Berkeley202112‹3‹3
Davis202485‹3
Davis2023108‹3
Davis2022146‹3
Davis2021114‹3
Irvine2024145‹3
Irvine202320105
Irvine2022174‹3
Irvine2021163‹3
Los Angeles202411‹3‹3
Los Angeles202318‹3‹3
Los Angeles202216‹3‹3
Los Angeles202113‹3‹3
Merced202355‹3
Merced202277‹3
Merced202154‹3
Riverside202487‹3
Riverside20231411‹3
Riverside20221410‹3
Riverside2021106‹3
San Diego20241173
San Diego2023167‹3
San Diego202216‹3‹3
San Diego202113‹3‹3
Santa Barbara202465‹3
Santa Barbara20231412‹3
Santa Barbara2022164‹3
Santa Barbara2021114‹3
Santa Cruz2023107‹3
Santa Cruz2022103‹3
Santa Cruz202195‹3
Universitywide202414127
Universitywide202321169
Universitywide202218139
Universitywide202116103

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08AP course catalog2025 - 2026
ShowHide table 08 — AP course catalog
SubjectTaught by
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chinese Language and Culturethis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
French Language and Culturethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Physics 1this school
Physics C: Electricity and Magnetismthis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 09 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count25
AP enrollment831
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 17 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8offered
Calculus sections4
Physics sections17
Chemistry sections24
Total enrollment (CRDC)not reported

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 10 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California817.4%
California State University24.3%
California community college2452.2%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year510.9%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled715.2%

46 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 85% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2024 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

11California growth model, by student group2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
ShowHide table 11 — California growth model, by student group
GroupReadingnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−613Moderate−2713Minimal

Whole scale-score points above or below what CDE's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores — not a percentage, not a percentile. Statewide a typical school lands near +1 with a spread of about 13 points either side, so read a figure against its group's own typical value, not against zero. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a growth score — published by CDE, held back from the narrative sections above because at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own. Most figures blend two consecutive years, so adjacent published years share input data and no trend line can honestly be drawn across them. A group absent from this table had fewer than 11 students with a growth score and was never published. Grades 4-8 only. None of this enters the Scope Score — it is more strongly correlated with school demographics than our own growth measure, and one published year is not enough to test its reliability.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/alternative-education-san-joaquin-high-0467"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Alternative Education-San Joaquin High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Alternative Education-San Joaquin High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.