ACCESS Juvenile HallPublicCosta Mesa, CAGrades K-12186 students
ACCESS Juvenile Hall: A juvenile court school. No Scope Score publishes here.
A Scope Score ranks schools a family can choose between. At ACCESS Juvenile Hall, students are enrolled by court order, most for weeks or months — so a comparative rank would measure something a family's choice never entered. We show what California reports and hold the rank.
juvenile court school
no score · no band · no rank — enrollment assigned, not chosen
186 students · enrolled by court order
Every figure below is California's own, reported for this school and shown without a rank. Why we withhold a score →
ACCESS Juvenile Hall is a juvenile court school in Costa Mesa, California. SchoolScope publishes no Scope Score, performance band, archetype or ranking for schools where enrollment is assigned rather than chosen, so its CDE CAASPP 2025 results appear here unranked.
72 students were tested here on last year's CAASPP. 3.2% met or exceeded the standard; 0.8% exceeded it.
Chronic absenteeism ran 14.9%; the suspension rate was 1.3%. California reports both the same way it does for every school — this page just doesn't rank them here.
Families don't choose a court or community school off this page — a student arrives through the court, a probation department, or a district referral. For a specific student, the county office of education or the district's alternative-education office is the right first call.
- Ask how credits earned here transfer back to a student's home school.
- Ask what continuity of services looks like when a student moves between this program and a comprehensive campus.
- Ask what happens to a student's education plan after they leave.
This school against the California average
| % Exceeded | % Met+ | Grad rate | College readiness | Absence | Suspension | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This school | 1% | 3% | 35.1% | 0.0% | 14.9% | 1.3% |
| CA average · High School (for reference) | 20% | 43% | 92.5% | 43.0% | 23.1% | 3.3% |
Low-income students here meet the ELA standard behind the same group statewide.
Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 32 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
10 of 16 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.
ShowHide California's growth model by student group
No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.
Kids here show up more, and get suspended less, than the state average.
Grades 7–8 students miss school at roughly three times the rate of Grades 9–12 students (27.6% vs 9.1%). Chronic absence here concentrates in the upper grades.
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Where graduates go
Context — never part of the Scope Score
Context — never part of the Scope Score
- California community college23 (30%)
- In-state private1 (1%)
- Not enrolled53 (69%)
CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic
See the full roll →About 7 students for every teacher here.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
ShowHide what the district pays
Pay is set by the district, not the school.
It spends $82,866 per student, more than the California average.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
$3,832 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.
District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.
ShowHide the district's spending year by year
Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →
Nearly all of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.
Context — never part of the Scope Score
At 186 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).
On the state's science test (CAST), 0% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.
Contact
Nearby schools
Nearby public schools across grade levels.
Every number on this page
Everything California reports about this school, shown without a rank — grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, climate, and the nearest schools.
| Factor | School | State | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduation rate | 35.1% | 92.5% | 25% |
| Exceeded standard | 0.8% | 19.8% | 22% |
| College readiness | 0.0% | 43.0% | 20% |
| Met or exceeded | 3.2% | 43.2% | 18% |
| Chronic absenteeism | 14.9% | 23.1% | 5% |
| Suspension rate | 1.3% | 3.3% | 5% |
| EL proficiency (ELPAC) | 9.5% | 18.0% | 5% |
- Graduation rate
- vs CA 92.5%
- Exceeded standard
- vs CA 19.8%
- College readiness
- vs CA 43.0%
- Met or exceeded
- vs CA 43.2%
- Chronic absenteeism
- vs CA 23.1%
- Suspension rate
- vs CA 3.3%
- EL proficiency (ELPAC)
- vs CA 18.0%
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
| ELA | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 3 | 0 | — | — | — | — | — |
| Grade 6 | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Grade 7 | 4 | — | — | — | — | — |
| Grade 8 | 4 | — | — | — | — | — |
| Grade 11 | 63 | 2% | 3% | 19% | 76% | 5% |
| Math | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT | MET+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 3 | 0 | — | — | — | — | — |
| Grade 6 | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Grade 7 | 4 | — | — | — | — | — |
| Grade 8 | 4 | — | — | — | — | — |
| Grade 11 | 64 | 0% | 2% | 5% | 94% | 2% |
We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.
| Science (CAST) | Tested | EXC | MET | NEAR | NOT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schoolwide | 25 | 0% | 0% | 60% | 40% |
CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.
| Subgroup · ELA | Tested | MET+ | vs district | vs CA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged | 49 | 6.3% | — | — |
| Hispanic/Latino | 51 | 4.0% | — | — |
| English Learners | 33 | 0.0% | — | — |
| School | Dist | EXC | MET+ | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACCESS Juvenile Hall ← | — | 0.8% | 3.2% | 1.3% |
| Corona del Mar High | 2.6 mi | 32.9% | 64.4% | 2.2% |
| Segerstrom High | 2.1 mi | 19.9% | 46.6% | 3.5% |
| Costa Mesa High | 1.5 mi | 18.2% | 42.4% | 3.9% |
| California average | — | 19.8% | 43.2% | 3.3% |
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
| Year | Exc | Met+ | Absent | Susp |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 1.4% | 6.1% | 19.1% | 0.9% |
| 2022 | 0.0% | 7.4% | 19.5% | 1.5% |
| 2023 | 0.0% | 0.0% | 20.3% | 1.9% |
| 2024 | 0.0% | 3.3% | 14.5% | 2.4% |
| 2025 | 0.8% | 3.2% | 14.9% | 1.3% |
- — No Scope Score, performance band, archetype, or state rank publishes for this school — enrollment here is assigned, not chosen, so a comparative rank would mean something different than it does for a neighborhood school. See the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
| Group | 2019 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 19.6% | 26.4% |
| Male | 17.3% | 6.7% |
| Asian | 0.0% | — |
| Black/African American | 7.7% | 11.1% |
| Hispanic/Latino | 16.9% | 9.4% |
| Two or More Races | 28.6% | — |
| White | 23.7% | 25.7% |
| Students with Disabilities | 8.3% | 12.2% |
| English Learners | 18.3% | 7.5% |
| Foster Youth | 9.2% | 24.2% |
| Homeless | 16.7% | 7.7% |
| Socioeconomically Disadvantaged | 17.7% | 11.0% |
| All Students | 17.7% | 11.0% |
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
| Measure | This school |
|---|---|
| AP offered | not reported |
| AP course count | not reported |
| AP enrollment | not reported |
| IB participation | not reported |
| Dual enrollment | not offered |
| Algebra I in grade 8 | not reported |
| Calculus sections | 0 |
| Physics sections | 14 |
| Chemistry sections | 0 |
| Total enrollment (CRDC) | 179 |
Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
| Destination | Completers | % (derived) |
|---|---|---|
| University of California | 0 | 0.0% |
| California State University | 0 | 0.0% |
| California community college | 23 | 29.9% |
| In-state private | 1 | 1.3% |
| Out-of-state, 4-year | 0 | 0.0% |
| Out-of-state, 2-year | 0 | 0.0% |
| Not enrolled | 53 | 68.8% |
77 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 31% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.
EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18
SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction