Charter school · Antelope Valley Union High

Academies of the Antelope Valley

Quartz Hill · 6–12 · 677 students (2024–25)

29thpercentileDeveloping

The dots are California’s 2,177 scored public middle schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
27 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Below California in English, well below in math: 42% and 22% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 6–8: 513 in English, 512 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 6, 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,266,619 in English and 1,272,526 in math tested).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four middle schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How strong are the foundations for high school?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
11%
Met standard
31%
Below standard
58%

42% met or exceeded · 513 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded11%19%
Met31%30%
Nearly met31%23%
Not met27%28%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
8%
Met standard
14%
Below standard
78%

22% met or exceeded · 512 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded8%20%
Met14%16%
Nearly met31%23%
Not met47%41%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Read English and math separately, then look at progress and the courses students can take.

Ask: How do students get support, choose courses, and prepare for the move to high school?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In 2025, students in grades 6–8 scored below what the state expected from their own earlier scores. The state calls both results Moderate.grades 6–8 · 2025
−6 ptsEnglish · below expected−14 ptsMath · below expected

Ask: Students scored below what the state expected from their earlier scores. What is the school doing differently for them?

Source
CDE growth model, 2025
Students
students with scores in both years in grades 6–8: 471 in English, 470 in math
Comparison
471 students in English and 470 in math in grades 6–8 with scores in both years. Points are scale-score points against the state’s expected score for each student; the category is CDE’s, quoted as published. It describes results, not causes.
8% of students tested in math reached the top of the state’s four levels, against 20% across California in the same grades.grades 6–8 · spring 2025
8%Math · exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 6–8
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 6, 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,272,526 in math tested).

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school42%
California49%

Tested: 513 here · 1,266,619 in California.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded11%19%
Met31%30%
Nearly met31%23%
Not met27%28%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 6–8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school22%
California36%

Tested: 512 here · 1,272,526 in California.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded8%20%
Met14%16%
Nearly met31%23%
Not met47%41%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How are results changing through the middle years?

The state’s growth measure471 students in English, 470 in math · grades 6–8 · 2025
English−6ptsCDE category: Moderate
Math−14ptsCDE category: Moderate

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

Ask: Most students in grades 6–8 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

56% enrolled in college within 12 months · 34 high-school completers

  • University of California2 · 6%
  • California State University0 · 0%
  • California community college12 · 35%
  • In-state private2 · 6%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year1 · 3%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year2 · 6%
  • Not enrolled15 · 44%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

12 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
18in 100 at the average California middle school

91 of 762 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school12 in 100
at the average California middle school18 in 100
5.2%of students were suspended at least once (41 of 788), 2024–25
3.5%at the average California middle school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
Grades 4–61211 of 92
Grades 7–81360 of 449
Grades 9–12920 of 221

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 6–8 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

282 English · 281 math tested

English35% / 38%
Math16% / 24%

Hispanic or Latino

358 English · 357 math tested

English36% / 38%
Math19% / 24%

White

63 tested per subject · grades 7 and 8

English65% / 62%
Math33% / 49%

Black or African American

37 tested per subject · grades 7 and 8

English41% / 32%
Math8% / 18%

Students with disabilities

38 tested per subject · grades 7 and 8

English5% / 14%
Math5% / 9%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 6–8 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Antelope Valley Union Highvs California
Low-income · 282 tested in English, 281 in math
English35%035%−338%
Math16%016%−824%
Hispanic or Latino · 358 tested in English, 357 in math
English36%036%−238%
Math19%019%−524%
White · 63 tested · grades 7 and 8 only
English65%065%+362%
Math33%033%−1649%
Black or African American · 37 tested · grades 7 and 8 only
English41%041%+932%
Math8%08%−1018%
Students with disabilities · 38 tested · grades 7 and 8 only
English5%05%−914%
Math5%05%−49%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Antelope Valley Union High, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

Students of two or more races and English learners: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Asian, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income, Hispanic or Latino and White students did worse than the same groups statewide in math.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Academies of the Antelope Valley in Quartz Hill, 36.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 6, 7, 8 and 11, compared to 34.1% district-wide for those same grades and 40.5% statewide for those same grades. Academies of the Antelope Valley’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 2.3 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (14.6% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (37.1% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 37.2 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 316 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 68%2. White: 13%3. Black or African American: 11%4. Two or more races: 5%5. Filipino: 2%Unallocated share: 1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino68%
  2. White13%
  3. Black or African American11%
  4. Two or more races5%
  5. Filipino2%
  6. Asian—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino68%
White13%
Black or African American11%
Two or more races5%
Filipino2%
Asian—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About half students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (54%, 366 of 677). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers34
Average experience13 years
First-year teachers0%
78% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 77.63%: 27.9 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 36 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Getting in

Ask Academies of the Antelope Valley how it admits students.

Charter schools set their own enrollment steps and dates.

avdistrict.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
6300 West Avenue L, Quartz Hill 93536

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Before you apply

Confirm this school’s current process directly.

Eligibility and entry grades
Which grades are accepting applications, and who is eligible?
Application and lottery
What are the deadlines, enrollment priorities, and lottery or waitlist steps?
The daily logistics
What transportation and before- or after-school options are available?

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Students scored below what the state expected from their earlier scores. What is the school doing differently for them?
  2. Most students in grades 6–8 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
  3. Which math courses can students take, and how are placements decided?
  4. How do students get academic help and connect with a trusted adult?

Call (661) 943-3031 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby middle schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar middle schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 46.1–62.1% meal eligibility and 339–1,354 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Academies of the Antelope Valley a good middle school?
Academies of the Antelope Valley is in the 29th percentile (Developing) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. Its Scope Score is 27 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), Academies of the Antelope Valley was below California in English, well below in math: 42% and 22% met or exceeded the standard in grades 6–8, against 49% and 36% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for middle schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 6-to-8 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Academies of the Antelope Valley's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 42% of students tested in grades 6–8 met or exceeded the English standard and 22% the math standard; 11% and 8% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 49% and 36% met or exceeded, 19% and 20% exceeded. 513 students were tested in English and 512 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Academies of the Antelope Valley rank in California?
Academies of the Antelope Valley is in the 29th percentile of 2,177 California comprehensive middle schools (Developing, 2025). Academies of the Antelope Valley ranks #1,536 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Academies of the Antelope Valley?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 11.9% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 91 chronically absent of 762 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 5.2%; 41 unduplicated suspended students of 788 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 12.1%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 5.2%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Academies of the Antelope Valley compare to other schools in Quartz Hill?
Academies of the Antelope Valley is in the 29th percentile (Developing) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 677 students. Use the schools in Quartz Hill page or the map view to compare nearby middle schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Academies of the Antelope Valley?
At Academies of the Antelope Valley in Quartz Hill, 36.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 6, 7, 8 and 11, compared to 34.1% district-wide for those same grades and 40.5% statewide for those same grades. Academies of the Antelope Valley’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 2.3 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (14.6% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (37.1% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 37.2 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 316 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Academies of the Antelope Valley is ranked #1,536 statewide.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard7.8%17.2%42%
Met or exceeded29.9%40.0%23%
Chronic absenteeism12.1%18.1%5%
Suspension rate5.2%3.6%5%
Grade gap (G6→G8, different students)+14.1pp+1.5ppnot scored
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 17.2% · index 40 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 40.0% · index 42 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 18.1% · index 59 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▲ 0.6pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.6% · index 44 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▲ 1.6pp higher vs 2024
Grade gap (G6→G8, different students)
↑ vs CA +1.5pp

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 6882%27%34%36%30%−17
Grade 72129%33%32%26%42%−5
Grade 821315%31%29%24%46%+0
Grade 115616%36%32%16%52%+3

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 ELA equal-school mean: 46.1%; n=4084 reporting schools

State grade 7 ELA equal-school mean: 47.6%; n=2631 reporting schools

State grade 8 ELA equal-school mean: 46.2%; n=2658 reporting schools

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 6882%13%27%58%15%−20
Grade 72126%15%38%42%20%−13
Grade 821212%14%27%47%26%−6
Grade 11552%7%15%76%9%−15

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 Math equal-school mean: 34.5%; n=4086 reporting schools

State grade 7 Math equal-school mean: 33.7%; n=2630 reporting schools

State grade 8 Math equal-school mean: 32.1%; n=2658 reporting schools

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 6 · ELA5820.7%
2024 · Grade 7 · ELA20247.5%
2024 · Grade 8 · ELA23040.4%
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA4753.2%
2024 · Grade 6 · Math5810.3%
2024 · Grade 7 · Math20125.9%
2024 · Grade 8 · Math23022.2%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math466.5%
2023 · Grade 6 · ELA5937.3%
2023 · Grade 7 · ELA21845.4%
2023 · Grade 8 · ELA20939.2%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA3839.5%
2023 · Grade 6 · Math6015.0%
2023 · Grade 7 · Math21825.2%
2023 · Grade 8 · Math20919.1%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math3813.2%
2022 · Grade 6 · ELA54122.4%
2022 · Grade 7 · ELA54146.8%
2022 · Grade 8 · ELA54144.7%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA54159.6%
2022 · Grade 6 · Math5386.9%
2022 · Grade 7 · Math53818.0%
2022 · Grade 8 · Math53817.6%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math5388.5%
2019 · Grade 7 · ELA50647.2%
2019 · Grade 8 · ELA50649.4%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA50646.1%
2019 · Grade 7 · Math50427.1%
2019 · Grade 8 · Math50421.6%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math50412.0%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide25610%22%59%9%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged31636.4%+2−4
Hispanic/Latino39637.1%−2−4
White6365.1%+0+3
Nearest middle schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 6 vs grade 8, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Academies of the Antelope Valley ←—2729th percentile · Developing · statewide · 20257.8%29.9%+14.1pp—5.2%
Joe Walker Middle0.8 mi4366th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202522.6%49.5%−55.9pp—10.2%
Endeavour Middle2.1 mi121st percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20251.8%11.6%−0.6pp—10.6%
California average—39School average · no percentile17.2%40.0%+1.5pp—3.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$50,398 – $133,882
Average high school principal salary$181,958
Superintendent salary$336,653

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
202225/10032#1430California comprehensive middle schools · 2,113 schools
202328/10043#1193California comprehensive middle schools · 2,125 schools
202429/10034#1411California comprehensive middle schools · 2,152 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 11.2% → 2025 · 11.9% · +0.7pp
Suspension rate2024 · 3.5% → 2025 · 5.2% · +1.7pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA56911.3%42.9%
2025 · Math5677.0%20.5%
2024 · ELA53711.0%42.1%
2024 · Math5357.1%20.9%
2023 · ELA52412.2%41.6%
2023 · Math5259.5%20.8%
2022 · ELA54110.3%44.4%
2022 · Math5385.8%15.8%
2019 · ELA50614.0%48.2%
2019 · Math5048.5%23.6%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2022———7.3%26.1%23.2%6.1%+16.5pp
2023———8.9%30.2%16.3%5.3%+3.0pp
2024———7.7%27.8%11.5%3.5%+15.8pp
20252729#15367.8%29.9%12.1%5.2%+14.1pp

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 6 vs grade 8 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
What we can't show
  • — Scored here as a middle school — other grade spans appear in the data appendix.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female9.4%11.3%+1.9pp
Male10.8%12.7%+1.9pp
Black/African American14.7%15.7%+1.0pp
Filipino0.0%25.0%+25.0pp
Hispanic/Latino9.7%11.5%+1.8pp
Two or More Races7.9%13.2%+5.3pp
White7.5%8.2%+0.7pp
Students with Disabilities21.3%11.4%-9.9pp
English Learners12.1%9.8%-2.3pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged10.8%13.6%+2.8pp
All Students10.0%11.9%+1.9pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count13
AP enrollment29
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8offered · 148 enrolled
Calculus sections2
Physics sections2
Chemistry sections2
Total enrollment (CRDC)531

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California25.9%
California State University00.0%
California community college1235.3%
In-state private25.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year12.9%
Out-of-state, 2-year25.9%
Not enrolled1544.1%

34 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 56% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−6471Moderate−14470Moderate
English Only−4364not categorised−13364not categorised
Hispanic or Latino−11328Moderate−15327Moderate
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged−14270Moderate−15269Moderate
White+562Accelerated−1462Moderate
English Learner−1558Moderate−1757Moderate
Black or African American−144Average−1644Moderate
Students with Disabilities−2544Minimal−1044Moderate
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only−131not categorised−1430not categorised
English Learners Only−2627not categorised−1827not categorised
Long-Term English Learner (grades 6-8 only)−2125Minimal−1925Moderate
Two or More Races+521Accelerated−2121Minimal

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. Long-Term English Learner counts cover grades 6-8 only (CDE), so that row is not comparable to the All Students row. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures
California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

471 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: −6 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 25th percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.25th pctile · −6 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

470 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: −14 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 12th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.12th pctile · −14 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California middle school records, the median ELA estimate is −1 and the middle half fall between −8 and +6 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$13,452 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 21,991 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$408 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 677

Central federal expenditures attributed here$525 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 677

District current expense · FY 2024–25$19,987 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 59%Instruction support 12%Student services 12%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 11%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$13,452 per pupil
2020$13,747 per pupil
2019$13,693 per pupil
2018$13,553 per pupil
2017$12,151 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

11ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 93536
ShowHide table 11 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 93536
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$106,903
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)26.21%
ZCTA population73,412
Median age36.8 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/academies-of-the-antelope-valley-6003"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Academies of the Antelope Valley — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=2,177 middle schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction