Public school · Torrance Unified

Shery (Kurt T.) High (Continuation)

Torrance · 9–12 · 119 students (2024–25)

In 2024–25, 53% of the class graduated in four years (10 of 19); across California, 75%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 19
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 379 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 21,329 of 28,373).

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
0%
Met standard
8%
Below standard
92%

8% met or exceeded · 49 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTorrance Unified
Exceeded0%27%46%
Met8%30%32%
Nearly met45%20%14%
Not met47%23%8%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
0%
Met standard
0%
Below standard
100%

0% met or exceeded · 51 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTorrance Unified
Exceeded0%14%30%
Met0%16%25%
Nearly met6%21%22%
Not met94%49%23%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school8%
California57%

Tested: 49 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school8%
Torrance Unified78%

Tested: 49 here · 1,800 in Torrance Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 5 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTorrance Unified
Exceeded0%27%46%
Met8%30%32%
Nearly met45%20%14%
Not met47%23%8%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school0%
California30%

Tested: 51 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school0%
Torrance Unified55%

Tested: 51 here · 1,799 in Torrance Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 5 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTorrance Unified
Exceeded0%14%30%
Met0%16%25%
Nearly met6%21%22%
Not met94%49%23%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

53%

Across California: 75%

2024–25 · 10 of 19 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

0%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

0%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

11% enrolled in college within 12 months · 27 high-school completers

  • University of California0 · 0%
  • California State University0 · 0%
  • California community college3 · 11%
  • In-state private0 · 0%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year0 · 0%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year0 · 0%
  • Not enrolled24 · 89%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
0 qualifiers · share not calculable (0 Prepared students)

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 19 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations. CDE’s published percentage is 0%; the conditional share is undefined with zero Prepared students. Zero qualifiers does not establish whether AP is offered.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
0 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered. Zero qualifiers does not establish whether CTE is offered.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

68 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25

110 of 162 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school68 in 100
6.8%of students were suspended at least once (12 of 176), 2024–25

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

39 English · 40 math tested

English5% / 49%
Math0% / 21%

Hispanic or Latino

33 English · 34 math tested

English3% / 49%
Math0% / 19%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Torrance Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 39 tested in English, 40 in math
English5%−6671%−4449%
Math0%−4444%−2121%
Hispanic or Latino · 33 tested in English, 34 in math
English3%−6669%−4649%
Math0%−3838%−1919%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Torrance Unified, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

No published rate here for Asian, Black or African American, Filipino, White, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students, students of two or more races, English learners, students with disabilities and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income and Hispanic or Latino students did worse than the same groups statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Shery (Kurt T.) High (Continuation) in Torrance, 5.1% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 70.5% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Shery (Kurt T.) High (Continuation)’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 65.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (0.0% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (3.0% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 5.1 percentage points: Hispanic students in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 39 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 60%2. White: 12%3. Black or African American: 10%Unallocated share: 17%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino60%
  2. White12%
  3. Black or African American10%
  4. Asian—
  5. Filipino—
  6. Two or more races—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share17%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino60%
White12%
Black or African American10%
Asian—
Filipino—
Two or more races—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 3 in 4 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (73%, 87 of 119). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers12
Average experience22 years
First-year teachers0%
76% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 76.10%: 5.7 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 7.4 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryTorrance ElementaryNearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder
  2. MiddleJ. H. Hull MiddleNearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder
  3. High schoolShery (Kurt T.) High (Continuation)This campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Torrance Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    65th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

  • Howard Wood Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    73rd percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

  • Hickory Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    88th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

Middle-school links

  • J. H. Hull Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    60th percentile · Solid · middle · 2025

  • Madrona Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    87th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

  • Jefferson Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    92nd percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Torrance Unified how students are placed here.

shery.tusd.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
2600 Vine Street, Torrance 90501

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (310) 533-4440 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Common questions

Why does SchoolScope show no score for Shery (Kurt T.) High (Continuation)?

Shery (Kurt T.) High (Continuation) has no 2025 Scope Score or rank under SchoolScope's current high-school source rule. CDE's reported 2025 overall College/Career Indicator cohort for this school has 19 students; SchoolScope requires at least 30 for this score.

See the dated CDE results in the source record; a reported result does not by itself create a SchoolScope score.

Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology
CDE CAASPP test year 2025 · all-students reporting group · publisher grade–subject records.
Grade · subjectStudents tested with scoresMet or exceededExceededMetNearly metNot metMean scale score
Grade 11 · ELA · 202549 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 8.16%Exceeded 0%Met 8.16%Nearly met 44.9%Not met 46.94%Mean scale score 2481.5
All Grades · ELA · 202549 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 8.16%Exceeded 0%Met 8.16%Nearly met 44.9%Not met 46.94%Mean scale score unavailable
Grade 11 · Math · 202551 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 0%Exceeded 0%Met 0%Nearly met 5.88%Not met 94.12%Mean scale score 2428.6
All Grades · Math · 202551 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 0%Exceeded 0%Met 0%Nearly met 5.88%Not met 94.12%Mean scale score unavailable
By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11490%8%45%47%8%−40

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11510%0%6%94%0%−24

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA4613.0%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math496.1%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA5311.3%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math550.0%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA4926.5%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math520.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA608.3%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math621.6%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide530%6%83%11%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged395.1%−65−44
Hispanic/Latino333.0%−66−46
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Shery (Kurt T.) High (Continuation) ←——0.0%4.1%6.1%
Torrance High0.6 mi7791st percentile · Strong · statewide · 202535.7%65.6%2.0%
Humanities and Arts (HARTS) Academy of Los Angeles1.6 mi6370th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202524.6%49.2%0.7%
Nathaniel Narbonne Senior High1.6 mi5959th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202515.6%42.8%0.2%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$62,009 – $122,300
Average elementary principal salary$154,486
Average middle school principal salary$156,782
Average high school principal salary$196,119
Superintendent salary$335,280

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: not published. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 0.0% · numerator 0 students classified Prepared · denominator 19 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·CDE published percentage field 0.0% · AP-pathway numerator 0 · denominator 0 (CCI Prepared students).Share among Prepared students: not calculable (0 Prepared students). The published field is retained as reported. This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

SchoolScope withholds the high-school score and rank because the CDE CCI cohort has fewer than 30 students. A CDE-reported rate, including a true 0%, remains source evidence; it is not a zero score. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

English proficiency (ELPAC)
MeasureSchoolCalifornia reference
Level 415.0%21 English learners tested17.8%7,349 reporting public schools

2024–25 · English learners · All grades. California reference: equal-school average across reporting public schools in SchoolScope at all grade levels; not student weighted. The tested count is reported separately from the percentage. Source: CDE Summative ELPAC research files.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201910/1007#316California continuation high schools · 343 schools
202212/1009#302California continuation high schools · 335 schools
202311/1008#317California continuation high schools · 346 schools
202413/10011#294California continuation high schools · 332 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 68.6% → 2025 · 67.9% · −0.7pp
Suspension rate2024 · 5.3% → 2025 · 6.8% · +1.5pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA490.0%8.2%
2025 · Math510.0%0.0%
2024 · ELA462.2%13.0%
2024 · Math490.0%6.1%
2023 · ELA530.0%11.3%
2023 · Math550.0%0.0%
2022 · ELA492.0%26.5%
2022 · Math520.0%0.0%
2019 · ELA601.7%8.3%
2019 · Math620.0%1.6%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
52.6%
AP pathway among Prepared
Not calculable
2025 CDE CCI cohort · 0 Prepared students; published percentage and counts retained in the source record
A-G Completion
0.0%
This school may not offer A-G courses
College-Going Rate
11.1%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
20190.8%5.0%56.6%11.7%
20221.0%13.3%64.2%8.0%
20230.0%5.7%65.2%6.1%
20241.1%9.6%59.8%5.0%
20250.0%4.1%59.5%6.1%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
What we can't show
  • — No 2025 SchoolScope score, band or rank is published under this high-school source rule.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female71.7%64.3%-7.4pp
Male60.7%71.4%+10.7pp
Black/African American62.5%68.8%+6.3pp
Hispanic/Latino62.2%74.5%+12.3pp
Two or More Races66.7%——
White75.8%65.0%-10.8pp
Students with Disabilities69.2%73.7%+4.5pp
English Learners66.7%66.7%+0.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged72.0%64.4%-7.6pp
All Students64.1%67.9%+3.8pp
Homeless—73.3%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)124

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college311.1%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled2488.9%

27 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 11% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$11,441 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 22,490 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$920 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 119

District current expense · FY 2024–25$16,002 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 63%Instruction support 11%Student services 9%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$11,441 per pupil
2020$11,279 per pupil
2019$11,194 per pupil
2018$10,632 per pupil
2017$10,442 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

08ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 90501
ShowHide table 08 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 90501
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$92,923
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)40.17%
ZCTA population41,787
Median age38.7 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/shery-kurt-t-high-continuation-8083"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Shery (Kurt T.) High (Continuation) — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction