ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in
San Andreas Continuation High · HollisterPublic

San Andreas Continuation High: No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

San Andreas Continuation posts 7% meeting the standard and 0.0% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

191 Alvarado Street, 95023 (opens in new tab)·San Benito High·Hollister·Grades 9-12·74 students·88% low-income·2024–25 CAASPP·(831) 637-9269
Continuation high school — students are referred here, usually mid-year, when the standard timeline stops working. Scored, but ranked against California continuation schools rather than comprehensive ones.
Scope Score
27
Solid Not Compared
ranked #116 of California continuation high schools
37 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

San Andreas Continuation High scores 27 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 66th percentile of California continuation high schools, not of the comprehensive field (CDE CAASPP 2025).

Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How we score →

Not Compared — Read the underlying numbers directly, and ask the school how it serves the specific population it's built for — that's a different conversation than the archetype labels are meant for.

Most rating sites would stop at “7% proficient” and call it done. San Andreas Continuation deserves a closer read. Four in five of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

One honest note: San Andreas Continuation's rank and percentile are measured against California continuation high schools — not against the state's comprehensive campuses. The underlying numbers below are measured the same way at every school; only the comparison group changes.

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Where the class of 2023 went
31%enrolled in college within a year
  • California community college8 (25%)
  • In-state private1 (3%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 (3%)
  • Not enrolled22 (69%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
This schoolCA avg
Scope2754
% Exceeded0%20%
% Met+7%43%
Grad rate89.7%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence71.2%23.1%
Suspension5.4%3.3%

Where its students land

ELA
Exceeded 0%Met 14%Nearly Met 14%Not Met 73%
Math
Exceeded 0%Met 0%Nearly Met 3%Not Met 97%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded

The story this school is actually telling

Proficient by 11th grade
7%
State 43%
Graduate
90%
State 92%
Pass an AP exam
0%
State 43%

Of 100 students here: 7 are proficient by 11th grade → 90 graduate → 0 pass an AP exam. The gaps between those bars are the questions to ask.

The 7 things our score weighs

Graduation rate
89.7%
State 92.5%
2.8pp below state avg
Exceeded standard
0.0%
State 19.8%
19.8pp below state avg
College readiness
0.0%
State 43.0%
AP course or exam readiness below state avg
Met or exceeded
6.8%
State 43.2%
36.5pp below state avg
Chronic absenteeism
71.2%
State 23.1%
48.2pp above state avg
Suspension rate
5.4%
State 3.3%
2.1pp above state avg
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
9.1%
State 18.0%
8.9pp below state avg
Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.

How every group of students does here

At San Andreas Continuation High in Hollister, 9.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 45.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. San Andreas Continuation High trails its district average for low-income students by 36.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (9.7% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 3.8 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 31 students tested.

All students at this school: 7% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 7%, district —, state 43%7%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 5%, district 30%, state 32%5% · −2 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 5%, district 29%, state 32%5% · −2 vs school
MaleMale: this school 8%, district 31%, state 42%8% · +1 vs school
FemaleFemale: this school 4%, district 36%, state 44%4% · −3 vs school

6 of 11 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group

Showing up, and staying in class

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 71.2%, district 15.3%, state 23.1%71.2% · +48.2pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 5.4%, district —, state 3.3%5.4% · +2.1pp vs state
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1287.7%

The people teaching here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Student : teacherStudent to teacher ratio: this school 19:1, district 23:119:1
PrincipalGarret Quindimil
Teaching staff5 teachers
Avg. experience16.4 years
Fully credentialed39%
Salary Schedule
Teacher salary schedule$68,123 – $129,803
Principal salaryUp to $163,653
Superintendent salary$246,100

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course Breadth

What gets spent here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $16,345, CA average $14,491$16,345 · spent at this school
Federal share$1,557 per student

$1,557 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

District current expense · FY 2024–25$17,350 per student

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction49%
Instruction support11%
Student services12%
Administration13%
Buildings & maintenance13%
Other2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$11,642 per pupil
2019$12,209 per pupil
2018$12,664 per pupil
2017$11,220 per pupil
2016$10,963 per pupil

The neighborhood it serves

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Hispanic90.5%
District 78.0% · CA 56.1%
White6.8%
District 15.5% · CA 19.9%
Other2.7%
District 4.0% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 40.5%Male 58.1%Non-binary 1.4%
Low IncomeFree/reduced lunch eligible 87.8% (24pp above CA avg)
Neighborhood — American Community Survey
Median income$116K · CA $85K
Median home value$784K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+22% · CA 35%
ZIP population59,889
Median age36 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Worth Knowing

At 74 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 3% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Frequently asked questions

Is San Andreas Continuation High a good high school?

San Andreas Continuation High has a Scope Score of 27 out of 100, placing it in the 66th percentile of California continuation high schools and ranked #116 in that group. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. 0.0% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 19.8 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.

What are San Andreas Continuation High's CAASPP test scores?

On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 6.8% of students at San Andreas Continuation High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 0.0% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 6.8% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 0.0% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 72 student-subject combinations were assessed.

How does San Andreas Continuation High rank among California continuation high schools?

San Andreas Continuation High ranks #116 among California continuation high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 66th percentile. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.

What is the attendance and school culture like at San Andreas Continuation High?

71.2% of students at San Andreas Continuation High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 5.4%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.

How does San Andreas Continuation High compare to other schools in Hollister?

San Andreas Continuation High scores 27/100 (66th percentile) among California continuation high schools. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 74 students. Use the schools in Hollister page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.

How does San Andreas Continuation High serve low-income and underrepresented students?

At San Andreas Continuation High in Hollister, 9.7% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 45.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. San Andreas Continuation High trails its district average for low-income students by 36.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (0.0% Math proficient); Hispanic students (9.7% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 3.8 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 31 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.

Your other options

Private alternatives nearby

Private schools within ~10 miles. These schools do not participate in state testing and cannot be scored or ranked.


For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Graduation rate · 25%
89.7%
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 53 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard · 22%
0.0%
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 33 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness · 20%
0.0%
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded · 18%
6.8%
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 29 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism · 5%
71.2%
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 17 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
▲ 8.5pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate · 5%
5.4%
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 42 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
▼ 1.1pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC) · 5%
9.1%
↓ vs CA 18.0% · index 41 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11370%14%14%73%14%−35
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11350%0%3%97%0%−24

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, no valid result was published, or the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide590%3%76%20%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged319.7%−36−29
Hispanic/Latino319.7%−37−29
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
San Andreas Continuation High ←270.0%6.8%5.4%
Hollister High1.1 mi5613.8%34.7%2.9%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
Graduation Rate
89.7%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
0.0%
This school may not offer A-G courses
College-Going Rate
31.3%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20192349#1740.0%4.3%65.7%18.5%
20222562#1271.7%6.7%74.1%13.6%
20233184#555.0%15.0%78.2%6.1%
20242980#670.0%12.5%62.7%6.5%
20252766#1160.0%6.8%71.2%5.4%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — Low-income students here trail the state average for their group by 29 points in ELA — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
Group20192025Δ
Female80.9%92.9%+12.0pp
Male77.5%84.4%+6.9pp
Hispanic/Latino78.3%86.6%+8.3pp
White80.0%
Students with Disabilities83.3%92.9%+9.6pp
English Learners71.4%80.8%+9.4pp
Homeless70.0%
Military-Connected71.4%
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged79.1%89.2%+10.1pp
All Students78.5%87.7%+9.2pp
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)64

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college825.0%
In-state private13.1%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year13.1%
Not enrolled2268.8%

32 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 31% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/san-andreas-continuation-high-0029"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="San Andreas Continuation High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-07methodology · data updates · CSV · report issue

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction