ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in
Phoenix · CamarilloPublic

Phoenix: A special education center. No Scope Score publishes here.

A Scope Score ranks schools a family can choose between. At Phoenix, students are placed here by an IEP team, not by address and not by lottery — so a comparative rank would measure something a family's choice never entered. We show what California reports and hold the rank.

2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
This schoolCA avg
% Exceeded0%20%
% Met+0%43%
Grad rate46.2%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence46.5%23.1%
Suspension9.8%3.3%
What this school is
special education center
Not ranked
76 students · placed by an IEP team

Phoenix is a special education center in Camarillo, California. SchoolScope publishes no Scope Score, performance band, archetype or ranking for schools where enrollment is assigned rather than chosen, so its CDE CAASPP 2025 results appear here unranked.

Every figure below is California's own, reported for this school and shown without a rank. Why we withhold a score →

39 students were tested here on last year's CAASPP. 0.0% met or exceeded the standard; 0.0% exceeded it.

Chronic absenteeism ran 46.5%; the suspension rate was 9.8%. California reports both the same way it does for every school — this page just doesn't rank them here.

The story this school is actually telling

Proficient by 11th grade
0%
State 43%
Graduate
46%
State 92%
Pass an AP exam
0%
State 43%

Of 100 students here: 0 are proficient by 11th grade → 46 graduate → 0 pass an AP exam. The gaps between those bars are the questions to ask.

California's own answer to the same question

Context — never part of the Scope Score

California runs its own growth model — it follows individual children in grades 4 through 8 and compares each one against a prediction from their own prior scores. On that measure this school sits well below the middle of California high schools in reading and math together. We show it; we don't score it.

California's growth model, ranked against every California school
State model · readingmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, reading: −27 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 1st percentile of 7,519 reported schools.1st pctile · −27 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8California growth model, math: −18 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 8th percentile of 7,518 reported schools.8th pctile · −18 pts
this school| the tick is the middle of the California field

pts vs expected is scale-score points above or below what California's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores. It is not a percentage and not a percent of anything. A typical California high school lands at −3 in reading, and the middle half of them fall between −13 and +5 — the spread is wide, so read the rank, not the sign. CDE blends two consecutive years into each published figure, so adjacent years share input data and no year-over-year trend can honestly be drawn from them. It covers grades 4-8 only, and it is not part of the Scope Score — we assessed it and left it out: it tracks school demographics roughly three times as strongly as our own growth measure does, and one published year is not enough to test how stable it is.

Worth a conversation

If a placement here is part of a child's IEP, this page is background, not the decision — the IEP team meeting is where fit actually gets decided.

  • Ask how this placement was determined, and what the annual IEP review looks at.
  • Ask what related services — speech, occupational therapy, counseling — are provided on site.
  • Ask how and when a return to a less-restrictive setting gets reconsidered.

How every group of students does here

All students at this school: 0% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 0%, district —, state 43%0%
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 0%, district 4%, state 15%0% · +0 vs school

10 of 12 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group

Showing up, and staying in class

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 46.5%, district 8.8%, state 23.1%46.5% · +23.4pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 9.8%, district —, state 3.3%9.8% · +6.6pp vs state

Grades 9–12 students miss school at roughly twice the rate of Grades 4–6 students (80.0% vs 40.0%). Chronic absence here concentrates in the upper grades.

Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 4–640.0%
Grades 7–876.9%
Grades 9–1280.0%

Where the path goes

Phoenix serves grades 6-12 — students can complete middle and high school here, without a separate middle-to-high transition.

The people teaching here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Student : teacherStudent to teacher ratio: this school 7:1, district 19:17:1
PrincipalCindy Campero
Teaching staff12 teachers
Avg. experience11.3 years
Fully credentialed96%
Salary Schedule
Teacher salary schedule$61,578 – $114,273
Principal salary$149,362 – $149,362
Superintendent salary$315,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course Breadth

What gets spent here

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $76,223, CA average $14,491$76,223 · spent at this school
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction36%
Instruction support23%
Student services12%
Administration18%
Buildings & maintenance6%
Other5%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

district detail, 2016–2017 — the newest published
2017$46,311 per pupil
2016$42,074 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood it serves

Context — never part of the Scope Score
Hispanic68.4%
District 56.3% · CA 56.1%
White23.7%
District 33.6% · CA 19.9%
Black5.3%
District 1.0% · CA 4.8%
Asian1.3%
District 2.0% · CA 10.2%
Other1.3%
District 7.2% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 22.4%Male 75.0%Non-binary 2.6%
Low IncomeFree/reduced lunch eligible 63.2% (1pp below CA avg)
Neighborhood — American Community Survey
Median income$111K · CA $85K
Median home value$867K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+42% · CA 35%
ZIP population46,748
Median age40 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Worth Knowing

At 76 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 0% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Your other options

Private alternatives nearby

Private schools within ~10 miles. These schools do not participate in state testing and cannot be scored or ranked.


For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Everything California reports about this school, shown without a rank — grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, climate, and the nearest schools.

01Score factors (not combined)the dimensions a Scope Score would weigh, shown against California · 2024–25
Graduation rate · 25%
46.2%
↓ vs CA 92.5%
Exceeded standard · 22%
0.0%
↓ vs CA 19.8%
College readiness · 20%
0.0%
↓ vs CA 43.0%
Met or exceeded · 18%
0.0%
↓ vs CA 43.2%
Chronic absenteeism · 5%
46.5%
↓ vs CA 23.1%
▼ 2.3pp lower vs 2022
Suspension rate · 5%
9.8%
↓ vs CA 3.3%
▲ 3.9pp higher vs 2022
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 34
Grade 47
Grade 54
Grade 6
Grade 74
Grade 87
Grade 11110%0%18%82%0%−49
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 34
Grade 47
Grade 54
Grade 6
Grade 74
Grade 87
Grade 11110%0%0%100%0%−24

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, no valid result was published, or the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide190%0%32%68%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

03Nearest high schoolsnearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 3 vs grade 5, this year, different students; Cohort growth = one school's returning cohort tracked across grades (mostly, not exactly, the same kids), in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights
SchoolDistEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Phoenix ←0.0%0.0%9.8%
Architecture, Construction & Engineering Charter H0 mi5.7%21.8%4.8%
Frontier High0 mi0.3%3.4%10.4%
California average19.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
Graduation Rate
46.2%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
66.7%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
23.1%
YearExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
20190.0%4.2%37.2%13.7%
20220.0%0.0%50.6%16.4%
20230.0%4.2%48.3%20.3%
Grade gap = this year's grade 3 vs grade 5 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — No Scope Score, performance band, archetype, or state rank publishes for this school — enrollment here is assigned, not chosen, so a comparative rank would mean something different than it does for a neighborhood school. See the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — No subgroup comparison could be shown for this school this year — either its group sizes fall under CDE's 15-student reporting floor, or district/state comparison data wasn't available for its groups.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
Group20192025Δ
Female69.7%73.9%+4.2pp
Male43.5%63.4%+19.9pp
Hispanic/Latino48.4%73.4%+25.0pp
Students with Disabilities50.4%66.7%+16.3pp
English Learners37.5%
Foster Youth50.0%
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged53.6%75.0%+21.4pp
All Students50.8%66.7%+15.9pp
09Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)93

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

10College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college323.1%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1076.9%

13 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 23% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

11California growth model, by student group2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupReadingnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−2715Minimal−1815Moderate
Students with Disabilities−2715Minimal−1815Moderate
English Only−2511not categorised−2911not categorised

Whole scale-score points above or below what CDE's model predicted for these same children from their own prior-year scores — not a percentage, not a percentile. Statewide a typical school lands near +1 with a spread of about 13 points either side, so read a figure against its group's own typical value, not against zero. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a growth score — published by CDE, held back from the narrative sections above because at that size the figure swings about 17 points on its own. “Not categorised” is CDE assigning no band — English Only, Recently Reclassified, and English Learners Only receive a value and no band, for every school in the state. It is not a missing number. Most figures blend two consecutive years, so adjacent published years share input data and no trend line can honestly be drawn across them. A group absent from this table had fewer than 11 students with a growth score and was never published. Grades 4-8 only. None of this enters the Scope Score — it is more strongly correlated with school demographics than our own growth measure, and one published year is not enough to test its reliability.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-07-03methodology · data updates · CSV · report issue

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction