ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Charter high school

New Village Girls Academy

Los Angeles, CA · Grades 9-12 · 86 students · Los Angeles Unified

No single number tells this school's story. Here's the honest picture.

35% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 15% in math. 68.0% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

Math

15%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

35%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

86

Total enrollment

Graduation

68.0%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 0%2022: 4%2023: 8%2024: 0%2025: 15%2019: 32%2022: 48%2023: 50%2024: 10%2025: 35%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 0%2022: 4%2023: 8%2024: 0%2025: 15%2019: 32%2022: 48%2023: 50%2024: 10%2025: 35%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
20190%32%
20224%48%
20238%50%
20240%10%
202515%35%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

One in four of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA35% met or exceeded
Exceeded 25%Met 10%Nearly Met 25%Not Met 40%
Math15% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 15%Nearly Met 15%Not Met 70%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school2813%25%68.0%0.0%62.1%1.6%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope2854
% Exceeded13%20%
% Met+25%43%
Grad rate68.0%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence62.1%23.1%
Suspension1.6%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

At New Village Girls Academy in Los Angeles, 36.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. New Village Girls Academy trails its district average for low-income students by 4.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (10.5% Math proficient); Hispanic students (31.3% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 3.8 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 19 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 25% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 25%, district —, state 43%25%
FemaleFemale: this school 26%, district 42%, state 44%26% · +1 vs school
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 24%, district 36%, state 32%24% · −1 vs school
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 22%, district 36%, state 32%22% · −3 vs school

6 of 10 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

46%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 12 of 26 completers · includes community colleges

26Completers
27%
Other colleges7 completers · Outside the California community college system
19%
California community colleges5 completers · Enrolled within a year
54%
Not recorded enrolled14 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

46%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of New Village Girls Academy's class of 2023, 46% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 26 completers, 46% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 1 (4%)California State University 3 (12%)California community college 5 (19%)In-state private 1 (4%)Out-of-state, 4-year 2 (8%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 14 (54%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history
Applied7fall 2025, universitywide
Admitted4
Enrolled‹3
ShowHide the UC campus list
Where they landed (fall 2025)
Los Angeles ‹3Riverside ‹3

Campuses never sum to the universitywide figure — students apply to several.

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 46% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (5) than at UC (1).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 11 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher11 · district 20
Teaching staff8 teachers
Avg. experience7.5 years
Fully credentialed82%
Intern / emergency permit5.0%
PrincipalJennifer Quinones
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

62.1% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — a school visit will tell you more than this number.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 62.1%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%62.1% · +39.0pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.6%, district —, state 3.3%1.6% · −1.7pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2024–25

Its district spends $18,180 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $18,180, CA average $14,491$18,180 · district average
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
District averageCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

Nearly all of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 86 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 0% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino84.9% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White3.5% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Asian1.2% · district 3.4% · CA 10.2%
Black9.3% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other1.2% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 98.8% · Non-binary 1.2%
Free or reduced lunch96.5% · CA 64%
Median income$87K · CA $85K
Median home value$1.20M · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+49% · CA 35%
ZIP population62,692
Median age37 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
New Village Girls Academyalternative comparison groupCharterSolid13%25%School being viewed
Downtown Business HighPublicStrong44%72%1.5 mi
Alliance Ted K. Tajima HighCharterStrong26%59%1.1 mi
Alliance Dr. Olga Mohan HighCharterStrong27%62%2.4 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Los Angeles →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

20 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check enrollment with this charter school

Ask the school about applications, priorities and deadlines for your child’s grade.

School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Source: proximity. Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Charter enrollment details

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what the school is working on next. Strong numbers tell you where a school is, not where it's going.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is New Village Girls Academy a good high school?
New Village Girls Academy has a Scope Score of 28 out of 100, placing it in the 66th percentile of California alternative high schools and ranked #38 in that group. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares alternative schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. 12.5% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 7.3 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are New Village Girls Academy's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 25.0% of students at New Village Girls Academy met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 12.5% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 12.5% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 12.5% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 40 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does New Village Girls Academy rank among California alternative schools?
New Village Girls Academy ranks #38 among California alternative high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 66th percentile. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares alternative schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at New Village Girls Academy?
62.1% of students at New Village Girls Academy are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 1.6%, indicating a low-discipline-incident environment. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does New Village Girls Academy compare to other schools in Los Angeles?
New Village Girls Academy scores 28/100 (66th percentile) among California alternative high schools. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares alternative schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 86 students. Use the schools in Los Angeles page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does New Village Girls Academy serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At New Village Girls Academy in Los Angeles, 36.8% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 40.9% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. New Village Girls Academy trails its district average for low-income students by 4.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: Low-Income students (10.5% Math proficient); Hispanic students (31.3% ELA proficient). The largest proficiency gap is 3.8 percentage points for hispanic students. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 19 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
How many students from New Village Girls Academy go to UC?
UC masks this number for New Village Girls Academy — fewer than three enrollees in fall 2025 — a privacy protection for small cohorts, not a signal about the school. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center).

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate68.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard12.5%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded25.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism62.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.6%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

New Village Girls Academy: reading the evidence

New Village Girls Academy posts 25% meeting the standard and 12.5% exceeding it, against 43% and 19.8% statewide. The gaps and the bright spots below are the real read.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

New Village Girls Academy is ranked #38 of California alternative high schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate68.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard12.5%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded25.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism62.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.6%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 30 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 47 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 43 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 24 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.3pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.2pp lower vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 112025%10%25%40%35%−14
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11200%15%15%70%15%−9

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide170%0%82%18%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged1936.8%−4−1
Hispanic/Latino1631.3%−10−8
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
New Village Girls Academy ←2812.5%25.0%1.6%
Downtown Business High1.5 mi7543.7%71.9%0.3%
Alliance Ted K. Tajima High1.1 mi6926.4%59.1%1.8%
Alliance Dr. Olga Mohan High2.4 mi6726.6%61.9%2.1%
California average5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
68.0%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
100.0%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
46.2%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
20192675#285.3%15.8%20.5%2.4%
20222464#382.2%26.0%66.1%1.6%
20232771#317.2%28.9%58.9%2.5%
20242058#470.0%5.0%63.3%1.8%
20252866#3812.5%25.0%62.1%1.6%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California alternative high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
05UC admissions, universitywide2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 05 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
202574‹33.22
20206533.423.42
201983‹33.47
20178‹3‹33.53
20167‹3‹33.17
2015123‹33.50
20147‹3‹33.01

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2014; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

06UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20166‹3‹3
Irvine20197‹3‹3
Los Angeles20256‹3‹3
Los Angeles20175‹3‹3
Riverside202553‹3
Riverside20196‹3‹3
Riverside20177‹3‹3
Santa Barbara20175‹3‹3
Santa Barbara20165‹3‹3
Santa Cruz20175‹3‹3
Universitywide202574‹3
Universitywide2020653
Universitywide201983‹3
Universitywide20178‹3‹3
Universitywide20167‹3‹3

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

07Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 07 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 7 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections1
Total enrollment (CRDC)102

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

08College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 08 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California13.9%
California State University311.5%
California community college519.2%
In-state private13.9%
Out-of-state, 4-year27.7%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1453.8%

26 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 46% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/new-village-girls-academy-1484"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="New Village Girls Academy — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

New Village Girls Academy

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.