Public school · Los Nietos

Los Nietos Middle

Los Nietos · 6–8 · 262 students (2024–25)

73rdpercentileSolid

The dots are California’s 2,177 scored public middle schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
47 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Well above California in English, near it in math: 62% and 39% met or exceeded the standard in grades 7 and 8, against 49% and 35% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 7 and 8: 263
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 848,364 in English and 851,806 in math tested).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four middle schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How strong are the foundations for high school?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 7 and 8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
26%
Met standard
36%
Below standard
38%

62% met or exceeded · 263 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded26%18%
Met36%31%
Nearly met22%23%
Not met16%28%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 7 and 8Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
20%
Met standard
19%
Below standard
61%

39% met or exceeded · 263 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded20%20%
Met19%15%
Nearly met21%23%
Not met40%42%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Read English and math separately, then look at progress and the courses students can take.

Ask: How do students get support, choose courses, and prepare for the move to high school?

Closest to standing out

Open a finding for the evidence
26% of students tested in English reached the top of the state’s four levels, about one and a half times California’s rate in the same grades (18%).grades 7 and 8 · spring 2025
26%English · exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 7 and 8
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 7 and 8 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 848,364 in English tested).

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 7 and 8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school62%
California49%

Tested: 263 here · 848,364 in California.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded26%18%
Met36%31%
Nearly met22%23%
Not met16%28%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 7 and 8Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school39%
California35%

Tested: 263 here · 851,806 in California.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded20%20%
Met19%15%
Nearly met21%23%
Not met40%42%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How are results changing through the middle years?

The state’s growth measure246 students · grades 7–8 · 2025
English+20ptsCDE category: Exceptional
Math−1ptsCDE category: Average

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

Ask: Most students in grades 7 and 8 haven’t yet met the state’s standard in math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

15 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
18in 100 at the average California middle school

43 of 279 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school15 in 100
at the average California middle school18 in 100
3.1%of students were suspended at least once (9 of 286), 2024–25
3.5%at the average California middle school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 7 and 8 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

233 tested per subject

English61% / 38%
Math37% / 24%

Hispanic or Latino

253 tested per subject

English62% / 38%
Math38% / 23%

English learners

34 tested per subject

English18% / 6%
Math6% / 6%

Students with disabilities

46 tested per subject

English28% / 14%
Math13% / 9%

Homeless

45 tested per subject

English44% / 27%
Math24% / 15%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 7 and 8 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Los Nietosvs California
Low-income · 233 tested
English61%061%+2338%
Math37%037%+1324%
Hispanic or Latino · 253 tested
English62%062%+2438%
Math38%038%+1523%
English learners · 34 tested
English18%018%+126%
Math6%06%06%
Students with disabilities · 46 tested
English28%028%+1414%
Math13%013%+49%
Homeless · 45 tested
English44%044%+1727%
Math24%024%+915%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Los Nietos, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

No published rate here for Asian, Black or African American, Filipino, White, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander and military-family students, students of two or more races and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income and Hispanic or Latino students here did far better than the same groups statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Los Nietos Middle in Los Nietos, 61.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 7 and 8, compared to 61.4% district-wide for those same grades and 38.0% statewide for those same grades. Los Nietos Middle’s rate for low-income students matches its district average in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (37.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (61.7% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 44.5 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 233 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 95%Unallocated share: 5%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino95%
  2. White—
  3. Asian—
  4. Black or African American—
  5. Filipino—
  6. Two or more races—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share5%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino95%
White—
Asian—
Black or African American—
Filipino—
Two or more races—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 9 in 10 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (89%, 234 of 262). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers16
Average experience18 years
First-year teachers6%
85% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 85.45%: 15.5 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 18.1 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryRancho Santa Gertrudes ElementaryNearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder
  2. MiddleLos Nietos MiddleThis campus · grades 6-8
  3. High schoolLink not recordedAsk the district about this stage.
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Rancho Santa Gertrudes Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    49th percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

  • Aeolian Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    32nd percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

  • Ada S. Nelson Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    64th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Los Nietos which school serves your address.

losnietosms.losnietos.k12.ca.us

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
11425 East Rivera Road, Los Nietos 90606

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Most students in grades 7 and 8 haven’t yet met the state’s standard in math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
  2. Which math courses can students take, and how are placements decided?
  3. How do students get academic help and connect with a trusted adult?
  4. Which electives and high-school transition supports are available?

Call (562) 695-0637 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby middle schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar middle schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 81.3–97.3% meal eligibility and 131–524 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Los Nietos Middle a good middle school?
Los Nietos Middle is in the 73rd percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. Its Scope Score is 47 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), Los Nietos Middle was well above California in English, near it in math: 62% and 39% met or exceeded the standard in grades 7 and 8, against 49% and 35% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for middle schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 6-to-8 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Los Nietos Middle's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 62% of students tested in grades 7 and 8 met or exceeded the English standard and 39% the math standard; 26% and 20% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 49% and 35% met or exceeded, 18% and 20% exceeded. 263 students were tested in English and 263 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Los Nietos Middle rank in California?
Los Nietos Middle is in the 73rd percentile of 2,177 California comprehensive middle schools (Solid, 2025). Los Nietos Middle ranks #574 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Los Nietos Middle?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 15.4% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 43 chronically absent of 279 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 3.1%; 9 unduplicated suspended students of 286 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 15.6%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 3.1%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Los Nietos Middle compare to other schools in Los Nietos?
Los Nietos Middle is in the 73rd percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter middle schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 262 students. Use the schools in Los Nietos page or the map view to compare nearby middle schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Los Nietos Middle?
At Los Nietos Middle in Los Nietos, 61.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 7 and 8, compared to 61.4% district-wide for those same grades and 38.0% statewide for those same grades. Los Nietos Middle’s rate for low-income students matches its district average in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (37.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (61.7% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 44.5 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 233 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Los Nietos Middle is ranked #574 statewide.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard23.0%17.2%42%
Met or exceeded50.8%40.0%23%
Chronic absenteeism15.6%18.1%5%
Suspension rate3.1%3.6%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)20.0%17.8%5%
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 17.2% · index 57 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 40.0% · index 59 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 18.1% · index 54 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▼ 13.3pp lower vs 2022
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.6% · index 52 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint · ▼ 5.0pp lower vs 2022
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 48 · 50 = CA middle-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 6———————
Grade 713322%40%26%12%62%+14
Grade 813030%33%18%19%63%+17

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 ELA equal-school mean: 46.1%; n=4084 reporting schools

State grade 7 ELA equal-school mean: 47.6%; n=2631 reporting schools

State grade 8 ELA equal-school mean: 46.2%; n=2658 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 6———————
Grade 713320%18%24%38%38%+4
Grade 813021%20%18%41%41%+9

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 6 Math equal-school mean: 34.5%; n=4086 reporting schools

State grade 7 Math equal-school mean: 33.7%; n=2630 reporting schools

State grade 8 Math equal-school mean: 32.1%; n=2658 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 7 · ELA12359.4%
2024 · Grade 8 · ELA13046.1%
2024 · Grade 7 · Math12433.1%
2024 · Grade 8 · Math13030.0%
2023 · Grade 7 · ELA12753.5%
2023 · Grade 8 · ELA11956.3%
2023 · Grade 7 · Math12728.4%
2023 · Grade 8 · Math11933.6%
2022 · Grade 6 · ELA278—
2022 · Grade 7 · ELA27839.7%
2022 · Grade 8 · ELA27849.3%
2022 · Grade 6 · Math278—
2022 · Grade 7 · Math27827.0%
2022 · Grade 8 · Math27825.3%
2019 · Grade 5 · ELA366—
2019 · Grade 6 · ELA366—
2019 · Grade 7 · ELA36655.2%
2019 · Grade 8 · ELA36653.0%
2019 · Grade 5 · Math365—
2019 · Grade 6 · Math365—
2019 · Grade 7 · Math36527.2%
2019 · Grade 8 · Math36541.1%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide1295%19%58%18%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged23361.4%+0+23
Hispanic/Latino25361.7%+0+23
Students with Disabilities4628.3%+0+14
Nearest middle schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 6 vs grade 8, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Los Nietos Middle ←—4773rd percentile · Solid · statewide · 202523.0%50.8%——3.1%
STEAM Academy @ Burke1.1 mi4366th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202516.9%40.7%−1.9pp—0.8%
Katherine Edwards Middle School STEAM & Dual Immer1.4 mi4875th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202522.0%47.3%−1.2pp—0.6%
Rivera Middle1.5 mi2420th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20258.8%26.6%+4.3pp—11.9%
California average—39School average · no percentile17.2%40.0%+1.5pp—3.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201939/10059#797California comprehensive middle schools · 1,953 schools
202229/10043#1198California comprehensive middle schools · 2,113 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 21.4% → 2025 · 15.4% · −6.0pp
Suspension rate2024 · 7.5% → 2025 · 3.1% · −4.4pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA26525.7%61.9%
2025 · Math26520.0%38.9%
2024 · ELA25317.0%52.6%
2024 · Math25413.0%31.5%
2023 · ELA24619.5%54.9%
2023 · Math24610.6%30.9%
2022 · ELA27811.2%44.6%
2022 · Math2789.0%25.9%
2019 · ELA36616.4%53.5%
2019 · Math36517.8%33.4%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———17.7%44.1%11.1%5.7%—
2022———10.1%35.3%28.9%8.2%—
20254773#57423.0%50.8%15.6%3.1%—

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 6 vs grade 8 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — The same-year grade contrast is unavailable in this record; it is separate from the two-year aggregate comparison used for scoring.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female9.0%13.1%+4.1pp
Male12.7%17.6%+4.9pp
Hispanic/Latino10.7%14.8%+4.1pp
Students with Disabilities17.0%18.0%+1.0pp
English Learners12.5%16.7%+4.2pp
Homeless12.6%28.6%+16.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged11.2%16.2%+5.0pp
All Students11.1%15.4%+4.3pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students+20246Exceptional−1246Average
Hispanic or Latino+19239Accelerated−3239Average
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged+19223Accelerated−2223Average
English Only+16147not categorised−2147not categorised
English Learner+2069Exceptional−369Average
Students with Disabilities+2147Exceptional+847Accelerated
Homeless Youth+2740Exceptional+240Average
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only+2740not categorised040not categorised
English Learners Only+829not categorised−829not categorised
Long-Term English Learner (grades 6-8 only)+727Accelerated−2027Moderate

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. Long-Term English Learner counts cover grades 6-8 only (CDE), so that row is not comparable to the All Students row. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures
California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

246 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: +20 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 95th percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.95th pctile · +20 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

246 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: −1 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 45th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.45th pctile · −1 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California middle school records, the median ELA estimate is −1 and the middle half fall between −8 and +6 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$16,897 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 1,379 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$937 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 262

Central federal expenditures attributed here$1,369 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 262

District current expense · FY 2024–25$25,021 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 64%Instruction support 10%Student services 7%Administration 10%Buildings & maintenance 10%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$16,897 per pupil
2020$15,236 per pupil
2019$16,034 per pupil
2018$14,525 per pupil
2017$13,285 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 90606
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 90606
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$100,428
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)19.07%
ZCTA population32,057
Median age37.8 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/los-nietos-middle-0093"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Los Nietos Middle — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=2,177 middle schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction