Public school · Kern High

Kern Valley High

Lake Isabella · 9–12 · 516 students (2024–25)

8thpercentileNeeds Support

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
39 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 87% of the class graduated in four years (111 of 127); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 127
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
7%
Met standard
23%
Below standard
70%

30% met or exceeded · 108 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaKern High
Exceeded7%27%20%
Met23%30%31%
Nearly met21%20%23%
Not met49%23%26%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
1%
Met standard
11%
Below standard
88%

12% met or exceeded · 106 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaKern High
Exceeded1%14%6%
Met11%16%12%
Nearly met16%21%19%
Not met72%49%63%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
About 1 in 3 students (175 of 536) missed 10% or more of school days, against 19 in 100 at the average Kern High school.2024–25
33 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25

Ask: When a child starts missing school, who calls the family, and how soon?

Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 536
Comparison
175 of 536. District and California figures are averages of school rates (19 Kern High schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.
9.0% of students (49 of 545) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, about three times the rate at the average California high school.2024–25
9.0%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25

Ask: When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?

Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 545
Comparison
49 of 545. District and California figures are averages of school rates (19 Kern High schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school30%
California57%

Tested: 108 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school30%
Kern High51%

Tested: 108 here · 10,088 in Kern High. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 25 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaKern High
Exceeded7%27%20%
Met23%30%31%
Nearly met21%20%23%
Not met49%23%26%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school12%
California30%

Tested: 106 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school12%
Kern High18%

Tested: 106 here · 10,075 in Kern High. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 25 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaKern High
Exceeded1%14%6%
Met11%16%12%
Nearly met16%21%19%
Not met72%49%63%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: English is lower than in 2019 here (42% to 30%), while across California it was 57% in both years. How does the school check what’s working in English?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

87%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 111 of 127 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

43%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

15%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

24% enrolled in college within 12 months · 88 high-school completers

  • University of California0 · 0%
  • California State University3 · 3%
  • California community college10 · 11%
  • In-state private2 · 2%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year6 · 7%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year0 · 0%
  • Not enrolled67 · 76%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2022 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
6
Admitted
6
Enrolled
Masked

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2022Applied 6 · Admitted 6 · Enrolled Masked
  • Fall 2021Applied 7 · Admitted 5 · Enrolled Masked
  • Fall 2020Applied 8 · Admitted 5 · Enrolled Masked
  • Fall 2017Applied 13 · Admitted 4 · Enrolled Masked
  • Fall 2016Applied 10 · Admitted 7 · Enrolled Masked
  • Fall 2015Applied 7 · Admitted 4 · Enrolled Masked
  • Fall 2014Applied 6 · Admitted 3 · Enrolled Masked
  • Fall 2013Applied 5 · Admitted 3 · Enrolled Masked
  • Fall 2011Applied 8 · Admitted 7 · Enrolled 4
  • Fall 2009Applied 8 · Admitted 8 · Enrolled 4
  • Fall 2007Applied 7 · Admitted 5 · Enrolled 3
  • Fall 2006Applied 10 · Admitted 9 · Enrolled 3
  • Fall 2002Applied 5 · Admitted 4 · Enrolled Masked
  • Fall 2001Applied 8 · Admitted 8 · Enrolled 6
  • Fall 2000Applied 7 · Admitted 5 · Enrolled 5
  • Fall 1995Applied 6 · Admitted 6 · Enrolled Masked
Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

Courses, access and preparation

AP courses offered (SARC)
1

2024–25

Source and what this counts

SARC reported offering count; not an authorization list or current-term schedule.

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
0 of 55 Prepared students · 0.0%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 127 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations. Zero qualifiers does not establish whether AP is offered.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
16 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Dual enrollment (historical)
9 students · offered

2020-21

Source and what this counts

Federal Civil Rights Data Collection historical snapshot, not confirmation of current availability.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

33 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
19in 100 at the average Kern High school22in 100 at the average California high school

175 of 536 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school33 in 100
at the average Kern High school19 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
9.0%of students were suspended at least once (49 of 545), 2024–25
7.8%at the average Kern High school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

84 English · 83 math tested

English27% / 49%
Math8% / 21%

White

69 English · 67 math tested

English22% / 68%
Math12% / 42%

Hispanic or Latino

31 tested per subject

English42% / 49%
Math6% / 19%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Kern Highvs California
Low-income · 84 tested in English, 83 in math
English27%−2047%−2249%
Math8%−614%−1321%
White · 69 tested in English, 67 in math
English22%−3860%−4668%
Math12%−1628%−3042%
Hispanic or Latino · 31 tested
English42%−648%−749%
Math6%−814%−1319%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Kern High, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

Students with disabilities: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Asian, Black or African American, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students, students of two or more races, English learners and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income and White students did worse than the same groups statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Kern Valley High in Lake Isabella, 27.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 47.2% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Kern Valley High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 19.8 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (8.4% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (21.7% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 23.4 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 84 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. White: 62%2. Hispanic or Latino: 22%3. Not reported: 9%4. Two or more races: 4%5. American Indian or Alaska Native: 2%Unallocated share: 1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. White62%
  2. Hispanic or Latino22%
  3. Not reported9%
  4. Two or more races4%
  5. American Indian or Alaska Native2%
  6. Asian—
  7. Black or African American—
  8. Filipino—
  9. Pacific Islander—
  10. Unallocated share1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
White62%
Hispanic or Latino22%
Not reported9%
Two or more races4%
American Indian or Alaska Native2%
Asian—
Black or African American—
Filipino—
Pacific Islander—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 3 in 4 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (77%, 397 of 516). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers54
Average experience9 years
First-year teachers7%
78% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 78.23%: 21.8 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 27.9 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Getting in

Ask Kern High which school serves your address.

kernvalley.kernhigh.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
3340 Erskine Creek Road, Lake Isabella 93240

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. When a child starts missing school, who calls the family, and how soon?
  2. When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?
  3. English is lower than in 2019 here (42% to 30%), while across California it was 57% in both years. How does the school check what’s working in English?
  4. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?

Call (760) 379-2611 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Palo Verde HighPalo Verde Unified · 740 enrolled · 76.9% meal eligibility15thNeeds Support
  • Duarte HighDuarte Unified · 756 enrolled · 77% meal eligibility61stSolid
  • Kearny Eng Innov & DesignSan Diego Unified · 297 enrolled · 76.8% meal eligibility78thStrong
  • Clear Lake HighLakeport Unified · 335 enrolled · 77.3% meal eligibility13thNeeds Support
  • Needles HighNeedles Unified · 269 enrolled · 77.3% meal eligibility17thNeeds Support
  • ARISE HighOakland Unified · 396 enrolled · 76.5% meal eligibility66thSolid
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 68.9–84.9% meal eligibility and 258–1,032 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Kern Valley High a good high school?
Kern Valley High is in the 8th percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 39 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 87% of the class graduated in four years (111 of 127); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Kern Valley High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 30% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 12% the math standard; 7% and 1% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 108 students were tested in English and 106 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Kern Valley High rank in California?
Kern Valley High is in the 8th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Needs Support, 2025). Kern Valley High ranks #1,372 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Kern Valley High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 32.6% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 175 chronically absent of 536 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 9.0%; 49 unduplicated suspended students of 545 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 32.5%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 8.3%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Kern Valley High compare to other schools in Lake Isabella?
Kern Valley High is in the 8th percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 516 students. Use the schools in Lake Isabella page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Kern Valley High?
At Kern Valley High in Lake Isabella, 27.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 47.2% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Kern Valley High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 19.8 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (8.4% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (21.7% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 23.4 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 84 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
How many students from Kern Valley High go to UC?
UC masks this number for Kern Valley High — fewer than three enrollees in fall 2022 — a privacy protection for small cohorts, not a signal about the school. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center).
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Kern Valley High is ranked #1,372 statewide · #16 of 19 in Kern High.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate87.4%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard4.2%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared43.3%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded20.9%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism32.5%22.7%5%
Suspension rate8.3%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.9% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 37 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↓ vs CA 51.7% · index 49 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 39 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 48 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 3.8pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 29 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 3.0pp lower vs 2024

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111087%22%21%49%30%−19

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 111061%11%16%72%12%−11

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA11251.8%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math1107.3%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA9826.5%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math979.3%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA8133.3%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math7913.9%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA10642.5%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math10420.2%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide1141%22%63%14%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged8427.4%−20−21
White6921.7%−38−46
Hispanic/Latino3141.9%−6−7
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Kern Valley High ←—398th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20254.2%20.9%8.3%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders5.4%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$62,889 – $134,832
Average high school principal salary$173,913
Superintendent salary$255,200

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 39/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 43.3% · numerator 55 students classified Prepared · denominator 127 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 0.0% · AP-pathway numerator 0 · denominator 55 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 55 of 127 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201935/1006#1411California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202231/1004#1533California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202330/1003#1584California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202434/1006#1537California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 28.3% → 2025 · 32.6% · +4.3pp
Suspension rate2024 · 12.3% → 2025 · 9.0% · −3.3pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA1087.4%29.6%
2025 · Math1060.9%12.3%
2024 · ELA11214.3%51.8%
2024 · Math1100.0%7.3%
2023 · ELA988.2%26.5%
2023 · Math972.1%9.3%
2022 · ELA8112.3%33.3%
2022 · Math795.1%13.9%
2019 · ELA10618.9%42.5%
2019 · Math1044.8%20.2%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
87.4%
AP pathway among Prepared
0.0%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
15.3%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
23.9%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201911.8%31.3%22.4%17.7%
20228.7%23.6%50.9%14.6%
20235.1%17.9%41.9%13.3%
20247.2%29.5%28.7%11.3%
20254.2%20.9%32.5%8.3%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
What we can't show
  • — Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 21 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female21.8%31.7%+9.9pp
Male21.9%33.6%+11.7pp
Hispanic/Latino21.7%30.3%+8.6pp
American Indian/Alaska Native9.1%50.0%+40.9pp
Two or More Races34.8%26.1%-8.7pp
White20.9%33.3%+12.4pp
Students with Disabilities34.2%44.0%+9.8pp
Homeless31.6%62.5%+30.9pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged23.7%36.2%+12.5pp
All Students21.8%32.6%+10.8pp
Foster Youth—50.0%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2011–2022 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
202266masked4.224.22—
202175masked3.773.92—
202085masked3.673.82—
2017134masked3.52——
2016107masked3.724.12—
201574masked3.84——
201463masked3.39——
201353masked3.84——
20118743.793.97—

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2011.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Davis20176maskedmasked
Irvine20165maskedmasked
Los Angeles20175maskedmasked
San Diego20205maskedmasked
San Diego20175maskedmasked
San Diego20166maskedmasked
Santa Barbara201711maskedmasked
Santa Barbara201653masked
Santa Cruz202153masked
Santa Cruz20205maskedmasked
Santa Cruz20177maskedmasked
Universitywide202266masked
Universitywide202175masked
Universitywide202085masked
Universitywide2017134masked
Universitywide2016107masked

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count2
AP enrollment9
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 9 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections1
Physics sections1
Chemistry sections3
Total enrollment (CRDC)476

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University33.4%
California community college1011.4%
In-state private22.3%
Out-of-state, 4-year66.8%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled6776.1%

88 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 24% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2022 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$13,940 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 42,370 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$1,527 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 516

Central federal expenditures attributed here$696 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 516

District current expense · FY 2024–25$20,278 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 48%Instruction support 16%Student services 15%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 13%Other 2%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$13,940 per pupil
2020$13,737 per pupil
2019$14,008 per pupil
2018$12,847 per pupil
2017$12,132 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

11ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 93240
ShowHide table 11 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 93240
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$31,267
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)11.43%
ZCTA population5,981
Median age38.8 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/kern-valley-high-3538"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Kern Valley High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction