Public school · Turlock Unified

John H. Pitman High

Turlock · 9–12 · 1,986 students (2024–25)

45thpercentileDeveloping

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
54 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 96% of the class graduated in four years (458 of 479); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 479
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
20%
Met standard
30%
Below standard
50%

50% met or exceeded · 475 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTurlock Unified
Exceeded20%27%20%
Met30%30%27%
Nearly met22%20%23%
Not met28%23%30%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
6%
Met standard
16%
Below standard
78%

22% met or exceeded · 483 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTurlock Unified
Exceeded6%14%6%
Met16%16%15%
Nearly met25%21%24%
Not met53%49%55%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Closest to standing out

Open a finding for the evidence
20% in English and 6% in math reached the top of the state’s four levels, against 27% and 14% across California in the same grades.grade 11 · spring 2025
20%English · exceeded the standard6%Math · exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11: 475 in English, 483 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 11 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 432,651 in English and 431,903 in math tested).

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school50%
California57%

Tested: 475 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school50%
Turlock Unified47%

Tested: 475 here · 1,166 in Turlock Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 5 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTurlock Unified
Exceeded20%27%20%
Met30%30%27%
Nearly met22%20%23%
Not met28%23%30%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school22%
California30%

Tested: 483 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school22%
Turlock Unified21%

Tested: 483 here · 1,197 in Turlock Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 5 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaTurlock Unified
Exceeded6%14%6%
Met16%16%15%
Nearly met25%21%24%
Not met53%49%55%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: English is lower than in 2019 here (64% to 50%), while across California it was 57% in both years. How does the school check what’s working in English?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

96%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 458 of 479 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

59%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

61%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

72% enrolled in college within 12 months · 453 high-school completers

  • University of California31 · 7%
  • California State University104 · 23%
  • California community college164 · 36%
  • In-state private7 · 2%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year15 · 3%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year3 · 1%
  • Not enrolled129 · 28%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
94
Admitted
85
Enrolled
49

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 94 · Admitted 85 · Enrolled 49
  • Fall 2024Applied 88 · Admitted 78 · Enrolled 34
  • Fall 2023Applied 76 · Admitted 56 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 2022Applied 75 · Admitted 58 · Enrolled 34
  • Fall 2021Applied 68 · Admitted 52 · Enrolled 35
  • Fall 2020Applied 61 · Admitted 50 · Enrolled 27
  • Fall 2019Applied 86 · Admitted 63 · Enrolled 38
  • Fall 2018Applied 64 · Admitted 47 · Enrolled 24
  • Fall 2017Applied 76 · Admitted 60 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 2016Applied 65 · Admitted 50 · Enrolled 34
  • Fall 2015Applied 57 · Admitted 39 · Enrolled 26
  • Fall 2014Applied 75 · Admitted 56 · Enrolled 39
  • Fall 2013Applied 74 · Admitted 53 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 2012Applied 54 · Admitted 46 · Enrolled 20
  • Fall 2011Applied 45 · Admitted 40 · Enrolled 25
  • Fall 2010Applied 45 · Admitted 35 · Enrolled 15
  • Fall 2009Applied 49 · Admitted 46 · Enrolled 23
  • Fall 2008Applied 35 · Admitted 32 · Enrolled 13
  • Fall 2007Applied 40 · Admitted 28 · Enrolled 13
  • Fall 2006Applied 37 · Admitted 28 · Enrolled 22
  • Fall 2005Applied 26 · Admitted 19 · Enrolled 8

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 47 · Admitted 6 · Enrolled 3
  • DavisApplied 64 · Admitted 22 · Enrolled 6
  • IrvineApplied 36 · Admitted 17 · Enrolled 5
  • Los AngelesApplied 36 · Admitted 4 · Enrolled 3
  • MercedApplied 69 · Admitted 68 · Enrolled 23
  • RiversideApplied 21 · Admitted 18 · Enrolled Masked
  • San DiegoApplied 51 · Admitted 11 · Enrolled 3
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 37 · Admitted 14 · Enrolled 3
  • Santa CruzApplied 31 · Admitted 19 · Enrolled 3

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 6
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Computer Science A
  • Computer Science Principles
  • Precalculus
  • Statistics
Sciences 2
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Science
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 5
  • Macroeconomics
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
  • World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures 2
  • Spanish Language and Culture
  • Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts 2
  • 2-D Art and Design
  • Drawing

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
170 of 283 Prepared students · 60.1%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 479 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
55 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

22 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
27in 100 at the average Turlock Unified school22in 100 at the average California high school

444 of 2,045 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school22 in 100
at the average Turlock Unified school27 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
3.9%of students were suspended at least once (82 of 2,126), 2024–25
2.3%at the average Turlock Unified school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

297 English · 302 math tested

English41% / 49%
Math14% / 21%

Hispanic or Latino

256 English · 260 math tested

English45% / 49%
Math15% / 19%

White

128 English · 130 math tested

English64% / 68%
Math33% / 42%

Asian

45 English · 46 math tested

English51% / 80%
Math37% / 67%

English learners

68 English · 72 math tested

English10% / 8%
Math0% / 6%

Students with disabilities

46 English · 47 math tested

English9% / 18%
Math4% / 6%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Turlock Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 297 tested in English, 302 in math
English41%+140%−849%
Math14%−115%−721%
Hispanic or Latino · 256 tested in English, 260 in math
English45%+144%−449%
Math15%015%−419%
White · 128 tested in English, 130 in math
English64%+163%−468%
Math33%−336%−942%
Asian · 45 tested in English, 46 in math
English51%−556%−2980%
Math37%−340%−3067%
English learners · 68 tested in English, 72 in math
English10%+19%+28%
Math0%−33%−66%
Students with disabilities · 46 tested in English, 47 in math
English9%−110%−918%
Math4%−15%−26%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Turlock Unified, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

Black or African American students and students of two or more races: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income and Asian students did worse than the same groups statewide. White students and English learners did worse than the same groups statewide in math.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At John H. Pitman High in Turlock, 40.7% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 40.1% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. John H. Pitman High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 0.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (13.6% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (44.9% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 41.0 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 297 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 57%2. White: 27%3. Asian: 9%4. Black or African American: 2%5. Not reported: 2%6. Two or more races: 1%7. Pacific Islander: <1%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino57%
  2. White27%
  3. Asian9%
  4. Black or African American2%
  5. Not reported2%
  6. Two or more races1%
  7. Pacific Islander<1%
  8. Filipino—
  9. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino57%
White27%
Asian9%
Black or African American2%
Not reported2%
Two or more races1%
Pacific Islander<1%
Filipino—
American Indian or Alaska Native—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 2 in 3 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (66%, 1,308 of 1,986). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers94
Average experience15 years
First-year teachers3%
87% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 86.96%: 83 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 95.5 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementarySandra Tovar Medeiros ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleMarvin A. Dutcher MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolJohn H. Pitman HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Sandra Tovar Medeiros Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    55th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Walter M. Brown Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    6th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

  • Crowell Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    14th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

  • Dennis G. Earl Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    9th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

  • Wakefield Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    41st percentile · Developing · elementary · 2025

  • Osborn Two-Way Immersion Academy

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    19th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

Middle-school links

  • Marvin A. Dutcher Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    70th percentile · Solid · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Turlock Unified which school serves your address.

phs.turlock.k12.ca.us

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
2525 West Christoffersen Parkway, Turlock 95382

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. English is lower than in 2019 here (64% to 50%), while across California it was 57% in both years. How does the school check what’s working in English?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (209) 656-1592 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Bear Creek HighLodi Unified · 1,925 enrolled · 65.8% meal eligibility26thDeveloping
  • Enterprise HighShasta Union High · 1,148 enrolled · 65.7% meal eligibility47thDeveloping
  • Sanger West HighSanger Unified · 1,438 enrolled · 65.6% meal eligibility60thSolid
  • Helix HighGrossmont Union High · 2,554 enrolled · 65.5% meal eligibility95thStrong
  • Mission Oak HighTulare Joint Union High · 1,678 enrolled · 66.3% meal eligibility53rdSolid
  • Citrus Valley HighRedlands Unified · 2,110 enrolled · 65.5% meal eligibility70thSolid
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 57.9–73.9% meal eligibility and 993–3,972 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is John H. Pitman High a good high school?
John H. Pitman High is in the 45th percentile (Developing) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 54 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 96% of the class graduated in four years (458 of 479); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are John H. Pitman High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 50% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 22% the math standard; 20% and 6% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 475 students were tested in English and 483 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does John H. Pitman High rank in California?
John H. Pitman High is in the 45th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Developing, 2025). John H. Pitman High ranks #822 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for John H. Pitman High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 21.7% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 444 chronically absent of 2,045 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 3.9%; 82 unduplicated suspended students of 2,126 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 22.0%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 3.9%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does John H. Pitman High compare to other schools in Turlock?
John H. Pitman High is in the 45th percentile (Developing) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 1,986 students. Use the schools in Turlock page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at John H. Pitman High?
At John H. Pitman High in Turlock, 40.7% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 40.1% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. John H. Pitman High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 0.6 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (13.6% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (44.9% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 41.0 percentage points: students with disabilities in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 297 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at John H. Pitman High?
John H. Pitman High had own-school AP authorizations for 19 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: 2-D Art and Design, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science A, Computer Science Principles, Drawing, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, Macroeconomics, Precalculus, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from John H. Pitman High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 49 John H. Pitman High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

John H. Pitman High is ranked #822 statewide · #1 of 3 in Turlock Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate95.6%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard12.9%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared59.1%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded35.7%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism22.0%22.7%5%
Suspension rate3.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)21.3%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 59 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 57 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 1.3pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 49 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.0pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1147520%29%22%28%50%+1

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 114836%16%25%53%22%−2

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA46261.9%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math45824.4%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA44745.9%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math45619.1%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA47759.8%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math47922.3%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA48764.3%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math48728.3%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide4775%17%63%15%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged29740.7%+1−8
Hispanic/Latino25644.9%+1−4
White12864.1%+1−3
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
John H. Pitman High ←—5445th percentile · Developing · statewide · 202512.9%35.7%3.9%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%
Roselawn Highscored within its class, not statewide2.4 mi3085th percentile · Strong · within class · 20255.4%11.4%0.9%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.6%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$69,264 – $131,283
Average elementary principal salary$168,526
Average middle school principal salary$170,158
Average high school principal salary$186,834
Superintendent salary$265,000

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 54/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 59.1% · numerator 283 students classified Prepared · denominator 479 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 60.1% · AP-pathway numerator 170 · denominator 283 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 283 of 479 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201959/10063#553California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202255/10059#648California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202352/10048#845California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202457/10063#592California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 20.3% → 2025 · 21.7% · +1.4pp
Suspension rate2024 · 4.9% → 2025 · 3.9% · −1.0pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA47520.2%49.7%
2025 · Math4835.6%21.7%
2024 · ELA46225.3%61.9%
2024 · Math4586.5%24.4%
2023 · ELA44718.6%45.9%
2023 · Math4565.3%19.1%
2022 · ELA47723.1%59.8%
2022 · Math4799.0%22.3%
2019 · ELA48727.5%64.3%
2019 · Math4878.2%28.3%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
95.6%
AP pathway among Prepared
60.1%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
61.1%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
71.5%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201917.9%46.3%13.9%5.9%
202216.0%41.0%33.4%9.3%
202311.9%32.5%24.0%12.0%
202415.9%43.2%20.7%4.9%
202512.9%35.7%22.0%3.9%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female13.2%22.6%+9.4pp
Male13.7%20.8%+7.1pp
Asian3.6%17.0%+13.4pp
Black/African American33.3%31.8%-1.5pp
Hispanic/Latino15.5%24.7%+9.2pp
American Indian/Alaska Native25.0%——
Pacific Islander4.5%23.1%+18.6pp
Two or More Races9.4%31.0%+21.6pp
White11.5%15.6%+4.1pp
Students with Disabilities26.3%31.3%+5.0pp
English Learners18.9%32.1%+13.2pp
Military-Connected16.7%——
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged17.9%24.9%+7.0pp
All Students13.5%21.7%+8.2pp
Homeless—48.0%—

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
20259485493.823.904.01
20248878343.963.983.99
20237656323.894.004.02
20227558343.853.973.98
20216852353.773.923.94
20206150273.813.853.86
20198663383.833.974.02
20186447243.894.004.01
20177660323.874.004.01
20166550343.813.933.89
20155739263.863.983.98
20147556393.763.953.96

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20254763
Berkeley2024424masked
Berkeley20234495
Berkeley20223143
Berkeley202127maskedmasked
Davis202564226
Davis2024593712
Davis202345175
Davis202246146
Davis202139157
Irvine202536175
Irvine2024265masked
Irvine2023285masked
Irvine202232maskedmasked
Irvine2021193masked
Los Angeles20253643
Los Angeles2024364masked
Los Angeles20233243
Los Angeles2022363masked
Los Angeles202125maskedmasked
Merced2025696823
Merced2024545312
Merced2023473915
Merced2022433817
Merced2021443918
Riverside20252118masked
Riverside2024107masked
Riverside202364masked
Riverside202283masked
Riverside202175masked
San Diego202551113
San Diego202441153
San Diego202322maskedmasked
San Diego2022264masked
San Diego2021257masked
Santa Barbara202537143
Santa Barbara20243516masked
Santa Barbara20233215masked
Santa Barbara202230144
Santa Barbara202125146
Santa Cruz202531193
Santa Cruz202434293
Santa Cruz20232613masked
Santa Cruz202224153
Santa Cruz202134203
Universitywide2025948549
Universitywide2024887834
Universitywide2023765632
Universitywide2022755834
Universitywide2021685235

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
2-D Art and Designthis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Athis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
Drawingthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
Macroeconomicsthis school
Precalculusthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count37
AP enrollment564
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections13
Chemistry sections16
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,091

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California316.8%
California State University10423.0%
California community college16436.2%
In-state private71.6%
Out-of-state, 4-year153.3%
Out-of-state, 2-year30.7%
Not enrolled12928.5%

453 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 72% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$13,278 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 13,782 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$33 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,986

Central federal expenditures attributed here$581 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,986

District current expense · FY 2024–25$18,903 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 69%Instruction support 10%Student services 8%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 8%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$13,278 per pupil
2020$12,554 per pupil
2019$12,863 per pupil
2018$11,075 per pupil
2017$10,620 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 95382
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 95382
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$95,282
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)32.27%
ZCTA population39,083
Median age37.1 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/john-h-pitman-high-0283"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="John H. Pitman High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction