ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

El Monte Union High School Community DayPublicEl Monte, CAGrades 9-1225 students

El Monte Union High School Community Day: A community day school. No Scope Score publishes here.

A Scope Score ranks schools a family can choose between. At El Monte Union High School Community Day, students are placed here after expulsion or by district or probation referral — so a comparative rank would measure something a family's choice never entered. We show what California reports and hold the rank.

community day school

no score · no band · no rank — enrollment assigned, not chosen

25 students · placed after expulsion or referral

Every figure below is California's own, reported for this school and shown without a rank. Why we withhold a score →

El Monte Union High School Community Day is a community day school in El Monte, California. SchoolScope publishes no Scope Score, performance band, archetype or ranking for schools where enrollment is assigned rather than chosen, so its CDE CAASPP 2025 results appear here unranked.

12 students were tested here on last year's CAASPP. 0.0% met or exceeded the standard; 0.0% exceeded it.

Chronic absenteeism ran 48.7%; the suspension rate was 6.4%. California reports both the same way it does for every school — this page just doesn't rank them here.

If you're trying to understand this school

Families don't choose a court or community school off this page — a student arrives through the court, a probation department, or a district referral. For a specific student, the county office of education or the district's alternative-education office is the right first call.

  • Ask how credits earned here transfer back to a student's home school.
  • Ask what continuity of services looks like when a student moves between this program and a comprehensive campus.
  • Ask what happens to a student's education plan after they leave.
CAASPP 2024–25

This school against the California average

2025–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school0%0%——48.7%6.4%
CA average · High School (for reference)20%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
% Exceeded0%20%
% Met+0%43%
Grad rate—92.5%
College readiness—43.0%
Absence48.7%23.1%
Suspension6.4%3.3%
Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 0% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 0%, district —, state 43%0%
Hispanic/LatinoHispanic/Latino: this school 0%, district 34%, state 32%0%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 0%, district 42%, state 32%0%
Students with DisabilitiesStudents with Disabilities: this school 0%, district 10%, state 15%0%
MaleMale: too few students to report‹11
FemaleFemale: too few students to report‹11
English LearnersEnglish Learners: too few students to report‹11
this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 48.7%, district 18.2%, state 23.1%48.7%
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 6.4%, district —, state 3.3%6.4%
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1291.3%

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 8 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher8 · district 21
Teaching staff3 teachers
Avg. experience17.3 years
Fully credentialed26%
PrincipalFreddy Arteaga
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$71,151 – $140,515
Principal salaryUp to $202,179
Superintendent salary$310,188

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $58,082 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$4,926 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $58,082, CA average $14,491$58,082 · spent at this school
Federal share$4,926 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$25,007 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 51%Instruction support 10%Student services 16%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 14%Other 3%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$15,158 per pupil
2019$16,014 per pupil
2018$15,285 per pupil
2017$14,911 per pupil
2016$13,460 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

Who is enrolled

Nearly all of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 25 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

Hispanic or Latino100.0% · district 77.8% · CA 56.1%
Free or reduced lunch100.0% · CA 64%

Contact

PrincipalFreddy Arteaga
Grades9-12
Enrollment25 students
Nearby schools
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Everything California reports about this school, shown without a rank — grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, climate, and the nearest schools.

01Score factors (not combined)the dimensions a Scope Score would weigh, shown against California · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard0.0%19.8%22%
Met or exceeded0.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism48.7%23.1%5%
Suspension rate6.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)7.7%18.0%5%
Exceeded standard
vs CA 19.8%
Met or exceeded
vs CA 43.2%
Chronic absenteeism
vs CA 23.1%
Suspension rate
vs CA 3.3%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
vs CA 18.0%
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET+
Grade 11120%0%8%92%0%
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET+
Grade 1110—————

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

03Nearest high schoolsnearest by distance
SchoolDistEXCMET+Susp
El Monte Union High School Community Day ←—0.0%0.0%6.4%
Arcadia High2.7 mi37.9%64.6%0.9%
Temple City High2.7 mi37.3%67.4%1.4%
Arroyo High0.3 mi26.5%50.7%4.1%
California average—19.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
What we can't show
  • — No Scope Score, performance band, archetype, or state rank publishes for this school — enrollment here is assigned, not chosen, so a comparative rank would mean something different than it does for a neighborhood school. See the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — No subgroup comparison could be shown for this school this year — either its group sizes fall under CDE's 15-student reporting floor, or district/state comparison data wasn't available for its groups.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025
Male86.5%93.5%
Hispanic/Latino84.8%91.3%
Students with Disabilities92.3%90.9%
English Learners86.2%95.2%
Foster Youth78.0%—
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged86.7%91.3%
All Students86.8%91.3%
Female—86.7%
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 20 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)33

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction