Public school · Capistrano Unified

Dana Hills High

Dana Point · 9–12 · 1,725 students (2024–25)

70thpercentileSolid

The dots are California’s 1,500 scored public high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
63 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 94% of the class graduated in four years (411 of 436); across California, 89%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 436
Comparison
California: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 2,281 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 432,702 of 487,177).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
34%
Met standard
37%
Below standard
29%

71% met or exceeded · 383 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaCapistrano Unified
Exceeded34%27%44%
Met37%30%29%
Nearly met16%20%15%
Not met13%23%12%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
16%
Met standard
24%
Below standard
60%

40% met or exceeded · 379 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaCapistrano Unified
Exceeded16%14%27%
Met24%16%23%
Nearly met28%21%22%
Not met32%49%28%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In grade 11, 71% met or exceeded the standard in English, against 57% statewide.grade 11 · spring 2025
71%English · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 11 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 432,651 in English tested).
1.2% of students (21 of 1,781) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, against 3.2% at the average California high school.2024–25
1.2%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–25
Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 1,781
Comparison
21 of 1,781. District and California figures are averages of school rates (8 Capistrano Unified schools; 1,500 scored California high schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school71%
California57%

Tested: 383 here · 432,651 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school71%
Capistrano Unified73%

Tested: 383 here · 3,891 in Capistrano Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 10 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaCapistrano Unified
Exceeded34%27%44%
Met37%30%29%
Nearly met16%20%15%
Not met13%23%12%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school40%
California30%

Tested: 379 here · 431,903 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school40%
Capistrano Unified50%

Tested: 379 here · 3,882 in Capistrano Unified. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 10 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaCapistrano Unified
Exceeded16%14%27%
Met24%16%23%
Nearly met28%21%22%
Not met32%49%28%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

How have results changed?

Ask: Math is lower than in 2019 here (46% to 40%) and across California (32% to 30%). How does the school check what’s working in math?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

94%

Across California: 89%

2024–25 · 411 of 436 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

63%

Across California: 52%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

58%

Average California high school: 56%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

83% enrolled in college within 12 months · 537 high-school completers

  • University of California32 · 6%
  • California State University50 · 9%
  • California community college240 · 45%
  • In-state private16 · 3%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year106 · 20%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year2 · 0%
  • Not enrolled91 · 17%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2025 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
115
Admitted
79
Enrolled
36

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2025Applied 115 · Admitted 79 · Enrolled 36
  • Fall 2024Applied 135 · Admitted 81 · Enrolled 43
  • Fall 2023Applied 154 · Admitted 94 · Enrolled 32
  • Fall 2022Applied 160 · Admitted 79 · Enrolled 39
  • Fall 2021Applied 188 · Admitted 106 · Enrolled 52
  • Fall 2020Applied 147 · Admitted 97 · Enrolled 47
  • Fall 2019Applied 175 · Admitted 103 · Enrolled 50
  • Fall 2018Applied 192 · Admitted 101 · Enrolled 64
  • Fall 2017Applied 181 · Admitted 107 · Enrolled 55
  • Fall 2016Applied 200 · Admitted 130 · Enrolled 69
  • Fall 2015Applied 174 · Admitted 90 · Enrolled 49
  • Fall 2014Applied 194 · Admitted 135 · Enrolled 82
  • Fall 2013Applied 225 · Admitted 140 · Enrolled 70
  • Fall 2012Applied 186 · Admitted 128 · Enrolled 66
  • Fall 2011Applied 184 · Admitted 120 · Enrolled 62
  • Fall 2010Applied 187 · Admitted 171 · Enrolled 77
  • Fall 2009Applied 196 · Admitted 178 · Enrolled 75
  • Fall 2008Applied 206 · Admitted 189 · Enrolled 83
  • Fall 2007Applied 163 · Admitted 145 · Enrolled 65
  • Fall 2006Applied 141 · Admitted 127 · Enrolled 60
  • Fall 2005Applied 169 · Admitted 148 · Enrolled 81
  • Fall 2004Applied 152 · Admitted 119 · Enrolled 65
  • Fall 2003Applied 162 · Admitted 141 · Enrolled 70
  • Fall 2002Applied 153 · Admitted 140 · Enrolled 86
  • Fall 2001Applied 145 · Admitted 130 · Enrolled 79
  • Fall 2000Applied 131 · Admitted 109 · Enrolled 69
  • Fall 1999Applied 139 · Admitted 106 · Enrolled 69
  • Fall 1998Applied 96 · Admitted 79 · Enrolled 43
  • Fall 1997Applied 82 · Admitted 66 · Enrolled 41
  • Fall 1996Applied 123 · Admitted 99 · Enrolled 51
  • Fall 1995Applied 108 · Admitted 96 · Enrolled 61
  • Fall 1994Applied 135 · Admitted 110 · Enrolled 70

Campus records · fall 2025

  • BerkeleyApplied 63 · Admitted 6 · Enrolled Masked
  • DavisApplied 46 · Admitted 14 · Enrolled Masked
  • IrvineApplied 78 · Admitted 11 · Enrolled 4
  • Los AngelesApplied 89 · Admitted 10 · Enrolled 8
  • MercedApplied 21 · Admitted 21 · Enrolled Masked
  • RiversideApplied 37 · Admitted 34 · Enrolled Masked
  • San DiegoApplied 93 · Admitted 23 · Enrolled 9
  • Santa BarbaraApplied 68 · Admitted 26 · Enrolled 8
  • Santa CruzApplied 36 · Admitted 33 · Enrolled 3

Do not add campus application or admission counts: a student may appear at multiple campuses.

Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

AP course authorizations

College Board AP Course Audit Ledger · 2025 - 2026. Authorization does not confirm this term’s schedule, access or enrollment.

Math & Computer Science 4
  • Calculus AB
  • Calculus BC
  • Computer Science Principles
  • Statistics
Sciences 4
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Science
  • Physics C: Mechanics
English 2
  • English Language and Composition
  • English Literature and Composition
History & Social Science 5
  • European History
  • Psychology
  • U.S. Government and Politics
  • United States History
  • World History: Modern
World Languages & Cultures 2
  • Spanish Language and Culture
  • Spanish Literature and Culture
Arts 1
  • Art History

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
191 of 274 Prepared students · 69.7%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 436 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
77 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered.

Dual enrollment (historical)
260 students · offered

2020-21

Source and what this counts

Federal Civil Rights Data Collection historical snapshot, not confirmation of current availability.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

19 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
17in 100 at the average Capistrano Unified school22in 100 at the average California high school

335 of 1,760 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school19 in 100
at the average Capistrano Unified school17 in 100
at the average California high school22 in 100
1.2%of students were suspended at least once (21 of 1,781), 2024–25
1.2%at the average Capistrano Unified school3.2%at the average California high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

174 English · 173 math tested

English66% / 49%
Math28% / 21%

White

198 English · 193 math tested

English77% / 68%
Math49% / 42%

Hispanic or Latino

130 English · 131 math tested

English58% / 49%
Math24% / 19%

Two or more races

34 English · 33 math tested

English76% / 67%
Math39% / 42%

Students with disabilities

44 English · 42 math tested

English23% / 18%
Math10% / 6%

Homeless

33 tested per subject

English45% / 36%
Math12% / 13%

Military families

37 English · 38 math tested

English81% / 58%
Math39% / 30%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Capistrano Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 174 tested in English, 173 in math
English66%+462%+1749%
Math28%−735%+721%
White · 198 tested in English, 193 in math
English77%−582%+968%
Math49%−958%+742%
Hispanic or Latino · 130 tested in English, 131 in math
English58%−159%+949%
Math24%−630%+519%
Two or more races · 34 tested in English, 33 in math
English76%−884%+967%
Math39%−2059%−342%
Students with disabilities · 44 tested in English, 42 in math
English23%−1033%+518%
Math10%−111%+46%
Homeless · 33 tested
English45%045%+936%
Math12%−820%−113%
Military families · 37 tested in English, 38 in math
English81%+1566%+2358%
Math39%−443%+930%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Capistrano Unified, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

Asian students and English learners: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Black or African American, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native and Pacific Islander students and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

How each student group did

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Dana Hills High in Dana Point, 66.1% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 61.7% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Dana Hills High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 4.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (28.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (76.8% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 51.0 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 175 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. White: 52%2. Hispanic or Latino: 35%3. Two or more races: 6%4. Asian: 3%5. Not reported: 2%6. Filipino: <1%7. Black or African American: <1%Unallocated share: <1%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. White52%
  2. Hispanic or Latino35%
  3. Two or more races6%
  4. Asian3%
  5. Not reported2%
  6. Filipino<1%
  7. Black or African American<1%
  8. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  9. Pacific Islander—
  10. Unallocated share<1%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
White52%
Hispanic or Latino35%
Two or more races6%
Asian3%
Not reported2%
Filipino<1%
Black or African American<1%
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 2 in 5 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (42%, 725 of 1,725). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers109
Average experience17 years
First-year teachers0%
85% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 84.94%: 82.6 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 97.3 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryDel Obispo ElementaryHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  2. MiddleNiguel Hills MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolDana Hills HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • Del Obispo Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    67th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Harold Ambuehl Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    69th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Richard Henry Dana Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    74th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Kinoshita Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    24th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Hidden Hills Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    53rd percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • George White Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    87th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Moulton Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    89th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

    87% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • San Juan Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    50th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

    74% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • John Malcom Elementary

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    88th percentile · Strong · elementary · 2025

  • Capistrano Home/Virtual

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

Middle-school links

  • Niguel Hills Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    87th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    96% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Marco Forster Middle

    Historical partial-area overlap · NCES SABS 2015–16

    76th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    14% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

  • Capistrano Home/Virtual

    Inferred through another school · underlying source period unavailable; not a direct feeder

    93rd percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Capistrano Unified which school serves your address.

danahills.capousd.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
33333 Golden Lantern, Dana Point 92629

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Math is lower than in 2019 here (46% to 40%) and across California (32% to 30%). How does the school check what’s working in math?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (949) 496-6666 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar high schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Westmont HighCampbell Union High · 1,682 enrolled · 42% meal eligibility86thStrong
  • Live Oak HighMorgan Hill Unified · 1,101 enrolled · 42% meal eligibility47thDeveloping
  • Lincoln HighWestern Placer Unified · 1,184 enrolled · 42.1% meal eligibility49thDeveloping
  • Quartz Hill HighAntelope Valley Union High · 3,175 enrolled · 42.2% meal eligibility33rdDeveloping
  • South San Francisco HighSouth San Francisco Unified · 1,239 enrolled · 41.8% meal eligibility52ndSolid
  • Golden Valley HighWilliam S. Hart Union High · 1,980 enrolled · 42.3% meal eligibility49thDeveloping
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 34–50% meal eligibility and 863–3,450 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Dana Hills High a good high school?
Dana Hills High is in the 70th percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. Its Scope Score is 63 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In 2024–25, 94% of the class graduated in four years (411 of 436); across California, 89%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Dana Hills High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 71% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 40% the math standard; 34% and 16% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 57% and 30% met or exceeded, 27% and 14% exceeded. 383 students were tested in English and 379 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Dana Hills High rank in California?
Dana Hills High is in the 70th percentile of 1,500 California comprehensive high schools (Solid, 2025). Dana Hills High ranks #448 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Dana Hills High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 19.0% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 335 chronically absent of 1,760 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 1.2%; 21 unduplicated suspended students of 1,781 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 19.5%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.3%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Dana Hills High compare to other schools in Dana Point?
Dana Hills High is in the 70th percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 1,725 students. Use the schools in Dana Point page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Dana Hills High?
At Dana Hills High in Dana Point, 66.1% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 61.7% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Dana Hills High’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 4.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (28.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); White students (76.8% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 51.0 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 175 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What AP courses are offered at Dana Hills High?
Dana Hills High had own-school AP authorizations for 18 of the 40 subjects in the College Board's 2025–26 AP program: Art History, Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science Principles, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Environmental Science, European History, Physics C: Mechanics, Psychology, Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literature and Culture, Statistics, U.S. Government and Politics, United States History, World History: Modern. The audit records authorization, not whether a section ran that year or how students performed on AP exams. Data source: College Board AP Course Audit, analyzed by SchoolScope.
How many students from Dana Hills High go to UC?
In fall 2025, 36 Dana Hills High graduates enrolled at University of California campuses, universitywide. That figure can't be split into a per-campus sum — students apply to several UC campuses at once, so campus-level counts don't add up to the universitywide total. UC is one destination among many: this says nothing about graduates who chose a CSU, a private college, a community college, or work, and it is a count, not a rate or a ranking. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2025 admissions cycle.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Dana Hills High is ranked #448 statewide · #6 of 8 in Capistrano Unified.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate94.3%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard25.0%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared62.8%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded55.4%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism19.5%22.7%5%
Suspension rate1.3%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)17.0%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↑ vs CA 92.9% · index 58 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 20.3% · index 60 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↑ vs CA 51.7% · index 62 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 43.8% · index 64 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 22.7% · index 59 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 0.9pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 3.3% · index 61 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 1.2pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 51 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1138334%37%16%13%71%+22

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 1137916%24%28%32%40%+16

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA38780.4%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math37848.9%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA42266.3%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math42438.9%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA51774.5%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math50843.3%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA56272.6%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math56845.8%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide40412%31%48%9%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged17566.1%+4+17
White19876.8%−5+9
Hispanic/Latino13058.5%−0+10
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Dana Hills High ←—6370th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202525.0%55.4%1.3%
California Preparatory Academy1.5 mi6266th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202522.1%49.2%0.7%
San Juan Hills High1.7 mi7387th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202537.8%67.8%1.2%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%
Opportunities for Learning - Capistranoscored within its class, not statewide2.6 mi2768th percentile · Solid · within class · 202518.1%37.2%0.9%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.5%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$65,219 – $130,638
Average elementary principal salary$185,421
Average middle school principal salary$197,661
Average high school principal salary$206,216
Superintendent salary$348,333

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 63/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 62.8% · numerator 274 students classified Prepared · denominator 436 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 69.7% · AP-pathway numerator 191 · denominator 274 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 274 of 436 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201968/10082#267California comprehensive high schools · 1,512 schools
202269/10086#211California comprehensive high schools · 1,599 schools
202366/10080#317California comprehensive high schools · 1,633 schools
202471/10089#177California comprehensive high schools · 1,641 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 19.9% → 2025 · 19.0% · −0.9pp
Suspension rate2024 · 2.4% → 2025 · 1.2% · −1.2pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA38334.2%71.0%
2025 · Math37915.8%39.8%
2024 · ELA38747.3%80.4%
2024 · Math37822.0%48.9%
2023 · ELA42234.1%66.3%
2023 · Math42417.4%38.9%
2022 · ELA51743.7%74.5%
2022 · Math50822.8%43.3%
2019 · ELA56239.1%72.6%
2019 · Math56820.8%45.8%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
94.3%
AP pathway among Prepared
69.7%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
57.9%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
83.1%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
201930.0%59.2%12.0%2.5%
202233.3%58.9%26.2%2.9%
202325.8%52.6%23.3%2.5%
202434.6%64.7%20.3%2.5%
202525.0%55.4%19.5%1.3%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female11.5%22.1%+10.6pp
Male11.7%16.5%+4.8pp
Asian5.3%9.6%+4.3pp
Black/African American5.9%33.3%+27.4pp
Filipino14.8%12.5%-2.3pp
Hispanic/Latino12.2%22.7%+10.5pp
Two or More Races8.1%20.6%+12.5pp
White11.7%16.8%+5.1pp
Students with Disabilities22.4%26.3%+3.9pp
English Learners17.5%31.7%+14.2pp
Homeless17.2%23.2%+6.0pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged15.0%25.1%+10.1pp
All Students11.6%19.0%+7.4pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2014–2025 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
202511579363.964.024.19
202413581433.904.124.21
202315494323.894.054.15
202216079393.964.074.11
2021188106523.884.014.07
202014797473.934.074.16
2019175103503.914.034.09
2018192101643.864.074.08
2017181107553.783.954.00
2016200130693.823.954.01
201517490493.774.004.07
2014194135823.874.004.02

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2014.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley2025636masked
Berkeley202474137
Berkeley2023766masked
Berkeley2022868masked
Berkeley202194187
Davis20254614masked
Davis202457253
Davis20236317masked
Davis202258174
Davis20216423masked
Irvine202578114
Irvine202482226
Irvine202392208
Irvine202286193
Irvine202196173
Los Angeles202589108
Los Angeles202498139
Los Angeles2023112105
Los Angeles20221121312
Los Angeles20211241611
Merced20252121masked
Merced202464masked
Merced20231313masked
Merced20221515masked
Merced20211919masked
Riverside20253734masked
Riverside20242716masked
Riverside20233321masked
Riverside202234243
Riverside202147368
San Diego202593239
San Diego2024104324
San Diego2023125213
San Diego2022120204
San Diego2021124337
Santa Barbara202568268
Santa Barbara202493379
Santa Barbara2023110255
Santa Barbara2022115257
Santa Barbara2021122296
Santa Cruz202536333
Santa Cruz202460384
Santa Cruz202371517
Santa Cruz202267223
Santa Cruz202170297
Universitywide20251157936
Universitywide20241358143
Universitywide20231549432
Universitywide20221607939
Universitywide202118810652

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

AP course catalogCheck course authorizations and distinguish outside providers.2025 - 2026
SubjectAuthorization recorded for
Art Historythis school
Biologythis school
Calculus ABthis school
Calculus BCthis school
Chemistrythis school
Computer Science Principlesthis school
English Language and Compositionthis school
English Literature and Compositionthis school
Environmental Sciencethis school
European Historythis school
Physics C: Mechanicsthis school
Psychologythis school
Spanish Language and Culturethis school
Spanish Literature and Culturethis school
Statisticsthis school
U.S. Government and Politicsthis school
United States Historythis school
World History: Modernthis school

Authorization ≠ a section running this year — the Ledger records what the school may teach, not seat counts.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count19
AP enrollment700
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 260 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections2
Physics sections3
Chemistry sections11
Total enrollment (CRDC)2,215

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California326.0%
California State University509.3%
California community college24044.7%
In-state private163.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year10619.7%
Out-of-state, 2-year20.4%
Not enrolled9116.9%

537 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 83% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$12,431 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 43,719 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$236 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,725

Central federal expenditures attributed here$787 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 1,725

District current expense · FY 2024–25$17,166 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 64%Instruction support 10%Student services 10%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$12,431 per pupil
2020$11,341 per pupil
2019$10,665 per pupil
2018$9,388 per pupil
2017$8,875 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

12ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 92629
ShowHide table 12 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 92629
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$142,807
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)58.50%
ZCTA population25,579
Median age48.0 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/dana-hills-high-8569"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Dana Hills High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · AP Course Ledger 2025 - 2026 (November refresh; authorization not enrollment) · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction