Public school · California School for the Deaf-Riverside

California School for the Deaf-Riverside

Riverside · TK–12 · 350 students (2024–25)

bottom1%Needs Support

The dots are California’s 5,721 scored public elementary schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
10 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Well below California in English and math: 2% and 0% met or exceeded the standard in grades 3–5, against 46% and 41% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 3–5: 51
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 3, 4 and 5 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,232,086 in English and 1,241,652 in math tested).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four elementary schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

Are children building strong foundations?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
0%
Met standard
2%
Below standard
98%

2% met or exceeded · 51 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded0%24%
Met2%22%
Nearly met6%21%
Not met92%33%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
0%
Met standard
0%
Below standard
100%

0% met or exceeded · 51 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded0%21%
Met0%20%
Nearly met8%25%
Not met92%34%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Reading and math results for the tested grades. These do not measure the experience in kindergarten or the early grades.

Ask: How do you help children who need more support in reading or math, and those ready for more challenge?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
3 in 10 students (107 of 363) missed 10% or more of school days, about one and a half times the rate at the average California elementary school.2024–25
30 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25

Ask: When a child starts missing school, who calls the family, and how soon?

Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 363
Comparison
107 of 363. The California figure is an average of school rates (5,721 scored California elementary schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school2%
California46%

Tested: 51 here · 1,232,086 in California.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded0%24%
Met2%22%
Nearly met6%21%
Not met92%33%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school0%
California41%

Tested: 51 here · 1,241,652 in California.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded0%21%
Met0%20%
Nearly met8%25%
Not met92%34%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

Are students making progress?

The state’s growth measure84 students in English, 83 in math · grades 4–8 · 2025
English−34ptsCDE category: Minimal
Math−15ptsCDE category: Moderate

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

Ask: Math is lower than in 2022 here (6% to 0%), while across California it went from 38% to 41%. How does the school check what’s working in math?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

30 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
18in 100 at the average California elementary school

107 of 363 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school30 in 100
at the average California elementary school18 in 100
0.8%of students were suspended at least once (3 of 367), 2024–25
1.6%at the average California elementary school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
TK and kindergarten299 of 31
Grades 1–32213 of 59
Grades 4–62317 of 75
Grades 7–83421 of 61
Grades 9–123447 of 137

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 3–8 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Hispanic or Latino

39 English · 38 math tested · grades 6–8

English5% / 38%
Math8% / 24%

Students with disabilities

110 English · 109 math tested

English3% / 17%
Math3% / 14%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 3–8 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs California School for the Deaf-Riversidevs California
Hispanic or Latino · 39 tested in English, 38 in math · grades 6–8 only
English5%05%−3338%
Math8%08%−1624%
Students with disabilities · 110 tested in English, 109 in math
English3%03%−1417%
Math3%03%−1114%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in California School for the Deaf-Riverside, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

White students: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for low-income, Asian, Black or African American, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander, homeless and military-family students, students of two or more races, English learners and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Hispanic or Latino students and students with disabilities did worse than the same groups statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At California School for the Deaf-Riverside in Riverside, 4.7% of students with disabilities met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 11, compared to 4.7% district-wide for those same grades and 17.0% statewide for those same grades. California School for the Deaf-Riverside’s rate for students with disabilities matches its district average in ELA. Other subgroups: students with disabilities (3.1% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (5.1% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 3.1 percentage points: Hispanic students in Math. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 129 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 64%2. White: 28%3. Black or African American: 4%Unallocated share: 4%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino64%
  2. White28%
  3. Black or African American4%
  4. Asian—
  5. Filipino—
  6. Two or more races—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share4%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino64%
White28%
Black or African American4%
Asian—
Filipino—
Two or more races—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 2 in 5 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (42%, 147 of 350). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers68
Average experience14 years
First-year teachers6%
54% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 54.39%: 37.5 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 69 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Getting in

Ask California School for the Deaf-Riverside which school serves your address.

csdr-cde.ca.gov

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
3044 Horace Street, Riverside 92506

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. When a child starts missing school, who calls the family, and how soon?
  2. Math is lower than in 2022 here (6% to 0%), while across California it went from 38% to 41%. How does the school check what’s working in math?
  3. How do you teach early reading and check each child’s progress?
  4. What does extra support or enrichment look like during the school day?

Call (951) 248-7700 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby elementary schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar elementary schools2025 statewide percentile
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 34–50% meal eligibility and 175–700 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is California School for the Deaf-Riverside a good elementary school?
California School for the Deaf-Riverside is in the bottom percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter elementary schools. Its Scope Score is 10 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), California School for the Deaf-Riverside was well below California in English and math: 2% and 0% met or exceeded the standard in grades 3–5, against 46% and 41% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for elementary schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 3-to-5 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are California School for the Deaf-Riverside's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 2% of students tested in grades 3–5 met or exceeded the English standard and 0% the math standard; 0% and 0% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 46% and 41% met or exceeded, 24% and 21% exceeded. 51 students were tested in English and 51 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does California School for the Deaf-Riverside rank in California?
California School for the Deaf-Riverside is in the bottom percentile of 5,721 California comprehensive elementary schools (Needs Support, 2025). California School for the Deaf-Riverside ranks #5,685 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for California School for the Deaf-Riverside?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 29.5% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 107 chronically absent of 363 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 0.8%; 3 unduplicated suspended students of 367 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 26.9%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 1.0%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does California School for the Deaf-Riverside compare to other schools in Riverside?
California School for the Deaf-Riverside is in the bottom percentile (Needs Support) of California’s regular public and charter elementary schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 350 students. Use the schools in Riverside page or the map view to compare nearby elementary schools.
What do reported student-group results show at California School for the Deaf-Riverside?
At California School for the Deaf-Riverside in Riverside, 4.7% of students with disabilities met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 11, compared to 4.7% district-wide for those same grades and 17.0% statewide for those same grades. California School for the Deaf-Riverside’s rate for students with disabilities matches its district average in ELA. Other subgroups: students with disabilities (3.1% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (5.1% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 3.1 percentage points: Hispanic students in Math. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 129 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

California School for the Deaf-Riverside is ranked #5,685 statewide.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard0.0%21.4%42%
Met or exceeded1.5%42.7%23%
Chronic absenteeism26.9%17.9%5%
Suspension rate1.0%1.6%5%
Grade gap (G3→G5, different students)+4.5pp-2.9ppnot scored
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 21.4% · index 30 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 42.7% · index 20 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 17.9% · index 35 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint · ▲ 0.5pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 1.6% · index 55 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint · ▼ 0.2pp lower vs 2024
Grade gap (G3→G5, different students)
↑ vs CA -2.9pp

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 3180%0%6%94%0%−43
Grade 4220%0%5%95%0%−45
Grade 5110%9%9%82%9%−39
Grade 6180%0%17%83%0%−46
Grade 7210%5%10%86%5%−43
Grade 8200%5%5%90%5%−41
Grade 11195%11%16%68%16%−33

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 ELA equal-school mean: 43.1%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 ELA equal-school mean: 44.6%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 ELA equal-school mean: 47.7%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 6 ELA equal-school mean: 46.1%; n=4084 reporting schools

State grade 7 ELA equal-school mean: 47.6%; n=2631 reporting schools

State grade 8 ELA equal-school mean: 46.2%; n=2658 reporting schools

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 3180%0%6%94%0%−45
Grade 4220%0%9%91%0%−41
Grade 5110%0%9%91%0%−35
Grade 6180%11%22%67%11%−23
Grade 7200%5%5%90%5%−29
Grade 8200%0%10%90%0%−32
Grade 11195%0%11%84%5%−18

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 Math equal-school mean: 45.4%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 Math equal-school mean: 41.3%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 Math equal-school mean: 35.0%; n=5724 reporting schools

State grade 6 Math equal-school mean: 34.5%; n=4086 reporting schools

State grade 7 Math equal-school mean: 33.7%; n=2630 reporting schools

State grade 8 Math equal-school mean: 32.1%; n=2658 reporting schools

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 3 · ELA210.0%
2024 · Grade 4 · ELA156.7%
2024 · Grade 5 · ELA166.3%
2024 · Grade 6 · ELA195.3%
2024 · Grade 7 · ELA195.3%
2024 · Grade 8 · ELA128.3%
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA1526.7%
2024 · Grade 3 · Math210.0%
2024 · Grade 4 · Math156.7%
2024 · Grade 5 · Math166.3%
2024 · Grade 6 · Math195.3%
2024 · Grade 7 · Math195.3%
2024 · Grade 8 · Math120.0%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math156.7%
2023 · Grade 3 · ELA9—
2023 · Grade 4 · ELA170.0%
2023 · Grade 5 · ELA205.0%
2023 · Grade 6 · ELA1711.8%
2023 · Grade 7 · ELA10—
2023 · Grade 8 · ELA130.0%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA7—
2023 · Grade 3 · Math9—
2023 · Grade 4 · Math175.9%
2023 · Grade 5 · Math200.0%
2023 · Grade 6 · Math175.9%
2023 · Grade 7 · Math10—
2023 · Grade 8 · Math137.7%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math8—
2022 · Grade 3 · ELA990.0%
2022 · Grade 4 · ELA9910.5%
2022 · Grade 5 · ELA995.9%
2022 · Grade 6 · ELA99—
2022 · Grade 7 · ELA999.1%
2022 · Grade 8 · ELA99—
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA994.8%
2022 · Grade 3 · Math996.7%
2022 · Grade 4 · Math9910.5%
2022 · Grade 5 · Math990.0%
2022 · Grade 6 · Math99—
2022 · Grade 7 · Math990.0%
2022 · Grade 8 · Math99—
2022 · Grade 11 · Math990.0%
2019 · Grade 3 · ELA80—
2019 · Grade 4 · ELA800.0%
2019 · Grade 5 · ELA8011.1%
2019 · Grade 6 · ELA80—
2019 · Grade 7 · ELA80—
2019 · Grade 8 · ELA800.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA800.0%
2019 · Grade 3 · Math79—
2019 · Grade 4 · Math796.3%
2019 · Grade 5 · Math7911.1%
2019 · Grade 6 · Math79—
2019 · Grade 7 · Math79—
2019 · Grade 8 · Math790.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math79—

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide510%2%55%43%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Students with Disabilities1294.7%+0−12
Hispanic/Latino395.1%+0−33
Nearest elementary schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 3 vs grade 5, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
California School for the Deaf-Riverside ←—10bottom percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 20250.0%1.5%+4.5pp—1.0%
Victoria Elementary0.3 mi3855th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202513.6%36.2%+13.3pp—3.5%
Washington Elementary0.6 mi2418th percentile · Needs Support · statewide · 202511.2%27.5%−1.6pp—3.3%
Pachappa Elementary1 mi4161st percentile · Solid · statewide · 202524.2%52.0%−2.4pp—0.8%
California average—39School average · no percentile21.4%42.7%−2.9pp—1.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders1.4%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201910/1000#5441California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,484 schools
202211/1001#5631California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,704 schools
202313/1003#5513California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,696 schools
202413/1001#5607California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,711 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 28.4% → 2025 · 29.5% · +1.1pp
Suspension rate2024 · 1.1% → 2025 · 0.8% · −0.3pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA1290.8%4.7%
2025 · Math1280.8%3.1%
2024 · ELA1170.0%7.7%
2024 · Math1170.0%4.3%
2023 · ELA931.1%5.4%
2023 · Math940.0%4.3%
2022 · ELA994.0%6.1%
2022 · Math991.0%4.0%
2019 · ELA802.5%3.8%
2019 · Math791.3%5.1%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———2.8%7.1%21.6%5.8%—
2022———2.7%5.6%41.5%5.2%-0.4pp
2023———1.3%2.7%32.4%0.9%—
2024———0.0%4.3%26.4%1.2%+6.3pp
2025100#56850.0%1.5%26.9%1.0%+4.5pp

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 3 vs grade 5 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
What we can't show
  • — Scored here as an elementary school — other grade spans appear in the data appendix.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female23.1%34.9%+11.8pp
Male29.0%24.7%-4.3pp
Black/African American21.7%38.5%+16.8pp
Hispanic/Latino30.9%32.5%+1.6pp
Two or More Races7.1%——
White18.7%22.3%+3.6pp
Students with Disabilities26.3%29.5%+3.2pp
English Learners25.6%——
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged29.8%39.7%+9.9pp
All Students26.3%29.5%+3.2pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count5
AP enrollment11
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not offered
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections3
Total enrollment (CRDC)364

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−3484Minimal−1583Moderate
English Only−3384not categorised−1583not categorised
Students with Disabilities−3484Minimal−1583Moderate
Hispanic or Latino−3252Minimal−2151Minimal
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged−3632Minimal−3031Minimal
White−3929Minimal−329Average

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures
California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

84 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: −34 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 1st percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.1st pctile · −34 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

83 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: −15 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 11th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.11th pctile · −15 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California elementary school records, the median ELA estimate is +2 and the middle half fall between −5 and +9 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

10ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 92506
ShowHide table 10 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 92506
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$121,459
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)40.76%
ZCTA population45,086
Median age40.0 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/california-school-for-the-deaf-riverside-0834"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="California School for the Deaf-Riverside — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=5,721 elementary schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction