ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

William J. Johnston Community DayPublicSan Pedro, CAGrades 7-1257 students

William J. Johnston Community Day: A community day school. No Scope Score publishes here.

A Scope Score ranks schools a family can choose between. At William J. Johnston Community Day, students are placed here after expulsion or by district or probation referral — so a comparative rank would measure something a family's choice never entered. We show what California reports and hold the rank.

community day school

no score · no band · no rank — enrollment assigned, not chosen

57 students · placed after expulsion or referral

Every figure below is California's own, reported for this school and shown without a rank. Why we withhold a score →

William J. Johnston Community Day is a community day school in San Pedro, California. SchoolScope publishes no Scope Score, performance band, archetype or ranking for schools where enrollment is assigned rather than chosen, so its CDE CAASPP 2025 results appear here unranked.

33 students were tested here on last year's CAASPP. 0.0% met or exceeded the standard; 0.0% exceeded it.

Chronic absenteeism ran 54.0%; the suspension rate was 1.6%. California reports both the same way it does for every school — this page just doesn't rank them here.

If you're trying to understand this school

Families don't choose a court or community school off this page — a student arrives through the court, a probation department, or a district referral. For a specific student, the county office of education or the district's alternative-education office is the right first call.

  • Ask how credits earned here transfer back to a student's home school.
  • Ask what continuity of services looks like when a student moves between this program and a comprehensive campus.
  • Ask what happens to a student's education plan after they leave.
CAASPP 2024–25

This school against the California average

2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school0%0%52.4%0.0%54.0%1.6%
CA average · High School (for reference)20%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
% Exceeded0%20%
% Met+0%43%
Grad rate52.4%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence54.0%23.1%
Suspension1.6%3.3%
Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 0% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 0%, district —, state 43%0%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 0%, district 36%, state 32%0%
MaleMale: this school 0%, district 41%, state 42%0%

9 of 12 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended less, than the state average.

Grades 9–12 students miss school at roughly twice the rate of Grades 7–8 students (76.6% vs 40.0%). Chronic absence here concentrates in the upper grades.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 54.0%, district 22.8%, state 23.1%54.0%
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 1.6%, district —, state 3.3%1.6%
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 7–840.0%
Grades 9–1276.6%
2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Where the class of 2023 went
13%enrolled in college within a year
  • California community college2 (13%)
  • Not enrolled13 (87%)

CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate, class of 2023 · % = count ÷ completers, our arithmetic

See the full roll →
The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 8 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher8 · district 20
Teaching staff7 teachers
Avg. experience21.6 years
Fully credentialed78%
PrincipalMarcos Navas
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$60,420 – $122,706
Principal salary$154,576 – $170,030
Superintendent salary$440,000

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

What gets spent · FY 2024–25

It spends $59,246 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$4,506 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

The district's current expense of education per student, from CDE's annual SACS filing — the freshest district spending figure the state publishes.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $59,246, CA average $14,491$59,246 · spent at this school
Federal share$4,506 per student
District current expense · FY 2024–25$29,292 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 52%Instruction support 16%Student services 12%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 2%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,180 per pupil
2019$16,355 per pupil
2018$15,793 per pupil
2017$13,247 per pupil
2016$13,549 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

Who is enrolled

Nearly all of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 57 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 0% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino71.9% · district 73.2% · CA 56.1%
White5.3% · district 9.9% · CA 19.9%
Black17.5% · district 7.2% · CA 4.8%
Other5.3% · district 6.3% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 35.1% · Male 64.9%
Free or reduced lunch96.5% · CA 64%
Nearby schools
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Everything California reports about this school, shown without a rank — grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, climate, and the nearest schools.

01Score factors (not combined)the dimensions a Scope Score would weigh, shown against California · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate52.4%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard0.0%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded0.0%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism54.0%23.1%5%
Suspension rate1.6%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
vs CA 92.5%
Exceeded standard
vs CA 19.8%
College readiness
vs CA 43.0%
Met or exceeded
vs CA 43.2%
Chronic absenteeism
vs CA 23.1%
Suspension rate
vs CA 3.3%
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET+
Grade 710—————
Grade 84—————
Grade 11190%0%5%95%0%
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET+
Grade 710—————
Grade 84—————
Grade 11190%0%0%100%0%

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide210%0%71%29%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged180.0%——
03Nearest high schoolsnearest by distance
SchoolDistEXCMET+Susp
William J. Johnston Community Day ←—0.0%0.0%1.6%
Dr. Richard A. Vladovic Harbor Teacher Preparation1.6 mi61.1%88.4%0.4%
Port of Los Angeles High2 mi35.8%66.3%1.0%
Humanities and Arts (HARTS) Academy of Los Angeles2.7 mi24.6%49.2%0.7%
California average—19.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
52.4%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
18.2%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
13.3%
YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
20193.6%9.2%58.4%1.9%
20220.0%9.1%55.6%2.4%
20230.0%4.8%59.7%3.7%
20240.0%2.5%57.2%3.0%
20250.0%0.0%54.0%1.6%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID)
What we can't show
  • — No Scope Score, performance band, archetype, or state rank publishes for this school — enrollment here is assigned, not chosen, so a comparative rank would mean something different than it does for a neighborhood school. See the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025
Female82.2%69.4%
Male73.2%72.6%
Black/African American76.9%79.2%
Hispanic/Latino78.5%68.8%
White72.7%—
Students with Disabilities84.9%82.9%
English Learners59.1%—
Foster Youth62.5%—
Homeless84.6%—
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged76.4%72.8%
All Students76.3%71.6%
06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections4
Total enrollment (CRDC)123

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college213.3%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1386.7%

15 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 13% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction