Public school · Corcoran Joint Unified

Mark Twain Elementary

Corcoran · 4–5 · 454 students (2024–25)

Well below California in English and math: 30% and 18% met or exceeded the standard in grades 4 and 5, against 47% and 39% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 4 and 5: 445 in English, 446 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 4 and 5 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 826,162 in English and 832,484 in math tested).

Mark Twain Elementary has no 2025 Scope Score.

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

Are children building strong foundations?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 4 and 5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
10%
Met standard
20%
Below standard
70%

30% met or exceeded · 445 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded10%24%
Met20%23%
Nearly met22%20%
Not met48%33%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 4 and 5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
7%
Met standard
11%
Below standard
82%

18% met or exceeded · 446 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded7%20%
Met11%19%
Nearly met27%27%
Not met55%34%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Reading and math results for the tested grades. These do not measure the experience in kindergarten or the early grades.

Ask: How do you help children who need more support in reading or math, and those ready for more challenge?

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 4 and 5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school30%
California47%

Tested: 445 here · 826,162 in California.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded10%24%
Met20%23%
Nearly met22%20%
Not met48%33%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 4 and 5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school18%
California39%

Tested: 446 here · 832,484 in California.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCalifornia
Exceeded7%20%
Met11%19%
Nearly met27%27%
Not met55%34%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

Are students making progress?

The state’s growth measure418 students in English, 417 in math · grades 4–5 · 2025
English−3ptsCDE category: Average
Math−10ptsCDE category: Moderate

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

Ask: Math is lower than in 2019 here (25% to 18%) and across California (41% to 39%). How does the school check what’s working in math?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

13 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25

62 of 474 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school13 in 100
5.2%of students were suspended at least once (25 of 482), 2024–25

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 4 and 5 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

404 English · 405 math tested

English27% / 36%
Math17% / 27%

Hispanic or Latino

411 English · 412 math tested

English30% / 37%
Math18% / 27%

English learners

70 English · 72 math tested

English1% / 12%
Math1% / 12%

Students with disabilities

43 tested per subject

English7% / 19%
Math7% / 16%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 4 and 5 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Corcoran Joint Unifiedvs California
Low-income · 404 tested in English, 405 in math
English27%027%−936%
Math17%017%−1027%
Hispanic or Latino · 411 tested in English, 412 in math
English30%030%−737%
Math18%018%−927%
English learners · 70 tested in English, 72 in math
English1%01%−1112%
Math1%01%−1112%
Students with disabilities · 43 tested
English7%07%−1219%
Math7%07%−916%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Corcoran Joint Unified, and across California. None is green: no group that is behind statewide does 10 or more points better here than the same group statewide.

White and homeless students: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Asian, Black or African American, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander and military-family students, students of two or more races and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income and Hispanic or Latino students and English learners did worse than the same groups statewide. Students with disabilities did worse than the same group statewide in English.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Mark Twain Elementary in Corcoran, 27.2% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 4 and 5, compared to 27.4% district-wide for those same grades and 36.0% statewide for those same grades. Mark Twain Elementary’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 0.2 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (17.3% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (29.9% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 28.4 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 404 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 92%2. White: 5%Unallocated share: 3%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino92%
  2. White5%
  3. Asian—
  4. Black or African American—
  5. Filipino—
  6. Two or more races—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share3%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino92%
White5%
Asian—
Black or African American—
Filipino—
Two or more races—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

9 in 10 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (90%, 410 of 454). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers24
Average experience10 years
First-year teachers4%
91% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 91.49%: 21.5 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 23.5 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryMark Twain ElementaryThis campus · grades 4-5
  2. MiddleJohn Muir MiddleNearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder
  3. High schoolCorcoran HighHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • John C. Fremont Elementary

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Middle-school links

  • John Muir Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    10th percentile · Needs Support · middle · 2025

High-school links

  • Corcoran High

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    68th percentile · Solid · high · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

High-school endpoint evidence · Corcoran High
Corcoran HighScope 62historical direct overlap

The road from this school ends at Corcoran High. UC records 10 enrollees from Corcoran High for fall 2025. Its AP Course Audit lists 1 authorized AP subject for 2025 - 2026. Those figures come from dated records — a child starting here today would reach Corcoran High around 2035, and 10 years is a long time for a school to hold still, and by the state's 2023 count 67% of Corcoran High's graduates enrolled in college somewhere, UC or not.

10 UC enrollees (fall 2025) · 1 authorized AP subjects (AP Course Audit 2025 - 2026) → full record on Corcoran High's page
Source: UC & College Board AP Course Ledger

Getting in

Ask Corcoran Joint Unified which school serves your address.

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
1500 Oregon Avenue, Corcoran 93212

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Math is lower than in 2019 here (25% to 18%) and across California (41% to 39%). How does the school check what’s working in math?
  2. How do you teach early reading and check each child’s progress?
  3. What does extra support or enrichment look like during the school day?
  4. What are the school-day hours and after-school care options?

Call (559) 992-8888 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Similar student populations

A matched list is not available for this profile yet. It requires dated enrollment and meal-eligibility records for this school and its peers; nearby lists, when available, use distance.

Common questions

Why does SchoolScope show no score for Mark Twain Elementary?

Dated CDE assessment records appear below when available. SchoolScope displays this profile without a combined score, band, or rank for 2025.

See the dated CDE rows in the source record. Reported results do not by themselves supply a SchoolScope score or rank.

Source records

Explore the data

Available school measures and source details, shown without a score or rank.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Dated CDE assessment records appear below when available. SchoolScope displays this profile without a combined score, band, or rank for 2025.

01CDE assessment recordsCDE CAASPP 2025 · raw grade–subject rows

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

All Grades is an aggregate, not another group of students. Same-year grade groups are not matched children. An unavailable or suppressed result is marked as missing; it does not establish a reported zero.

CDE CAASPP test year 2025 · all-students reporting group · publisher grade–subject records.
Grade · subjectStudents tested with scoresMet or exceededExceededMetNearly metNot metMean scale score
Grade 4 · ELA · 2025210 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 29.05%Exceeded 12.38%Met 16.67%Nearly met 25.24%Not met 45.71%Mean scale score 2421.7
Grade 5 · ELA · 2025235 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 30.64%Exceeded 8.51%Met 22.13%Nearly met 19.57%Not met 49.79%Mean scale score 2447.5
All Grades · ELA · 2025445 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 29.89%Exceeded 10.34%Met 19.55%Nearly met 22.25%Not met 47.87%Mean scale score unavailable
Grade 4 · Math · 2025210 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 23.33%Exceeded 7.62%Met 15.71%Nearly met 35.24%Not met 41.43%Mean scale score 2424.1
Grade 5 · Math · 2025236 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 13.98%Exceeded 6.36%Met 7.63%Nearly met 18.22%Not met 67.8%Mean scale score 2425.5
All Grades · Math · 2025446 tested with scoresMet or exceeded 18.39%Exceeded 6.95%Met 11.43%Nearly met 26.23%Not met 55.38%Mean scale score unavailable
By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET+
Grade 421012%17%25%46%29%
Grade 52359%22%20%50%31%

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 4 ELA equal-school mean: 44.6%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 ELA equal-school mean: 47.7%; n=5721 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET+
Grade 42108%16%35%41%23%
Grade 52366%8%18%68%14%

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 4 Math equal-school mean: 41.3%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 Math equal-school mean: 35.0%; n=5724 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 4 · ELA22627.0%
2024 · Grade 5 · ELA24927.7%
2024 · Grade 4 · Math22924.0%
2024 · Grade 5 · Math25215.1%
2023 · Grade 4 · ELA25929.0%
2023 · Grade 5 · ELA24627.2%
2023 · Grade 4 · Math25818.6%
2023 · Grade 5 · Math24716.6%
2022 · Grade 4 · ELA50830.9%
2022 · Grade 5 · ELA50824.4%
2022 · Grade 4 · Math51021.4%
2022 · Grade 5 · Math5108.0%
2019 · Grade 4 · ELA53534.5%
2019 · Grade 5 · ELA53536.8%
2019 · Grade 4 · Math53830.3%
2019 · Grade 5 · Math53819.5%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide2363%12%50%35%

CAST is an independent assessment. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged40427.2%——
Hispanic/Latino41129.9%——
English Learners701.4%——
03More measuressource records · no composite history

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders4.3%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$71,070 – $132,219
Average elementary principal salary$154,060
Average middle school principal salary$160,779
Average high school principal salary$172,296
Superintendent salary$222,000

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 16.5% → 2025 · 13.1% · −3.4pp
Suspension rate2024 · 4.8% → 2025 · 5.2% · +0.4pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA44510.3%29.9%
2025 · Math4467.0%18.4%
2024 · ELA4758.6%27.4%
2024 · Math4814.6%19.3%
2023 · ELA50512.1%28.1%
2023 · Math5055.0%17.6%
2022 · ELA50810.6%27.6%
2022 · Math5103.9%14.5%
2019 · ELA53510.7%35.7%
2019 · Math5387.3%24.7%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

CDE CAASPP 2025: 4 individual grade–subject records; 4 records with a positive known tested count.

0 grade–subject counts unavailable; 0 grade–subject attainment rates unavailable. SchoolScope does not publish a Scope Score, band, or rank for this peer class in 2025.

Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25
Female11.1%13.1%
Male12.1%13.1%
Black/African American17.6%—
Hispanic/Latino11.1%12.6%
White12.5%20.8%
Students with Disabilities19.7%19.6%
English Learners9.5%15.2%
Homeless41.7%10.7%
Military-Connected8.3%18.8%
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged12.2%14.1%
All Students11.6%13.1%

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−3418Average−10417Moderate
Hispanic or Latino−4391Average−10390Moderate
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged−4381Average−10380Moderate
English Only−5264not categorised−11263not categorised
English Learner−1140Average−9140Moderate
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only+1377not categorised−277not categorised
English Learners Only−1463not categorised−1463not categorised
Students with Disabilities−2237Minimal−2337Minimal
Homeless Youth+320Average+420Average
White+518Accelerated−1718Moderate

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction, not a percentage or percentile. All imported groups remain visible; a missing group has no imported record shown here. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures
California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

418 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: −3 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 34th percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.34th pctile · −3 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

417 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: −10 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 20th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.20th pctile · −10 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California elementary school records, the median ELA estimate is +2 and the middle half fall between −5 and +9 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$14,582 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 3,257 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$342 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 454

Central federal expenditures attributed here$926 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 454

District current expense · FY 2024–25$19,767 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 57%Instruction support 14%Student services 9%Administration 7%Buildings & maintenance 11%Other 2%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$14,582 per pupil
2020$13,543 per pupil
2019$13,054 per pupil
2018$12,004 per pupil
2017$11,601 per pupil
08ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 93212
ShowHide table 08 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 93212
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$58,244
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)4.23%
ZCTA population23,142
Median age35.5 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

What we can't show
  • — No Scope Score: the composite a score is built from isn't on file for this school this year, so no score, band or rank publishes.
  • — Our own growth index and the comparisons to nearby schools are built from that same composite, so they don't publish either — California's separate matched-student growth model is not, and still appears below wherever CDE reports it.

Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · Data updated 2026-09-27. An unavailable or suppressed result is marked as missing; it does not establish a reported zero.

Data source: California Department of Education for CAASPP 2024–25 assessments only. SchoolScope publishes no Scope Score, band or rank for this school for 2025. Neighborhood context: ACS 2024. The enrollment count has no verified year here; staffing and finance show their separate sources and periods beside those figures. Data updated 2026-09-27.methodology · data updates · report issue

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction