Public school · Westminster

Jessie Hayden Elementary

Midway City · TK–5 · 514 students (2024–25)

59thpercentileSolid

Top: Westminster’s other 12 scored elementary schools. Bottom: California’s 5,721 scored public elementary schools by Scope Score, spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
40 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Above California in English and math: 55% and 48% met or exceeded the standard in grades 3–5, against 46% and 41% statewide. Source
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grades 3–5: 251 in English, 253 in math
Comparison
California: CDE’s statewide grade 3, 4 and 5 rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 1,232,086 in English and 1,241,652 in math tested).
How to enroll
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four elementary schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

Are children building strong foundations?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
34%
Met standard
21%
Below standard
45%

55% met or exceeded · 251 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaWestminster
Exceeded34%24%29%
Met21%22%23%
Nearly met19%21%21%
Not met26%33%27%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
22%
Met standard
26%
Below standard
52%

48% met or exceeded · 253 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaWestminster
Exceeded22%21%22%
Met26%20%24%
Nearly met23%25%26%
Not met29%34%28%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Reading and math results for the tested grades. These do not measure the experience in kindergarten or the early grades.

Ask: How do you help children who need more support in reading or math, and those ready for more challenge?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
35 of 539 students missed 10% or more of school days: about half the rate at the average Westminster school.2024–25
6 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 539
Comparison
35 of 539. District and California figures are averages of school rates (13 Westminster schools; 5,721 scored California elementary schools), our calculation.
Low-income students here (218 tested in English, 220 in math, grades 3–5, spring 2025) met or exceeded the standard far more often than low-income students across California in the same grades (35% and 30%).grades 3–5 · spring 2025
51%English · met or exceeded43%Math · met or exceeded
Source
CDE CAASPP research file, spring 2025
Students
low-income students (CDE: “socioeconomically disadvantaged”) in grades 3–5: 218 in English, 220 in math
Comparison
California: the same group in the same grades, CDE’s statewide rows combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation). Both gaps are more than twice the margin of error for 218 students in English and 220 in math.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school55%
California46%

Tested: 251 here · 1,232,086 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school55%
Westminster52%

Tested: 251 here · 2,403 in Westminster. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 13 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaWestminster
Exceeded34%24%29%
Met21%22%23%
Nearly met19%21%21%
Not met26%33%27%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Math

grades 3–5Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school48%
California41%

Tested: 253 here · 1,241,652 in California.

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school48%
Westminster46%

Tested: 253 here · 2,443 in Westminster. District public schools combined, weighted by students tested · 13 schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereCaliforniaWestminster
Exceeded22%21%22%
Met26%20%24%
Nearly met23%25%26%
Not met29%34%28%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. State comparison combines the same grades, weighted by students tested.

Progress over time

Are students making progress?

The state’s growth measure171 students · grades 4–5 · 2025
English−1ptsCDE category: Average
Math−8ptsCDE category: Moderate

Points above or below what the state expected from the same students’ earlier scores.

Ask: Math is lower than in 2019 here (61% to 48%) and across California (44% to 41%). How does the school check what’s working in math?

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

6 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
11in 100 at the average Westminster school18in 100 at the average California elementary school

35 of 539 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school6 in 100
at the average Westminster school11 in 100
at the average California elementary school18 in 100
0of 546 students were suspended at least once, 2024–25
0.8%at the average Westminster school1.6%at the average California elementary school
Attendance by grade
Chronically absent, 2024–25Per 100 studentsStudents
TK and kindergarten811 of 136
Grades 1–3716 of 216
Grades 4–548 of 187

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grades 3–5 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereCaliforniaEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

218 English · 220 math tested

English51% / 35%
Math43% / 30%

Asian

143 English · 145 math tested

English70% / 71%
Math66% / 71%

Hispanic or Latino

96 tested per subject

English34% / 36%
Math23% / 30%

English learners

83 English · 85 math tested

English13% / 13%
Math18% / 15%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrades 3–5 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Westminstervs California
Low-income · 218 tested in English, 220 in math
English51%+546%+1635%
Math43%+439%+1330%
Asian · 143 tested in English, 145 in math
English70%+466%−171%
Math66%+264%−571%
Hispanic or Latino · 96 tested
English34%−438%−236%
Math23%−629%−730%
English learners · 83 tested in English, 85 in math
English13%−215%013%
Math18%+117%+315%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject: in Westminster, and across California. ■ Green: a group that is behind statewide does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

Homeless students and students with disabilities: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Black or African American, Filipino, White, American Indian or Alaska Native, Pacific Islander and military-family students, students of two or more races and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

Low-income students here did far better than the same group statewide.

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Jessie Hayden Elementary in Midway City, 51.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 3, 4 and 5, compared to 46.0% district-wide for those same grades and 35.2% statewide for those same grades. Jessie Hayden Elementary’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 5.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (43.2% met or exceeded the Math standard); Asian students (69.9% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 41.8 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 218 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Asian: 55%2. Hispanic or Latino: 39%3. White: 3%Unallocated share: 3%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Asian55%
  2. Hispanic or Latino39%
  3. White3%
  4. Black or African American—
  5. Filipino—
  6. Two or more races—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share3%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Asian55%
Hispanic or Latino39%
White3%
Black or African American—
Filipino—
Two or more races—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

4 in 5 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (80%, 412 of 514). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers33
Average experience17 years
First-year teachers6%
90% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 90.16%: 27.5 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 30.5 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

The school path beyond this campus

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementaryJessie Hayden ElementaryThis campus · grades K-5
  2. MiddleWarner MiddleHistorical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16
  3. High schoolLink not recordedAsk the district about this stage.
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Middle-school links

  • Warner Middle

    Historical majority-area link · NCES SABS 2015–16

    80th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

    100% historical overlap of origin attendance-zone area · not a share of students

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Westminster which school serves your address.

hayden.wsdk8.us

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
14782 Eden Street, Midway City 92655

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Math is lower than in 2019 here (61% to 48%) and across California (44% to 41%). How does the school check what’s working in math?
  2. How do you teach early reading and check each child’s progress?
  3. What does extra support or enrichment look like during the school day?
  4. What are the school-day hours and after-school care options?

Call (714) 894-7261 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby elementary schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Similar student populations

Same school level, matched by enrollment and eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. This describes two aspects of the student population, not overall school fit.

Similar elementary schools2025 statewide percentile
  • Jenny Oropeza ElementaryLong Beach Unified · 519 enrolled · 80.2% meal eligibility31stDeveloping
  • Harry S. Truman ElementaryDesert Sands Unified · 635 enrolled · 80.2% meal eligibility28thDeveloping
  • Williamson ElementaryFolsom-Cordova Unified · 489 enrolled · 80.2% meal eligibility12thNeeds Support
  • AlilaEarlimart Elementary · 423 enrolled · 80.1% meal eligibility11thNeeds Support
  • Skyview AcademyPerris Elementary · 725 enrolled · 80.1% meal eligibility62ndSolid
  • Alianza CharterPajaro Valley Unified · 626 enrolled · 80.2% meal eligibility44thDeveloping
How these schools are matched

CDE meal-eligibility record, 2024–25. Matches use 72.2–88.2% meal eligibility and 257–1,028 enrolled students, at the same level and in the comprehensive public-school class. Ordered by population match, not academic results. They may be elsewhere in the state.

Common questions

Is Jessie Hayden Elementary a good elementary school?
Jessie Hayden Elementary is in the 59th percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter elementary schools. Its Scope Score is 40 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. In spring 2025, on California's state tests (CAASPP), Jessie Hayden Elementary was above California in English and math: 55% and 48% met or exceeded the standard in grades 3–5, against 46% and 41% statewide. The Scope Score combines 6 dimensions for elementary schools: exceeded standard, met or exceeded the standard, grade 3-to-5 growth, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Jessie Hayden Elementary's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 55% of students tested in grades 3–5 met or exceeded the English standard and 48% the math standard; 34% and 22% exceeded it. For the same grades, California's rate was 46% and 41% met or exceeded, 24% and 21% exceeded. 251 students were tested in English and 253 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; California's rate combines CDE's statewide grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Jessie Hayden Elementary rank in California?
Jessie Hayden Elementary is in the 59th percentile of 5,721 California comprehensive elementary schools (Solid, 2025). Jessie Hayden Elementary ranks #2,319 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), aggregate cohort comparison (2023 G3 → 2025 G5), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
Is Jessie Hayden Elementary getting better or worse?
SchoolScope compares Jessie Hayden Elementary's grade 3 results in 2023 with its grade 5 results in 2025, using school-level test aggregates. Students are not matched across years, and enrollment changes can affect the comparison. SchoolScope elementary standardized cohort gain: approximately 27th percentile on a calibrated reference scale, not an empirical school rank. This score compares school-level grade groups across ELA and Math, not matched students in California's separate growth model. It describes an aggregate change; it cannot establish how individual students progressed or what caused it. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Jessie Hayden Elementary?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 6.5% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 35 chronically absent of 539 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 0.0%; 0 unduplicated suspended students of 546 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 7.1%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 0.1%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Jessie Hayden Elementary compare to other schools in Midway City?
Jessie Hayden Elementary is in the 59th percentile (Solid) of California’s regular public and charter elementary schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 514 students. Use the schools in Midway City page or the map view to compare nearby elementary schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Jessie Hayden Elementary?
At Jessie Hayden Elementary in Midway City, 51.4% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grades 3, 4 and 5, compared to 46.0% district-wide for those same grades and 35.2% statewide for those same grades. Jessie Hayden Elementary’s rate for low-income students exceeds its district average by 5.4 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (43.2% met or exceeded the Math standard); Asian students (69.9% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 41.8 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 218 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
What middle school does Jessie Hayden Elementary feed into?
By attendance boundary, Jessie Hayden Elementary is zoned to Warner Middle. Warner Middle has a Scope Score of 52 out of 100. Boundaries come from the U.S. Department of Education's School Attendance Boundary Survey, a 2015-16 collection and the most recent national one — they are approximate and may since have changed. A boundary is also not a placement guarantee: magnet, charter, open-enrollment and inter-district transfer options mean students from one school often continue to several different ones. Confirm your address with the district before making an enrollment or housing decision. Data source: NCES School Attendance Boundary Survey, analyzed by SchoolScope.
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Jessie Hayden Elementary is ranked #2,319 statewide · #10 of 13 in Westminster.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Exceeded standard28.1%21.4%42%
Met or exceeded51.4%42.7%23%
Growth (2023 G3 → 2025 G5)Weakaverage20%
Chronic absenteeism7.1%17.9%5%
Suspension rate0.1%1.6%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)8.7%17.8%5%
Exceeded standard
↑ vs CA 21.4% · index 57 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↑ vs CA 42.7% · index 57 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint
Growth (2023 G3 → 2025 G5)
↓ vs CA average · ≈27th calibrated reference pctile
Chronic absenteeism
↑ vs CA 17.9% · index 68 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint · ▼ 0.9pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↑ vs CA 1.6% · index 63 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint · → no change vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 38 · 50 = CA elementary-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 37033%17%23%27%50%+7
Grade 49639%19%18%25%57%+13
Grade 58531%26%18%26%56%+9

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 ELA equal-school mean: 43.1%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 ELA equal-school mean: 44.6%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 ELA equal-school mean: 47.7%; n=5721 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 37127%25%17%31%52%+7
Grade 49728%26%24%23%54%+12
Grade 58512%27%27%34%39%+4

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 3 Math equal-school mean: 45.4%; n=5714 reporting schools

State grade 4 Math equal-school mean: 41.3%; n=5721 reporting schools

State grade 5 Math equal-school mean: 35.0%; n=5724 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 3 · ELA9657.3%
2024 · Grade 4 · ELA8748.3%
2024 · Grade 5 · ELA10755.1%
2024 · Grade 3 · Math9655.2%
2024 · Grade 4 · Math8953.9%
2024 · Grade 5 · Math10838.9%
2023 · Grade 3 · ELA9058.9%
2023 · Grade 4 · ELA10356.3%
2023 · Grade 5 · ELA10561.9%
2023 · Grade 3 · Math9057.8%
2023 · Grade 4 · Math10453.9%
2023 · Grade 5 · Math10537.1%
2022 · Grade 3 · ELA29058.5%
2022 · Grade 4 · ELA29056.6%
2022 · Grade 5 · ELA29062.4%
2022 · Grade 3 · Math29150.5%
2022 · Grade 4 · Math29148.5%
2022 · Grade 5 · Math29144.7%
2019 · Grade 3 · ELA40761.2%
2019 · Grade 4 · ELA40768.3%
2019 · Grade 5 · ELA40767.8%
2019 · Grade 3 · Math41466.7%
2019 · Grade 4 · Math41461.3%
2019 · Grade 5 · Math41454.2%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide859%32%41%18%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged21851.4%+5+16
Asian14369.9%+4−1
Hispanic/Latino9634.4%−4−2
Nearest elementary schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance · Grade gap = grade 3 vs grade 5, this year, different students; Cohort growth = school-level grade groups from different years, not matched children, in scale-score points — that's the measurement the Scope Score weights

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Grade gapCohort growthSusp
Jessie Hayden Elementary ←—4059th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202528.1%51.4%−3.4pp+61 pts0.1%
John Murdy Elementary0.8 mi6590th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202540.6%69.5%+13.7pp—0.7%
Demille Elementary0.9 mi4975th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202531.1%56.0%+7.9pp—0.6%
Leo Carrillo Elementary0.9 mi3239th percentile · Developing · statewide · 202513.7%34.3%−5.0pp—1.0%
California average—39School average · no percentile21.4%42.7%−2.9pp—1.6%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$54,278 – $137,806
Average elementary principal salary$141,307
Average middle school principal salary$141,307
Superintendent salary$362,430

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201961/10084#872California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,484 schools
202252/10078#1234California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,704 schools
202351/10077#1298California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,696 schools
202448/10072#1572California comprehensive elementary schools · 5,711 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 7.5% → 2025 · 6.5% · −1.0pp
Suspension rate2024 · 0.0% → 2025 · 0.0% · +0.0pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA25134.3%55.0%
2025 · Math25322.1%48.2%
2024 · ELA29034.5%53.8%
2024 · Math29325.3%48.8%
2023 · ELA29834.2%59.1%
2023 · Math29926.4%49.2%
2022 · ELA29035.9%59.0%
2022 · Math29125.4%48.1%
2019 · ELA40742.8%66.1%
2019 · Math41438.9%60.1%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSuspGrade gap
2019———41.0%63.2%4.1%0.5%-3.0pp
2022———30.4%53.5%15.2%0.3%-0.9pp
2023———30.5%54.3%17.6%1.0%-8.8pp
2024———29.6%51.5%8.1%0.1%-9.2pp
20254059#231928.1%51.4%7.1%0.1%-3.4pp

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

Grade gap = this year's grade 3 vs grade 5 result, two different sets of students, not a trend for any one child — it is not the measurement the Scope Score's growth dimension uses. See §01 above and /methodology#verdicts for the school's actual scored (cohort) growth.
NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female2.7%4.9%+2.2pp
Male5.1%8.1%+3.0pp
Asian2.7%2.0%-0.7pp
Hispanic/Latino6.4%12.8%+6.4pp
White8.3%14.3%+6.0pp
Students with Disabilities6.3%8.6%+2.3pp
English Learners4.1%6.3%+2.2pp
Homeless8.1%8.3%+0.2pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged4.2%7.5%+3.3pp
All Students3.9%6.5%+2.6pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

California growth model, by student groupInspect CDE growth-model records and group sample sizes.2025 · scale-score points vs the state's prediction · shown, never scored
GroupELAnCDE bandMathnCDE band
All Students−1171Average−8171Moderate
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged−3147Average−10147Moderate
English Learner−2111Average−4111Average
Asian+7101Accelerated−2101Average
Hispanic or Latino−1663Moderate−1863Moderate
Recently Reclassified Fluent-English Proficient Only+1362not categorised−562not categorised
English Learners Only−2249not categorised−449not categorised
English Only−748not categorised−1448not categorised
Students with Disabilities+619Accelerated+819Accelerated
Homeless Youth−3413Minimal−2013Moderate

CDE reports scale-score points versus its growth-model prediction — not a percentage or percentile. The table keeps the group records SchoolScope imported for this school, including rows below our narrative display threshold. Muted rows have fewer than 30 students with a valid growth score. SchoolScope uses that threshold for the shorter narrative view; the reported values stay visible here. “Not categorised” means this imported CDE row has a growth value without a performance category. CDE labels at least one imported estimate here WEIGHTED; that describes its aggregation method, not a year-over-year trend. A group absent from this table has no imported record shown here. Its absence alone does not establish its size or performance. CDE growth covers grades 4–8. SchoolScope does not use these CDE figures in its Scope Score.

Growth source detailSeparate historical trends, cohort comparisons and matched growth.CDE matched-student model and school-grade cohort record · distinct measures

School-grade cohort proxy · ELA endpoints

ELA · 2023 · Grade 3
38%
exceeded standard · 59% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2023 · 90 ELA test records with scores
ELA · 2025 · Grade 5
31%
exceeded standard · 56% met or exceeded
CDE CAASPP 2025 · 85 ELA test records with scores

Minimum rounded subject-mean records with scores at the endpoints: 85 (school-grade cohort proxy).

These paired percentages describe ELA results for grade groups at this school in two years. The groups are not matched students. SchoolScope's scored growth measure uses a different school-level scale-score proxy across ELA and Math; California's matched-student model is a separate measure.

California growth model · reported-school field
State model · ELAmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

171 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,519 reported ELA ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, ELA: −1 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 41st percentile of 7,519 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.41st pctile · −1 pts
State model · mathmatched students, grades 4-8
Source and benchmark

CDE California growth model · 2025 Dashboard

Weighted school estimate; assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25

ALL students, grades 4–8

171 students

estimate WEIGHTED

SchoolScope midrank among 7,518 reported MATH ALL school records in its retained school inventory

California growth model, math: −8 scale-score points versus the state's expectation, 24th percentile of 7,518 reported schools in SchoolScope's retained inventory.24th pctile · −8 pts
this school| center tick: 50th percentile in SchoolScope's retained-school field, calculated separately for ELA and Math

Source notes. CDE reports scale-score points versus its prediction for matched students, never a percentage. Among SchoolScope's retained California elementary school records, the median ELA estimate is +2 and the middle half fall between −5 and +9 scale-score points — the spread is wide, so read its position among reported schools, not the sign. CDE's 2025 Dashboard weighted school estimate uses assessments from 2022–23, 2023–24, and 2024–25; adjacent reporting editions should not be read as independent annual changes. The CDE measure covers grades 4–8 and is not part of the Scope Score.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$14,251 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 8,607 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$181 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 514

Central federal expenditures attributed here$1,750 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 514

District current expense · FY 2024–25$22,558 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 68%Instruction support 11%Student services 5%Administration 8%Buildings & maintenance 8%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$14,251 per pupil
2020$12,745 per pupil
2019$12,293 per pupil
2018$11,694 per pupil
2017$11,593 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 92655
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 92655
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$66,308
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)19.36%
ZCTA population8,026
Median age42.4 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/jessie-hayden-elementary-0829"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Jessie Hayden Elementary — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=5,721 elementary schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction