Continuation high school · Capistrano Unified

Capistrano Union High

San Juan Capistrano · 9–12 · 103 students (2024–25)

Compared only with other continuation schools: higher than 92 in 100 of California’s 277 continuation high schools we score.

92ndpercentileStrong

The dots are California’s 277 scored continuation high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. How it’s built ›

Scope Score
32 / 100

Weighted composite · 2025
Not a grade or a test result.

See this school’s score factors ↓
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
In 2024–25, 92% of the class graduated in four years (56 of 61); across California’s continuation high schools, 75%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 61
Comparison
Continuation high schools: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 379 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 21,329 of 28,373).
About placement
Compare

Compare schools

Choose up to four high schools.

Type at least two characters to search.

Save

Academic achievement

Beyond a single score: who exceeds, meets or is still approaching the standard.

Learning

How are students doing in English and math?

Exceeded standardMet standardBelow standard

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
5%
Met standard
19%
Below standard
76%

24% met or exceeded · 62 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereContinuation schools
Exceeded5%2%
Met19%11%
Nearly met34%25%
Not met42%62%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. Reference combines schools in the same enrollment class.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

Exceeded standard
0%
Met standard
0%
Below standard
100%

0% met or exceeded · 61 tested

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereContinuation schools
Exceeded0%1%
Met0%2%
Nearly met11%6%
Not met89%91%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. Reference combines schools in the same enrollment class.

What these tests tell you · what to ask

Grade 11 tests are one part of the picture. Graduation, preparation and college destinations answer different questions below.

Ask: How do you help students strengthen their skills while keeping graduation and post-school plans on track?

Things worth knowing

Open a finding for the evidence
In grade 11, 24% met or exceeded the standard in English, against 13% at other continuation high schools.grade 11 · spring 2025
24%English · met or exceeded the standard
Source
CDE CAASPP Smarter Balanced results, spring 2025
Students
all students tested in grade 11
Comparison
Continuation high schools: the grade 11 results of 337 continuation schools combined, weighted by students tested (our calculation; 18,721 in English tested).
78 of 164 students missed 10% or more of school days: about two thirds of the rate at the average California continuation high school.2024–25
48 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
Source
CDE chronic absenteeism file, 2024–25
Students
all students counted for chronic absence (CDE’s eligible enrollment): 164
Comparison
78 of 164. The California figure is an average of school rates (277 scored California continuation high schools), our calculation.

Comparisons & progress

Put today’s results in context, then follow the longer view.

Same grades, same year

How does this school compare?

English

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school24%
Continuation schools13%

Tested: 62 here · 18,721 in Continuation schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereContinuation schools
Exceeded5%2%
Met19%11%
Nearly met34%25%
Not met42%62%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. Reference combines schools in the same enrollment class.

Math

grade 11Spring 2025

All students tested

How it compares · met or exceeded

Same grades · spring 2025 · 0–100%

This school0%
Continuation schools3%

Tested: 61 here · 18,600 in Continuation schools.

Explore the results & sources
LevelHereContinuation schools
Exceeded0%1%
Met0%2%
Nearly met11%6%
Not met89%91%

Below standard combines nearly met and not met. The full track represents all students tested. Share of students tested. Data source: California Department of Education, spring 2025. Reference combines schools in the same enrollment class.

Life at school

Explore the available evidence about the school day and opportunities.

After graduation

Do students finish prepared, and where do they go?

Preparation · separate measures and cohorts

Graduated in four years

92%

California continuation schools: 75%

2024–25 · 56 of 61 students in the four-year cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, adjusted cohort graduation records. Comparison is SchoolScope’s combination of graduates and cohort counts across the reference schools, not CDE’s published state rate.

College / career Prepared

5%

2024–25 · Students in the CDE College/Career Indicator cohort

Source and definition

California Department of Education, College/Career Indicator overall Prepared. Prepared is CDE’s overall classification, not AP participation or a college admission rate.

Completed UC/CSU courses

0%

2024–25 · High-school graduates completing A–G

Source and definition

California Department of Education, A–G completion records. Course completion is separate from college enrollment.

Destinations · class of 2023

Where graduates went

30% enrolled in college within 12 months · 66 high-school completers

  • University of California0 · 0%
  • California State University0 · 0%
  • California community college18 · 27%
  • In-state private0 · 0%
  • Out-of-state, 4-year1 · 2%
  • Out-of-state, 2-year1 · 2%
  • Not enrolled46 · 70%

Source: CDE college-going records, class of 2023. Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash is unavailable, not zero. “Not enrolled” does not describe employment, military service or other routes.

One destination in detail

University of California

UC fall 2020 entry · matched school records · counts, not a school rating

Applied
5
Admitted
3
Enrolled
Masked

Source: UC admissions by source school. “Masked” gives no numeric bound; “+” marks a partial count; a dash is unavailable.

UC years and campus records

UC reports fall first-year applicants, admits and enrollees separately. These records do not establish the school’s effect on admission. “+” is a partial SchoolScope sum across linked codes; missing contributions may be zero. A reported zero remains zero. Never assume zero or a positive hidden value for missing or masked counts.

  • Fall 2020Applied 5 · Admitted 3 · Enrolled Masked
  • Fall 2008Applied 22 · Admitted 18 · Enrolled 3
  • Fall 2007Applied 6 · Admitted Masked · Enrolled Masked
Courses and opportunities

What could my child study here?

Courses, access and preparation

AP course or exam pathway qualifiers
1 of 3 Prepared students · 33.3%

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI, all students · 61 eligible students. Cohort includes the current four-year graduation cohort and only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Qualifies through two AP exams scored 3+, two AP courses completed with C− or better, or a qualifying combination in different subjects. Share among Prepared students, not all exam takers or course authorizations.

Career pathway: CCI CTE+ qualifiers
0 students

2024–25

Source and what this counts

CDE CCI: completed a CTE pathway with C− or better in its capstone plus an additional criterion. Not all CTE completers or a list of courses offered. Zero qualifiers does not establish whether CTE is offered.

Ask before choosing courses

Which courses will run when my child attends, what prerequisites apply, and how do students get support entering advanced or career pathways?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

48 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
73in 100 at the average California continuation high school

78 of 164 students missed 10% or more of school days.

This school48 in 100
at the average California continuation high school73 in 100
9.6%of students were suspended at least once (16 of 166), 2024–25
6.5%at the average California continuation high school

Reviews & community voices

Parents’ experience · the school as a workplace

Parent voices

Parent reviews are not available on this profile yet.

Ask current families about communication, belonging and support when a child needs help.

Teacher & staff voices

School-level teacher and staff feedback is not available on this profile yet.

Ask about staff continuity, collaboration and support across the school.

Bring these questions on a visit →

Every learner

Who attends, and how outcomes differ across student groups.

Kids like mine

How each student group did

Met or exceeded · grade 11 · spring 2025. Compare each group with the same group in the same grades.

HereContinuation schoolsEach track: 0–100%

Low-income

50 tested per subject

English24% / 11%
Math0% / 3%

Hispanic or Latino

44 English · 42 math tested

English23% / 11%
Math0% / 3%
All group results, district comparisons and sources
Met or exceeded the standardgrade 11 · spring 2025
Group and subjectHerevs Continuation schools
Low-income · 50 tested
English24%+1311%
Math0%−33%
Hispanic or Latino · 44 tested in English, 42 in math
English23%+1211%
Math0%−33%

Each gap is to the same group, grades and subject at other continuation high schools. ■ Green: a group that is behind at California’s continuation high schools does much better here, by 10 points or more and more than twice the margin of error.

White, homeless and military-family students and English learners: fewer than 30 tested here. No published rate here for Asian, Black or African American, Filipino, American Indian or Alaska Native and Pacific Islander students, students of two or more races, students with disabilities and foster youth. That can reflect privacy rules or small numbers; it isn’t evidence of a gap. This table covers groups by income, race or ethnicity, language and disability; girls and boys aren’t split out.

How each student group did

Read the student-group results as sentences

At Capistrano Union High in San Juan Capistrano, 24.0% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 61.7% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Capistrano Union High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 37.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (0.0% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (22.7% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 18.3 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 50 ELA grade test records.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Student mix

2024–25 · eligible enrollment

Incomplete category detail

1. Hispanic or Latino: 66%2. White: 26%Unallocated share: 8%. 100% minus available shares; not a student group.Reported shares2024–25
  1. Hispanic or Latino66%
  2. White26%
  3. Asian—
  4. Black or African American—
  5. Filipino—
  6. Two or more races—
  7. American Indian or Alaska Native—
  8. Pacific Islander—
  9. Not reported—
  10. Unallocated share8%
Dashed remainder = 100% minus available shares, not a separate student group. Missing categories remain unavailable. Shares use eligible enrollment in the CDE chronic-absence file.
Full student mix, comparisons & sources
Eligible enrollment, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino66%
White26%
Asian—
Black or African American—
Filipino—
Two or more races—
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Pacific Islander—
Not reported—

Data source: California Department of Education chronic-absence file, 2024–25. Shares use eligible enrollment; unavailable categories are shown as a dash.

About 4 in 5 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (84%, 87 of 103). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers14
Average experience14 years
First-year teachers14%
96% of teaching positions with proper credential and placement · 2021–22

CDE SARC report 2024–25. The published rate is 96.10%: 11 properly credentialed teaching-position FTE out of 11.5 total position FTE. This measures positions, not individual teachers.

Questions & evidence

Turn the data into useful questions. Trace every result back to its record.

Schools on the path into this high school

Explore schools on the map ↗

Historical links and nearby options · confirm your child’s address and current assignment with the district.

  1. ElementarySan Juan ElementaryNearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder
  2. MiddleMarco Forster MiddleNearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder
  3. High schoolCapistrano Union HighThis campus · grades 9-12
All recorded links and nearby alternatives

Elementary links

  • San Juan Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    50th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

  • Harold Ambuehl Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    69th percentile · Solid · elementary · 2025

  • Kinoshita Elementary

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    24th percentile · Needs Support · elementary · 2025

Middle-school links

  • Marco Forster Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    76th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

  • Niguel Hills Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    87th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

  • Ladera Ranch Middle

    Nearby same-district option · distance estimate, not a confirmed feeder

    97th percentile · Strong · middle · 2025

Links do not guarantee placement. Charter, magnet, transfer and other admission routes can differ. Each school’s percentile compares its own level and peer class; the stages are not one ranking.

Getting in

Ask Capistrano Unified how students are placed here.

union.capousd.org

Location and visiting

Get directions ↗
31422 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano 92675

Directory location · Explore nearby schools on the map. Confirm address eligibility and visit arrangements with the school.

Questions

Questions to ask

A short list for your school visit.

  1. Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?
  2. Which courses and career pathways are running this year, and who can enroll?
  3. How do counselors help students plan for college, training or work?
  4. What support is available when a student falls behind on graduation requirements?

Call (949) 489-7216 to ask about a visit.

Other options

Schools to explore

Nearby means close to this campus. It does not establish an attendance boundary or a similar student population.

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Common questions

Is Capistrano Union High a good high school?
Capistrano Union High is in the 92nd percentile (Strong) of California continuation high schools. Its Scope Score is 32 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. In 2024–25, 92% of the class graduated in four years (56 of 61); across California’s continuation high schools, 75%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Capistrano Union High's CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 24% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 0% the math standard; 5% and 0% exceeded it. For the same grades, the class's combined rate was 13% and 3% met or exceeded, 2% and 1% exceeded. 62 students were tested in English and 61 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; the class rate combines its schools' grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Capistrano Union High rank among California continuation high schools?
Capistrano Union High is in the 92nd percentile of 277 California continuation high schools (Strong, 2025; within-class comparison). Capistrano Union High ranks #20 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This is a within-class rank, not a statewide rank. How peer classes work. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Capistrano Union High?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 47.6% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 78 chronically absent of 164 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 9.6%; 16 unduplicated suspended students of 166 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 44.5%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 8.4%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Capistrano Union High compare to other schools in San Juan Capistrano?
Capistrano Union High is in the 92nd percentile (Strong) of California continuation high schools. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 103 students. Use the schools in San Juan Capistrano page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Capistrano Union High?
At Capistrano Union High in San Juan Capistrano, 24.0% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 61.7% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Capistrano Union High’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 37.7 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (0.0% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (22.7% met or exceeded the ELA standard). The widest gap between a student group’s met-or-exceeded rate and the school-wide rate is 18.3 percentage points: English learners in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 50 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
How many students from Capistrano Union High go to UC?
UC masks this number for Capistrano Union High — fewer than three enrollees in fall 2020 — a privacy protection for small cohorts, not a signal about the school. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center).
Source records

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Downloads, sources & methodology

Capistrano Union High is ranked #20 of California continuation high schools.

Score factorsInspect source values, comparisons and score weights.Weighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate91.8%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard2.4%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared4.9%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded12.1%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism44.5%22.7%5%
Suspension rate8.4%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)27.3%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.9% · index 56 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 35 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↓ vs CA 51.7% · index 26 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 33 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 38 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.7pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 28 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 2.6pp lower vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↑ vs CA 17.8% · index 65 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

By grade & subgroupLook beyond the school average, by grade and student group.CAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11625%19%34%42%24%−24

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11610%0%11%89%0%−24

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA5317.0%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math550.0%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA7513.3%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math751.3%
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA7724.7%
2022 · Grade 11 · Math752.7%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA7223.6%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math751.3%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide660%15%74%11%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged5024.0%−38−25
Hispanic/Latino4422.7%−36−26
English Learners175.9%−3−3
Nearest high schoolsInspect the nearby-school comparison and its enrollment context.Nearby schools · distance and enrollment context

nearest by distance

SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Capistrano Union High ←—3292nd percentile · Strong · within class · 20252.4%12.1%8.4%
San Juan Hills High1.2 mi7387th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202537.8%67.8%1.2%
California Preparatory Academy1.6 mi6266th percentile · Solid · statewide · 202522.1%49.2%0.7%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%
Opportunities for Learning - Capistranoscored within its class, not statewide0.7 mi2768th percentile · Solid · within class · 202518.1%37.2%0.9%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

More measuresRead additional measures and dated historical records.context · not all part of the Scope Score

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$65,219 – $130,638
Average elementary principal salary$185,421
Average middle school principal salary$197,661
Average high school principal salary$206,216
Superintendent salary$348,333

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 32/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 4.9% · numerator 3 students classified Prepared · denominator 61 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 33.3% · AP-pathway numerator 1 · denominator 3 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 3 of 61 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201936/10095#14California continuation high schools · 343 schools
202236/10094#20California continuation high schools · 335 schools
202334/10093#24California continuation high schools · 346 schools
202435/10093#21California continuation high schools · 332 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 44.5% → 2025 · 47.6% · +3.1pp
Suspension rate2024 · 12.9% → 2025 · 9.6% · −3.3pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA624.8%24.2%
2025 · Math610.0%0.0%
2024 · ELA533.8%17.0%
2024 · Math550.0%0.0%
2023 · ELA752.7%13.3%
2023 · Math750.0%1.3%
2022 · ELA772.6%24.7%
2022 · Math750.0%2.7%
2019 · ELA725.6%23.6%
2019 · Math750.0%1.3%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
91.8%
AP pathway among Prepared
33.3%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
0.0%
This school may not offer A-G courses
College-Going Rate
30.3%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
20192.8%12.5%36.8%11.8%
20221.3%13.7%44.5%11.4%
20231.3%7.3%45.8%12.5%
20241.9%8.5%41.7%11.0%
20252.4%12.1%44.5%8.4%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
What we can't show
  • — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 25 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
Climate by student groupCompare attendance and discipline records by student group.chronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female38.9%50.0%+11.1pp
Male39.0%44.8%+5.8pp
Hispanic/Latino38.2%44.0%+5.8pp
White41.1%54.8%+13.7pp
Students with Disabilities82.1%——
English Learners41.2%48.0%+6.8pp
Homeless37.5%50.0%+12.5pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged41.0%49.2%+8.2pp
All Students39.0%47.6%+8.6pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

UC admissions, universitywideFollow separately reported UC application, admission and enrollment counts.2020–2020 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledMean GPA (applied)Mean GPA (admitted)Mean GPA (enrolled)
202053masked3.65——

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. GPA is each group's mean weighted, capped high-school GPA for 10th/11th-grade college-preparatory courses. SchoolScope leaves GPA unavailable when several CEEB codes contribute rather than combining their means. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here. Complete, matching counts can support a historical descriptive rate, but do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances. Series shown from 2009.

UC admissions by campusInspect campus records without adding overlapping populations.latest falls on file
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20087maskedmasked
Davis20089maskedmasked
Irvine200810maskedmasked
Los Angeles2008123masked
Merced200855masked
Riverside200855masked
San Diego200811maskedmasked
Santa Barbara2008124masked
Santa Cruz2008127masked
Universitywide202053masked
Universitywide200822183
Universitywide20076maskedmasked

Source: UC admissions by source school. Dated fall first-year UC applicants, admitted students, and enrollees. Campus totals are not interchangeable with Universitywide; students can apply to several campuses. Universitywide is separately reported; never derive it by adding campus rows. Universitywide applicant and admit counts are unduplicated. Masked means no numeric bound; — means unavailable, and a reported zero remains zero. For missing or masked counts, never assume zero or a positive hidden value. A + marks a partial SchoolScope sum of observed counts, not a complete total; missing contributions may be zero. No admit rate is computed here; these records do not establish a school's effect or predict individual chances.

Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotInspect the dated federal advanced-coursework snapshot.dated historical snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections5
Chemistry sections0
Total enrollment (CRDC)109

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

College destinationsRead the completion cohort and its reported college destinations.class of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college1827.3%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year11.5%
Out-of-state, 2-year11.5%
Not enrolled4669.7%

66 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 30% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2020 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Funding source detailFollow funding records at their school or district source grain.CDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$12,431 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 43,719 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$3,103 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 103

Central federal expenditures attributed here$787 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 103

District current expense · FY 2024–25$17,166 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 64%Instruction support 10%Student services 10%Administration 5%Buildings & maintenance 9%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$12,431 per pupil
2020$11,341 per pupil
2019$10,665 per pupil
2018$9,388 per pupil
2017$8,875 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

11ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 92675
ShowHide table 11 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 92675
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$129,457
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)43.39%
ZCTA population35,095
Median age46.2 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/capistrano-union-high-5987"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Capistrano Union High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · UC fall first-year source records — masked = no numeric bound; + = partial observed count; Universitywide separately reported · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction