ExploreMapCompareBlogSign in

Charter high school

Bitney Prep High

Grass Valley, CA · Grades 9-12 · 91 students · Nevada County Office of Education

The scores are below where anyone wants them. Here's what they don't tell you.

64% of tested students are Proficient or Advanced in English and 22% in math. 75.0% graduate in four years. Explore the evidence alongside the opportunities your child would use.

SchoolScope archetype

Building Momentum

What this means for your family

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

How archetypes are assigned →

Math

22%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

English

64%

Grade 11 · Proficient or Advanced

Students

91

Total enrollment

Graduation

75.0%

Four-year graduation rate

What are you trying to decide?

The overall score is a starting point.

Look at subject results, trends and student groups, then consider the opportunities your child would use.

View school performance →

Academic performance

What do the results tell us?

2025 results · Grade 11 · weighted by students tested within each subject.

Proficient or Advanced combines Levels 3 and 4, formerly Standard Met and Standard Exceeded. California changed the names for 2025–26; the cut scores did not. About the labels →

Share at Proficient or Advanced

0%25%50%75%100%2019: 19%2022: 11%2023: 11%2024: 29%2025: 22%2019: 57%2022: 39%2023: 58%2024: 62%2025: 64%201920222023202420250%25%50%75%100%2019: 19%2022: 11%2023: 11%2024: 29%2025: 22%2019: 57%2022: 39%2023: 58%2024: 62%2025: 64%20192022202320242025
● Math┄ English

Gaps in the lines mark years without annual results.

Exact annual results
YearMathEnglish
201919%57%
202211%39%
202311%58%
202429%62%
202522%64%

Each year describes that year’s tested students. Changes between years do not follow the same children over time. Cohort-growth evidence, when available, is labeled separately below.

Annual results and the full academic record
Is it getting better · CAASPP 2019 to 2025

Has stayed near the 7th percentile since 2019.

Most rating sites would stop at “43% proficient” and call it done. Bitney Prep deserves a closer read. More than half of its students qualify for free or reduced lunch (California: 64%) — and reading the numbers without that context misreads the school.

Bitney Prep's low-income kids hit 71.4% proficiency in ELA — a number the same group reaches at 38.2% statewide. If you're trying to read past zip-code-driven test scores, that's the signal worth weighing.

As a charter, Bitney Prep enrolls by application rather than address. That changes how you get in, but it doesn't change the score.

22 tested · 1 of 1 grade published

Bitney Prep High scores 35 of 100 on SchoolScope's Scope Score — the 7th percentile of 1,647 California high schools (CDE CAASPP 2025).

The pandemic drop is behind this school: 43% of students meet the standard today, above the 38% who did in 2019.

Percentile among 1,647 high schools statewide
Year detailsYear2019 · 9th percentile · Scope Score 37 of 1002022 · 3rd percentile · Scope Score 30 of 1002023 · 7th percentile · Scope Score 34 of 1002024 · 7th percentile · Scope Score 34 of 1002025 · 7th percentile · Scope Score 35 of 100
ShowHide the by-grade tables, year by year
ELA — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1157%39%58%62%64%
Math — % met or exceeded, by grade
Grade20192022202320242025
Grade 1119%11%11%29%22%
Where students land · CAASPP 2024–25

Two in five of students here meet the standard. One in ten clear it by a lot.

ELA64% met or exceeded
Exceeded 32%Met 32%Nearly Met 18%Not Met 18%
Math22% met or exceeded
Exceeded 0%Met 22%Nearly Met 26%Not Met 52%
Exceeded Met Nearly Met Not Met
California high schools · average20% exceeded · 43% met or exceeded
This school against the California average
2019–2025 trend · CDE CAASPP
Scope% Exceeded% Met+Grad rateCollege readinessAbsenceSuspension
This school3516%43%75.0%0.0%35.1%7.4%
CA average · High School5420%43%92.5%43.0%23.1%3.3%
This schoolCA avg
Scope3554
% Exceeded16%20%
% Met+43%43%
Grad rate75.0%92.5%
College readiness0.0%43.0%
Absence35.1%23.1%
Suspension7.4%3.3%

Students & opportunity

Who shares in the school’s results?

Who it works for · CAASPP 2024–25

How every group of students does here

At Bitney Prep High in Grass Valley, 71.4% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 30.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Bitney Prep High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 40.7 percentage points in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 15 students tested.

Met or exceeded · reading and math combined
All students at this school: 42% met or exceeded
All StudentsAll Students: this school 42%, district —, state 43%42%
Socioeconomically DisadvantagedSocioeconomically Disadvantaged: this school 51%, district 24%, state 32%51% · +9 vs school

6 of 8 student groups here are too small to report — a privacy protection, not a gap.

this school district, same group California, same group
ShowHide California's growth model by student group

No student-group growth record is available for this school in this data release.

Where graduates go

What happens after high school?

29%

Enrolled in college within a year

Class of 2023 · 5 of 17 completers · includes community colleges

17Completers
0%
Other colleges0 completers · Outside the California community college system
29%
California community colleges5 completers · Enrolled within a year
71%
Not recorded enrolled12 completers · No college enrollment in this reporting window

Destination data describes this earlier graduating class, separately from current-year test results and graduation. Percentages are rounded.

College destinations and the full graduate record
Where graduates go · 2024–25

Where graduates go

Context — never part of the Scope Score

29%
College-going rate, class of 2023

Where they went after graduation

Of Bitney Prep's class of 2023, 29% enrolled in college somewhere within a year — a CSU, a community college, a UC, or out of state.

College destination mix, class of 2023

Class of 2023: 17 completers, 29% enrolled somewhere within a year

University of California 0 (0%)California State University 0 (0%)California community college 5 (29%)In-state private 0 (0%)Out-of-state, 4-year 0 (0%)Out-of-state, 2-year 0 (0%)Not enrolled 12 (71%)

Percentages are computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers) from CDE-reported counts, not a CDE-native rate. Data source: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort — the newest published; National Student Clearinghouse match.

UC application funnel — one destination of six, tracked in detail because UC is the only source with 30 years of history
Applied5fall 2015, universitywide
Admitted‹3
Enrolled‹3

UC is one road of many — the full destination mix for the class of 2023 is below. And who applied isn't who the school taught: the ratio between the two reflects the self-selected pool of students who chose to apply, not what happened in the classroom. By the state's 2023 count, 29% of this class's predecessors enrolled in college somewhere within a year. More of the class of 2023 enrolled at community colleges (5) than at UC (0).

Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center), fall 2015 admissions cycle · college-going rate: California Department of Education, 2023 cohort.

The daily experience

What is it like to be a student here?

Students per teacher

Student–teacher ratio is a schoolwide staffing measure, not an average class size.

The people teaching · CDE staffing 2024–25

About 15 students for every teacher here.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Students per teacher15 · district 20
Teaching staff11 teachers
Avg. experience11.8 years
Fully credentialed83%
First-year teachers9%
PrincipalJonathan Molnar
ShowHide what the district pays
Teacher salary schedule$62,223 – $111,385
Superintendent salary$221,590

Pay is set by the district, not the school.

Course breadth
CTE pathway completers7 students
Attendance & discipline · 2024–25

Kids here miss more school, and get suspended more, than the state average.

35.1% of students miss a month or more of school, versus 23.1% statewide. High absence often tracks community stress — worth asking about on a tour.

Chronic absenteeismChronic absenteeism: this school 35.1%, district 16.9%, state 23.1%35.1% · +12.0pp vs state
Suspension rateSuspension rate: this school 7.4%, district —, state 3.3%7.4% · +4.1pp vs state
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
ShowHide attendance by student group and by grade
Chronic absenteeism by grade band
Grades 9–1237.4%

Resources & neighborhood

What sits behind the school experience?

Explore school spending and the district budget
What gets spent · FY 2019–20

It spends $17,783 per student, more than the California average.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

$444 per student arrives as federal Title funding — a measure of concentrated need, not school quality.

Per-pupil spendingPer-pupil spending: $17,783, CA average $14,491$17,783 · spent at this school
Federal share$444 per student
This schoolDistrictCalifornia
Where the district's dollars go · FY 2024–25 · CDE SACS
Instruction 32%Instruction support 15%Student services 22%Administration 24%Buildings & maintenance 5%Other 1%

District-level, from the district's own SACS general-ledger filing — school-by-school breakdowns aren't published by the state.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
district detail, 2016–2020 — the newest published
2020$18,834 per pupil
2019$18,638 per pupil
2018$19,170 per pupil
2017$8,133 per pupil
2016$7,527 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

The neighborhood · ACS 2024

More than half of students here qualify for free or reduced lunch, versus three in five statewide.

Context — never part of the Scope Score

Worth knowing

At 91 students, this school is much smaller than the typical California high school (≈1450).

On the state's science test (CAST), 47% met or exceeded the standard — science is tested in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school, and it never enters the Scope Score.

Hispanic or Latino8.8% · district 26.5% · CA 56.1%
White56.0% · district 59.8% · CA 19.9%
Other35.2% · district 10.5% · CA 9.0%
GenderFemale 36.3% · Male 53.9% · Non-binary 9.9%
Free or reduced lunch57.1% · CA 64%
Median income$66K · CA $85K
Median home value$540K · CA $659K
Bachelor's degree+35% · CA 35%
ZIP population27,470
Median age50 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 5-year estimates (2024) · ZIP-level

Culture & philosophy

What is the school’s approach?

School-stated approach · questions for your visit

Look beyond the brochure

A source-reviewed culture summary is not available for this profile yet. Ask how teaching, student support and family communication work day to day.

Read the school’s own website ↗

Family voices

What would you want another family to know about the daily experience here?

Ask a current family: “When your child needs help, how does the school respond?”

Educator voices

What should families understand about teaching, support and the school community?

Ask an educator: “How do you adapt a typical day for children with different needs?”

Bring these questions on a visit →

Compare nearby schools

What are the alternatives?

Compare schools serving the same grade stage. Private schools have no comparable state-test score.

2025 · high schools · combined reading and math measures. Percentiles compare schools within their enrollment group.

Private options →
SchoolTypePerformance bandAdvancedProficient or AdvancedDistanceSelect
Bitney Prep HighCharterNeeds Support16%43%School being viewed
William & Marian Ghidotti HighPublicStrong79%94%0.5 mi
Nevada Union HighPublicSolid24%46%0.9 mi
North Point AcademyPublicDeveloping18%39%1.0 mi
Open the comparison tool →
More nearby public and private options
Your other options

Your other options

Nearby public schools across grade levels, plus private options within 10 miles.

All schools in Grass Valley →

Private schools do not receive a Scope Score or statewide ranking on SchoolScope.

2 private schools within 10 miles
Not scored
What should I check before applying?
District public
Confirm the attendance boundary and any permit options.
Charter
Check applications, priorities and deadlines with each school.
Private
Confirm admission requirements, tuition and financial aid.

Moving & enrollment

Which schools could serve my child?

Check enrollment with this charter school

Ask the school about applications, priorities and deadlines for your child’s grade.

School website →

Schools across the K–12 journey

Schools are grouped by grade stage. Nearby schools are not confirmed feeder links or address assignments. Verify the current path and eligibility with the district.

Charter enrollment details

Plan your next step

What should I do next?

Worth a school visit

Ask what changed in the last two years, and what the school is asking families for. Growth shows up in these numbers a year or two after it shows up in classrooms.

  • Ask how the school follows up when a student starts missing days — chronic absence often starts outside the classroom, not inside it.
  • Ask what typically leads to a suspension, and what happens before it gets there.
  • Ask what share of students complete the full college-prep course sequence, and who gets steered into it.
  • Ask whether the tour can step into a working classroom — watch how the teacher handles a student who's stuck.
  • Ask to tour while school's in session, and notice how hallways and transitions feel — culture shows up between classes, not just in them.
  • Ask how the school communicates with families when a child starts to struggle.
  • Ask what a typical day looks like for a new student in the first few weeks.
Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is Bitney Prep High a good high school?
Bitney Prep High has a Scope Score of 35 out of 100, placing it in the 7th percentile of California high schools and ranked #1,532 statewide. 15.9% of students exceeded the state standard on the 2025 CAASPP assessment, which is 3.9 percentage points below the California average of 19.8%. The Scope Score weights 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate (25%), exceeded standard (22%), college/career readiness (20%), met or exceeded (proficient) (18%), chronic absenteeism (5%), suspension rate (5%), and ELPAC English Learner proficiency (5%). Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Bitney Prep High's CAASPP test scores?
On the 2025 CAASPP Smarter Balanced Assessment, 42.7% of students at Bitney Prep High met or exceeded the state standard in ELA and Math combined, and 15.9% exceeded it. The gap between those numbers matters: 26.8% of students are at the proficiency floor, while 15.9% went beyond it. Most rating sites report only the combined "proficient" number. SchoolScope surfaces the exceeded-vs-met split because it shows how many students go beyond the standard rather than only meeting it. 45 student-subject combinations were assessed.
How does Bitney Prep High rank in California?
Bitney Prep High ranks #1,532 among California high schools by Scope Score, placing it in the 7th percentile. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What is the attendance and school culture like at Bitney Prep High?
35.1% of students at Bitney Prep High are chronically absent (missing 10% or more of school days), compared to the California average of 23.1%. The suspension rate is 7.4%. SchoolScope includes these culture metrics in the Scope Score because they reflect day-to-day school experience in ways test scores alone cannot.
How does Bitney Prep High compare to other schools in Grass Valley?
Bitney Prep High scores 35/100 (7th percentile) among California high schools. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same metrics side by side: exceeded rate, proficiency, growth trajectory, and school culture indicators. The school serves 91 students. Use the schools in Grass Valley page or the map view to compare all high schools nearby.
How does Bitney Prep High serve low-income and underrepresented students?
At Bitney Prep High in Grass Valley, 71.4% of low-income students met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025, compared to 30.8% district-wide and 38.2% statewide. Bitney Prep High outperforms its district average for low-income students by 40.7 percentage points in ELA. Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 15 students tested. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
How many students from Bitney Prep High go to UC?
UC masks this number for Bitney Prep High — fewer than three enrollees in fall 2015 — a privacy protection for small cohorts, not a signal about the school. Data source: University of California Office of the President (UC Information Center).

Use the published evidence to prepare questions, then verify fit and access with the school.

Behind the evidence

Inspect the full record

Public sources, visible methods and the underlying school record. Source years and limitations stay attached to the evidence.

How the Scope Score is calculated

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways to see the state comparison and weights.

What the score weighs · CAASPP 2024–25

The 6 things our score weighs

What the score weighs
What we weighHereStateWeight
Graduation rate75.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard15.9%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded42.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism35.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate7.4%3.3%5%

Source CAASPP 2025 · California Department of Education. Measures graduation, test performance, college readiness, attendance, and climate — not arts, community, or your kid. How the score is built

A closer look at the evidence

Bitney Prep High: reading the evidence

Bitney Prep posts low test scores — and low-income students here beat the state average for their group by 33 points in ELA. If this is your zoned school, the numbers below are where to start a conversation, not where to end one.

Subject proficiency describes tested students, while graduation describes a graduating cohort. These figures are not successive stages followed by the same students.

This label means the data doesn't clearly sort the school one way or the other — ask what the school is proud of, and what it's working on.

Explore the underlying data →
Every number: score factors, grades, student groups and downloads
Every number · For the data nerds

Every number on this page

Score factors, grade-level breakdowns, subgroup proficiency, and nearest schools.

Bitney Prep High is ranked #1,532 statewide.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate75.0%92.5%25%
Exceeded standard15.9%19.8%22%
College readiness0.0%43.0%20%
Met or exceeded42.7%43.2%18%
Chronic absenteeism35.1%23.1%5%
Suspension rate7.4%3.3%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.5% · index 38 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 19.8% · index 50 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
College readiness
↓ vs CA 43.0% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.2% · index 55 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 23.1% · index 46 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▼ 4.9pp lower vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 33 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.8pp higher vs 2024
02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 112232%32%18%18%64%+15
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11230%22%26%52%22%−2

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide176%41%47%6%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged1571.4%+41+33
03Nearest high schoolssorted by Scope Score
SchoolDistScopeEXCMET+Susp
Bitney Prep High ←—3515.9%42.7%7.4%
William & Marian Ghidotti High0.5 mi7779.2%94.5%1.1%
Nevada Union High0.9 mi5824.5%46.1%3.9%
North Point Academy1 mi5117.7%38.7%1.9%
California average—5419.8%43.2%3.3%
04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures
Graduation Rate
75.0%
AP Exam Prepared
Not offered
This school may not offer AP courses
A-G Completion
5.6%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
29.4%
YearScopePctileRankExcMet+AbsentSusp
2019379#137221.4%38.1%30.9%5.6%
2022303#15488.3%25.0%46.9%3.8%
2023347#152615.8%34.2%46.6%6.7%
2024347#15289.5%45.2%40.0%4.5%
2025357#153215.9%42.7%35.1%7.4%
NO STATEWIDE TESTING 2020–21 (COVID) · SCORE AND PERCENTILE ARE RELATIVE TO EACH YEAR'S FIELD
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2019 vs 2025 — the two years CDE publishes at subgroup level
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group20192025Δ
Female28.8%35.9%+7.1pp
Male38.5%39.2%+0.7pp
Hispanic/Latino40.0%28.6%-11.4pp
Two or More Races27.3%——
White34.8%39.6%+4.8pp
Students with Disabilities43.8%41.2%-2.6pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged39.1%39.0%-0.1pp
All Students34.2%37.4%+3.2pp
06UC admissions, universitywide2006–2015 · summed across CEEB codes at query time
ShowHide table 06 — UC admissions, universitywide
YearAppliedAdmittedEnrolledGPA (applied)GPA (admitted)GPA (enrolled)
20155‹3‹33.48——
2014105‹33.243.89—
201264‹33.48——
200653‹33.69——

‹n = UC masks counts below n · a missing year means zero or masked — never assume zero · GPA cells blank for years with more than one contributing CEEB code (a summed GPA would be fabricated math) · GPAs live here and nowhere else on this page · Applied/Admitted/Enrolled reflect who applied, not what the school taught — no admit rate is computed or implied by this table. Series shown from 2004; full record to 1994 at the UC Infocenter.

07UC admissions by campuslatest falls on file
ShowHide table 07 — UC admissions by campus
CampusYearAppliedAdmittedEnrolled
Berkeley20146‹3‹3
Santa Cruz201485‹3
Santa Cruz200653‹3
Universitywide20155‹3‹3
Universitywide2014105‹3
Universitywide201264‹3
Universitywide200653‹3

Σ campuses ≠ universitywide — students apply to several campuses; the Universitywide row (muted) is its own independent count, never a sum of the rows above it.

08Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotstructural, dated — newest published; biennial
ShowHide table 08 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offerednot offered
AP course countnot reported
AP enrollmentnot reported
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentoffered · 8 enrolled
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections1
Total enrollment (CRDC)82

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

09College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 09 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college529.4%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled1270.6%

17 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 29% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · a missing cell is CDE suppression, never a fabricated zero · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2015 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/bitney-prep-high-4314"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Bitney Prep High — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded ("proficient") · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,647 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2022 · UC Infocenter (annual refresh, summer) — ‹5/‹3 = masked, never summed across campuses · CRDC 2020-21 (biennial; next expected 2021-22) · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-18

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our interpretation of public California Department of Education data — independent analysis, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction

Bitney Prep High

Your school plan

0 of 4 steps checked

Your checklist stays in this browser. Checking a step records your progress; it does not confirm admission or enrollment.