Continuation high school · Morgan Hill Unified

Central High (Continuation)

Morgan Hill · 10–12 · 83 students (2024–25)

55thpercentileSolid

Compared only with other continuation schools: higher than 55 in 100 of California’s 277 continuation high schools we score.

Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
Needs Support25 in 100Developing25 in 100Solid25 in 100Strong25 in 100
The dots are California’s 277 scored continuation high schools, placed by Scope Score on spring 2025 tests. The Scope Score for Central High (Continuation) is 24 of 100. It places the school; it isn’t a grade. How it’s built ›
In 2024–25, 80% of the class graduated in four years (48 of 60); across California’s continuation high schools, 75%. Source
Source
CDE four-year adjusted cohort graduation rate (ACGR), 2024–25
Students
students in the four-year graduation cohort: 60
Comparison
Continuation high schools: graduates divided by students in the four-year cohort across 379 public schools’ rows (our combination, not CDE’s published state rate; 21,329 of 28,373).
About placementCompare
Save

What stands out

Tap a line for its source
Worth watchingSource13.8%of students were suspended at least once, 2024–256.5%at the average California continuation high school13.8% of students (17 of 123) were suspended at least once in 2024–25, about twice the rate at the average California continuation high school.Ask: When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?
Source
CDE suspension file, 2024–25
Students
all students enrolled during the year (CDE’s cumulative enrollment): 123
Comparison
17 of 123. The California figure is an average of school rates (277 scored California continuation high schools), our calculation.

Is it good?

How students scored

10%ready for college or career (state measure), 2024–2552% across California2%of graduates finished the UC/CSU course list, 2024–25
Where the class of 2023 went
24%enrolled in college within a year

45 completers, class of 2023

  • University of California0 (0%)
  • California State University0 (0%)
  • California community college11 (24%)
  • In-state private0 (0%)
  • Out-of-state, 4-year0 (0%)
  • Out-of-state, 2-year0 (0%)
  • Not enrolled34 (76%)

Source: CDE’s college-going rate for the class of 2023 (enrolled in college within 12 months). Shares are our arithmetic: count ÷ completers. A dash means we have no figure for that row; it isn’t zero.

Not metNearly met
MetExceeded
Central High (Continuation)Continuation schools, same gradesthe standard
English24 tested · grade 11 · spring 2025
12% met or exceeded · Continuation schools 13%
54
34
8
4
6225112
Math24 tested · grade 11 · spring 2025
4% met or exceeded · Continuation schools 3%
92
4
4
91621

Share of students tested.

Show these bars as a table
ExceededMetNearly metNot met
English, grade 11 · Central High (Continuation)4%8%34%54%
English, grade 11 · Continuation schools2%11%25%62%
Math, grade 11 · Central High (Continuation)0%4%4%92%
Math, grade 11 · Continuation schools1%2%6%91%

Ask: Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

What’s it like

Attendance and discipline

81 in 100students chronically absent, 2024–25
73in 100 at the average California continuation high school

89 of 110 students missed 10% or more of school days.

Who goes here

Students and staff

Students, 2024–25Here
Hispanic or Latino68%
White18%

About 3 in 5 students qualified for free or reduced-price meals in 2024–25 (63%, 52 of 83). California: 63%.

Teachers, 2024–25

Teachers10
Average experience12 years
First-year teachers0%
Read the student-group results as sentences

At Central High (Continuation) in Morgan Hill, 9.5% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 43.6% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Central High (Continuation)’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 34.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (4.8% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (11.8% met or exceeded the ELA standard). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 21 ELA grade test records.

Getting in

Ask Morgan Hill Unified how students are placed here.

85 Tilton Avenue, Morgan Hill 95037 · central.mhusd.org

Nearby high schoolsStatewide percentile

Each percentile compares a school with California schools at its own level.

Questions

Questions to ask

The questions from this page, in one place.

When a student is suspended, what happens before and after, and who talks with the family?

Most students in grade 11 haven’t yet met the state’s standards in English and math. What extra help do they get, and how do you know it’s working?

Call (408) 201-6300 to ask about a visit.

Common questions

Is Central High (Continuation) a good high school?
Central High (Continuation) is in the 55th percentile (Solid) of California continuation high schools. Its Scope Score is 24 of 100: it places the school among them; it isn’t a grade. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. In 2024–25, 80% of the class graduated in four years (48 of 60); across California’s continuation high schools, 75%. The Scope Score combines 7 dimensions for high schools: graduation rate, exceeded standard, college/career readiness, met or exceeded the standard, chronic absenteeism, suspension rate, and ELPAC English Learner proficiency. See the current formula and weights. Data source: California Department of Education CAASPP 2025, analyzed by SchoolScope.
What are Central High (Continuation)'s CAASPP test scores?
In spring 2025, 12% of students tested in grade 11 met or exceeded the English standard and 4% the math standard; 4% and 0% exceeded it. For the same grades, the class's combined rate was 13% and 3% met or exceeded, 2% and 1% exceeded. 24 students were tested in English and 24 in math (CDE CAASPP 2024–25; the class rate combines its schools' grade rows, weighted by students tested, our calculation).
How does Central High (Continuation) rank among California continuation high schools?
Central High (Continuation) is in the 55th percentile of 277 California continuation high schools (Solid, 2025; within-class comparison). Central High (Continuation) ranks #122 by Scope Score in that comparison pool. This is a within-class rank, not a statewide rank. How peer classes work. This ranking is based on a weighted composite of 2025 CAASPP test performance (exceeded and met rates), chronic absenteeism, and suspension rate. Unlike single-number ratings, the Scope Score shows what drives the ranking so parents can decide what matters most to their family. See full methodology.
What do attendance and suspension records show for Central High (Continuation)?
CDE chronic absence 2024–25: 80.9% of eligible students missed 10% or more of the days they were expected to attend; 89 chronically absent of 110 eligible students. CDE suspension 2024–25: 13.8%; 17 unduplicated suspended students of 123 cumulative enrollment. Separately, SchoolScope's adjusted chronic-absence scoring input is 61.9%. SchoolScope's adjusted suspension scoring input is 9.9%. These are model inputs, not CDE's reported rates. These figures cannot establish safety or everyday experience. How the Scope Score is built.
How does Central High (Continuation) compare to other schools in Morgan Hill?
Central High (Continuation) is in the 55th percentile (Solid) of California continuation high schools. This is a rank inside that group, not a statewide one: SchoolScope compares continuation high schools with one another rather than with California's comprehensive campuses, so it cannot be read against a statewide figure. Why these schools are ranked separately. To compare with nearby schools, SchoolScope shows the same measures side by side: the share of students who met or exceeded the standard, the share who exceeded it, growth, chronic absence and suspensions. The school serves 83 students. Use the schools in Morgan Hill page or the map view to compare nearby high schools.
What do reported student-group results show at Central High (Continuation)?
At Central High (Continuation) in Morgan Hill, 9.5% of low-income students (CDE’s “socioeconomically disadvantaged” group) met or exceeded the ELA standard in 2025 for reported grade 11, compared to 43.6% district-wide for those same grades and 48.7% statewide for those same grades. Central High (Continuation)’s rate for low-income students trails its district average by 34.1 percentage points in ELA. Other subgroups: low-income students (4.8% met or exceeded the Math standard); Hispanic students (11.8% met or exceeded the ELA standard). Data source: California Department of Education, CAASPP 2024-25. 21 ELA grade test records. SchoolScope shows disaggregated test scores by demographic subgroup so you can see how a school performs for your child's specific group — not just the school-wide average. Subgroup data is context, not part of the Scope Score: we don't penalize schools for who they serve. See our equity approach.
Data and sources · For the data nerds

Explore the data

Available score factors, grade-level results, student-group measures, and nearby-school context, with source details.

Central High (Continuation) is ranked #122 of California continuation high schools.

01Score factorsWeighted composite · 2024–25
ShowHide table 01 — Score factors
Score factors
FactorSchoolStateWeight
Graduation rate80.0%92.9%25%
Exceeded standard2.1%20.3%22%
CCI overall Prepared9.8%51.7%20%
Met or exceeded8.3%43.8%18%
Chronic absenteeism61.9%22.7%5%
Suspension rate9.9%3.3%5%
EL proficiency (ELPAC)0.0%17.8%5%
Graduation rate
↓ vs CA 92.9% · index 43 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Exceeded standard
↓ vs CA 20.3% · index 36 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
CCI overall Prepared
↓ vs CA 51.7% · index 29 on SchoolScope's high-school calibration scale; the state rate above is CDE's statewide student rate, not this school-model index
Met or exceeded
↓ vs CA 43.8% · index 31 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint
Chronic absenteeism
↓ vs CA 22.7% · index 24 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.5pp higher vs 2024
Suspension rate
↓ vs CA 3.3% · index 22 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint · ▲ 2.1pp higher vs 2024
EL proficiency (ELPAC)
↓ vs CA 17.8% · index 33 · 50 = CA high-school midpoint

Any absence or suspension percentage shown here is a SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring input, not a raw CDE-reported school rate. The State column averages these inputs across scored comprehensive California schools at this level.

02By grade & subgroupCAASPP 2024–25 · % of tested students
ShowHide table 02 — By grade & subgroup

These 2024–25 results use Standard Met (Level 3) and Standard Exceeded (Level 4); “Met or exceeded” combines both. California's 2025–26 student reports rename those levels Proficient and Advanced. The later results are not included in this 2024–25 record. California's level descriptions.

ELA · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
ELATestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11244%8%33%54%13%−36

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 ELA equal-school mean: 48.6%; n=2080 reporting schools

Math · 2024–25 results by grade

CDE CAASPP 2025
MathTestedEXCMETNEARNOTMET++/CA
Grade 11240%4%4%92%4%−20

California comparison: each reporting school contributes equally; schools with fewer than 15 tested in this grade and subject are excluded.

State grade 11 Math equal-school mean: 23.7%; n=2074 reporting schools

We show the grade rows CDE publishes for this school. A missing grade or dash can mean the school does not serve that grade, that we hold no valid result for it, or that the tested group was too small to report. It does not mean zero.

Earlier years · grade and subject

Year · grade · subjectStudents with scoresMet+
2024 · Grade 11 · ELA4214.3%
2024 · Grade 11 · Math412.4%
2023 · Grade 11 · ELA5614.3%
2023 · Grade 11 · Math571.8%
2022 · Grade 8 · ELA42—
2022 · Grade 11 · ELA4212.2%
2022 · Grade 8 · Math41—
2022 · Grade 11 · Math410.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · ELA4717.0%
2019 · Grade 11 · Math464.3%

Current 2024–25 grade results appear above. These earlier school-level rows are stored CDE records; original historical files still need independent re-verification. “Students with scores” is the rate denominator for that grade, subject and year. A missing result is not zero or a matched cohort.

Science (CAST)TestedEXCMETNEARNOT
Schoolwide190%0%42%58%

CAST is tested in grades 5 and 8, then once in grade 10, 11, or 12. This row is the school's all-student aggregate. Not part of the Scope Score.

Subgroup · ELATestedMET+vs districtvs CA
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged219.5%−34−39
Hispanic/Latino1711.8%−32−37
03Nearest high schoolsnearest by distance
ShowHide table 03 — Nearest high schools
SchoolDistScope · percentile · bandEXCMET+Susp
Central High (Continuation) ←—2455th percentile · Solid · within class · 20252.1%8.3%9.9%
Ann Sobrato High0.6 mi6880th percentile · Strong · statewide · 202530.2%55.6%3.3%
California average—57School average · no percentile20.3%43.8%3.3%

Susp = SchoolScope model-adjusted suspension input, not the raw CDE-reported school rate.

04More measurescontext · not all part of the Scope Score
ShowHide table 04 — More measures

Additional workforce records

Properly assigned intern credential holders0.0%

CDE 2024–25 SARC, Teacher Preparation and Placement table; measured school year 2021–22. Share of reported school teaching-position full-time equivalents assigned to properly assigned intern credential holders. A reported 0.0% is shown; unavailable rates are omitted. This is a position share, not a count of current teachers or of emergency permits.

District salary records
Teacher salary schedule$63,686 – $136,327
Average elementary principal salary$165,090
Average middle school principal salary$175,216
Average high school principal salary$190,116
Superintendent salary$321,636

CDE 2024–25 Form J-90, Table 1. These are district-wide reported amounts, not this school's staff salaries. Teacher figures are the district minimum and maximum schedule; principal figures are separate average annual salaries by school level, not career steps. Superintendent salary is the district's reported annual amount. Zero-valued source salary fields are treated as unavailable and omitted.

2025 Scope Score · CDE overall Prepared model · CCI 2025: 24/100. Earlier scores are shown under the legacy model. The score models differ, so their results do not form one trend.

MeasureSource record
This school · CCI overall PreparedCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · all students in the current four-year graduation cohort, plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. Overall CCI Prepared rate 9.8% · numerator 6 students classified Prepared · denominator 61 CCI students.
California · CCI overall PreparedCDE statewide CCI cohort · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) · overall Prepared rate 51.7% · numerator 257,567 students classified Prepared · denominator 497,814 CCI students.
AP pathway among CCI Prepared studentsCDE College/Career Indicator · CCI source year 2025 · student group ALL (all students) ·AP pathway rate 0.0% · AP-pathway numerator 0 · denominator 6 (CCI Prepared students).This measure uses Prepared students as its denominator, not the whole CCI cohort; it is not an AP exam-taking rate or a count of AP courses offered. That cohort includes all students in the current four-year graduation cohort plus only Prepared fifth-year graduates from the prior cohort. In 2025 the pathway accepts two qualifying AP exams, two qualifying AP courses, or a combination of one of each in different subjects.

CDE's overall Prepared rate is this version's 20% high-school college-readiness score factor. The school rate is 6 of 61 CCI students, not the AP-only pathway or A–G completion rate. The California figure is CDE's statewide CCI student cohort, not an average of SchoolScope's comparable high schools or the SchoolScope school-rank pool.

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model

Earlier assessment years · legacy Scope Score model
Assessment yearScope ScorePercentileRankComparison group
201924/10056#150California continuation high schools · 343 schools
202223/10048#174California continuation high schools · 335 schools
202325/10056#151California continuation high schools · 346 schools
202424/10055#149California continuation high schools · 332 schools

These are retrospective calculations using earlier test results and current school levels and comparison classes. Each year's rank and percentile use that year's measured school group. They do not form a trend across different score models.

The legacy high-school model uses 2024–25 graduation records. Its readiness input uses the 2025 AP pathway share among Prepared students when available; otherwise it uses 2024–25 A-G completion. A reported zero remains zero. These inputs do not describe graduation or readiness in the earlier assessment years. The newer 2025 model instead uses CDE's overall Prepared rate.

Historical ELPAC inputs are absent from these calculations. Missing factor weights are redistributed proportionally among available factors. Adjusted climate values are SchoolScope scoring inputs, distinct from the state’s reported rates.

CDE reported all-students (TA) school rates for 2024 and 2025; the change is 2025 minus 2024 in percentage points.

Year-over-year school rates
Chronic absenteeism2024 · 69.4% → 2025 · 80.9% · +11.5pp
Suspension rate2024 · 9.1% → 2025 · 13.8% · +4.7pp

ELA and Math by test year · all tested grades

Year · subjectStudents with scoresExcMet+
2025 · ELA244.2%12.5%
2025 · Math240.0%4.2%
2024 · ELA424.8%14.3%
2024 · Math410.0%2.4%
2023 · ELA561.8%14.3%
2023 · Math570.0%1.8%
2022 · ELA420.0%11.9%
2022 · Math410.0%0.0%
2019 · ELA478.5%17.0%
2019 · Math462.2%4.3%

Each year names its school year end (2025 = 2024–25). “Students with scores” is the subject-specific rate denominator; ELA and Math counts must not be added. Earlier years are stored SchoolScope CDE records whose original files still need independent re-verification; a dash is unavailable, not zero.

Graduation Rate
80.0%
AP pathway among Prepared
0.0%
2025 CDE CCI cohort · AP courses, exams, or both; share of students already Prepared, not course offerings
A-G Completion
2.1%
A-G are the 15 courses (across 7 subjects) required for UC/CSU eligibility
College-Going Rate
24.4%

These source periods and populations differ: graduation uses an adjusted cohort, while A-G completion and college-going use separately reported groups. The rates are shown individually, without a shared performance tier.

YearExcMet+AbsentSusp
20195.3%10.7%57.8%13.4%
20220.0%6.1%61.0%5.8%
20230.9%8.0%56.5%5.5%
20242.4%8.4%59.4%7.8%
20252.1%8.3%61.9%9.9%

The Absent and Susp columns are SchoolScope model-adjusted scoring inputs, rather than raw CDE-reported school rates.

NO 2020 OR 2021 RECORDS IN THIS SCHOOLSCOPE SERIES
What we can't show
  • — This school's rank and percentile are computed against California continuation high schools, not California's comprehensive campuses — see the Enrollment Axiom at /methodology#peer-class.
  • — Students classified as socioeconomically disadvantaged here trail the state average for their group by 39 points in ELA in grade 11 — worth asking how the school is closing that gap.
05Climate by student groupchronic absenteeism · 2018–19 vs 2024–25 school years
ShowHide table 05 — Climate by student group
Group2018–192024–25Δ
Female61.8%83.3%+21.5pp
Male71.1%80.3%+9.2pp
Hispanic/Latino69.9%84.0%+14.1pp
White71.4%75.0%+3.6pp
Students with Disabilities71.9%78.8%+6.9pp
English Learners53.8%90.9%+37.1pp
Homeless77.8%90.0%+12.2pp
Socioeconomically Disadvantaged68.3%87.0%+18.7pp
All Students68.0%80.9%+12.9pp

Separate dots mark the reported school years; no line or intervening-year result is implied. Source: CDE school-level chronic absenteeism by student group.

06Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshotdated historical snapshot
ShowHide table 06 — Advanced coursework — 2020-21 federal civil-rights snapshot
MeasureThis school
AP offeredoffered
AP course count4
AP enrollment44
IB participationnot offered
Dual enrollmentnot offered
Algebra I in grade 8not reported
Calculus sections0
Physics sections0
Chemistry sections3
Total enrollment (CRDC)121

Shown, never scored — no entry to any composite. NULL/reserve codes render "not reported," never a fabricated zero. The equity block above this table (§4) is the per-subgroup view of this same collection.

07College destinationsclass of 2023 · CDE 12-mo College-Going Rate
ShowHide table 07 — College destinations
DestinationCompleters% (derived)
University of California00.0%
California State University00.0%
California community college1124.4%
In-state private00.0%
Out-of-state, 4-year00.0%
Out-of-state, 2-year00.0%
Not enrolled3475.6%

45 completers, class of 2023 · state-reported college-going rate 24% · % column is computed by SchoolScope (count ÷ completers), not a CDE-native rate · an unavailable or suppressed cell is marked as missing; a reported zero remains distinct · source: CDE 12-mo CGR, 2023 cohort (the newest published), National Student Clearinghouse match — a different, older vintage than the fall 2025 UC admissions rows in tables 06-07 above.

08Funding source detailCDE ESSA school · CDE SACS district · NCES F-33 district; each row labels its fiscal year and measure
ShowHide table 08 — Funding source detail

Per-pupil spending

District · current expense$11,457 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · fall district membership: 8,245 pupils

California · selected district mean$14,491 per pupil

NCES F-33 · FY 2020–21 (2021) · SchoolScope’s unweighted mean across 818 selected California district finance records

School-level federal expenditures$99 per pupil

CDE ESSA · school-attributed per-pupil record · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 83

Central federal expenditures attributed here$445 per pupil

CDE ESSA · central expenditures attributed to this school · FY 2024–25 (2025) · source denominator: 83

District current expense · FY 2024–25$18,433 per ADA

CDE SACS Current Expense of Education · district fiscal year ending 2025 · average daily attendance denominator

These figures are not directly comparable: school ESSA attributed spending and NCES district current expense use different measures and populations. Their fiscal years are labeled above.

ShowHide how the California mean was selected

SchoolScope starts with its selected California finance records, not every NCES California district. For FY 2020–21, it calculates an unweighted mean of NCES F-33 current expense per pupil. District records contribute once, regardless of enrollment. The calculation keeps records with positive per-pupil current expense, enrollment over 100, CCD agency type 1, and a recorded district name; it excludes names ending in County Office of Education, Department of Education, or Superintendent of Schools. This is a SchoolScope calculation, not a state-published spending average.

Selected General Fund operating costs · FY 2024–25 · SchoolScope calculation
Instruction 61%Instruction support 10%Student services 13%Administration 6%Buildings & maintenance 10%Other 1%

SchoolScope groups district-level CDE SACS UserGL actuals from Fund 01, using operating objects 1000–5999 and excluding retiree benefits, food and community services, facilities acquisition, other outgo, and nonagency goals. These shares use that filtered total; they do not exactly break down CDE's official current expense per ADA above. The school-level ESSA figure uses a separate source.

ShowHide the district's spending year by year
NCES F-33 district fiscal-year history, 2017–2021; latest district record shown: 2021
2021$11,457 per pupil
2020$11,117 per pupil
2019$11,628 per pupil
2018$9,890 per pupil
2017$9,618 per pupil

Source: NCES F-33 · Full district breakdown →

09ZIP-area community recordACS 2020–2024 · ZCTA 95037
ShowHide table 09 — ZIP-area community record
American Community Survey 5-year estimates · 2020–2024 · ZIP Code Tabulation Area 95037
MeasureEstimate
Median household income$163,182
Bachelor's degree or higher (adults 25+)45.77%
ZCTA population51,943
Median age39.2 years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey, 2020–2024 5-year estimates. Median household income covers the past 12 months and is reported in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Bachelor's degree or higher uses adults age 25 and over as its population. A dash is unavailable, not zero; a reported zero remains zero. ZIP/ZCTA context does not establish the school's attendance area or describe its enrolled students. These figures are not part of the Scope Score.

Embed this scorecard
<iframe
  src="https://schoolscope.co/embed/school/central-high-continuation-4488"
  width="100%" height="210" loading="lazy"
  style="border:0;border-radius:12px"
  title="Central High (Continuation) — SchoolScope scorecard">
</iframe>

Free to embed with the credit link. Data updates automatically.

EXC = exceeded standard · MET+ = met or exceeded the standard · Source: CA Dept. of Education · CAASPP 2024–25 · n=1,500 high schools · Vintages: climate subgroups 2019+2025 · district finance per its label · ACS 2024 · CRDC 2020-21 historical snapshot · CDE 12-mo CGR 2023 cohort, National Student Clearinghouse match · Data updated 2026-09-27

SchoolScope scores and verdicts are our reading of public California Department of Education data, not an official rating. How we analyze · Request a correction